Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile - PCD Venture No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Virgin Mobile - PCD Venture No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Model: Venture
SKU: 4245186
UPC: 836182001777
Keep in touch with family and friends using this Virgin Mobile PCD Venture no-contract mobile phone that features an Android 2.3 operating system for enhanced productivity and a 2.8" touch-screen display for easy navigation of features.
Average Customer Rating:
2.16 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 25 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
14
28% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
7 out of 25
)
Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile - PCD Venture No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black
Review 1 for Virgin Mobile - PCD Venture No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Excellent entry-level smartphone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: daytonaturboz
from Manistee, MI
on 09/01/2012
Call Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Call quality, external speaker, apps
What's not so great: Sluggish CPU, video recording
This is a very good phone for simple, basic tasks such as email, Facebook, texting, and making calls. If you are looking for high-performance games or apps, forget about it. However, the Venture is very good for basic social networking and communication. Call quality is quite good, speakerphone works well, it's fairly simple to transfer music from a computer to the phone, as well as set a custom ringtone. Some apps do run a bit slowly due to the processor being only 600 MHz, but it's barely noticeable as long as you're not trying to do something silly like run a game. Facebook, texting, and email are pretty much what I use this phone for, and it does all of these things beautifully. This is a great phone for the price, highly recommended as a first cell phone or even just someone looking for basic communication on the go.
This product is... Easy navigation, Replaced my camera
About me... Heavy texter, Need phone to keep me organized
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:15-17
Phone size:Just right
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Virgin Mobile - PCD Venture No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: BusyMom1968
from Northern, VA
on 08/22/2012
Call Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Battery Life
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Everything
Bought this for my 12 year old. Adding a screen saver make it unable to make or accept calls, screen blanks out when trying to make a call, can't have touchpad open during call hyper sensitive, battery life sucks, even with battery saver app, takes all night to fully charge even if no apps are running. It's going back glad I got the warranty.
About me... My phone is my life, Heavy texter, Heavy apps user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age:35-44
Phone size:Just right
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Virgin Mobile - PCD Venture No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Lacking in Apps

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ericwithcheese2
from Elkhart, IN
on 08/18/2012
  • Top 250 Contributor
Call Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Battery Life
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Full physical QWERTY keyboard
What's not so great: Software gltches
The Venture's design reminds one of a classic Blackberry form with a large screen above a small, full QWERTY keyboard. However, because of it's screen orientation, many popular apps (such as Words with Friends) is incompatible with this phone. If you are looking to use a lot of apps, you will find this phone's selection available to be very limited when compared to most other android devices.
Virgin runs off of Sprint's network, which means great coverage in large cities and along major highways, but spotty service in rural areas, which is also something to keep in mind here.
After about a week, the phone began to power off on its own and freeze numerous times. So while you get a physical keyboard, it isn't a fair trade-off if you can't use the phone.
This product is... Easy navigation
About me... Heavy texter, Heavy apps user, Need phone to keep me organized
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age:25-34
Phone size:Just right
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Virgin Mobile - PCD Venture No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Worst phone i ever used took it back the next day

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: scott46224
from indianapolis indiana
on 08/17/2012
Call Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Battery Life
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Battery is horrible wont keep charge
Worst phone ever made. Took it back next day after i bought it. Horrible battery and People could not hear me talking. Very bad
About me... My phone is my life, Heavy texter, Heavy apps user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age:35-44
Phone size:Just right
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Virgin Mobile - PCD Venture No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

DO NOT GET THIS PHONE

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Boobooboo
on 08/04/2012
Call Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Battery Life
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: Everything
So for my birthday i want to get a phone and this was the cheapest had in stock. Bring the first one home the first time Battery life was horrible I mean it was change all the way then boom non zip by and half and hour. Then a day later it starts shutting off and on. So thinking the battery was shot I went in and got a new one. Had the new phone for less than a day and now it won't charge and shuts on and off like the first one. I WOULD NOT get the phone.
About me... My phone is my life
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age:18-24
Phone size:Just right
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Virgin Mobile - PCD Venture No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

DO NOT BUY

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: asgrad09
on 08/02/2012
Bought this phone Wednesday. Worked fine throughout the day. The next morning though, it wasn't charging right and it wouldn't turn on. Had to exchange that defective phone for a HTC wildfire s.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Virgin Mobile - PCD Venture No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Good Blackberry-like phone with terrible battery

