Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for iBuyPower - Gamer Extreme Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

iBuyPower - Gamer Extreme Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive

Model: GAMER EXTREME BB937I
SKU: 5036319
UPC: 848604000374
Enjoy arresting visuals with this iBuyPower Gamer Extreme BB937I desktop that features NVIDIA GTX 550 Ti graphics and 1GB dedicated video memory for lush images with intricate detail. The 1TB hard drive offers plenty of space to store your media.Windows 7 Home Premium preloaded Which Windows 7 edition is best for you? Compare.Learn more about Intel� processors. Information provided by Intel.
Average Customer Rating:
3.636 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 11 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
64% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
7 out of 11
)
Customer Reviews for iBuyPower - Gamer Extreme Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
Review 1 for iBuyPower - Gamer Extreme Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive

Gamers this is a serious PC

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ATOMeatball
from Orlando Area, FL
on 07/12/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Speed versus Price
What's not so great: Little downside here. 16 Gb max memory
I can't believe the negative reviews. I bought this for my 20 year old son who is a very serious gamer for WOW, STEAM, Diablo, DayZ and so many other PC games. He has a following and his broadcasts are handled seamlessly by this PC via TwitchTV. True we are upgrading the video card to the GTX 670 but we have ran the past month or so on the 550 Ti and it has performed admirably. He has been incredibly stoked and we added a couple Cooler Master LED fans. 1 green and 1 blue to enhance the look. It is basically noiseless even under stress and runs incredibly cool. FRAPS works perfect on this machine.
Don't hate...get the PC and get real performance.
This product is... for gaming and beyond
About me... Parent with kids, Gamer, Business Professional, serious about tech
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for iBuyPower - Gamer Extreme Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive

Not happy at all with ibuypower

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Bigdawg367
from Riverton, UT
on 06/20/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: When I got it working it runs games smooth, for the most part.
What's not so great: Had to take it to bestbuy the same day I picked it up. Hard drive wasn't connected and video card was loose.
So I pick it up and after getting it setup I can't get it to turn on and I end up driving back to the bestbuy I just left. They open it up and find that the hard drive isn't connected and the video card is loose, and apparently this isn't unusual for ibuypower. An hour later it's finally working and I take it home only to not be able to turn it on again. After messing with it for 20 minutes I realize the power button sticks down and you have to flick it once or twice to get it to pop up. Now that it's finally on first thing I get after doing the initial setup is an error letting me know something isn't installed right, and it pops up every time I turn it on. I load a few games and start to feel better because it runs it smooth and looks great, but every once in a while the screen flickers black then comes back. But that not what makes me mad the most, once the computer goes to sleep, or even screen saver sometimes, the modem disconnects and the only way to reconnect is to restart the computer. I tried running a diagnostic on it and it just sticks at determining problem and won't go past that, I let it run for 10 minutes with no change. So now again I get to disconnect it all pack it up and run it to the closest bestbuy so they can try to figure this out. The keyboard and mouse it comes with isgaebafr, ialready had a razer naga so the mouse wasn't an issue, but I didn't expect the keyboard to be a complete waste. If the problems were resolved and compensation made for my time wasted I might be happy with the computer, but so far all I've been told is you have to expect some bugs when you get a new computer. I figured that for $1000 plus another $150 for a 2 year protection plan you could expect the computer to be in working condition when you finally receive it. I have bought dell hp and Alienware computers from their websites and I have never had an experience like this.
This product is... a great way to burn a tank of gas and a few hours, hoping the geek squad can get it working.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for iBuyPower - Gamer Extreme Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive

Really good computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RedBush
from VillaRica,GA
on 06/16/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Really quiet fans especially with a headset on , has 3 fans which is a plus cool led lights
What's not so great: Mini motherbaord which has 1 slot for expansion
Like i said the only down side is the mini motherboard which has only 1 slot for expansion so you would have to buy another motherboard and then most likely another case if you want to expand , but overall i love this computer such a huge improvement over my last one , and for those wondering it can run BF3 on ultra with minor fps issues and High with no fps issues at all haven't tried Crysis 2 yet sorry anyway that's my review hope it was helpful :)
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Technology guru, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for iBuyPower - Gamer Extreme Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive

Great specs for price, sadly it doesn't even work.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Coolcats
from Syosset,NY
on 06/08/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Specs are amazing for price
What's not so great: Computer didn't even display anything.
The computer that I bought look beautiful. The wires were neat an bundled, and the computer looked nice with its lights. But as soon as we turned it on, absolutely nothing appeared on the screen. IBUYPOWER's tech support has very tight hours, so we had no help. We tried plugging in and unplugging the ram, checking to see if all the wires were plugged in, using hdmi/standard connections to the monitor, and draining the computer of power, but absolutely nothing worked. I'm taking it in to Bestbuy tomorrow morning to see if they can do anything about it.
This product is... not working
About me... Student, Gamer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for iBuyPower - Gamer Extreme Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive

