Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Model: 9892
SKU: 3784038
UPC: 014633098921
SynopsisYou're killed — then reborn through the Well of Souls, making you different from everyone else. Enter a world without fate or destiny. The actions you take in the beginning determine which Destinies are presented to you later on and affect your abilities in combat. As a hardened warrior with the Slayer Destiny, you summon the power of the earth to aid you in combat. An enormous, fiery monster rushes toward you to decimate and devour you, but you unleash a flurry of attacks in response, dashing back and forth to keep the creature off balance. You land blow after blow until the enemy is weakened. You leap into the air and drive your blade down into the beast's body, sending it crashing to the ground. This is Reckoning. Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning brings you a massive, open-world RPG, fraught with terrible dungeons, monstrous creatures and a slew of powerful weapons and game-changing abilities. Select your character from four different races and let your actions and style of play during the first hours of the game determine which roads will be presented to you later on. Take on a horde of formidable foes in a world featuring five distinct environmental locales, with four major cities and more than 125 dungeons. As you make your way through the game, sharpen your skills in alchemy, blacksmithing and sage crafting, and put your abilities to good use to craft powerful items and equipment — you'll need them as you venture through more than 100 side quests. Shower the Kingdoms with the blood of your enemies, and destroy opponents to gather enough Threads of Fate to enter Reckoning mode, which will slow down time, blur vision, increase the power of your fierce attacks and let you perform special moves. Enter a world like no other. Enter the Reckoning.
Average Customer Rating:
4.552 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 29 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
97% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
28 out of 29
)
Customer Reviews for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3
Review 1 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Stylized Action RPG for the Masses

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SweetMotodachi
from Chicago, IL
on 05/29/2015
I purchased this game because it was compared to games like Fable, Elder Scrolls and Knights of the Old Republic. As an RPG collector, I am back logged and haven’t given this a thorough play or analysis, but I from the first few hours I gave it I know I will play this game to as much completion as I can. Typically I play turn-based RPGs, but since they are growing thinner and thinner, I purchased this being a fan of the above. Most disappointing are the character interaction scenes.
I have never read anything from R. A. Salvatore so I wasn’t sure what to expect story wise, but the story is typical fantasy, Dungeons and Dragons jive. I appreciate the somewhat stylized caricature-like characters and graphics done by Todd McFarlane. Especially, in an era of gaming where more games attempt to be more realistic. The skill system is similar to most games of this breed, which is good for me because it allows me to just sink in and play without having to learn a whole new set of rules, and with a refreshing action oriented combat system, this game is a delight.
One complaint I’ve heard is that the game claimed to be open world, but that instead it is made to look open world. As previously mentioned to me that is not necessarily a bad thing, thus far the game play seems nonlinear, which is a plus and having some restrictions makes the game less overwhelming. In a sense it is similar to Knights of the Old Republic. The sandbox style open world types of games really overwhelm me and in turn, eventually bore me. Therefore games like the Elder Scrolls series, though intriguing, are hard for me to get really into. I spent five years playing Morrowind and a lot of that was simply exploring the world and getting side tracked from missions. Gameplay like this can be fun, and the fact that I played it for five years shows that I can get involved, but an experience like that is too long for me. All in all, if the game claimed to be one thing and failed in that attempt, that is truly a shame because for what this is, it is a very well executed game.
Ultimately, this game is a great adventure. It is decently written, but feels like it borrows too much from other similar games. This game is fairly inexpensive so there is no reason not to pick this up if someone likes the types of games mentioned at the start of this review and is looking for another option in the wild world of western rpgs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2354879806
My Best Buy number: 2354879806
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

great game

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: homedad
on 03/28/2015
really enjoy playing this. no lock-on point and shoot, you have to make smart choices to advance in the game.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2981777414
My Best Buy number: 2981777414
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Gameplay's good story sucks.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: FellowGamer87
on 03/22/2015
as the title to my review says this games combat is probably the best I've ever played in an RPG. there are many weapons, powers, and play styles. the world is very massive and vibrant with color and quests. the only thing I didn't like was the very dull storyline but i'm happy to say that the combat was enough to keep me playing through it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2159462029
My Best Buy number: 2159462029
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Great game. Lots of fun

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Chai
on 03/08/2015
A lot to do in this game. Stay entertained the whole storyline with lot of side quests and exploration.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2821208757
My Best Buy number: 2821208757
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

fast paced game and good storyline

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Alfonso
from McAllen TX
on 03/04/2015
Had a lot of fun playing this game. The storyline kept me interested and would play it again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1000675588
My Best Buy number: 1000675588
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

exellent rpg experiance

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: saint
from joplin missouri
on 07/26/2014
Storyline
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Challenging gameplay
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Audio
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: virtually everything
What's not so great: graphics are a bit dated. but thats to be expected
this game Is phenomenal. very gratifying story. would expect nothing else from R.A Salvatore and friends
This product has... Like to replay
About me... Frequent player
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 0562311224
My Best Buy number: 0562311224
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Great game!!