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Gorlaw
from St. Paul, MN
on 07/29/2012
Call Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good price; android, apps, organizers, key pad
What's not so great: Battery life; bundled office suite
Good phone except for very short battery life. The bundled office suite really needs to go. I installed Kingsoft Office free as a replacement.
This product is... good for people whose thumbs are in top condition
About me... Business Professional, Need phone to keep me organized
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:55-64
Phone size:Just right
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Virgin Mobile - PCD Venture No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Great Phone.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Cherelle
from Alhambra, CA
on 07/27/2012
Call Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: I can use apps now.
What's not so great: Needs more screen covers.
This is a great phone. The touch screen works great and apps like youtube and pandora work very well on it. The batter life is also great. When I am at home and use my wifi it doesn't drain the battery as much but when I out of the house if I'm not usiing wifi the 3GB does drain the battery pretty fast. I would recommend this phone if you want a smart phone for a good price with out a contract.
This product is... Replaced my MP3 player, Easy navigation, Tough/durable, Good video quality
About me... Heavy texter, Heavy apps user
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:25-34
Phone size:Just right
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Virgin Mobile - PCD Venture No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Great phone for a teenager!!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: reggie4200
from white plains, md.
on 07/25/2012
Call Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: price, set-up, user friendly
What's not so great: backlight screen is below average.
Great beginner phone for my daughter. No complaints from her!!
This product is... Easy navigation, Tough/durable
About me... Heavy texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:35-44
Phone size:Just right
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Virgin Mobile - PCD Venture No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

The cheap price parallels the cheap quality

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: SyntaxErrorMan
from South Ozone Park, NY
on 07/15/2012
Call Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Battery Life
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: The Price
What's not so great: Battery Life, Processor, Android Operating System Ver. 2.something, SD Card defects and can't download Instagram
I'm a proponent of Blackberries. However, I understand that RIM has lost touch with time, and that the route to go is, either, Android OS or iOS (Palm has all, but left, the playing field and Windows WebOS is pointless). So a phone with a QWERTY keyboard (that isn't a slider) was a selling point, as was the 79.99 price.. However while you can get used to the small keyboard - the other shortcomings of PCD's phone are too blaring to overlook. From the VERY old version of Android OS (which won't let you download Instagram) to the slow 800Mhz processor, the poor 2MP camera, HORRIBLE battery life, down to the defective SD card slots, ths Venture is not for anyone who uses their phone frequently. Spend the extra $120.00 and get the HTC One V.
About me... Heavy texter, Heavy apps user, Business Professional, Need phone to keep me organized
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age:25-34
Phone size:Just right
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Virgin Mobile - PCD Venture No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Waste of money!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: shoppingforourbusiness
from Burbank, CA
on 07/13/2012
Call Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Battery Life
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Nothing!
What's not so great: Do not buy!!!
This phone is a piece of junk, do not buy! Best Buy will only return the phone within 30 days of purchase. I purchased two for temporary travelers to use and the battery stopped charging after a month of use. What a terrible product! I wanted a cheap phone, but not this cheap! There is no guarantee from the Manufacturer as well. Virgin assumes no responsibility for this product's malfunctions.
About me... Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age:25-34
Phone size:Just right
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Virgin Mobile - PCD Venture No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Ok for the price

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Chrisuzz
from New Jersey
on 06/27/2012
What's great about it: Android Market
What's not so great: Slow downloads
This is a nice phone for a beginner or teen, but if you want performance, this isn't for you.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Virgin Mobile - PCD Venture No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

not a good one

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: lurose
from los angeles
on 06/26/2012
What's great about it: camera ok
What's not so great: the plan
since we bought the phone it had a problem with thw sd card, sometimes it doesnt charge...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Virgin Mobile - PCD Venture No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

