Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Pewter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

HP 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Pewter

Model: g7-1365dx
SKU: 4693764
UPC: 886112595463
Create customized CDs and DVDs using this HP Pavilion g7-1365dx laptop's DVD±RW/CD-RW drive. Wireless networking provides an easy connection to the Internet, and the 640GB hard drive allows you to store important documents and more.Windows 7 Home Premium installed Learn more.Learn more about VISION Technology from AMD.
Average Customer Rating:
4.62 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 50 reviews
5 stars
37
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
96% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
48 out of 50
)
Customer Reviews for HP 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Pewter
Review 1 for HP 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Pewter

Great for my purposes

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Robert247
from Atlanta, GA
on 03/25/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
This computer is not going to break any records, but for the price it will work for my needs. The large display with 125% font makes it easy for my senior mother to use and see.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Pewter

Best you can get for the price!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ATodd24
from Texas
on 03/22/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Quick and easy
For $500 you can't go wrong or ask for a better laptop. Even with multiple apps, streaming video, and Adobe CS running it is still very fast. Have had no problems yet. Battery life is fine for around the home and would have plenty to get through a day of commuting. Previous HP desktop lasted 11 years and was still running when I retired it this year. Needed more speed and this was the way to go! I actually look forward to getting work done on this one now!
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Pewter

Good computer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: less30
from Leavenworth Ks.
on 03/12/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast start up plenty of memory
What's not so great: Touch pad Quirky
Fast starting and handles running multi programs touch pad has some quirks
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Pewter

easy to get used to

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mikeandmarilyn
from manhattan
on 03/09/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: I love the wider screen
What's not so great: can't think of anything wrong with it. I haven't had it that long
I love the wider screen. it has the numbers on the right and that's what I wanted. I LOVE this new computer of mine. It's so easy to use and not at all complicated. It comes on fast and turns off just as fast.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... on computer at my leisure
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Pewter

Nice system,

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RALPH3
from Cleveland,Ohio
on 03/09/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to use
What's not so great: don't know of anything
Nice system, like built ins that come with HP.simplicity
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Computer technology challenged, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Pewter

Great buy for the price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: armyengineer21v
from Rockford, IL
on 03/08/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I really Love this laptop I have not had a problem with it at all. The display is great I love how big the screen is on it the graphics are wonderful I also like the full size key board with the number pad. This laptop is great even for the prize I am a mother of 4 so saving money was nice not having to spend an arm and a leg for a laptop
This product is... A touch pad that works great
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Pewter

Great computer for our business and personal use.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: nifermom
from Greenville, Illinois
on 03/02/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use.
This computer is great for everything that we wanted. We are pleased with its performance.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Pewter

A Solid Laptop for casual user

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: faescl
from Metro Boston, MA
on 03/01/2012
What's great about it: Price, speed, features, size
What's not so great: Sound quality is average to below average.
Purchased this for a high school freshman and it serves him very well. The graphics and screen resolution are fine. The separate video graghics card is why I purchase this model over the Core i3 with intergrated card. The machine can be upgraded to 8G of ddr3 memory and it flies. Experienced no issues after 1 month and it has been used for school work, videos and light to meduim gaming. Cannot beat the price either. Cheaper at Best Buy than through HP Website even with promo discounts.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Parent with kids, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Kodak Hero 3.1 Wireless All-In-One Printer
3.7 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
Logitech - S-120 2.0 Multimedia Speaker System (2-Piece)
2.3 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Pewter

Excellent HP Laptop! Awesome Price!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Illinoisreagnt
from 61732
on 03/01/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I got and excellent deal on this!!! Its very stylish and has great specifications on this as well:)
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Pewter

We love the larger screen on this laptop.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gardo
from canton, sd
on 03/01/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
We have only had this laptop for a month, but we are extremely happy so far. Speed is good and we love the larger screen.
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Computer technology challenged, Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Pewter

Very Good Laptop For The Price.........

