Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dell - UltraSharp 24" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor

Dell - UltraSharp 24" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor

Model: U2412M
SKU: 4154798
UPC: 884116064244
Alter the on-screen colors of this Dell UltraSharp U2412M 24" widescreen flat-panel LED HD monitor that features a color temperature slider to help suit your viewing preferences. Text mode automatically optimizes the brightness for reading text.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 40 reviews
5 stars
32
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
98% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
39 out of 40
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Dell - UltraSharp 24" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor
Review 1 for Dell - UltraSharp 24" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor

Step below a graphics monitor

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dreamweaver2000
from St. Louis
on 04/20/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: good all around monitor
What's not so great: no hdmi
I am using this monitor as my second screen. I have a Dell u2413m as the monitor I use for photo editing. There is a difference between the two with the u2413m a little better on the graphics. Unless you really need the extra quality of graphics I would recommend this monitor for the value.
This product has... Easy to setup, No speakers
About me... Budget Conscious, Photo/video enthusiast, Parent with kids, Technology guru/developer, Dual monitors user, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2107387787
My Best Buy number: 2107387787
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dell - UltraSharp 24" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor

Great monitors and picture quality for the price!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: somebodyscream
from CA
on 04/18/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Non-glare screen with great picture.
What's not so great: No HDMI connection, but can easily use DVI adapters etc.
I have purchased a ton of these Dell U2412M monitors over the past 2-3 years and they are great for the price especially if u catch them on sale. Haven't had any problems to date and will continue to buy them in the future.
This product has... Easy to setup, No speakers
About me... Budget Conscious, Photo/video enthusiast, Technology guru/developer, Dual monitors user, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2715792508
My Best Buy number: 2715792508
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dell - UltraSharp 24" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor

Excellent Monitor for the professional coder

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sdivx
from Baltimore, MD
on 04/18/2014
What's great about it: Good Price, Consistent color, larger format
The Dell U2412 is a solid monitor that out of the box exhibits good color uniformity and a crisp picture.
I use this for application coding and website development along side a wide gamut monitor and the though the Dell is not wide gamut it does very well in maintaining color accuracy.
for a 1920x1200 monitor this is a good size from a pixel density. Enjoy it very much.
This product has... Easy to setup
About me... Technology guru/developer, Dual monitors user, Gamer, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0393969984
My Best Buy number: 0393969984
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dell - UltraSharp 24" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor

Great display. Great price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Xboxer999
from Cleveland, OH
on 04/18/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
There are no issues with this display. I turned down the default brightness and it looks great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2101561718
My Best Buy number: 2101561718
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dell - UltraSharp 24" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor

First IPS

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Jimmy
from MN
on 04/10/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Color range, Adjusting base
What's not so great: Backlight
Wide color range, fully adjustable base.
Backlight bleed emphasized on bottom right.
About me... Technology guru/developer, Dual monitors user, Gamer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0396805425
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dell - UltraSharp 24" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor

Huge upgrade from old monitor

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LinuxVMUser
from NorthChicago
on 02/11/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture quality
What's not so great: No complaints
Great picture. Similar to but a little better than the one I use at work.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0418221554
My Best Buy number: 0418221554
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dell - UltraSharp 24" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor

A best buy in a monitor.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: plknj
from Summit, NJ
on 01/24/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Image quality
We use this monitor in our photo studio for retouching images. We have tried many monitors but this one is probably the best you can get without spending hundreds more. This is our second Dell Ultrasharp and I highly recommend this if image quality and color matching is critical.
This product has... Easy to setup, accurate color
About me... professional photographer
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0319691579
My Best Buy number: 0319691579
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dell - UltraSharp 24" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor

Very pleased!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mbrest
from Loveland, CO
on 01/15/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Great monitor for viewing and its adjustment settings.
What's not so great: No bad reviews
I was very pleased with the ease of ordering online through Best Buy, and the shipping came in a timely fashion and there were no dings in the box as it was packed nicely.
This product has... Easy to setup
About me... Dual monitors user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2571004005
My Best Buy number: 2571004005
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dell - UltraSharp 24" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor

