Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Apple - Apple TV

Apple - Apple TV

Model: MD199LL/A
SKU: 4854433
UPC: 885909516230
Apple TV®
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(8162 Reviews) 8162
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 8,162 reviews
5 stars
6,244
4 stars
1,565
3 stars
232
2 stars
66
1 star
55
97% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
7,888 out of 8,162
)
Customer Reviews for Apple - Apple TV
Review 1 for Apple - Apple TV
  • Featured

Fantastic Little Box

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JosephRulerOfTech
from Minnesota
on 04/16/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, excellent for streaming, eliminates a few wires in my case
What's not so great: I think there isn't anything that could be improved
Apple has always made me wonder how they did it with making fun things so small and easy to use. They haven't disappointed me yet, and I am very happy to have this product. Airplay is probably my favorite feature. I tend to stream a lot and getting rid of a iPod to TV cable was a nice thing since I have a ton of cables running around to my electronics. I love the compact design of the case. Very simple design, but packed with a good bunch of features that makes my home theater quite entertaining.
Overall, It's excellent for streaming, Looks very nice on my stand, emits very little heat, and is packed with fantastic features that I am sure you'll love.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
+206points
356out of 506found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apple - Apple TV

Great alternative to regular tv

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tacomaman
from Georgia
on 09/30/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Love this better than Netflix or anything else. Glad I purchased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0742584127
My Best Buy number: 0742584127
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apple - Apple TV

Great product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
on 09/30/2014
Purchased this just to watch videos in iTunes library with home sharing setup on appletv.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2107696902
My Best Buy number: 2107696902
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apple - Apple TV

Apple tv is the best

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: carcecilv22
from el paso, texas
on 09/29/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
I really like this product. I love being able to watch videos on my tv & movies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2647235746
My Best Buy number: 2647235746
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apple - Apple TV

Great buy!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Cipher1
on 09/29/2014
The Apple TV is a digital media player, you plug into your TV to replace paying a huge amount for cable channels you will never use.When my family decided to get an Apple TV, it was because we couldn’t get cable where we lived so therefore there was almost nothing we could watch at all. At the time we got the Apple TV there were not any other similar products on the market so we ended up only having one choice. When we got home we set it up which was very easy and only took a few minutes. All that was required were a few cords and an internet connection. After the initial setup I got right into trying out the built in channels. Some channels I noticed were free such as sports and news channels and others with a majority of television shows and movies, such as Hulu and Netflix, costed a monthly fee. Since we use the Apple TV instead of cable, my family uses the channels such as Hulu and Netflix more than the free channels with less content although we occasionally use them. We also use the iTunes connectivity quite often for both playing music and renting movies on iTunes. The interface can occasionally be laggy but I think this might be because we have an older Apple TV. The current Apple TV is the third generation and the one I have been using is the second generation. Another issue i’ve noticed is that the Apple TV seems to have become outdated fairly quickly. A new update was just released for the latest Apple TV but my Apple TV can’t be updated to the most recent software update. Although this makes sense because everything eventually becomes outdated, I think this product could support more recent software then what it runs right now. The service for letting you stream your Apple device’s screen onto your TV over the internet (Airplay) works very well. I have used it to have a bigger screen for playing games, watching movies that aren’t available through the Apple TV’s built in channels and listening to music. The only issue I’ve experienced with Airplay is some occasional slow streaming but this is a very rare occurrence.
What I have noticed from using my Apple TV over time is there are many pros, but also a few cons about it. One pro of the device is that it costs much less than cable. You can buy one for 99 dollars rather than having to pay half of that price monthly. However, for uses such as Netflix and Hulu you still do have to pay monthly. Hulu and Netflix are however, much less expensive than cable costing roughly 8.00 dollars a month which is much less than comcasts price of 50 dollars a month. Although when my family purchased the Apple TV there were not many other contenders, now there are a few other similar products on the market. Some of these products include the ROKU 3, Chromecast and Amazon Fire TV. These products are very similar as they have the same basic purpose but each has it’s specific advantages and disadvantages. A problem with The Roku has no mirroring ability which Chromecast and the Apple TV provide. The Chromecast streaming stick doesn’t have a built in interface which means you need a smartphone or computer to use it and the Apple TV has less channels than the ROKU box. However each also has advantages to keep in mind. The Apple TV has the best mirroring service (AirPlay). Google’s Chromecast costs the least amount to buy. And the ROKU has by far the largest amount of channels.
So, choosing between these devices may seem like a tough choice but it really doesn’t have to be. It honestly just depends on what you’re looking for from a digital media player. The two best products in my opinion are the ROKU 3 and Apple TV. Although the ROKU 3 has the most channels I would have to suggest the Apple TV as my first choice. It is great for if you have other Apple products to use with it and also (in my opinion at least,) has the best user interface. Overall the Apple TV is a very useful product that is both easy and enjoyable to use and I would highly suggest it to people looking for this type of product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apple - Apple TV