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DJR0D
from Aurora,Il
on 02/19/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: 17.3 Inch Screen.......640 Hardrive....Ram....Price
What's not so great: Nothing yet so far.
After i did my Recovery Disc thing that took about 3 or 4 hours...i started using it just a little bit that night. Ive had it for 4 days. But that 1st night..i saw those vertical Lines in my screen that some people said this laptop had. I felt bad. I thought "All this good laptop for this price and now these lines". BUT....i updated the graphics HD driver...and i havent seen the lines yet sense. So thats good.
The good stuff...4GB of RAM...640HD..which is actually more..if you look in C Drive...it says 678....but 640 free. They dont normally do it that way. Its usually...640.....with like 599 or 605 free...so this is alot. Quad Core is always good. Havent notice anything too lightning quick yet. When you upgrade the RAM to 8GB..thats when you will see the 2.40GHz and more speed. I wish so bad it was Intel tho. It would be the most perfect laptop. AMD use to be known as overheating and getting hot. I hope its not the case with this. So far...even tho i havent used it too much...seem like a good laptop. The screen flickering seemed to stop with the drive update. If anything bad occurs...ill come and edit this review.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, has very nice features for the price.
About me... Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Pewter

Fantastic value for the amount of computer.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RavenMun
from Victorville, CA
on 02/17/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: 17.3" Display, 640GB Hard Drive, AMD Radeon HD 6520G graphics processor, Quad Core. FAST computing, and Great price.
What's not so great: Slight weak spot in the body design, near the keyboard; between the keyboard and number pad.
We purchased 2 of these g7-1365dx laptops at Best Buy, had to return one of them three days later due to either bad video, or bad memory. Exchanged for the same model computer.
I had been shopping around for a month for a good desktop to replace a laptop with a hard drive that was likely going to fail soon (had been a store display model when purchased, so it was destined to fail sooner than later because of hard demo use), and another laptop with an outdated processor. But after reading reviews online that indicated that laptops are being better built than desktops, with a PC world article being among those, I broadened my search for new computers to include laptops. And then seeing that we could get so MUCH MORE computer for the price by purchasing laptops again we went with these computers.
First thing I noticed when I started setting up the computer is that it says its running at 1.5Ghz. Specs clearly stated that its a 2.4GHz.. The 1.5Ghz is misleading, so don't let that influence you. This is a QUAD processor, so the speed its running at isn't as relevant. When you start to work the computer, as it needs resources to work, the processor will utilize the other cores and boost the processing speed up to 2.4GHz. This is what a Geek Squad rep told us, and I've noticed this is the case. There have been no slow downs in running any application, including multi tasking with many applications and programs open.
I use my computer primarily for image editing, word processing, internet, email, and various other tasks. I love the separate number pad, which had been a major complaint I had with our older laptops since they didn't have a number pad. I also love the huge screen, its HUGE compared to other laptop screens, and is LED which means it will consume less energy. Great for movie and tv show watching.
My husband has always wanted a computer that will run some of the games he likes to play, but it seemed like we never found a computer capable enough to play them. He plays games like City of Heroes, Star Trek, Age of Conan, DDO, WoW, etc. But you will notice that this computer can MORE than handle these games.
As soon as I saw this computer on the Best Buy website, we went down to the store to purchase this because it exceeded what we wanted, and was very affordable.
My g7-1365dx had no issue running the games my husband likes to play. But unfortunately my husband's g7-1365dx's video would crash, in turn crashing the game, every time he played any of his games. We contacted HP and after a lot of questionable customer service we reached a rep who knew what he was talking about. After doing a BIOS reset, and then a system recovery to set the computer back to factory settings to eliminate software issues it was determined that his g7-1365dx likely had bad memory. But since we were within the 14 day return period, rather than send us new memory to install in the computer, the HP rep recommended we exchange the computer.
We returned the computer with memory/video issues without a problem, and got the same exact model for an exchange. The new g7-1365dx works just the same as mine does, no issues running his games so something was definitely defective in the returned computer. But it wasn't a hassle returning the computer, so I don't really count it against HP or this computer.
What really sold me on this computer was the processor. Its amazing compared to other computers in this price range! Its amazing for computers even a little more expensive. With a nice size hard drive, and the Memory size (which is up-gradable to 8GB!) its a value . The AMD Radeon HD 6520G is a really good graphics processor for running many modern games, granted this computer ISN'T a gaming computer, it does have capabilities that will allow you to play many different games. I looked up a review on the processor, including benchmarks and was really impressed. I suggest you look at Futuremark's website and read their review on the graphics processor to see if it will fit your computing needs; it will give you the cold hard facts, and if you're like me that will result in running out and buying this computer!
This computer will DEFINITELY work for just about anyone, especially budget conscience consumers. Its a very powerful computer despite the low price. And while HP may have lower customer service ratings on desktop computers, they do make good machines and are one of the #1 sellers because they do make good computers and equipment. As a result of the high selling volumes they are bound to have complaints. We're proof that there is a bad computer in every high volume production. It does not mean that these computers are bad, they are very good.. and we are EXTREMELY pleased with our purchase of TWO of these computers.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Technology guru, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Pewter

