Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Panasonic - VIERA - 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Panasonic - VIERA - 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Model: TC-L42E50
SKU: 4837525
UPC: 885170076488
Enhance your home theater with this Panasonic VIERA TC-L42E50 42" LED HDTV that features 1080p resolution for intense picture clarity and built-in speakers for clear, detailed sound.Smart TVGet a world of instant entertainment on this smart TV. Connect to the Internet and stream movies, listen to music and access a wide variety of other content on your HDTV. Learn more about smart products.CinemaNowNetflixPandora FacebookYouTube
Average Customer Rating:
4.548 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(199 Reviews) 199
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 199 reviews
5 stars
132
4 stars
53
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
3
92% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
184 out of 199
)
Customer Reviews for Panasonic - VIERA - 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV
Review 41 for Panasonic - VIERA - 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Lasted Less Than 2 Years

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Jimbone7
from Rhode Island
on 08/24/2012
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: The picture and sound at the beginning
What's not so great: in about a year and a half, a ribbon on the screen that left about a 2 inch darkened spot on the screen
Almost 2 years of having this tv, which I got as a 30th Birthday gift, there is now a big black box 3/4 the size of the screen. At about 18months into having the tv, a ribbon that shadowed the image appear on the left hand size. After calling a couple of companies to get it fixed I was told that most tv's you get at box stores aren't the actual brand-named product that it claims. So the quality of the product is not good. Anyway, I am just frustrated that this tv past barely lasted past the waaranty so that nothing can be done except for recycling and buying a new television.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
+4points
11out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Panasonic - VIERA - 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Failure to Inform

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: irishowl
from Illinois
on 08/26/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's not so great: Lack of Information
The tv seems great, however the failure of both Best Buy and Panasonic to mention that you need to purchase a special "wi-fi" adapter is extremely frustrating. Got the tv set up quickly and easily, but had to order the adapter from Amazon and must wait 4-10 days to see how the internet functionality works on this tv.
This product has... Easy to set up
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Panasonic - VIERA - 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

nice product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mikeb45
from tx
on 08/26/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
this is a nice tv if you are upgrading, lite, takes up a little space compared to other form factors and the picture is great when you have hd products connected; sound isnt all that great, thus the reason for manufacturers to sell sound bars and other types of speaker components.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: netflix
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Panasonic - VIERA - 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Happy so far

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MrRadio
from Red Hook, NY
on 08/29/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Loving digital
Perspective: This spring both my CRT TVs died. I bought a 19" Samsung 60 HzLED set as a quick fix/backup set (it has a great picture and awful sound). A couple months later this Panasonic was being offered at a very attractive price. So far I am very happy with the set. Timing being what it is, just after I bought this set, Consumer Reports gave it a disappointing review citing below average sound and inadequate "black levels" , but good blur elimination, leading them to rate the HD picture as only "very good". Oddly, I find the sound to be quite adequate and, if I understand what "black level" is all about, I see no reason to critize it. Contrast and image quality whether in brighly or dimly lit scenes look fine to me. I am clearly no expert (experientially) with HD and I do not exploit the 1080p capability with Blu-Ray. That said, viewing HD TV (via cable box/DVR) and DVDs (via a new SONY upconverting (non-Blu-Ray) player) I find the picture quality to be excellent. There is a great deal of flexibility in settings/adjustments. As with TVs from years past, the unit offers automatic brightness adjustment meant to compensate for ambient light conditions, and also as in the past, it does not work well. Were this an adjustable feature it would be desirable. As it is, I have chosen to defeat it. (When "on" I found it impossible to get a picture that was not overly dulled by the auto adjustment - which, if you think about it, is sad - i.e. the base setting (no room lights at all) yields an underlit picture so it is this base, not the amount of adjustment, that is the problem.) There is an adjustable blur reduction (which I must assume is some sort of processing "beyond" the benefit of the120Hz refresh rate. I also found this to be best set to "off". (When "on", it actually created what I believe is called "judder' during some TV content.) There is noticable blurring and noticable digital artifacts in SOME content from SOME TV sources (e.g. - some Summer Olympic events). Watching side-by-side I saw some evidence of the same thing on the little Samsung (despite its much smaller screen) so, for now, I must conclude that this is an issue from the source - not a shortcoming of the Panasonic set. I watch a wide variety of content (TV, movies, sports, auto racing) and am really enjoying the "HD" experience. I have not purchased the required dongle (for wireless internet) nor have I exploited streaming, etc. via hardwired ethernet. Assuming you get this set at a competitive price, I would think anyone going from conventional TV to HDTV (like me) will be delighted with this set. A couple of general warnings: 1) don't buy too big a screen for your viewing situation. I would recommend being at least 8 to 10 feet away from a 42" screen. In going (as I did) from a 27" CRT (4:3) screen, a 37" HD (16:9) screen will give you an image of approx. the same height. I was originally thinking in terms of a 50" screen, which would have been simply too large for my viewing situation. 2) HD sets come with endless adjustability - which means you can really screw up the picture. Fortunately, resetting to the factory values is easy. Lacking the kind of comprehensive "owner's manuals" of the past, you need to be patient and "learn" how these adjustments work as you go. Don't be afraid to "play" - and don't be afraid to ask a friend for help. 3) be aware that modern "digital" applications require type RG-6 cabling - your home may have RG-59 or other cabling which may not produce optimal results - so, if you are "going digital" just keep in mind that you may need to do some recabling (perhaps with the help of your cable or satellite provider). If you are a DIY person, the cable itself is quite "affordable". Enjoy.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Panasonic - VIERA - 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

