Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset

Model: 86051-11 GameCom 780
SKU: 4273049
UPC: 017229135741
With support for Dolby 7.1-channel surround sound, this Plantronics PC headset delivers immersive in-game PC audio via its noise-canceling, sound-isolating 40mm drivers. The headset folds flat for compact storage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.291 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 55 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
18
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
3
89% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
49 out of 55
)
Customer Reviews for Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset
Review 1 for Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset

Great headset at a great price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: KatMorgenstern
from Erie, PA
on 03/11/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Sound quality is great and mute is on the earpiece not on the cord
This is an awesome headset. Fits great over your ears. Most headsets fall off my head. This one fits securely without falling off. comfortable for long gaming sessions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset

Great bang for your buck headset

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: IEatCrayons
from DE
on 11/29/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I got this headset about a month ago. It was incredibly cheap for a 7.1 surround sound. Very easy to setup and its also comfortable to use for several hours of gameplay. I can talk to people and my mic is very clear and not distorted. It's easy to flip up to mute as well. No real complaints so far. I don't abuse it but I also don't take the greatest care of it and it seems pretty durable. Plantronics is a quality name as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0302809042
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset

Great headset on a budget

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: rwalby9
from Camarillo, CA
on 11/23/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
I was looking for a quality USB headset that didn't break the bank, and this totally hit the mark.
Also got it for a great price compared to the 'zon and a few other sites.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0572681980
My Best Buy number: 0572681980
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset

Excellent choice for PC Gamers

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Damaini
from Doral, FL
on 10/06/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great value for the price
I bought these on my son's request, and so far he is thrilled with the sound. He uses it everyday for at least 2-3 hours and loves them. So I would have to say that it was an excellent choice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0576695440
My Best Buy number: 0576695440
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset

Great Budget Headset

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: NormNormington
from Pennsylvania
on 09/27/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Sound Quality and Mic are good
What's not so great: After long time playing it makes my ear lobes hurt (not the hearing parts)
Basically a good headset for a good price. Only downside (which is likely a personal thing) is that after a long time headset can make my ears hurt from the pressure against my ears.
Everything else is great, though the connection where the USB wire goes into the headset looks a bit weak time will tell.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset

Great Midline Headset

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PeterPiperPickle
on 08/23/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Plantronics has never done me wrong. Best comfort and sound quality for the price. The mic is crystal clear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2145585893
My Best Buy number: 2145585893
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset

Excellent quality sound a microphone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JamesTx
from Houston, TX
on 08/01/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: High quality sound, USB device
What's not so great: Pads for the ears can make you hot with extended use
This is a bulky but well built set of headphones with an integrated microphone. I was looking for something with good sound for gaming with a microphone for voice communications. It needed to be good quality, a USB device and have good sound, and these headphones deliver.
Easy to reach controls, though the volume control is very sensitive and brushing it tends to adjust the volume. The microphone is only usable from the left side. The ear pieces are very well padded, though after extended use my ears and around my ears tend to get a bit warm due to the materials used in construction.
I think this is likely one of the best values available on the market in a gaming headset, and mine came with a Steam code for Orcs Must Die 2.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2822579436
My Best Buy number: 2822579436
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset

Amazing quality

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Bigsinister781
from Gloucest,ma
on 07/12/2013
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Comfort
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Great quality sound for the price, it's lasting quite a while thus far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0067241354
My Best Buy number: 0067241354
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset

Great headset for a gamer on a budget.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Zhael
from Louisiana
on 05/30/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Sound quality, comfort, mic, plug-and-play setup.
What's not so great: No 3.5 jack option.
Didn't have much money, but wanted a gaming headset that could help me get into my PC games better. Already own the Plantronics Voyager Legend Bluetooth earpiece, which I love, so I decided to give this pair a try. $79.99 for 7.1 surround sounded too good to be true, but in truth it does it pretty well! Maybe not as well as more expensive pairs (Plantronics themselves have a $299.99 pair), but the sound quality is excellent, the controls on the side of the headphones makes adjusting volume a breeze, and the microphone is quite good! USB only, though. I know some gaming headsets have the option for a 3.5 mm line in, but this is not such a big deal. I'll stick with my iHomes for the iPod.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Plantronics - Voyager Legend Bluetooth Headset
4.2 out of 5(412)
 
 
 
 
 
My Best Buy number: 2833926663
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset

excellent investment for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: danp142
from wendell nc
on 05/30/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: 7.1 surround sound
What's not so great: nothing noted
I picked the headset up around three months ago, on sell for 54 bucks, and after reading other reviews, decided to pick them up, and the head phones have performed above all expectations, I was using a set of wow headphones which were ok, but could not compare.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset

great alternative to an expensive logitech

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: socrgy9
from Fort Campbell, KY
on 05/25/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: 7.1 surround
What's not so great: not the greatest bass, but its still good
fits tight over your ears. 7.1 surround is great for gaming, has a fairly long USB cable.
bought this because it was cheaper than a logitech and i'm glad i did. its a great headset that seems well built. the software is easy to install and 1 touch of a button enables 7.1 surround. the bass isnt the greatest ever, but dont get me wrong. its still really good.
i highly recommend this headset.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2850183216
My Best Buy number: 2850183216
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset

