Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Nikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Model: 26315
SKU: 4860498
UPC: 018208263158
Capture crisp images and stunning 1080p HD video with stereo sound with this Nikon Coolpix S9300 26315 16.0-megapixel digital camera that features built-in GPS and an electronic compass for geotagging capabilities.
Average Customer Rating:
3.803 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 76 reviews
5 stars
37
4 stars
14
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
10
63% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
48 out of 76
)
Customer Reviews for Nikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black
Review 21 for Nikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

good camera for anyone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: pills63
from Grand Junction, CO
on 01/19/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: good price
What's not so great: flash
I love this camera and take it everywhere. It has a great zoom and is easy to use.
About me... Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Nikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Not quite as good as I expected......but ok

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: SMRapp
from Illinois
on 01/19/2013
What's not so great: Exposure is inconsistant
I was hoping for a better camera but it is adequate for my needs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Nikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Easy to use

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Rambler2
from FL
on 01/18/2013
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great photos and easy to use
What's not so great: short battery life.
I'm very please with the camera....wish battery life was longer. Purchased a 2nd battery, which helps get through a day of sightseeing...
About me... Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Nikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Lag time between photos is unacceptable

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Brenda3488
from Chesapeake, VA
on 01/14/2013
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Ease of use
What's not so great: Extremely long lag time to take a photo
I wanted to love this camera but after missing almost every shot because of the lag time between photos I ended up hating it. It will go back today! I thought at first it was because of indoor shooting but yesterday when I was outside taking photos of horses ( on auto) I could hardly get the camera to take a shot and we all know that horses don't pose you have to be quick. I have an old canon elph that I wanted to replace because I have used it for 7 years but the picture quality and quick response is better on it than this new camera. I don't normally write reviews but I wanted to save someone else the hassle of trying to capture a shot that is nearly impossible even in daylight and don't even try to phototgraph moving kids. Not worth the time or effort!
About me... Parent with kids, Love capturing special occasions, Photo enthusiast
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Nikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Great Camera

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LucyGoosy
from Texas
on 12/29/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, great picture quality, nice price
What's not so great: Settings can be a bit tricky at first, GPS...
The camera, overall is wonderful: it takes great pictures in low light, awesome flash, and is a pretty little thing.
For a person that doesn't take pictures to earn a living, rather, takes them for special occasions and goofy moments, it is the perfect camera. Also, as a bonus, it takes awesome video.Very clear quality.
**Do not let the negative reviews alter your decision to purchase this camera, because honestly, it's great! I couldn't ask for anything better for its price.
Now to the negative aspects: there are little to be mentioned just that the settings take a bit to get used to (just like everything that's new and unfamiliar). The GPS, however... I do not understand its purpose and how I can benefit from it just yet, but I will figure it out!
The ON/OFF button does feel a bit small, but I think it's just my sausage fingers because I DO have to press down a tad harder than normal. (Now that I think about it, it's great if you're paranoid it might turn on on it's own)
~Summary: Great camera for everyday use in capturing beautiful moments, scenery, etc.
As I hold it in my hand, I feel like it was a purchase I do not regret at all.
I hope you do too.
About me... Love capturing special occasions, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Nikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Expected more; got less; done with Nikon

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: DynexReview
from Illinois
on 12/21/2012
Ease to Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Decent daylight pictures
What's not so great: A lot: died after three days; short battery life; camera would not start; poor flash design
I was excited about getting this camera for our recent vacation to Disney World. Bought it as a bundle and thought it was a great value. The extra battery would not hold a charge at all so we thought. Turns out the camera is quite bug ridden. Several times during the trip the camera just froze up and died. One night we couldn't get the camera to turn on at all. Swapped batteries that were both fully charged and nothing. Took out the card as well then replaced and still nothing.
Flash is in a very bad place and pops up where you naturally would have a finger/hand holding the camera.
This was a special celebration trip and had hoped to get tons of pictures. I had to buy disposable cameras to finish our picture taking taking for the rest of the trip. I missed a lot of once in a lifetime photos because of this non-working camera. We purchased a different Nikon a year ago. Turned about to be not so great but thought it was just the camera. Now with this Nikon, I've decided not to purchase another. Will look at other options. This camera is going back to Best Buy.
About me... Love capturing special occasions, casual user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Nikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Great camera for travel and/or beginner

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: pickyshopper124
from Snellville, GA
on 12/10/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
What's great about it: picture quality & size
This camera is great for travel esp when you don't want to take the "big camera". Takes great pitures in all kinds of light, back ground, and sports! The auto focus is awesome. I especially love that you can edit the picutres right from thr camera!
About me... Love shooting sports, Parent with kids, Love capturing special occasions
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Nikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Great Video and Picture Quality

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Orlando
on 12/07/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: I really like the picture and video quality, no blurry images and true colors.
What's not so great: got a problem with the video sounds, for some reason, it was not recording the sound and the vol was on & set to high.
Easy to use and great video and photo qaulity.
Battery life very good, last long time, before it needs to be re-charged.
About me... semi-pro photographer, Love capturing special occasions
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Nikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Not happy at all!!!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: sarahb10
from Blacksburg, VA
on 12/07/2012
This review is fromNikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera.
Ease to Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: The picture quality and zoom
What's not so great: The pop up flash, not changing between features
I was very disappointed in camera. I would try to change the settings/features to use sports, sunset, etc and it would not change. Then it would freeze and I would have to remove the battery and re-insert it to get the camera to work again. The pop-up flash was very annoying...so many of my pictures blurred because I forgot it was there. Also I would try to take a picture at times and the shutter would not work. I returned this camera after a month of use.
About me... Photo enthusiast
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Nikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Excellent camera.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Zuperschan
from Washington
on 12/07/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, good price, great quality, everything
What's not so great: Nothing so far.
I just got this camera yesterday and it is excellent for everyday use. Handy. Easy to set up. The photo quality is so amazing, so clear, i dont have anything bad to say about it. Even you are moving you can take it perfectly without having a bad feedback like shadow or something.The video quality is clear too. I dont have any problem about the flash that pop out coz it depends on the person using it. Even the ON button, its cute and it turns on automatically. I dont know why other people say the button is so small and the flash set up is bad. Maybe they just have big fingers. The battery is okay, no problem so far. Overall, you can set it up or use it properly and easily without reading the manual, just common sense. I recommend it. Dont hesistate to buy it. It's a great camera.
About me... Love capturing special occasions, Photo enthusiast, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Nikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Not as good as 10X

