Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung - 50" Class (49-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Samsung - 50" Class (49-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Model: UN50ES6500FXZA
SKU: 4835078
UPC: 036725238022
This Samsung LED HDTV supports images up to 1080p for stunning visuals. To build a complete 3D home theater system, we recommend you purchase a 3D Blu-ray player, high-speed HDMI cable and an A/V receiver that is compatible with 3D products.Smart TVGet a world of instant entertainment on this smart TV. Connect to the Internet and stream movies, listen to music and access a wide variety of other content on your HDTV. Learn more about smart products.NetflixPandora Facebook TwitterFlickr
Average Customer Rating:
4.674 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 43 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
95% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
41 out of 43
)
Customer Reviews for Samsung - 50" Class (49-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
Review 1 for Samsung - 50" Class (49-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Smart TV

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Lzzzzz
from CA
on 05/28/2013
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Nice picture
What's not so great: Lighting auto adjust. Weak sound
The color and picture are beautiful. I got the 50" screen wish I would of got a bit larger. I don't like the way lighting on the picture auto adjusts. Can't figure out if it can be turned off? Internet hard to use without keyboard. Wireless connection goes in and out. Really needs direct connect to internet.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix, Pandora
My Best Buy number: 2665098033
My Best Buy number: 2665098033
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung - 50" Class (49-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

A good family TV

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: tamam
from Laredo, Texas
on 05/17/2013
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Sound, internet component
What's not so great: picture contrast
A good TV for the price we paid. Great audio output but the contrast can be better especially on non-moving objects. Sometimes you get the feeling that there is a shadow to objects that are still.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: N/A
My Best Buy number: 2821328882
My Best Buy number: 2821328882
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung - 50" Class (49-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: anroid
from chicago
on 05/11/2013
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: good picture feature
What's not so great: not really
great ,easy to use, great picture quality ,
amazing!!!
This product has... Easy to set up
About me... Sports enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: netflix
My Best Buy number: 2090435250
My Best Buy number: 2090435250
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung - 50" Class (49-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Great Picture but Mediocre Sound Quality

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Ken1948
from Seattle, WA
on 05/10/2013
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Thin and lite, great with BluRay player
What's not so great: Down firing speakers produce poor Dialog Inteligiblity
I purchased this "Smart" TV thinking it would work well with HuluPlus. However, this app does NOT pre-buffer commercials as it does on a PC. Perhaps the higher priced version of this TV would work better. But, I wouldn't bet another Kbuck on that. As a result, one spends a lot of time buffering each commercial and there are often gaps in the program itself and dialog sync issues. Netflix, having no commercials, works great. However, the HuluPlus experience on this model is very annoying so I refurbished an older Win XP PC just to play Hulu. That works much better. If I had a do over, I would save a few bucks, skip the "smart" features and just use a PC for Internet Streaming. Although there are a couple issues with this. The Samsung TV does not sync up to the initial Windows boot up screen making setup more difficult. Also, the 480 Hz motion interpretation does not seem to function in this mode. Probably not good if you're a sports addict.
The built in audio sound quality is very mediocre, at best, owing to the el-cheapo down firing speakers. So an additional sound bar or home theater system is a must. I initially purchased Samsung’s own HWF550 sound bar thinking it would work well in combination with this TV. However, there was very little improvement in dialog intelligibility and there were extremely annoying repeating gaps in sound using the HDMI ARC mode. I sent that unit back and replaced it with a ZVOX Z-Base 555 using an optical TOSlink. The vocal intelligibility with this combo is superb. Suddenly, you don’t need to read the script to understand what the actors are saying. It’s a freaking miracle!
I also found the whole 3D thing more than a little gimmicky. It is very unnatural looking even with the 3D BluRay version of Hobbit which was shot in ultra high resolution 5000p 48 fps 3D. The people look like cardboard cutouts in front of a painted Robo background. Thankfully, there was also a standard 2D version in the box.
This product has... Easy to set up
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Love to stream movies
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix, Pandora
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung - 50" Class (49-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Great picture, easy setup

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: shthiker01
from Madison, WI
on 05/10/2013
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The picture
What's not so great: sound
The picture quality is excellent though I did do some custom calibration of the unit based on tech review I'd read. That was a very easy process. Connection to the internet was a snap. As with most TVs now, there's limited connection options (3 HDMI, 1 component/composite), which makes connecting legacy components harder.
I also have a Samsung 3D bluray player and, with this TV bought two 3D DVDs (The Hobbit and Titanic). I've watched the Hobbit and was very pleased with the picture and 3D effects. The glasses were quite comfortable even for someone who wears glasses.
The sound quality is so-so, fine for TV but for movies everything goes through my AV system so it's not a big deal.
OVerall - I'm quite pleased.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price
About me... Technically savvy viewer, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Pandora
My Best Buy number: 0075337056
My Best Buy number: 0075337056
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung - 50" Class (49-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