Sensational monitor, the best I've had.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: abertsmom
from New Mexico
on 01/04/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Terrific value, better than higher priced, gorgeous image! Very sturdy and stable, no glare, and adjustable stand.
What's not so great: Everything is GREAT so far after one month.
See above. This Dell monitor is sensational, great value.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, HDMI connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dell - UltraSharp 24" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor

Very good monitor for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Johnny116
from Ny
on 10/18/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great picture, plenty of USB ports
What's not so great: No hdmi
This is an excellent monitor. The only downside is that there is no hdmi. If you can live without hdmi, you will be very happy with this monitor. I use this for both programming and everyday use (going online, checking email) and I am very satisfied with the picture.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0574401791
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dell - UltraSharp 24" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor

Looks really nice

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tazy11
from US
on 09/16/2013
What's great about it: Good picture
Nice monitor, good picture. Don't let Windows 7 update your driver - it messed up my monitor. Installing driver from Dell website fixed it though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2818363407
My Best Buy number: 2818363407
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dell - UltraSharp 24" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor

Amazing...but might not be for you!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Chidote
from Utah, UT
on 08/23/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy on the eyes and easy to use at a very affordable price.
What's not so great: No HDMI port and the Screen could be way too bright for some people!
Not only is the design of this computer exceptional but the image itself is too. I am an audio engineer and so I sit at my mixing desk in my recording studios for long hours staring at computer screens all day. When I ordered this product I was afraid that it would be way too bright for me, or that some pixels would be out. However, I have had this computer screen now for a little over a month or so, and everything is perfect. The stand not only adjusts by sliding up and down, but it also spins in order to be able to see it from different angles without actually having to move the whole computer. It has a very good looking outer casing and fits right in with the rest of the equipment in my studio. As for speaker quality goes I wouldn't have much of an idea since I am using two external speakers as my sound source. However, THERE ARE NO HDMI PORTS. For many this could be a huge and annoying problem! So far I haven't experienced any "oh no" moments...which I consider a big plus. While I was researching this computer I read a lot of reviews that explained how the screen was way too bright...even on the lowest setting. I could see how this could be an issue for game designers, Photoshop professionals etc. where detail is a big concern! However, for an audio engineer/recording artist this computer would be perfect. I hope to have a long good career with my Dell Ultra sharp 24" widescreen Monitor!
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup
About me... audio engineer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dell - UltraSharp 24" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor

Excellent Monitor

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JJDynomite99
from Houston, TX
on 08/16/2013
What's great about it: Clarity and size
What's not so great: No HDMI, no higher Refresh rate
This is definitely a great monitor! I ordered this from Best Buy.com and received my shipment very fast. One thing that I was reading on Newegg.com was how the buyers were being sent older revisions. My tag in the back says Date of Mfg. May 2013. My monitor tag does say that the model is the U2412Mb, so I am not sure where the "b" came from? The only thing that needed to be updated was the drivers/firmware. Once I updated all drivers, then this bad boy was good to go!
I highly recommend this monitor when it is on Sale, since the normal price is a bit steep. Otherwise, this monitor fits my needs and has plenty of real estate to get the job done.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, No speakers
About me... Technology guru/developer, Gamer, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0569509655
My Best Buy number: 0569509655
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dell - UltraSharp 24" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor

Excellent display

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GrumpyFussbudget
from Salem, MA
on 07/20/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: 16:10 aspect ratio; image quality
What's not so great: Lacks DisplayPort interface
Prior to purchase, my only concern about this display was its non-glare coating. Several online reviews indicated that it reduced the image quality and text legibility. I have not experienced these problems.
The aspect ratio adds height which in my work (software development) is very welcome.
I'm fussy about displays since I look at them all day every day.
I'm very happy with this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2844574464
My Best Buy number: 2844574464
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dell - UltraSharp 24" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor

