Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Model: LT4004U
SKU: 4684196
UPC: 886541395917
Browse the Web while on the go using this Gateway LT4004U netbook that features built-in wireless networking. The 10.1" LED-backlit display and webcam make it easy to video chat with family and friends.Learn more about Intel� processors. Information provided by Intel.
Average Customer Rating:
3.91 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 67 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
26
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
8
84% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
56 out of 67
)
Customer Reviews for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black
Review 21 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Disappointing

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: milee
from newburgh, ny
on 06/26/2012
I wish I had read the reviews before buying....I had it for a week when the screen started flickering. It increases on certain sites like Yahoo. When I try to click on the e-mail icon it flickers wildly. Thought it was a nice product for the money but sadly, I had to take it back. :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Display problem less than 24 hrs after buying

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: hooverbob
from hoover
on 06/25/2012
What's great about it: fast enough, full keyboard....
What's not so great: display going bad
I like the size of the little computer, using it instead of a tablet. Good price. Problem with the display showing up on second day
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

I thought it was love at first sight...

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: monicamiichelle
from california
on 06/19/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Small and fun to touch
What's not so great: it broke
So I went to best buy and bought Lappy on a whim. I knew he was a Gateway but I didn't judge. The first week was perfect. We did all the fun internet stuff ever Lappy wants to do but then the next day I woke up and everything was different. I tried to rub Lappy but he wouldn't respond. His touch pad has shut down and me and its been a painful loss but I will return him to something better. Never again Gateway
This product is... garbage, junk, lumpys package
About me... Budget Conscious, Gamer, retired
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
11out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

5 Stars

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rbrevu
from Arkansas
on 06/18/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything so far
What's not so great: didn't come with any cables except an ac charger
I bought this today in store and have to say i really like it. now, i ordered a tablet online two weeks ago, android...who makes these things? it wouldn't always let me use the adroid app store, only theirs, it was slow and froze uo and a dozen other wrongs. needless to say, before my 15 day refund was up i took it back. with that in mind, this notebook is like a new invention. it could do better with 2GB, but keeping in mind it's only 1GB and is running on wifi, plus i have connected with iphone using iphone as the modem and on 3g it still moves right along. everything is quality to me, looks, feel, it's not flimsy at all and i love the size.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Parent with kids, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Very portable

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Try2writeagain
from Lorain, OH
on 06/13/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: You can take it anywhere and have regular access just like a big computer.
What's not so great: Seems slower than my laptop
I like my netbook much better then the origanal tablet I got. You go to regular websites not moble sites like on a tablet.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Student, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

For my wife

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: zionjim
from KY
on 06/13/2012
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Nothing
I bought this unit for my wife to replace her old GW laptop. We both really like it - even with the 1 gig ram. I took the advice of ('HereIsATip'
from Columbia, MO - Posted on 05/10/2012) and uninstalled the programs that he recommended. His post is less than 10 or so behind me.
The unit is plenty fast for us and the touch pad works great.
I may order one for myself to replace my old 'tried and true' Acer Aspire'.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Love this mini notebook!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BASG
from mississippi
on 06/11/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Boots up fast, has a sharp look
Excellent choice for an inexpensive mini notebook.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Screen Flickering

