Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Model: 9892
SKU: 3784038
UPC: 014633098921
SynopsisYou're killed — then reborn through the Well of Souls, making you different from everyone else. Enter a world without fate or destiny. The actions you take in the beginning determine which Destinies are presented to you later on and affect your abilities in combat. As a hardened warrior with the Slayer Destiny, you summon the power of the earth to aid you in combat. An enormous, fiery monster rushes toward you to decimate and devour you, but you unleash a flurry of attacks in response, dashing back and forth to keep the creature off balance. You land blow after blow until the enemy is weakened. You leap into the air and drive your blade down into the beast's body, sending it crashing to the ground. This is Reckoning. Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning brings you a massive, open-world RPG, fraught with terrible dungeons, monstrous creatures and a slew of powerful weapons and game-changing abilities. Select your character from four different races and let your actions and style of play during the first hours of the game determine which roads will be presented to you later on. Take on a horde of formidable foes in a world featuring five distinct environmental locales, with four major cities and more than 125 dungeons. As you make your way through the game, sharpen your skills in alchemy, blacksmithing and sage crafting, and put your abilities to good use to craft powerful items and equipment — you'll need them as you venture through more than 100 side quests. Shower the Kingdoms with the blood of your enemies, and destroy opponents to gather enough Threads of Fate to enter Reckoning mode, which will slow down time, blur vision, increase the power of your fierce attacks and let you perform special moves. Enter a world like no other. Enter the Reckoning.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 9 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
89% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
8 out of 9
)
Customer Reviews for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3
Review 1 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Excellent Game!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Brokenpipe
from Bend, OR
on 04/11/2012
Storyline
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Challenging gameplay
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Audio
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Great Story, tons of side quests. Keeps you interested and busy for weeks.
This product has... Like to replay, Appropriate for your kids
About me... Frequent player
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Promising new franchise, but needs improvement

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: JDGDC
from Washington DC
on 03/16/2012
Storyline
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Challenging gameplay
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Graphics
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Audio
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: There's a lot potential
What's not so great: Generally, the game is poorly executed
I'm just going to be blunt about this one: I think the newness of the franchise (aka, it's not a sequel in a sequel-heavy genre) leads to some overblown reviews of Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning. It's not a bad game by any means, but I think it's the epitome of average. The combat system is repetitive, at best. It's a very weak version of "God of War" -- essentially, you trade its fun for the ability to more deeply customize your character. Yet having spent time playing all three pure builds, I can't honestly say they feel vastly different from each other. The presence of what amounts to be an "I Win" button (the fate meter) is difficult to overlook when discussing the game. The meter builds up fast enough that pretty much any moderately difficult encounter you might have is easily overcome. The graphics... well, they just aren't my thing. Maybe I burned out on World of Warcraft, but that style just doesn't do it for me anymore. The audio is mediocre -- in fact, the same background music will play so often that you will prefer playing with the sound off. Which is good, because the voice acting is terrible. The story has promise, but the dialogue is hackneyed.
There is a LOT of promise for this franchise - don't get me wrong. I could easily see a sequel to this game blowing everyone away, and being a legendary game. For all the faults I've listed with it, there's not a whole lot separating this game from being great. Buy this if you're looking for something new, or if you don't want to miss out on what will eventually be a great experience when the sequel is issued. Just don't expect a life altering experience or anything.
About me... Hardcore gamer, adult gamer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

A great game for the action heavy rpg fan.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Terankatoba
from Charlotte, NC
on 03/14/2012
Storyline
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Challenging gameplay
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Graphics
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Audio
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Engrossing story, plenty of side quests, action heavy with rpg elements
What's not so great: Repetitive enemies, mediocre music
This was an incredibly engrossing game with 80+ hours of enjoyment in it. Heavy on action with rpg elements that does not let dialogue become too overwhelming as most other rpgs tend to do. Creating your own character with unique skills and abilities that can be switched on the fly let me feel more immersed in the atmosphere of Amalur than I have in past video game experiences. Negatives for the game do include repetitive enemy types (it seems like they only have a handful of enemy character models that are pallete swapped in later areas), occasional frame rate hiccups when there is a lot of action on screen at the same time, and mediocre musical selections for the game that never seem to overwhelm.
This product has... Like to replay, single player, includes blood gore and adult language
About me... Casual gamer, Multiplayer fan
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Great game from a new Studio

