Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Canon - VIXIA HF R30 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Canon - VIXIA HF R30 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black

Model: 5976B002
SKU: 4881106
UPC: 013803145267
Capture the moments that matter with this Canon VIXIA HF R30 HD flash memory camcorder that features 8GB of internal memory, so you can shoot plenty of high-definition videos and photos. Built-in Wi-Fi makes it easy to share your images on the Web.
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 28 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 star
3
61% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
17 out of 28
)
Customer Reviews for Canon - VIXIA HF R30 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black
Review 1 for Canon - VIXIA HF R30 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black

Great for a backup or secondary camera

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Bowhunter4life
from California, Mo
on 08/30/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good picture quality, compact.
What's not so great: Short battery life, not much internal memory
Pretty good camera for the price, works great as a secondary camera. Has good enough picture for production and is easy to use for a beginner. If you are looking for a reliable backup this is the one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2697345686
My Best Buy number: 2697345686
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Canon - VIXIA HF R30 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black

great camera for a beginner

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: boroip
from mesa, az
on 06/06/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: great picture quality; easy to use; good zoom
What's not so great: battery life is too short
camera works very well; it does what I want it to do; however, battery does not last long at all, and replacement battery cost too much
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2500198867
My Best Buy number: 2500198867
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Canon - VIXIA HF R30 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black

Great camcorder for novice and experts users.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Coach28
from League City, Texas
on 05/02/2013
  • My Best Buy™ Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Light weight and easy to use.
What's not so great: The battery life is short so you have to purchase another one that will cost you.
The Cannon VIXIA HF R30 is a great camera for beginners and experts. It is very light weight to hold in your hand while in use or can be used with any tripod because of its weight. Easy to use touchscreen, it takes fantastic photos and great videos. The internal memory allows you to store photo or videos, but you can also store even more on the memory card that you can insert as well. Easy to download videos to your PC, DVD player for recordings, and share on the web with the built in Wi-Fi.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0075510572
My Best Buy number: 0075510572
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Canon - VIXIA HF R30 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black

fun too use it

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: n9jdl
from nappanee,in
on 04/13/2013
  • My Best Buy™ Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: the tuch screen
What's not so great: the size short battery life
the size is just right for carrying in my hands and the weight
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0569578125
My Best Buy number: 0569578125
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Canon - VIXIA HF R30 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black

Nice camera

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Ejlis
from Maine, NY
on 03/04/2013
What's great about it: Touch screen and great stability feature
What's not so great: Wifi more difficult to use then anticipated
Overall like this camera. Think that the wifi could work alittle better. Vibration stability feature works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Canon - VIXIA HF R30 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black

Nice camera horrible battery life

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Videotomac
from Atlanta ga
on 03/03/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
What's great about it: Images
What's not so great: Battery 20 minutes max!
Nice camera returned it after two days. Maximum battery life was 20 minutes. Went online to read reviews.... Battery issue after battery issue listed. Okay if you want to buy the $100 battery.
Too bad though as this model was great importing video to iMovie and Mac applications.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Canon - VIXIA HF R30 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black

Pleased

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Blackwell67
from Texas
on 02/23/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use right out of the box.
What's not so great: VERY short battery life
I have been pleased with the quality of videos I am getting from this camera and I have only used it so far on the auto setting. It will take me some time before I am ready to use any of the manual settings. You need to be aware that the battery life is less than an hour before you get ready to use it. Even though I told the sales lady I was planning to video basketball games I was not told about the short battery life when I bought the camera and because of that missed the last half of my grandson's game. I had to purchase a better battery (more money) and now have no problem videoing all of the game. The software that goes with this camera is not user friendly however.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Canon - VIXIA HF R30 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black

Good picture and easy to use

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: dropthepuck68
from Lansdale, PA
on 02/23/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The picture quality is really good.
What's not so great: So many options today its hard to get to learn them all.
This is a good camera. Easy to learn and get started. Internal storage is great, there is not need to make sure you have a card and it is still in the camera. Transferring the video to the pc is easy especially with the wifi.
I'm satisfied so far. Picture quality is good for what i'm doing and focus is good all the time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Canon - VIXIA HF R30 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black

Great camera for family videos

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: GerSwi
from Houston, TX
on 02/08/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Love the wi-fi
BOught this camcorder package for daughter and son-in-law for Christmas. They are very pleased with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Canon - VIXIA HF R30 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black

wanted one

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: littlerock1
from wyoming pa
on 01/26/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: a record of family activity
What's not so great: n a
easy to use and its what we wanted and thats all folks
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Canon - VIXIA HF R30 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black