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: AlgaeC
from San Francisco, CA
on 06/10/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Display
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Small enough to carry around
What's not so great: Screen Flickering
When I visit certain websites including Yahoo and Lego.com, the screen non-stop flickering, so bad that the brower closes itself. I thought I got a defective computer. I took it back and got another one. Same problem. Looks like it is a design problem. Only 1GB of memory is kind of small.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Great notebook for limited use...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: timaroosky
from Gilbert, AZ
on 06/09/2012
What's great about it: Small and compact
What's not so great: 1GB of RAM
I purchased this notebook because I wanted something simple, cheap and I did not want to lug around a larger laptop. I wanted more RAM, but I did not want to pay double the price for 2GB of RAM. Instead, I just purchased this one and upgraded the RAM myself by buying a 2GB card for $15. The difference is extremely noticable. I don't need anything more than checking email and surfing the net, so 2GB is fine with me. I'm the type of person that stucks to a desktop for speed and performance.
Changing the RAM is extremely easy and it's just plug & play. Getting the bottom door off is the most difficult...press hard! There are plenty of videos online to guide you. Don't buy a more expensive netbook. Get this one and upgrade it yourself.
This product is... Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+28points
29out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Great Netbook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MattGoBills
from Tampa, FL
on 06/06/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Size, weight, speed
What's not so great: First one malfunctioned
After having to return the first one, due to it not shutting down (ridiculous, yes), I got the second one. It was a gift for my girlfriend who mostly uses it for internet surfing, facebook, etc., but I have used it as well. Internet speed is same as higher performance laptops we have. Very light and portable, battery life is great! Perfect for someone who doesn't want a bulkier/heavier laptop, but isn't willing to give up the real keyboard (tablet). May upgrade to 2GB RAM, but not sure if it's worth the hastle of removing everything.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Excellent Netbook!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: glen2927
from Minneapolis, MN
on 05/27/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: If there's anything lacking, it can use more RAM
For 230.00, I do not regret buying this! I need a portable computer for school, doing basic word processing and maybe checking emails. This does above and beyond what I expected. It is above and beyond performance and quality for the price as well. I upgraded to windows 7 home premium out of the box, the only thing that bugs me is how dangerously low the RAM is when I see the task manager specs, but it doesn't lag really, but don't try to run Crysis 3 on it guys, it's a netbook! I also extremely dislike windows starter, so I reccomend getting the windows anytime upgrade to windows home premium. Heck, I am typing this on my couch right now! I was so tired of using my iPhone or having to sit at my home computer to do my work. I don't even have access to my home PC all that much. Get this netbook if you are looking for one!!!
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, perfect for schoolwork/small business projects
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, Technology guru, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Windows Anytime Upgrade: Windows Starter to Windows 7 Home Premium - Windows
4.2 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
 
 
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Pretty Good Great Price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: EllenK
from USA
on 05/24/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price Battery life
Pretty Good I Iike Price and long batterie life !!!
This product is... A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size
About me... Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Great value, even better with upgrades (4gb ram)

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TheDigitalDan
from Georgia
on 05/24/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, form factor
What's not so great: Difficulty of upgrading
I used to own a netbook some years ago, one of the Asus clamshell models. I needed a new netbook for a trip to China where I don't want to take either of my business / fancy laptops that would be too big or too expensive to replace if stolen. The form factor is considerably thinner than the Asus I used to have and it should fit easily in my wife's purse.
Now about the upgradability. It's a bit of a pain, there's a YouTube video that outlines the process which entails removing the keyboard, removing 6 screws, and popping off the back cover. You can tell this was designed to generate income for repair / technology places by making it more of a pain that the average user would care to attempt.
The good news is that the RAM is replaceable and so is the 2.5" 9.5mm hard drive. I replaced the RAM with a 4gb module and yes, this unit does recognize the 4gb model but only gives you 3gb of it in Win7 64bit. Considering how cheap it is ($25#, just add a 4gb SoDimm. The difference between 2gb and 3gb is noticeable. Also, make sure you update the BIOS to the latest revision #1.06 for me#.
As for the hard drive, it's a standard SATA 2.5" drive of the 9.5mm height variety. I popped in a 1 terrabyte drive and the system has no issues. Given the drive's larger cache, it might be even better on battery life.
I just need to pick up a $25 spare battery and I should easily be able to get through a 14hr flight. I've never been able to sleep on a plane... :#
This product is... A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size
About me... Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
+47points
47out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

good for an older person to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sorrels64
from robertson county texas
on 05/23/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to use and carry with me
i am completly satisfied with it because i have to travel a lot and it is so handy
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Pretty good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Cksh
from Detroit, MI
on 05/22/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: small/lightweight
What's not so great: memory
Was a bit slow when we first got it, and had trouble with some applications. Took advice of previous reviews and upgraded to 2 gigs of memory. Despite what the specification says you can upgrade this computer. This solved the issues, and we have not had any trouble since. Boots up fast and surfing is great.
There is a video on youtube for a similar product that will get you through upgrading the memory if you decide to do it. It involves popping out the keyboard, removing some screws, then pushing out bottom cover. Do a search with this model number.
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

The Value Gem of Netbooks

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dolcetta
from Newport News, VA
on 05/18/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Performance, Price, Form Factor
What's not so great: the RAM needs to be upgraded to 2 GB
This little gem strikes the perfect balance between what a netbook should be able to do, and what you should pay to do it. It makes a perfect NetFlix netbook! You get 4-way CPU processing (dual-core Atom processor with each core hyperthreading), built-in webcam, a nice crisp LED backlit display (1024x600), b/g/n/ Wi-Fi, an Ethernet jack, 15-pin VGA monitor connector, USB 2.0 (3.0 would be nice), built-in speakers that you can actually hear, standard audio I/O jacks, SD card slot, etc.
My only criticism is that Gateway/Acer economized on the DDR3 RAM by installing only 1 GB, and indicating in the specs that this is the max. As many other reviewers have mentioned, it is not the max. I upgraded the RAM by replacing the 1 GB SODIMM with a 2 GB SODIMM the same day I bought it. It is a bit of a task, since you must pop out the keyboard, then remove a bunch of screws underneath it so you can drop out the bottom panel and access the single SODIMM memory slot, but the performance boost is worth the effort. Youtube videos are available to show you exactly how to do it.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size, a great balance of value and performance, and impressive battery life
About me... info tech professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Great for 8yr old