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: PropertyInspector
from Charlotteville, Va
on 12/01/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Ease to Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Have always used Nikon. For business I take an average of 200 pics a day. The zoom isn't as great as they claim. 18x? Clarity of the pics is distorted on full zoom. Found this one to not as quickly capture pics as the 10X. Disappointed.
About me... semi-pro photographer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Nikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Not what I'd hoped for

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: TicketMan
from Boston, MA
on 11/26/2012
Ease to Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Shooting in daylight, Vivid colors, wide array of special effects, powerful zoom for a compact camera
What's not so great: Auto-focus (especially at distances), low light shooting, image stabilization, no optical view finder
I had purchased this camera hoping that it would be the perfect combination for going on a safari--easy to carry but able to zoom close up. I worked with it for a while prior to taking my trip, and was concerned with my results (confession--I'm not a very experienced photographer). The telephoto, while impressive in power, was slow to focus, when it focused at all. Shooting in dim lighting didn't come out well, and I'm wondering if I did something to shut off the image stabilization, because it didn't really act like it was working. I was very happy with the results in bright light (other than the fact that I really missed having an optical view finder...depending on the angle, you can't see the screen).
At the last minute, I decided I wasn't sufficiently comfortable with the camera to depend on it to capture the vacation of a lifetime, so I went and purchased a Canon SX40 as well, and am very happy I did. None of the same issues that I was having with the Nikon.
About me... Love capturing special occasions, Photo enthusiast, casual user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Canon - PowerShot SX40 HS Black 12.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black
4.7 out of 5(245)
 
 
 
 
 
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Nikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

a fairly good little camera

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Susie23
from Tallahassee, Fl
on 11/25/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: easy to use
What's not so great: SLOW - turning on - turning off - the power button is very small as well.
Position of the flash is not great. You tend to put your fingers over the flash and prevent it from popping up.
About me... Photo enthusiast
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Nikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Good travel camera. Good zoom for size of camera.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bjdw
from Federal Heights, CO
on 11/18/2012
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy of use, without having to go through manual first
What's not so great: Battery does not stay charged as long as other cameras
Good travel camera fits in purse, so can always have it with me. I like the extra zoom of picture once shot is taken. Nice quality black and white pictures. I just wish the batteries would stay charged longer than a couple hundred pictures worth. Actually need 3 batteries for a whole day out taking pictures. But all and all a good camera for the amature photographer.
About me... Love capturing special occasions, casual user, good nature shots
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Nikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Just got back from Italy - pictures great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bk11
from chicago,IL
on 11/10/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: camera features very easy to use - love the zoom
What's not so great: occasionally on auto the camera had trouble in some of the darker places with focus
So glad I went with this camera for my trip to Italy. It was small and lightweight but sure took great pictures and very pleased with this camera. I liked the different features especially the zoom and the enhanced color feature.
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Nikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

good camera for amateur like myself

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: giuseppe2012
from alexandria, VA
on 11/09/2012
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: easy to use, many features in camera
What's not so great: Only makes movie in MOV mode
A major drawback or shortcoming of this S9300 is that it only records movies in MOV format. I can not place my movies in YouTube unless I buy a converter software program, which means MORE expenses out of my pocket. So, I wish it would give me a choice to make movies in WMV or MPG modes. Next time I will buy a Sony camera because of this shortcoming..
About me... Parent with kids, casual user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Nikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Good camera, easy to use!!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Salsxero
from Arlington, VA
on 11/09/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: It's small, it has a really good zoom, easy to use menu.
What's not so great: Takes time to turn on....
The camera is good and takes good pictures if you know how to use a camera and take pictures....the quality of pictures depends in the adjustments made in the menu. What I don't like is that it takes a while for the camera to turn on because you need to keep pressing the on/off button until it turns on. Maybe it has been setup like for security to prevent the camera turning on while in the bag or your pocket in case the button is pressed by mistake. Overall, the camera is great!
About me... Video enthusiast, Love capturing special occasions, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Nikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Takes great pics

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: StraightShooter213
from Sacramento, CA
on 11/03/2012
Ease to Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Frames the shots perfectly and the basic functions are easy to use.
What's not so great: Does not come with a full feature manual. You have to use the online manual.
Not having a manual you can take with you and refer to until you get used to all the features is a definate downfall. I have missed some great shots because I couldn't remember all the functions. Plus you have to have a tripod to use the zoom when it is fully extended. Who walks around with a tripod? I find this to be a definate disadvantage. It does takes great stills of a moving subject.
About me... Video enthusiast, Photo enthusiast
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Nikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Great camera! Easy to use.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Yargie
from Folsom, CA
on 11/03/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Lots of features.
What's not so great: Takes a while to get used to all the settings.
Great camera with lots of features. Takes great pictures.
About me... outdoor pictures flowers etc.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Nikon - Coolpix S9300 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Took great pictures when I went on vacation.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Chele34
from Mulberry Florida
on 10/17/2012
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I loved the zoom on this camera. The picture quality was great. Was able to take pictures at night with the night feature that came out bright and clear.
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>