Decent monitors

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: RottenJunk1
from Midlothian, TX
on 07/19/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: 1920x1200 Resolution
What's not so great: No HDMI port. Height could a bit more.
I purchased 2 of these monitors for a dual-monitor setup. While the first monitor was free of dead pixels, the 2nd monitor has 2 dead (dark) pixels. Zero bright-dot guarantee does not cover dead (dark) pixels. Luckily the pixels are not located where I notice them much.
I have both of these monitors attached to 2 different computers (dual-monitor setup to each computer) using 2 x Display Ports (work computer) and 1 x DVI / 1 x VGA (personal computer). There is no HDMI port on these monitors (I have to use a HDMI to DVI adapter) but I knew that before I purchased the monitors. It is still a knock against these monitors but not one that should stop anyone from picking them up.
I'm not a graphics professional but do work in documents and code web site applications frequently. These monitors work well within my usage patterns.
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Technology guru/developer, Dual monitors user, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2793310366
My Best Buy number: 2793310366
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dell - UltraSharp 24" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor

good picture quality

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: sxart
from Fremont, Ca
on 07/13/2013
What's great about it: color and resolution.
What's not so great: goes to black for a few seconds randomly once for while in older conputers.
good for the money, if you have newer model computers.
This product has... Attractive design
About me... Photo/video enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0570861025
My Best Buy number: 0570861025
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dell - UltraSharp 24" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor

Awesome monitor

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: NewCondo
from Miami, FL
on 06/15/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
I recently purchased this monitor for my new condo and I love it.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, HDMI connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1011147432
My Best Buy number: 1011147432
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dell - UltraSharp 24" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor

Love it! AWESOME picture. Great price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: edavis101
from TN
on 05/07/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Display size; color; sharp details
What's not so great: Now, I want ANOTHER ONE!!
My old Dell 1905 monitor is going bad after 8 years, and I needed to replace it. I ordered a couple from Dell, but returned them due to 16:9 viewing area was smaller than I wanted. Then I found this U2412M and tried it out. Absolutely love it!!! The Preset Display Area ::(H x V):: of 20.3 inches x 12.7 inches ..is what I LOVE most!!! It DOES make all the difference when you have lots of windows open for multitasking. IF you want to get away from the whole "Widescreen" epidemic (more Horizontal than Vertical)...then get this baby!! You'll LOVE it!
In other reviews, people have mentioned glaring and blurring. I haven't noticed anything of the sort. It may do that IF you take it out of native resolution of 1920x1200, or if your video card drivers need updated.
Mine has SUPERB COLOR, SHARPNESS, and LOTS OF SPACE! The only bad thing is -- now, I'm wanting another one for Dell Server.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup
About me... Photo/video enthusiast, Technology guru/developer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dell - UltraSharp 24" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor

Love this monitor

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: stupicles
from Seattle, WA
on 04/13/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Image Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: sharpness and quality of screen, 16:10 ratio
What's not so great: slight backlight bleed at corner
I bought this monitor because of the high resolution, quality, and price. I had originally shopped for a 27 inch monitor, but couldn't justify the high price for just 3 more inches. At the time of my purchase I could buy (2) 24" monitors for the price of (1) 27" monitor. I selected the dell because of the 16:10 ratio, high resolution, and quality of dell screens. Overall I am very happy with this monitor.
This product has... Attractive design, Easy to setup, No speakers
About me... Budget Conscious, Technology guru/developer
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2157772472
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dell - UltraSharp 24" Widescreen Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor

great monitor, but be wary of the AG coat

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: jakasaurus
on 04/13/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Image Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
great picture quality and faithful color representation but whites and text may appear blurred due to the anti-glare effect. users of glossy screens will notice this right away. has a displayport which is great for mac owners without having to use a dongle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 572276551
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>