Light weight, compact

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: synnur
from Medford, OR
on 01/25/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to take on vacation. Small, light weight, easy to carry. Used my fanny pack to carry it around.
What's not so great: Small touch screen buttons can be difficult to push if you have large fingers.
Really good camera for the money. Liked the camera option to take pictures, so I did not have to haul an additional camera around.
Zoom was great. Pictures are good in color, but not as great as my EOS camera, but did not want to carry that around all the time on this vacation.
Light weight, small in size. Fit easily into my fanny pack when I was not using it.
Really liked the vacation features where you can create a trip file.
Like the options that allow you to put pics and videos in separate storage locations. (Ie:internal or external memory).
This is our first video camera that we've owned in years, so not certain if all these features are readily available on all other video cameras or not, but do know that one of the selling features was the ability to use wireless transfer ability to other wifi capable TVs, tablets, phones, ect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Canon - VIXIA HF R30 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black

Nice camera for the price.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: lucbearcat
from Harrison, OH
on 01/25/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Takes clear pictures and is easy to use when taking movies.
What's not so great: Really complicated to figure out how to transfer movies from camera to a DVD.
The camera is easy to use when shooting movies, but really complicated instructions on how to transfer movies to a DVD. It came with 2 disks - 1 was a complete manual and the other was software to transfer movies from software to DVD, etc. Really complicated. I guess I'm just not savy in technical things. I guess I'll find someone that understands it. Hopefully soon!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Canon - VIXIA HF R30 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black

Not Good

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: DCReji
from DC
on 01/17/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Focus takes a long time
If the camera is steady it works fine. If i take a event video, it takes a long time to focus on people. I am frustrated with the product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Canon - VIXIA HF R30 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black

Overall it's a good camera but you'll neebatteries

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Rb68506
from Lincoln ne
on 11/18/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Picture quality
What's not so great: Battery life is extremely low and a back up battery was an extra $100
This camera takes good quality videos and pictures. The battery will be dead after an hour of use I imagine once I put some use on it the life will be even shorter. An extra battery cost an extra $100. However the I am happy with the purchase. It is easy to use and takes quality pictures. I can't get the editing software to work tho. I will get a half hour into editing and the program shuts down with out saving anything. Very frustrating
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Canon - VIXIA HF R30 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black

Good camera. Bad battery included.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: aboatc
from Plano, TX
on 10/17/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good picture quality and amount of features for the price.
What's not so great: The batteries that come with the camera lasted around twenty minutes total.
I cannot recommended this camera package solely due to the unusable batteries, which lasted less than a half hour of use. I was not recording for half that time, either! The price was great, but if I have to factor in the cost of buying better, longer-lasting batteries, then the value is no longer there anymore.
I ended up returning the Canon VIXIA HF R30 and upgraded to the HF M500 (no internal memory). Yes, it costs more, but I didn't have to worry about batteries and I also got professional level sensors out of the deal. If I had stuck with the HF R30 and bought a replacement battery, the overall price would have still been less but than HF M500, but that increase in price for the improvement in quality was well worth it to me.
I cannot believe Canon included such a horrible battery pack in this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Canon - VIXIA HF M50 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black
4.6 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
 
 
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Canon - VIXIA HF R30 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black

Invest in a camera worth while

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: cubicrealm
from NC
on 10/13/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: It powers on!
What's not so great: The battery
This camera appears to be great for indoor use only and close to a power source to charge the battery or remain connected to the ac adapter. The store had no options for additional batteries at the time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Canon - VIXIA HF R30 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black

Great camera

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Josiejmac
from Temecula CA
on 08/15/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Pictures and videos awesome quality
What's not so great: Battery life awful. U dont get more than 35 minutes to the charge
Overall great camera, but they need to work on the battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Canon - VIXIA HF R30 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black

Returned battery only lasted 18 min unable to reco

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Penny13
from Knox
on 08/08/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Battery life
Returned unable to recOrd a big birthday bash "grandchildren" totally upset memories lost!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Canon - VIXIA HF R30 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black

Do not buy

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: SJer
from San Jose, CA
on 07/25/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Not much to like
What's not so great: WiFi transfer does not work - tried several times. Nonstandard video format. Poor quality proprietary software.
This camcorder claims "WiFi" compatibility. You can't do much with WiFi. Can't post to YouTube or download videos.
The proprietary software supplied crashes a lot.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Canon - VIXIA HF R30 8GB HD Flash Memory Camcorder - Black

good picture, bad battery

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: morfindel
on 07/11/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: nice picture
What's not so great: horrible battery life
The camera seemed nice and it had a decent picture but the battery life kills it. It only has about 25 mins of recording time and a spare battery cost $100. This was promptly returned and I bought a Sony instead.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>