Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Model: LT4004U
SKU: 4684196
UPC: 886541395917
Browse the Web while on the go using this Gateway LT4004U netbook that features built-in wireless networking. The 10.1" LED-backlit display and webcam make it easy to video chat with family and friends.Learn more about Intel� processors. Information provided by Intel.
Average Customer Rating:
3.91 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 67 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
26
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
8
84% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
56 out of 67
)
Customer Reviews for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black
Review 1 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Great gifts!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LPowell13
from Bloomington, IL
on 11/06/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Its easy to use and light weight!
I bought two of these for my nephews for Christmas! They love them!
This product is... A nice compact size, easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Technology guru, Social media enthusiast, Gamer, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Great for trips

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BJSmith
from Stacyville, IA
on 08/01/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Sturdy
What's not so great: Needs 2gb ram
This "mini" as we call it works good for trips in the van. We run a gps mapping program on it and some bookkeeping software too. It was slow at first because the ram was running at 85 to 100% full. We did install a 2 gb stick and it works a lot better! It plays moves well and can surf the internet with ease. Has fair sound for one person to hear good, can plug in external speakers if more sound is needed. Lite weight and can go in a backpack/purse/briefcase with room to spare. Starts up quick. No cd rom , but is very good with networking.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Parent with kids, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

So far no complaints more than satisified

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kaycee666
from Gilroy, CA
on 07/26/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It seems to be sturdy, considering its size it runs as fast as it should I assume
What's not so great: Sometimes there are WIFI issues but rarely
Overall I am pretty satisfied with this product. It is the perfect size to fit in my purse, charger mouse and all and still have room for make-up and wallet. Pretty sturdy considering my clumsiness and disregard for electronics at times. Sometimes it does have problems keeping the Wifi connection considering I am in the middle of a hotspot and the sound is definitely low. Speakers are a must.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Webroot SecureAnywhere Antivirus 2012 (1-Year Subscription) - Windows
4.2 out of 5(117)
 
 
 
Norton AntiVirus 2011 (1-Year Subscription) - Windows
4.1 out of 5(114)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Very good portable full function PC

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Roberto62
from Metairie, LA
on 07/21/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Small, good battery life, can customize a bit.
What's not so great: Average processor, graphics, comes with 1 gig ram only
I really like this little netbook. I think it is an excellent alternative to a tablet or pad and the price is probably it's best point. It is great for surfing and Email, Word, Excel. I would hesitate to use it for anything requiring higher end graphics. the AMD one would probably work better for that, but at the compromise of a tad slower main CPU. After all it is a very small screen - would you watch HD on a 10" screen? I did upgrade to Win 7 ult, full MS office, 4 gB Ram.-it sees 3Gb, 16gB powerboost. I think the MB limits Ram to 3Gb as you don't get 3.5 like a typical 32 bit OS and I read that 64bit OS only recognizes 3Gb also. Ram install very tricky, get your geek friend to do it if you are not a tinkerer. Touchpad takes a little practice as does the mini keypad whcih has some non-standard key locations for some. Speed may be slow for some power pc users. This is no way near meant to compete in the high-end laptop market so if you don't try to , you will realize it has very good performance for its size and cost. I am not sure that the powerboost makes much of a difference. It is OK with the 1 gig Ram and starter. I did not find a huge difference in performance after upgrade but there is some. If you are used to an older 1.6-2 gigHz laptop this is basically the same but tiny. Get rid of the bloatware - first thing! Also configure the Elan touchpad for the 2-finger scroll and other#like I-pad# stuff, you will like it!
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Good product with reasonable price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SN195
from Almo, KY
on 07/19/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Compact size with Win 7 operating system.
What's not so great: Slower speed
I have used this net-book PC for my travel. It is a great compact PC for checking email and google information with a clear display. The PC has an relative faster start-up speed but a slower processing speed when I switched between different software or different working screens.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Good replacement for bulky old laptop

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: afhorn55
from troymo
on 07/19/2012
What's great about it: very portable
What's not so great: graphics for gaming
Bought this for my grandson who was using my old laptop. He bought and downloaded minecraft and discovered the on board graphics were not up to the challange. Aside from that, he loves it.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Great alternative to a tablet

