Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Model: 9892
SKU: 3784038
UPC: 014633098921
SynopsisYou're killed — then reborn through the Well of Souls, making you different from everyone else. Enter a world without fate or destiny. The actions you take in the beginning determine which Destinies are presented to you later on and affect your abilities in combat. As a hardened warrior with the Slayer Destiny, you summon the power of the earth to aid you in combat. An enormous, fiery monster rushes toward you to decimate and devour you, but you unleash a flurry of attacks in response, dashing back and forth to keep the creature off balance. You land blow after blow until the enemy is weakened. You leap into the air and drive your blade down into the beast's body, sending it crashing to the ground. This is Reckoning. Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning brings you a massive, open-world RPG, fraught with terrible dungeons, monstrous creatures and a slew of powerful weapons and game-changing abilities. Select your character from four different races and let your actions and style of play during the first hours of the game determine which roads will be presented to you later on. Take on a horde of formidable foes in a world featuring five distinct environmental locales, with four major cities and more than 125 dungeons. As you make your way through the game, sharpen your skills in alchemy, blacksmithing and sage crafting, and put your abilities to good use to craft powerful items and equipment — you'll need them as you venture through more than 100 side quests. Shower the Kingdoms with the blood of your enemies, and destroy opponents to gather enough Threads of Fate to enter Reckoning mode, which will slow down time, blur vision, increase the power of your fierce attacks and let you perform special moves. Enter a world like no other. Enter the Reckoning.
Average Customer Rating:
4.542 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 24 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
96% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
23 out of 24
)
Customer Reviews for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3
Review 1 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

exellent rpg experiance

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: saint
from joplin missouri
on 07/26/2014
Storyline
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Challenging gameplay
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Audio
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: virtually everything
What's not so great: graphics are a bit dated. but thats to be expected
this game Is phenomenal. very gratifying story. would expect nothing else from R.A Salvatore and friends
This product has... Like to replay
About me... Frequent player
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 0562311224
My Best Buy number: 0562311224
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Great game!!

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Ashmiller04
on 07/05/2014
This review is fromKingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PRE-OWNED - PlayStation 3.
Fun to play!! Lots of great things with this game!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0422446929
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

awesome

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: redmach1
from Sunbury ,PA
on 06/30/2014
Storyline
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Challenging gameplay
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Audio
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: game play
What's not so great: nothing
It is almost like fable for the XBOX 360. But is a little different.
This product has... Like to replay
About me... Hardcore gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 2367527336
My Best Buy number: 2367527336
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Fun, just dont have time for it

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: YNWA629
from McLean, VA
on 03/24/2014
This review is fromKingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PRE-OWNED - PlayStation 3.
What's great about it: Deep Leveling System, Fun Gameplay
What's not so great: Length
I do enjoy video games, quite a lot. But at this point in my life, it's difficult to play them for long stretches of time. This game requires long stretches of time. It's a beautiful game and the action is genuinely fun to play. The story is meh and there's some glitches though, but that can be played through. If you have a lot of time and enjoy action rpgs, you'll like this alot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 0575859478
My Best Buy number: 0575859478
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

great RPG game for anyone.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Drewbear
from Nashville
on 02/08/2014
This review is fromKingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PRE-OWNED - PlayStation 3.
Storyline
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Challenging gameplay
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Graphics
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Audio
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Lots to explore.
What's not so great: A little repetative at times.
I think it is an overall great game that keeps me interested and coming back for more. It has a lot of the great characteristics about other RPG games like Skyrim and Dragon's Dogma and combines them into one great game. I've been playing it for a weeks now and still not bored of it! Excellent game!
This product has... Multiplayer capable, Downloadable Content, Like to replay
About me... Frequent player, parent
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 0575139587
My Best Buy number: 0575139587
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

great game for the whole family

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Billynda
from Hagerstown, Maryland
on 01/04/2014
This review is fromKingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PRE-OWNED - PlayStation 3.
Storyline
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Challenging gameplay
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Audio
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: My husband has been playing for 33 hours and is still a long way from finishing game. We love long games
I bought this for my husband and he absolutely loves it. Fun game with different levels of difficulty for any type player.
This product has... Family friendly, Like to replay, Appropriate for young kids
About me... Family user, love watching
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
My Best Buy number: 2858086496
My Best Buy number: 2858086496
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Great guiltless buy