Cant get no better Computer for a Better price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Osc0628
on 02/16/2012
I'm impressed with the memory and the quality this product offers . In my opinion this is UNDER PRICED.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Pewter

Excellent Buy!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Fatherof3thewoodlands
from The Woodlands, TX
on 02/15/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Everything!
What's not so great: Nothing!
Well let me start off saying this.... I went through 3 laptops before finally being satisfied with this purchase. This laptop has everything that you could possibely need, if you are an everyday user. Meaning internet browsing, watching movies, playing games, file transfers and other things of that nature... Really great laptop, price especially!
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Pewter

I like this laptop very much!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rows
from Florida
on 02/15/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: size, pictuer quailty, pricee!
What's not so great: sounds cheap but liveable
I'm a student and for the past two months iv been looking for a new laptop and i found this one iv been trollign the reviews and they all look very well! And i finally got it! its wonderful! the size is perfect for gaming :3 and runs quick and smooth. the keyboard though is gonna take some geting used to being so big! the mouse bad is a little glitchy though
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Pewter

Awesome Laptop!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gnome8503
from TN
on 02/14/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: High Performance at Low Cost.
What's not so great: The Speakers
This is a great laptop. It plays most games that I have thrown at it and on high detail. I have upgraded the RAM to crucibl 8GB. My laptop is now really fast. The only issue I do have is that the speakers sound cheap. Awesome Laptop!!!
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Student, Technology guru, Gamer, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Pewter

Great computer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TMosier
from Rainier, WA
on 02/14/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Graphics on games
What's not so great: does not support XD-picture card
Replaced my Pavilion dv-9000 with this one. It runs great. I'm able to run my MMO on Ultra which was a huge difference. Sound and display quality are great. Not sure if I even need to put the extra 4g ram into it. My only disappointment is that it won't read my xD-Picture Card as stated in the specs here on the website. I'm going to have to either get a new camera of find my USB connector that I have never had to use. The price makes it worth it tho, great value! Love the zoom in/out feature on the touchpad, works just like a smartphone zoom.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Pewter

Very Good Laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Service
from Centerville, OH
on 02/13/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great Price For The Money
What's not so great: Nothing so far
I have had this laptop for two weeks now and have not had any problems. After looking at other laptops this was a great value. They do have the same unit with a 500GB drive for the same price but why settle for the smaller hard drive. Great family laptop
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Pewter

Great Laptop!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Blondiejg24
from Union,SC
on 02/12/2012
What's great about it: Great price and easy set up!!
What's not so great: Nothing!!
I've had this HP Laptop for just a few hours and love it It didn't take long to set up and start using!! My best buy so far this year!! You'll also love it!!
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Pewter

Great Computer more then what i excpected.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jessRan
from Eugene, OR
on 02/12/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Fastness
What's not so great: Size/pretty big
I just bought it for school, but it is way better then what i though!! The price was excellent, and the computer runs amazing and fast!! One bad thing is the size, it is pretty big.
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>