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BillH11103
from Astoria, NY
on 07/19/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Size, convenience, ease of use, display, battery life
What's not so great: Low-ish RAM
I didn't want a tablet for travel, as I do not like virtual keyboards. Decided upon the Gateway as my 17" laptop is a Gateway. It's affordable, easy-to-use, convenient, and has a great display and amazing battery life. My only complaint, and it's a very small one, is the low-ish RAM. I'll be upgrading that shortly. I also immediately purchased the full version of Windows, and highly recommend doing so, even though I had limited use of Windows Starter. It does come with the $14.99 upgrade offer to Windows 8, but I'll be sticking with Windows 7.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Great Netbook

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: carmelo418
from New York, NY
on 07/19/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use. Has HDMI port!
What's not so great: Nothing
Good Basic Netbook for beginners who want to surf the web and video chat.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

great value for a netbook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: hanaleia
from Black Forest, Colorado
on 07/13/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: small size, super easy RAM upgradeable for a wonderfully cheap price, HDMI connections streams great to tv
What's not so great: no drawbacks except it definately needs more RAM but this type RAM is super cheap, performs as expected and a bit beyond
Bought over a month ago. Got rid of Direct TV and bought this for a video streamer to the tv. With just 1GB memory it was at first certainly pokey. Windows 7 starter was fine, it just did not have certain features I wanted so After installing Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit then tweaking the OS( turning off nonessential systems, some bloatware etc). and replacing the 1GB stick with a 4 GB, also from Best Buy (only 1 slot) this netbook ran really nice. The only drawback is I could not find a 64 bit video driver that would play nice with Netflix ( video/audio out of sync seems to be a Silverlight issue with this processor under a 64 bit OS) and since Netflix and Hulu Plus( Hulu Plus worked fine btw) handle the majority of our viewing I decided to put Windows 7 Home Premium 32 bit on instead of the 64 bit version. Now it runs flawlessly, and interestingly even though 32bit cant use all the 4GB of RAM. It looks as though the rest is being utilized by the video card which in DXdiag shows the video as now having 1274 MB instead of the advertised 64 MB. Either way the video/audio sync at Netflix plays flawless under the 32 bit system. If you upgrade to 4GB stick though you may want to use a chill pad as it runs a little hotter especially if you do install a 64 bit OS. I have already recommended this netbook to several friends looking for a netbook that performs well for a reasonable price.
This product is... A nice compact size, with 4gb ram is super fast for a little tiny guy.
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Student, Gamer, Business Professional, lover of technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

already has defect

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: fraucrt
from abilene, tx
on 07/12/2012
What's great about it: light weight
What's not so great: touch pad has already quit working
We bought this net book in May because we wanted a light-weight computer to take to Europe. Already within two months the touch pad has quit working, and Gateway has not responded by email to our request for help. We are in Germany and needing to get research done, so we are unable to reach Gateway except by email. Thank goodness we brought a mouse with us.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... research scholar
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

low end laptop

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ClimaTech
from Boise, ID
on 07/12/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The price point is perfect.
What's not so great: little memory
This should have the option of an initial memory upgrade to 2gig or more. Don't try to upgrade the memory yourself unless you are very confident. Other than that it is perfect for my needs.
This product is... Good sound quality
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Best for moms

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Stan12345
from King of Prussia. PA
on 07/11/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
What's great about it: portability, small size, good as a gift
What's not so great: Windows version, low memory, slow hard drive
It comes with 1GB of memory. It is not enough. An extra Sodium DDR3 costs 10-15$ but installation is the pain. See youtube video EuM3PoW-jxs. It is not so good video and you can find better ones. The point is that it is hard to pull keyboard and hard to remove bottom of the the netbook. Well, I did it eventually so many times that it is become easy like cake. But first time it was hard. W/out a manual it is hard.
The Windows system that comes with this unit, has its limitations but ultimately it is not that bad. I tried to upgrade hard drive to SSD 60GB did not work for me. Probably size is small or just was a wrong unit.
Eventually I made it work pretty good and fast. With 2GB it runs actually moderatly fast. So upgrade of memory is absolutely must.
I bought it for my mom because it was easy to send oversees. And I bought another one for my mom in law. She already got it and loves it. She does not need anything else. Even she does not got a memory upgrade.
About me... Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Great for 4 year old