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Drowboy
from Cincinnati, Ohio
on 07/12/2013
This review is fromKingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PRE-OWNED - PlayStation 3.
Storyline
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Challenging gameplay
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Graphics
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Audio
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Easy to learn
What's not so great: Linear
Decent quick hack n slash. Great to pick up and get into the story line.
This product has... Like to replay
About me... Frequent player
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 2030994168
My Best Buy number: 2030994168
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Great Game!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ladyvol7
from Johnson City Tn.
on 06/14/2013
This review is fromKingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PRE-OWNED - PlayStation 3.
Storyline
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Challenging gameplay
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Audio
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: drama
What's not so great: nothing
I love this game! It is so interesting and exciting!!
This product has... Multiplayer capable
About me... Hardcore gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
My Best Buy number: 2793852538
My Best Buy number: 2793852538
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

fantastic game

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SMOON039
from florida
on 05/25/2013
This review is fromKingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PRE-OWNED - PlayStation 3.
Storyline
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Challenging gameplay
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Audio
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: story and game play
What's not so great: We probably won't get a sequel
One of the best RPGs out there. Really enjoy everything it has to offer.
This product has... Family friendly, Downloadable Content, Like to replay, Appropriate for young kids
About me... Multiplayer fan, Online player, Hardcore gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 2358780351
My Best Buy number: 2358780351
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Great Open World RPG

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mjktheatre
from New York
on 05/17/2013
This review is fromKingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PRE-OWNED - PlayStation 3.
Storyline
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Challenging gameplay
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Graphics
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Audio
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Ability to switch classes, fun storyline, great combat
What's not so great: lacks the emotional impact of bioware's work
I really enjoyed this game, great combat, good story, made me feel like a powerful dude.
About me... Hardcore gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 0575461800
My Best Buy number: 0575461800
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Fun Fun Fun

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HumanBrick
from Dallas, TX
on 04/15/2013
This review is fromKingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PRE-OWNED - PlayStation 3.
Storyline
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Challenging gameplay
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Audio
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Lengthy Quest with great action
What's not so great: Story is lackluster
This game is so much fun to play, keyword play. The Story and dialogue all felt pretty bland, I wasn't at all interested in the world or characters in this game. The gameplay is where it really shines though. Combat is fun, mad amounts of loot to be collected, leveling is fun, and sooo many side quests. Awesome game, highly recommended, as long as you're not playing for the story you're gonna have a good time.
This product has... Downloadable Content, Like to replay, Excessive violence
About me... Frequent player, Online player
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 2823261859
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

awesome

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: raaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
from las vegas,nv
on 04/13/2013
This review is fromKingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PRE-OWNED - PlayStation 3.
What's great about it: graphics
lov it,would buy more,it is a great freaking awesome game
This product has... Family friendly, Appropriate for young kids
About me... Frequent player, parent
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 2723738949
My Best Buy number: 2723738949
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Great Combat for an RPG. Very rare Mix

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Nate34
from North Bay Area, Ca.
on 04/13/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • Top 1000 Contributor
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
This review is fromKingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PRE-OWNED - PlayStation 3.
Storyline
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Challenging gameplay
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Graphics
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Audio
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Awesome fluid combat system
What's not so great: Studio closed
I still havent finished this, but do plan on it. It really is a great game. Prior to this I always wondered why there wasnt any RPG type games with combat like God of War, this fills that bill. It really is a shame that the studio was shut down, it would have been nice to see what they would have come up with next. But if you love sword slashing, magic slinging combat, and all that comes with an RPG. This is a great game for that.
This product has... Like to replay
About me... Frequent player
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 2342622957
My Best Buy number: 2342622957
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Pretty cool game