So far so good. I don't notice any sound problem

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: bestbuygg
on 08/30/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture
What's not so great: Nothing of note.
So far so good. I don't notice any sound problem. If I can get years of service without needing to repair or replace I will consider this to be a very, very good buy.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Movie Options
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Panasonic - VIERA - 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

I knew this TV was the one!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Terurin
from Dallas, TX
on 08/31/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to set up, great price
What's not so great: sound quality
I was looking for the TV and went to Best Buy for research. I got the idea that 42 inch TV was the good size for my apartment. I liked this TV the best because of the beautiful picture and clarity and I knew if I buy the TV, this would be the one! I didn't buy it there because the price was a bit higher than my budget. I went home to check the reviews on the various website. It had great reviews and many people thought the same thing like me. My instinct was supported and I was confident to get this TV. I bought the TV next night at Bestbuy online. The price online was a bargain, much lower than the store. I have Apple TV so I can watch things on this big screen not only from the iTunes but also from my iPhone as well. I was able to watch Olympics on TV live. For the best sound quality, I probably should get the external sound system.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Panasonic - VIERA - 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Wow, what a bargain

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bodhi85
from Milwaukee, WI
on 09/03/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Excellent picture quality and refresh rate for sports
What's not so great: Sound - speakers are in the back of the TV
Wanted to upgrade to LED with a faster refresh rate and this HDTV was on sale. Wanted it mostly for sports and this truly is a perfect fit.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Facebook, twitter
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Panasonic - VIERA - 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Great Picture

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: wreckdiver
from Camp Hill, PA
on 09/05/2012
What's great about it: Clear picture
What's not so great: Wish it was bigger
We put it above the fire place. Great picture. We enjoy it very much.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Panasonic - VIERA - 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Great TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: EBall
from Washington, DC
on 09/06/2012
What's great about it: Great picture, easy set up
What's not so great: Nothing so far
I bought this TV a few weeks ago. Ordered it online and picked it up at a local store. Set up was instant. The picture is great and adjusting it is very easy. Even the sound is pretty good. Watching the Nationals just keeps getting better!
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Panasonic - VIERA - 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

good second set

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: amrosa
from Manchester, NH
on 09/06/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: good price
What's not so great: sound quality is lacking, a lot.
Im a Panasonic fan, but a little hohum with this set. great deal for the price. get what you pay for. lower price, lower your expectations.
This product has... Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Panasonic - VIERA - 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Excellent Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: binky1947
from Indian Orchard, MA
on 10/03/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything - picture quality, colors, sound
What's not so great: Nothing I've found so far
I bought this TV for placement in my bedroom. Set up was very easy and it's thin enough to rest on a bookcase. I will probably have the Geek Squad eventually mount it on the wall but, for now, it's size lets me leave it on that bookcase with complete confidence. I also bought the extended warranty because past experience has shown me that it's an excellent value and that Best Buy and the Geek Squad really do stand behind those warranties.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer, news junkie
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
My Best Buy number: 0059040439
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Panasonic - VIERA - 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Good tv all around

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TrevorT
from Minneapolis
on 10/03/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Internet feature, interface, overall appearance
What's not so great: All ports are side facing. Makes it harder to hide cables
My wife and I wanted a wall mounted TV for the bedroom. Nothing fancy just a TV to put on before bed. Not worried about frame rate or anything crazy like that because we won't be watching for long periods of time. This TV is far more superior than we needed. nice display and interface. Excellent to have internet access for netflix and other video streaming. Easy to mount and easy to connect.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix, Pandora
My Best Buy number: 2144049174
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Panasonic - VIERA - 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Nice Smart TV for our family room.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: k3nworth84
from Romeoville, il
on 10/12/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything from the set up to the price.
What's not so great: Lacking some sound
The set up was easy as 1-2-3. It may need some improvement on sound but overall the picture makes up for it. We enjoy watching TV it makes you feel like your actually there.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... episode & movie family
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
My Best Buy number: 778066703
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Panasonic - VIERA - 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