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: wifeandmomof1
from louisiana
on 07/11/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: She can have her own computer that is not a toy.
What's not so great: keypad too small for adult fingerrs
Brought for our 4 year old birthday and she loves it. She loves that she get to have her own computer and it is very light and durable for her. She is responsible and loves to be independent.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Best netbook for the right price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Cam9191
from Illinois
on 07/09/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything, easy to carry around
What's not so great: GHz could get better.
I wanted a netbook to replace my old big laptop because I'm sick of how big it was and battery wasn't any good so my netbook cured all these problems! I'm very happy I made this purchase. How to make this netbook to become an ultimate netbook? Just simply upgraded the 1GB RAM to 4GB RAM and it made a HUGE difference! My netbook has been running so great with 4GB RAM. This netbook with the asking price is a great steal! Go get this netbook now, upgrade the RAM and you won't regret it!
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Great computer for traveling

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Parupie
from Roanoke, VA
on 07/04/2012
What's great about it: Lightweight, but still can do a variety of tasks.
What's not so great: It's rather slow.
I really like my netbook, but it could be faster processing. Even with the slowness, I still feel like it's a great little computer for the price.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size
About me... Computer technology challenged
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Great for Travelers and Beginners

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: cliffordo
from pennsylvania
on 07/04/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy, Compact
What's not so great: Hard for big fingers to type on keyboard
This is my first notebook (or laptop). as an older consumer, I am slow to make transitions. But we needed something to run emails and business inventory while on a trip. This hooked up well to Hotels WiFi... It held power well. Easy to learn. Great for basic communications via web surfing and web-mail.
This product is... Perfect for Business, A nice compact size, good for beginnings with basic needs
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

I bought 4 of these laptops. 3 are good, one bad

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: wavedirect
from Las Vegas
on 07/04/2012
What's great about it: Realively fast, starts fast from sleep mode. Overall good.
What's not so great: One of the 4 I bought had a bad Ethernet card
I bought 4 of these laptops: Initially 2 and then a couple of weeks later, another 2 because the first 2 worked so well. They are great for my service technicians because they are so small and light. I need the Ethernet port all the time because of the work we do. One of the 4 had a bad Ethernet card - What happens is that it works when you first boot up but then stops working after it wakes up from sleep. The Local Area Connection disappears altogether under Network Connections. I reinstalled the Ethernet Driver that I downloaded from Gateway but it still didn't fix it. I even tried completely reinstalling the OS from factory settings but still the same thing. I will return it for an exchange, hopefully without any arguments.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, A nice compact size
About me... Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Nice Netbook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Julie1963
from Orlando, FL
on 07/03/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up
What's not so great: Nothing so far
I bought this a few weeks ago to replace an Acer Netbook I had for years. This has worked perfectly for me. I was able to put office on it and use it for all the personal reasons I need to. I do use it for work from time to time and it's never given me any issues.
For a netbook it connects easily to the internet and it's been smooth as silk on that so far. It got to the websites faster the my Dell Computer at work ... and kept up surfing with the time it takes on my HP & Mac at home.
I know a lot of people don't care for Gateway ... but I've had a Gateway lap top for years which has been pretty beaten and well travelled yet still works like a charm.
This product is... A nice compact size, strong for a portable net book
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Very delicate.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Sophia126
from Texas
on 06/28/2012
What's great about it: Light weight
What's not so great: Speed, and comes with windows starter.
This netbook is lightweight, which is great but is not good for children under ages 11. This computer freezes up a lot for no reason. I believe that this computer is meant to be in a stationary place. If your looking for a computer to pick up and move around a lot, this computer is not the one. Just the slight bump on the screen can mess it up. its very delicate. If you use a computer for traveling and moving around, your bond to drop it at least once. My 7 yr old boy dropped it from a small coffee table which was like 1 foot above ground and after that the screen started flickering and it began to run slow.I've had past experiences with gateways and they were not good. And this experience with this gateway netbook is not going to great either. I planning on getting a dell soon.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
4out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Great value in a netbook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JudoMan
from Prescott, AZ
on 06/27/2012
What's great about it: Does everything I need it to do and is easy to transport
What's not so great: You can only use it as a frisbee if you don't want it to work anymore (not durable feeling)
Great piece of computing hardware for the price. The first one I brought home died in 3 days (Hard drive totally died) but replacement was easy and hassle free. The replacement is doing fine. With a small case it is extremely portable and easy to set up and the 8 hour battery life claimed seems to hold up. You have to be gentle with these items ( they are not commando rated) but if you treat them nice they hold up just fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>