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Ashmiller04
on 07/05/2014
Fun to play!! Lots of great things with this game!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0422446929
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

awesome

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: redmach1
from Sunbury ,PA
on 06/30/2014
Storyline
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Challenging gameplay
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Audio
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: game play
What's not so great: nothing
It is almost like fable for the XBOX 360. But is a little different.
This product has... Like to replay
About me... Hardcore gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 2367527336
My Best Buy number: 2367527336
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Fun, just dont have time for it

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: YNWA629
from McLean, VA
on 03/24/2014
What's great about it: Deep Leveling System, Fun Gameplay
What's not so great: Length
I do enjoy video games, quite a lot. But at this point in my life, it's difficult to play them for long stretches of time. This game requires long stretches of time. It's a beautiful game and the action is genuinely fun to play. The story is meh and there's some glitches though, but that can be played through. If you have a lot of time and enjoy action rpgs, you'll like this alot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 0575859478
My Best Buy number: 0575859478
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

great RPG game for anyone.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Drewbear
from Nashville
on 02/08/2014
Storyline
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Challenging gameplay
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Graphics
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Audio
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Lots to explore.
What's not so great: A little repetative at times.
I think it is an overall great game that keeps me interested and coming back for more. It has a lot of the great characteristics about other RPG games like Skyrim and Dragon's Dogma and combines them into one great game. I've been playing it for a weeks now and still not bored of it! Excellent game!
This product has... Multiplayer capable, Downloadable Content, Like to replay
About me... Frequent player, parent
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 0575139587
My Best Buy number: 0575139587
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

great game for the whole family

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Billynda
from Hagerstown, Maryland
on 01/04/2014
Storyline
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Challenging gameplay
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Audio
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: My husband has been playing for 33 hours and is still a long way from finishing game. We love long games
I bought this for my husband and he absolutely loves it. Fun game with different levels of difficulty for any type player.
This product has... Family friendly, Like to replay, Appropriate for young kids
About me... Family user, love watching
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
My Best Buy number: 2858086496
My Best Buy number: 2858086496
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Great guiltless buy

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Drowboy
from Cincinnati, Ohio
on 07/12/2013
Storyline
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Challenging gameplay
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Graphics
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Audio
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Easy to learn
What's not so great: Linear
Decent quick hack n slash. Great to pick up and get into the story line.
This product has... Like to replay
About me... Frequent player
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 2030994168
My Best Buy number: 2030994168
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Great Game!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ladyvol7
from Johnson City Tn.
on 06/14/2013
Storyline
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Challenging gameplay
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Audio
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: drama
What's not so great: nothing
I love this game! It is so interesting and exciting!!
This product has... Multiplayer capable
About me... Hardcore gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
My Best Buy number: 2793852538
My Best Buy number: 2793852538
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

fantastic game

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SMOON039
from florida
on 05/25/2013
Storyline
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Challenging gameplay
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Audio
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: story and game play
What's not so great: We probably won't get a sequel
One of the best RPGs out there. Really enjoy everything it has to offer.
This product has... Family friendly, Downloadable Content, Like to replay, Appropriate for young kids
About me... Multiplayer fan, Online player, Hardcore gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 2358780351
My Best Buy number: 2358780351
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Great Open World RPG

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mjktheatre
from New York
on 05/17/2013
Storyline
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Challenging gameplay
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Graphics
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Audio
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Ability to switch classes, fun storyline, great combat
What's not so great: lacks the emotional impact of bioware's work
I really enjoyed this game, great combat, good story, made me feel like a powerful dude.
About me... Hardcore gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 0575461800
My Best Buy number: 0575461800
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Fun Fun Fun

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HumanBrick
from Dallas, TX
on 04/15/2013
Storyline
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Challenging gameplay
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Audio
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Lengthy Quest with great action
What's not so great: Story is lackluster
This game is so much fun to play, keyword play. The Story and dialogue all felt pretty bland, I wasn't at all interested in the world or characters in this game. The gameplay is where it really shines though. Combat is fun, mad amounts of loot to be collected, leveling is fun, and sooo many side quests. Awesome game, highly recommended, as long as you're not playing for the story you're gonna have a good time.
This product has... Downloadable Content, Like to replay, Excessive violence
About me... Frequent player, Online player
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 2823261859
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

awesome

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: raaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
from las vegas,nv
on 04/13/2013
What's great about it: graphics
lov it,would buy more,it is a great freaking awesome game
This product has... Family friendly, Appropriate for young kids
About me... Frequent player, parent
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 2723738949
My Best Buy number: 2723738949
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Great Combat for an RPG. Very rare Mix

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Nate34
from North Bay Area, Ca.
on 04/13/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • Top 1000 Contributor
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Storyline
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Challenging gameplay
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Graphics
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Audio
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Awesome fluid combat system
What's not so great: Studio closed
I still havent finished this, but do plan on it. It really is a great game. Prior to this I always wondered why there wasnt any RPG type games with combat like God of War, this fills that bill. It really is a shame that the studio was shut down, it would have been nice to see what they would have come up with next. But if you love sword slashing, magic slinging combat, and all that comes with an RPG. This is a great game for that.
This product has... Like to replay
About me... Frequent player
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 2342622957
My Best Buy number: 2342622957
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Pretty cool game

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Paradox21
from Long Beach
on 04/13/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Storyline
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Challenging gameplay
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Graphics
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Audio
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Lots of stuff to do
Pretty cool game good graphics, lots of different storylines and side missions to take a lot of weapon upgrades overall pretty cool game
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 2723742809
My Best Buy number: 2723742809
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

excellent game

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: b0nezz62
from independence
on 04/12/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: different locations, things to do
I love the game it is very entertaining, alot of different areas to visit and activities to acomplish
About me... Casual gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 2506587719
My Best Buy number: 2506587719
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>