I love this phone!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Kat04
on 06/19/2012
I don't understand why people are writing such bad reveiws on this phone. I love this phone. The things you can do with it is great. Sure the keyboard is smaller than most but really, once you get used to it, its just fine. People say you can't use a keyboard on the touchscreen but they obviously don't know what they're doing. There is a setting for the touchscreen keyboard so you can use it. And the camera is kinda sucky indoors but outdoors is fine. I think its great. But really, all pictures look better outside in my opinion. And the battery isn't that bad. You just can't be on the internet all day otherwise, yes, it will drain. But if you plan on being out all day and you absoulutly need to be on you phone, then take your charger with you. Like I do. And turn the brightness down, too. That helps greatly. All in all. This phone is not even as bad as the critics say. They're just comparing it to the iPhone so that's why they say the things they do. Oh, and the touch screen is great. Its very touchy and runs smooth. I love my phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Virgin Mobile - PCD Venture No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Do not waste your time or money.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: fatboy74
on 06/06/2012
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: everything else
I bought this phone because my other phone was broken, and at the time It was what I could afford. I had two of them. The battery life sucks, and both phones had sd card issues. Wifi also did not work. I have had Virgin Mobile for about 3 years now, and I love the service, and rates, but this phone needs to go!
This product is... Short battery life
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy texter, Heavy apps user, Need phone to keep me organized
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Virgin Mobile - PCD Venture No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Not a great phone

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: KFaye1971
from Bristol, VA
on 05/31/2012
What's great about it: Price, but you get what you pay for.
What's not so great: Battery life, receiver, shut off.
Had to trade it back because when making calls, you could hear the person on the other end, but they could not hear you. Only had a it a week when this problem started. Also, the battery life is not great and it kept shutting off. Maybe it was just a defective phone overall.
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard
About me... My phone is my life, Budget Conscious, Heavy texter
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Virgin Mobile - PCD Venture No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Extremely Poor Battery Life

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Nani10
from Central Virginia
on 05/30/2012
What's great about it: The features
What's not so great: Short Short Battery Life
I would not recommend this phone to anyone. Do NOT waste your time or money. You are better off with a Tracfone ha. The phone has great features on if it won't stay charged? There is no point.
This product is... Short battery life
About me... My phone is my life, Budget Conscious, Need phone to keep me organized
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Virgin Mobile - PCD Venture No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Great all around phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bhansell3
from Bedford, PA
on 05/30/2012
What's great about it: Good Price, Easy To Use, Easy To Set Up
What's not so great: SD Card Goes Bad
I have loved the phone since day 1. I have had this phone for over a month now. The battery usually last me around 2 days. I am not a serious app user, but do have twitter, facebook, and 4 email accounts linked.
The SD Card does have problems, but thats with the SD not with the phone. I changed it out and it has been working great since. Only real down side I had was you couldn't get words for friends on it!!!
This product is... Easy to use keypad/keyboard, Lightning fast, Tough/durable, Good call quality
About me... Heavy texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Virgin Mobile - PCD Venture No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

SAVE YOUR MONEY!

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: fy1shane
from jeffferson,la
on 05/29/2012
What's great about it: android 2.3
What's not so great: the phone itself
Thos phne was alright at first, but then it started to have problems with the sd card , it would not cut on properly , the keyboard was AWFUL the keyboad felt like a fake phone keyboard, IT DOESNT install most of the apps and games on the market because of the small screen and lack of campatibility , and it gets glitchy and slow . i WOULDNT recommend this phone . i will be upgrading to a triumph soon : D
This product is... Short battery life, slow, small screen
About me... My phone is my life, Heavy texter, Heavy apps user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Virgin Mobile - PCD Venture No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Stay Away From This Phone

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Crzdrcter
from Loma Linda,ca
on 05/27/2012
What's great about it: makes a great paper weight
What's not so great: This phones battery life is unbearable.Won't hang up calls,using up pre-paid minutes!!!
I have had this phone since the day it came out. I pre-ordered from Virgin site without playing with the phone first.Can say I will not do that again.The camera takes pics that look like a filter has been placed over the lens,very smokey looking.After 20-30 minutes of use the battery shuts down the screen to black after telling you its going into power saver.But once it is black you cant do anything but plug it in and wait for it to turn back on.Half the time I try and end a call,same thing,the sensor turns the touch screen off during a call but when you have the phone in your hand to press end call the screen is still black making it unable to hang up at which time you then have to remove the battery to end the call so as to not use up your minutes.Thought I would like the mix of qwerty with an android system,no thanks,waiting for the Evo 4g,tried and true phone this time around.
This product is... Short battery life, c-r-a-p-!!!!!
About me... Heavy texter, Need phone to keep me organized
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>