My son loves them.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JRpaul
from Troy, MI
on 05/19/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use and great fit.
What's not so great: No back feedback yet.
My 14-year old son loves these headphones. He's had the comparable Turtle Beach set and likes these far better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2378674562
My Best Buy number: 2378674562
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset

Great head phones! Strong base!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RabbitKing
from Fort Smith, AR
on 05/13/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Easy setup, good price, great quality.
What's not so great: Only has USB adapter
If you're looking for a good PC game headset then this is the one for you. With 7.1 surround sound these headphones really ring! Music, games, videos, it gets it done and done well! The base has plenty of kick and the quality is suburb.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2131113857
My Best Buy number: 2131113857
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset

The Best

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Eugene, OR
on 05/10/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Amazing sound
What's not so great: They last under 2 years
Buy the warranty, it will be worth it. Wonderful. More sound than anyone would ever need
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2717530658
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset

Sound is Very clear

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BoG233
from N.Y.
on 05/03/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Comfort
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: The Controls on the headset are easy to work
What's not so great: The ear cup are not round and the corners press into my head
The head set is a very good price for the quality . There is just enough adjustable to make them fit my head . But a couple of 10 hour torses of BF3 have tought me that the square head cup dig into my head a little but after 10 hours you will need them off for a break . The sound is easy to set up kind of one button thing . Not real adjustable sound . I will post another review in a couple of months .
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2160142972
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset

Great for the price!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Docdra
from Michigan
on 04/28/2013
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Overall quality versus affordability.
What's not so great: Has a short cord and buttons in bad position.
I was shocked when I switched from a prior more expensive gaming headset to these - the audio was very crisp, clear, and presented a decent soundstage for headphones. I had to take them off to make sure the audio wasn't coming from another source.
Despite my rather large head, they fit comfortably - even when playing games or videos for hours; I wear glasses too and I do occasionally remove them then to "rest" the sides of my head.
The only real negative is the short cord on these, but an external USB hub with a long cord alleviates that issue.
Overall good value, sound, and performance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 417934639
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset

Comfortable to wear

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Garner45
from Minnesota
on 04/20/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: good price and sound
I am really enjoying this pair of headphones, The only minor problem I have is that occasionally I will accidentally adjust the volume with my shoulder as the adjuster is on the bottom of the ear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0544509212
My Best Buy number: 2630224191
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset

Amazing Sound, Well Built.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from roseville california
on 04/13/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: A bit tight
Well, I've had a turtle beach x11 for the last 3 years and finally the tape that was holding them together on both sides finally gave out, so I was off to find a new headset.
First off, I tried the Tritton series, which I didn't entirely like. They didn't give me the option between movies and games and music and what not to choose the sound quality and base levels. Also, the one I had chose was only compatible with Xbox, which I didn't entirely know.
I took them back, and finally found this product online. After seeing a ton of awesome reviews on it, I decided to give it a try.
I've had them for only a couple hours, but I can't seem to get away from them, since they are so amazing.
The sound quality is unbelievable. Dolby 7.1 has reached more than my expectations. Also, the awesome software that has been included gives you an easy switch between Gaming/Movies/Music sound modes and what not.
The feel so comfortable, but for someone that wears glasses, they might be pushed to your head and you'll have to adjust to what feels fine. I've already found that I don't even realize anything but my glasses, so maybe it was just a fluke with myself.
Well, overall, I would definitely recommend this product, and I was recommend getting it from best buy as well. They have more than excellent customer service, and their staff has always been extremely nice and knowledgeable within the areas the question belongs to.
10/10
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset

Poor sound quality makes these a no-go for me

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Ricola
from Mpls, MN
on 04/09/2013
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Comfort
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Seem durable
What's not so great: Noisy mike, poor sound quality, painfully tight on larger heads.
Although they appear to be mechanically well-built, this headset seems to produce noisy audio from its microphone, even in a very quiet room. Looking at the a]waveform of audio recorded with it, it is apparent that the microphone adds a "DC offset" to it's signal, requiring extra processing to get usable sound.
The cans may fit well on someone with a smaller than average head, but on me they were painfully tight.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
0out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset

Amazing Sound Quality

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mtorz
from Harrisburg
on 03/05/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Durable, Virtual Surround Sound is fantastic!
What's not so great: Can be uncomfortable if you wear it for prolonged periods of time.
Overall this is a really fantastic headset. The day I bought it, I spent about 8 hours listening to Pandora Radio just because they sounded so great. For the people complaining about the sound, you may need to upgrade your sound card.
The only issue I have, is the over-the-ear design with the headset is a bit uncomfortable because it mushes your earlobe down, and is not big enough to cover it. To remedy this, I just take the headset off for about 5 minutes each hour.
Like I said - overall great. Price isn't bad, especially considering the microphone quality, and the durability of the overall headset.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Razer - Naga 2012 Expert MMO Laser Gaming Mouse - Black
4.2 out of 5(51)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>