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Paradox21
from Long Beach
on 04/13/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
This review is fromKingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PRE-OWNED - PlayStation 3.
Storyline
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Challenging gameplay
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Graphics
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Audio
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Lots of stuff to do
Pretty cool game good graphics, lots of different storylines and side missions to take a lot of weapon upgrades overall pretty cool game
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 2723742809
My Best Buy number: 2723742809
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

excellent game

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: b0nezz62
from independence
on 04/12/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
This review is fromKingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PRE-OWNED - PlayStation 3.
What's great about it: different locations, things to do
I love the game it is very entertaining, alot of different areas to visit and activities to acomplish
About me... Casual gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
My Best Buy number: 2506587719
My Best Buy number: 2506587719
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Excellent Game!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Brokenpipe
from Bend, OR
on 04/11/2012
Storyline
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Challenging gameplay
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Audio
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Great Story, tons of side quests. Keeps you interested and busy for weeks.
This product has... Like to replay, Appropriate for your kids
About me... Frequent player
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Promising new franchise, but needs improvement

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: JDGDC
from Washington DC
on 03/16/2012
Storyline
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Challenging gameplay
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Graphics
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Audio
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: There's a lot potential
What's not so great: Generally, the game is poorly executed
I'm just going to be blunt about this one: I think the newness of the franchise (aka, it's not a sequel in a sequel-heavy genre) leads to some overblown reviews of Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning. It's not a bad game by any means, but I think it's the epitome of average. The combat system is repetitive, at best. It's a very weak version of "God of War" -- essentially, you trade its fun for the ability to more deeply customize your character. Yet having spent time playing all three pure builds, I can't honestly say they feel vastly different from each other. The presence of what amounts to be an "I Win" button (the fate meter) is difficult to overlook when discussing the game. The meter builds up fast enough that pretty much any moderately difficult encounter you might have is easily overcome. The graphics... well, they just aren't my thing. Maybe I burned out on World of Warcraft, but that style just doesn't do it for me anymore. The audio is mediocre -- in fact, the same background music will play so often that you will prefer playing with the sound off. Which is good, because the voice acting is terrible. The story has promise, but the dialogue is hackneyed.
There is a LOT of promise for this franchise - don't get me wrong. I could easily see a sequel to this game blowing everyone away, and being a legendary game. For all the faults I've listed with it, there's not a whole lot separating this game from being great. Buy this if you're looking for something new, or if you don't want to miss out on what will eventually be a great experience when the sequel is issued. Just don't expect a life altering experience or anything.
About me... Hardcore gamer, adult gamer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

A great game for the action heavy rpg fan.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Terankatoba
from Charlotte, NC
on 03/14/2012
Storyline
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Challenging gameplay
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Graphics
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Audio
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Engrossing story, plenty of side quests, action heavy with rpg elements
What's not so great: Repetitive enemies, mediocre music
This was an incredibly engrossing game with 80+ hours of enjoyment in it. Heavy on action with rpg elements that does not let dialogue become too overwhelming as most other rpgs tend to do. Creating your own character with unique skills and abilities that can be switched on the fly let me feel more immersed in the atmosphere of Amalur than I have in past video game experiences. Negatives for the game do include repetitive enemy types (it seems like they only have a handful of enemy character models that are pallete swapped in later areas), occasional frame rate hiccups when there is a lot of action on screen at the same time, and mediocre musical selections for the game that never seem to overwhelm.
This product has... Like to replay, single player, includes blood gore and adult language
About me... Casual gamer, Multiplayer fan
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Great game from a new Studio

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Shaggy826
from Buffalo, NY
on 03/14/2012
Storyline
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Challenging gameplay
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Graphics
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Audio
4.0 out of 5
4.0
I haven't finished the game yet however so far it has lived up to the hype!
This product has... Like to replay
About me... Hardcore gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - PlayStation 3

Great action RPG

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bbabcock
from Minnesota
on 03/13/2012
Storyline
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Challenging gameplay
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Audio
5.0 out of 5
5.0
If you like any of the Fable games, or the atmosphere of World of Warcraft, you'll love this game. It blends action with RPG elements really well and has an incredibly deep story.
This product has... Like to replay, fantasy violence
About me... Frequent player, parent
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>