Great product for anyone to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: IdahoG
on 09/29/2014
This AppleTV is very impressive, very easy to use for kids, know how to narrow what they are looking for. But one thing I am disappointed is that the remote for the appletv is too small and thin, sometimes my kid lost them and it took a while to search the remote and should have add a wrist strap in remote. however, I am still happy with this products. I would recommended this to anyone
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1013056480
My Best Buy number: 1013056480
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apple - Apple TV

Love this device!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MrsPalmer09
from Wichita, KS
on 09/29/2014
We purchased the Apple TV and absolutely love everything about it. Will be getting one for every TV in the house!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1032480044
My Best Buy number: 1032480044
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apple - Apple TV

easy to set up

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: fins
from Jim Thorpe
on 09/29/2014
What's great about it: lots of great icon tent
What's not so great: haven't found anything yet
I am not so tech savy so I was a bit concerned that I would have trouble setting it up- no worries. Easy to do!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3315018050
My Best Buy number: 3315018050
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apple - Apple TV

Good Product but Needs Improvement

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Rushlisner
from Katy, TX
on 09/29/2014
What's great about it: Easy to setup, abundant applications, fair price
What's not so great: Buggy applications, often stalls during loading stage
Apple TV works great when i am streaming music throughout the house and works good sometimes when I am streaming movies through Netflix. The problem comes when I am using the Remote App on my iPad when it freezes and I have to restart the application to regain control of the Apple TV.
Other than that issue, we love to use it and own multiple Apple TV's.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2925718039
My Best Buy number: 2925718039
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apple - Apple TV

Works well with my apple products

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: EndlessElec
on 09/29/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Works great with all my apple products and very easy to set up. I still use my smart TV for Netflix and similar apps but this is the easiest way to get videos or pictures to your tv.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2514237156
My Best Buy number: 2514237156
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Apple - Apple TV

Great for IPhones and IPads to see larger images

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: OceanRunner
from Fredericksburg, VA
on 09/29/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Helps to allow for viewing of expanded viewing of sites, pictures, videos, etc on larger screens.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1005017666
My Best Buy number: 1005017666
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apple - Apple TV

Apple TV is great for anyone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Martini
on 09/28/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
I've had one for quite sometime and purchased one for my mother for her birthday. She loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0591384732
My Best Buy number: 0591384732
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Apple - Apple TV

Easy to use and simple setup

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: NT15
on 09/28/2014
I love being able to stream my laptop with the Apple TV. Apple TV is a little picky on what format movies Need to be on in order to stream.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2556285290
My Best Buy number: 2556285290
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Apple - Apple TV

easy to use for WWE network viewing

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Richardbr
from East Hamplton, CT
on 09/28/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: easy to install
What's not so great: using the "clicker" is sometimes difficult. but slim in size
easy to install, a must for all Apple users instead of Roku
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0524026500
My Best Buy number: 0524026500
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Apple - Apple TV

good additional TV options plus connection to iMac

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Meed
from Miami
on 09/28/2014
What's great about it: just that
What's not so great: Can't disconnect from iTunes at Apple TV; must go to iMac to do that
Apple TV provides access to additional programming with ease. It also smoothly permits access to iTunes and iPhoto on the TV screen. The only odd thing appears to be that one cannot turn these functions off on the TV without going to the iMac to do it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2358830933
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Apple - Apple TV

Love it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jess24xo
from Ft lauderdale, Fl
on 09/28/2014
I love that I have access to many channels! Netflix, play a slide show of my photos, play my music.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0960538629
My Best Buy number: 0960538629
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Apple - Apple TV

Not what I expected

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Will
on 09/28/2014
I'm sure this is a good product, but it's worthless if you don't have high speed internet. The streaming video does not stream.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2362699519
My Best Buy number: 2362699519
Mobile Submission: True
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Apple - Apple TV

works well.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: janet2110
from nc
on 09/28/2014
got rid of satalite. Get watch pretty much everything I want on Netflix and hulu, mlb.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2118847645
My Best Buy number: 2118847645
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Apple - Apple TV

It's apple so it's simple.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Pastorsassistant
from NJ
on 09/27/2014
Apple TV works great, I just wish it saved user names and passwords so I could switch between different iCloud accounts without having to re type my password and username. With the iPhone as the controller it's quick to search and type so it's not terrible. Within an apple Eco system it's great because all devices connect and can stream seemlesy but you are limited to the apps they give you to view. So far I love my Apple TV because it works seamlessly but just like the iPhone, its consistent and simple but missing those few things you wish it would adopt from other companies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2826146979
My Best Buy number: 2826146979
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Apple - Apple TV

Apple makes things easy.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DblJBird
on 09/27/2014
I am an A/V installer. From home theater to music throughout the house. If they have an iPhone, etc they will be getting one of these. It's the missing piece in any home system.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2109207571
My Best Buy number: 2109207571
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 409 next>>