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Dingode
from N.W. Ohio
on 05/10/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Small and light.
What's not so great: Speed
We bought this for our daughters 8th birthday. Probably because I'm used to a I5 laptop, but performance seems a bit slow. I ordered more memory from crucial for $14. I've read that this really improves it's performance. Still though, it does exactlyy what I expected it to do and I would buy it again.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Rival to a tablet for traditional computing needs.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: HereIsATip
from Columbia, MO
on 05/10/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price, weight, screen, battery
What's not so great: Speakers, tweaks needed, multitouch
This computer is definitely worth the buy if you have 2 to 3 hours of time to spare to set it up. For your convenience, I have set up a list of things for future buyers to do, or if you already own this computer, I highly recommend doing these things. But first, let me describe it. The things I was concerned about before getting this computer was the keyboard feel, the front facing camera, and the durability. Keyboard: nice and punchy, not too noisy, and nice sized keys. Camera: so so, but it gets the job done if you want to use Skype or something. Durability: Well put together, screen is firmly connected to the body and doesn't shake, top is glossy and scratches easily, but I just put it in a case when I'm not using it. Okay, now to help you guys out.
Solving the biggest problem, the screen flickering.
1) Click Start Button
2) Click Control Panel - Select View by: "Small Icon" from drop down
3) Click Intel(R) GMA Driver
4) Change Color Depth from "32 Bit" to "16 Bit"
You won't notice the difference. My screen flickered mainly during videos and loading pictures. After changing this, it has never flickered again!
Okay, now to make it faster.
1) Click Start Button
2) Click Control Panel - Select View by: "Small Icon" from drop down
3) Click Programs and Features
4) Uninstall the recommended items: Norton Internet Security (do this first, you'll notice a huge difference), Adobe Air, BestBuy App, Bing Bar, Evernote, Fooz Kids, Fooz Kids Platform, Gateway Social Networks, Gateway Updated, Identity Card, Launch Manager, Welcome Center. Once again, this is only a recommended list. None of these programs will break Windows if they are removed.
To protect your computer, I never waste my money on Norton or McAfee. I like Avast Antivirus, as you can make it a silent antivirus and its free. But you are your best antivirus, just browse and download safely, and scan your computer periodically.
Lastly, here are some recommendations for installs. This should be used for people familiar with editing simple computer settings. Use Firefox or Google Chrome. Edit the mult touch settings for the touchpad (icon is in the tray next to the clock). Install "TwoFingerScroll" for way better scrolling (just google it).
Enjoy!!
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, A nice compact size, price is unmatched
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
+152points
157out of 162found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

nice little netbook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: snowmaninwhite
from Wisconsin
on 05/09/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: the size and price, easy to use, lightweight, somewhat easy to upgrade once you figure out how to
What's not so great: glossy finish gets finger prints non stop, not enough ram, comes with windows 7 starter
nice little netbook, I bought this because the price was right and the processor was of a good size compared to other netbooks, not a huge fan of gateway products, but it gets the job done. I upgraded the ram to a 2 gig stick, once I found out what it came with, upgraded that, than upgraded to 7 ultimate, this little machine works nicely and performs better with the upgraded ram, but slows down if I'm doing too much, but that's to be expected. able to watch YouTube videos quite nicely also.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Gateway - 10.1" Netbook - 1GB Memory - 250GB Hard Drive - River Black

Disappointed

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: granpapa
from Florence, SC
on 05/08/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Compact size
What's not so great: Slow, screen flickers
I bought two of these and was very disappointed. I expected the slowness, based on the processor speed and Windows 7 starter. What I did not expected was the constant screen flickering from side to side. This happened on both netbooks. I emailed Gateway, but they were of no help and had no solution. Their customer service is very poor. I searched for an answer, and tried different things, but never could get the flickering to stop. I took both netbooks back to Best Buy. Best Buy is extremely good in their customer service and took both back without a problem. I would definately recommend Best Buy. I just would not buy the Gateway netbook. I bought another one with the C60 chip, 2GB of RAM, and have not experienced any issues with it.
This product is... slow and frustrating
About me... Technology guru
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
18out of 27found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>