nice tv, picturenis not as clear as my 55" samsung

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: wesley24
from maryland
on 05/10/2013
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: sleekness
What's not so great: picture
lightweight and easy to install. connecting to the internet was a easy. the 3d feature is pretty good and easy to use. I personally think the quality of the picture is below par.I havent used it with blueray yet.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: netflix
My Best Buy number: 2654177190
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung - 50" Class (49-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Amazing quality for a TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: pachijc
from Miami, FL
on 05/03/2013
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good quality picture, good sound
What's not so great: Didn,t find yet
Good quality TV, my second Samsung, picture are very sharp, easy set up
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: yahoo
My Best Buy number: 2660614993
My Best Buy number: 2660614993
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung - 50" Class (49-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Great TV for the Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sserna93
from San Antonio, TX
on 05/03/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture, good price, easy set up
What's not so great: speakers are a little dull
Great TV for the money, I have this one and the one 2 series newer and you can barely tell them apart. The only thing that lacks on this TV are the speakers and they are a little dull but if you have another ultra slim LED and dont mind the speakers then you wont mind these either. If you're a sound buff then a sound bar and sub are a must! overall killer TV, I would't buy anything else.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: netflix
My Best Buy number: 2263986954
My Best Buy number: 2263986954
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung - 50" Class (49-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Wonderful TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BMR521
from Pekin, IL
on 05/02/2013
What's great about it: Picture quality outstanding
What's not so great: Nothing
It's a wonderful TV. Perfect for our family room. Easy to use internet. Picture is beautiful. Was easy to get working.
This product has... Great value and features for the price
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Pandora
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung - 50" Class (49-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Bright picture and true to color.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: RogerDoger33
from Detroit, MI
on 04/27/2013
What's great about it: Easy to set up
What's not so great: Nothing
Very bright picture and great color no regrets at all on this purchase. It's super easy to set up also
This product has... Great value and features for the price
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
My Best Buy number: 2547834292
My Best Buy number: 2547834292
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung - 50" Class (49-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

excellent tv priced right for all the features

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: thealarmman
from scituate,ri
on 04/27/2013
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: picture
What's not so great: sound
have been a sony tv user for many years, but with the great picture andmany features samsung has to offer ihave switched.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: netflix
My Best Buy number: 0104303113
My Best Buy number: 0104303113
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung - 50" Class (49-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Setting up the Internet was a snap

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Impala69
from Point of Rocks, Md
on 04/20/2013
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Smart features helped tremendously
What's not so great: The automatic dimming feature in subdued lighting
Besides not having a bright picture when the room is dark I love this TV and all it's Smart features!
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Yahoo and Jango
My Best Buy number: 1020074347
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung - 50" Class (49-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Great for the price I paid

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sonuuuu
from Selden my
on 04/12/2013
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Great tv purchased for a great price goes on Internet easy to setup worth every penny
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
My Best Buy number: 0565760807
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung - 50" Class (49-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Great tv

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Batman89
from NJ
on 04/12/2013
What's great about it: Picture is awesome
A bit expensive but this Samsung product was well worth it.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control, 3d
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix and pandora
My Best Buy number: 0906654260
My Best Buy number: 0906654260
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung - 50" Class (49-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Excellent picture quality

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: chipper2
from Anderson, CA
on 04/03/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: clear crisp picture, easy to set up and use.
What's not so great: can't find anything
This tv has 1080p and only 120 Hz, but the picture quality is excellent with smooth motion. The HD is amazing. I especially like the apps that I can download. This tv was very easy to set up.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
My Best Buy number: 0530278641
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung - 50" Class (49-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Love my new TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JohnN1966
from Oak Ridge, TN
on 03/24/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great picture
What's not so great: Having trouble hooking it up to my stereo.
Picture and sound are outstanding. Enjoying it a lot. DVDs look great on it.
This product has... Great value and features for the price
About me... retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung - 50" Class (49-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Outstanding T.V. at a great price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bigshea06
from Orlando FL
on 03/15/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Amazing picture quality
What's not so great: You have to have pretty fast Internet for all the "smart" features to work well
This T.V. is a fantastic buy and the price is unbeatable. It's LED so its crazy thin and very light. The setup is very easy as well as turning 3D on and off. It also does 2D to 3D so you can make any 2D show kinda 3D, it's somewhat 3D just not as good as when you watch an actual 3D movie on it. Great buy and I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to buy a new tv
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix and Pandora
My Best Buy number: 0743910291
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung - 50" Class (49-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Great TV with many versatile feature

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ljslager
from Phoenix, AZ
on 03/10/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease of use, setup and qualtiy for the price
What's not so great: Incorporated sound could be better
Overall, this is a quality television at a wonderful price point.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: na
My Best Buy number: 0730458461
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung - 50" Class (49-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Exceeded all expectations. Great television.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: E320
from Jacksonville, FL
on 03/04/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Colors. Great on live events comes right at you.
What's not so great: Speakers, but I expected that.
More than satisfied. Before I made the purchase, I read the reviews did my research went to Best Buy and saw the television. There was no doubt about the picture quality and the other features it offered. Really good tv. Speakers are not good, would definitely recommend an external audio system.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Pandora
My Best Buy number: 2869396171
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung - 50" Class (49-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Excellent television with great features

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Thebeeskiman
from Brooklyn , NY
on 02/09/2013
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great value for the price! Up to date technology!
What's not so great: Audio connection from TV to home theater
This is my second Samsung television and they have come through once again. Great picture and very easy to use features. 3D works great and in conjunction with my Samsung 3D Blu Ray player. The greatest home entertainment system ever! I would add an HDMI out for easier connection to a home theater system.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>