good tv

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: prajna
from Bala Cynwyd, PA
on 10/13/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: nice picture
What's not so great: needed to buy wifi adaptor to connect to internet
The tv is nice but I specifically asked the salesman for a TV that connected to the internet and he failed to tell me that I would need a wifi adapter. When I realized that I needed one I learned that Best Buy does not even sell them. My boyfriend bought a similar TV with built in wifi for much less money.
This product has... Right number of connections
About me... Casual viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
My Best Buy number: 2196151276
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Panasonic - VIERA - 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Great Quality at a Great Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: UWMPanther
from Milwaukee
on 10/18/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, Picture, Ease of Use and Setup, Internet Connectivity
What's not so great: No internet browser to surf the web
This is a fantastic TV that I would highly recommend. It was so easy to setup. The TV's features from TV to the Internet apps were easy to understand and use. I love all the apps you get. I get to connect to Amazon Prime, Netflix, Hulu Plus, Pandora, Local Radio Content, Sports apps, and much more by simply hitting the Internet button and putting my cursor over the icon and clicking enter. Very easy to use. the Picture quality is great. The only downfalls is that I wish I could have just a browser to connect to the internet to surf, although typing using your remote is tedious...you may want to think about getting a wireless keyboard if you do a lot of typing. Fortunately you shouldn't have too with the functionality it has now. And hopefully they'll get more apps like ABC, FOX, NBC so i can stream the free content that you are able to using your smart phone or internet. I imagine that they would one day. The sound is about what you would expect to get from such a flat screen tv. I ended up adding a $250 Viso sound bar to it which made movie and tv watching amazing. Makes it a great experience. Overall, this TV over exceeded my expectations. I love it.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix, Amazon Prime, Pandora
My Best Buy number: 393426555
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Panasonic - VIERA - 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Great Way to Declutter

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DivaAsiene
from Chula Vista, CA
on 10/18/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy way to access media without a million connections
What's not so great: n/a
Purchased the TV in an effort to reduce the number of items on the tv console (e.g., computer, stereo receiver...).
I'm not particularly the type who has to be on the bleeding edge of new technology. Nor do I want to spend 3 days reading a user manual. This set-up worked out as a great way to stream Pandora (with no ads) and Netflix (with auto-start next episode for serials). And the picture is perfectly perfect.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix & Pandora
My Best Buy number: 2587713175
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Panasonic - VIERA - 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Great TV for everyday use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: FanofTV27
from Washington, DC
on 10/22/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The picture Quality is excellent, easy to set up, decent price.
What's not so great: Red light at bottom when TV is on, no built in wireless.
This is a great TV for everyday use. It is easy to set up and is a decent price for the features. The picture quality is excellent.
My two issues with the TV are that there is a red light at the bottom of the TV when the TV is turned on and this can be distracting (a small piece of electrical tape easily solves that problem. Also, the TV does not have wireless built in, you must plug in an ethernet cable or get a wireless LAN adaptor.
I would highly recommend this TV.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Amazon Instant Video
My Best Buy number: 2788389087
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Panasonic - VIERA - 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

great picture

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dpergram
from knoxville tennessee
on 10/28/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: great picture easy setup
What's not so great: no wifi,poor audio out of the box
This is a great tv, I went through three different brands before I got this one, I am very satisfied, the only problem I had was the audio wasnt very good when I first hooked it up, but I made some adjustments and now it sounds fine,could go up a little higher though, I have it connected through a surround sound system so audio wasnt a key factor for buying this tv,with a good surround system this tv is perfect.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Panasonic - VIERA - 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Connecting other devices

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: VRob
from salem or
on 10/30/2012
What's great about it: Picture
What's not so great: Connections
Great picture, easy hook up, poor sound.
In reading the information on hooking up other devices I thought it had 1 composite (3 wire) and 1 component (5 wire ) connection, but it REALLY only has 1 connection that is either/or but not 2 separate connections. It has 1 digital audio port to hook up a sound system, unless you use the only port for the composite/component. I currently have my cable box using the 1 Port. I cannot even purchase a sound bar unless I pay more to upgrade my cable box or buy a more expensive sound system that connects by the digital audio port. I wish the information on the specs were better, I might have made a different purchase.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Pandora
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Panasonic - VIERA - 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

nice tv

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jimkazi
from franklin mass
on 11/03/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: ease to setup
What's not so great: picture can be distorted on fast action
happy with tv picture sometimes can see traces on fast action
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
My Best Buy number: 2217252524
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>