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Shaggy826
from Buffalo, NY
on 03/14/2012
Storyline
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Challenging gameplay
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Graphics
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Audio
4.0 out of 5
4.0
I haven't finished the game yet however so far it has lived up to the hype!
This product has... Like to replay
About me... Hardcore gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Great action RPG

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bbabcock
from Minnesota
on 03/13/2012
Storyline
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Challenging gameplay
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Audio
5.0 out of 5
5.0
If you like any of the Fable games, or the atmosphere of World of Warcraft, you'll love this game. It blends action with RPG elements really well and has an incredibly deep story.
This product has... Like to replay, fantasy violence
About me... Frequent player, parent
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Great play

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Spook0627
from Owasso, Ok
on 03/10/2012
Storyline
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Challenging gameplay
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Graphics
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Audio
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fluid movement from primary to secondary weapon during fights.
What's not so great: Your the hero of the game whether you like it or not.
This game mixes the gameplay of Fable (the first and best) with the open world of Elder Scrolls. It is lacking on morality options but there are plenty of quests to do and areas to explore. Your armor options leave you wanting but if you don't care about appearance you can really beef your character up. Even though it fell short of its full potential it is a very fun game and I am glad I bought it. Its definatly worth getting if you like RPGs.
This product has... Family friendly, Appropriate for your kids
About me... Hardcore gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Perfect for casual play or new to rpg's

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Tasogare
from Terre Haute, IN
on 03/08/2012
Storyline
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Challenging gameplay
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Graphics
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Audio
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Though not near as in-depth or involved as some rpg's, Kingdoms of Amalur would be a great choice for anyone who is either unfamiliar with rpg's or who doesn't want to commit the kind of time that can be involved in other rpg's. The combat is fun and fairly straight-forward. There's enough hidden quests and items to keep you occupied and the story, while not great, is more than sufficient to be entertaining.
This product has... Excessive violence
About me... Frequent player
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Kingdom of Amalur Reckoning Rocks

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gamer2k1
from CA
on 02/11/2012
Storyline
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Challenging gameplay
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Audio
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Awesome Graphics
What's not so great: Nothing, everything is great.
I picked up the game yesterday 2-10-12, and I'll tell you right now its probally one of the best Action RPG games out there, I won't name the others but they are big but they also lack. I've tried the demo prior to purchasing the video game and good thing I did, its hard to put the controller down. I'd recommend it if your a Skyrim or Fable fan.
This product has... Like to replay
About me... Multiplayer fan, Hardcore gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
Final Fantasy XIII - 2 - PlayStation 3
4.4 out of 5(24)
 
 
 
 
 
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

VERY fun game - a light-hearted romp

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TwoWide
on 02/11/2012
Storyline
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Challenging gameplay
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Graphics
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Audio
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Graphics, fast combat, FUN
What's not so great: Volume when people speak dips
I pre-ordered this one from BB and have been VERY happy that I did. The game is beautiful, runs without the slightest glitch, and has been FUN. It's light-hearted and doesn't take itself too seriously, which is nice. I've over 13 hours into the game and haven't scratched the surface, yet. Reportedly, there's over 200 hours of playtime, so you'll definitely get your money's worth.
They used a very vibrant color palete, and after some of the dreary games out there this year, it's a nice change. The environments are awesome.
Overall, I'm really impressed with this game and highly recommend it.
This product has... Like to replay
About me... Frequent player, parent
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.