Misleading pc, misleading reviews

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Synz007
on 05/27/2012
I ordered this as a replacement to add more to within a few months; this setup did not work once opened and set up ; the video card was shot; the PSU is only a 350watt ; it has a micro motherboard which means no expansion, the video card is the lowest of low end builds seriously it probably cost 80$ . This computer could be built for 500$. It is not worth the price tag.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
8out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 6 for iBuyPower - Gamer Extreme Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive

Overall very pleased with purchase.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kalamazu
from Atlanta, GA
on 05/25/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price and quality/performance.
What's not so great: Only gripe-mini hdmi monitor connection portal-had to buy adaptor.
Was a wee bit hesitant in this purchase as I am not familiar with the brand (and frankly-the name is an offset for me...just not a real good marketing name) but did my homework and found them to be fairly reputable. Machine met my requirements where needed while not inflating the price with unecessary 'perks', and has a great processor and graphics card. Being partial to nvidia cards this was a requirement of mine and this rig carries one of the upper tear cards.
2 weeks for delivery and machine was well packaged, extremely easy to set up, and very quiet during operation. Went thru my normal set up ritual/tweaking, getting to know the machine and again-very happy. The pre-sets were good-no extra garbage to find and delete which was another plus. I'm an old gamer from way back when and once free time found me this machine when to work like a true thorough bread. Was amazingly quick, smooth, and gorgeous.
I was very fond of my old machine so having this new rig blow my old one to shame was quite impressive. Overall I'd recommend this to any friend.
Lastly, one gripe another review mentioned. The HDMI port on this rig is a: C Mini HDMI size. To connect HDMI, one will need an adaptar. Aside from that-great rig and am loving my steal of a purchase.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Parent with kids, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for iBuyPower - Gamer Extreme Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive

Great gaming computer for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: akoshy
from georgia
on 05/17/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: graphics card specs are fantastic
What's not so great: power supply isn't the best
Just got my computer after ordering and everything seems great. Boots up extremely fast, easy to set up. No problems thus far. Lots of extra space for expansion
Works great under stress and managing multiple windows with multiple videos and music playing.
hums a bit loud, but honestly not that bad.
I'll post if anything changes, since i just got this computer. Also will post on how it runs D3, which is the main reason i bought this computer.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Student, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
Asus - 23" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black
4.6 out of 5(20)
 
 
 
Mad Catz - Cyborg R.A.T. 7 Gaming Mouse - Black
4.0 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
 
 
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for iBuyPower - Gamer Extreme Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive

Twice unlucky

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Zoey36
from Ca
on 05/15/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Great for games right out of the box
What's not so great: Quality control and tech support
My first machine arrived and booted up with major screen distortion, then immediately crashed. I called tech support and they walked me through taking the case off and inspecting the machine. Right away, I saw the graphics card was bent and also crooked connected to the motherboard. Returned to BestBuy. Tech support was good.
The second machine arrived a week later then it was supposed to (express shipping was refunded by BestBuy due to the delay) and would not boot up at all. Again, I called tech support and they walked me through reinstalling the RAM and graphics card. The graphics card was partially unseated it turned out. I re-seated it but the case was also very bent so they had me push it back in place to get the graphics card to align with the case screws. Not good. Tech support was good this time as well.
I used it for a couple days it it performed well overall. The 550ti card was excellent.
I then tried using the headphone jack only to discover the audio controls were not working properly as well as the jack was loose and recessed partially into the case as were the USB ports next to it. I couldn't tell if the problem was the jack (probably) or maybe a software issue (possibly). I called tech support to see if they could assist and walk me through it. The tech this time was not helpful at all, did not understand the problem, and actually disconnected me.
I took back this machine to BestBuy as well and will not buy from this brand again. Very disappointed with the quality on both machines.
About me... Parent with kids, Gamer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for iBuyPower - Gamer Extreme Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive

Great bargain for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mike11686
from The Woodlands, TX
on 05/09/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy set up, good price
What's not so great: Online website of manufacturer offers free upgrades
I could not be happier with my purcahse so far. The people at the Best Buy store were very friendly and helped me in every way possible with all questions and concerns. The computer ships fairly quickly (I got it in within a week) and is very easy to set up. The only downfall to this computer is not being able to get the free upgrades that are availaible on iBuyPower's website. They offer free upgrades on video cards and different things. With that said, I received my computer about a week and a half sooner than my brother. He purchased his from the manufacturer and it took about 2 1/2 weeks to get in. If you want something that is fun, easy to set up, and gets in fairly quick, I definitely recommend buying one of these products from Best Buy.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Gamer, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for iBuyPower - Gamer Extreme Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive

Will Run Anything You Throw At It on Ultra

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: KGamer
from USA
on 04/22/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: CPU - GPU
What's not so great: Motherboard is meh
You'll be able to play anything you throw at this on ultra. It's a good deal if you don't want to build your own.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, nice gaming rig
About me... Parent with kids, Technology guru, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
23out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 11 for iBuyPower - Gamer Extreme Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive

Best PC you can get for under $1000

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from California
on 04/18/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Blazing fast processor, GPU can run modern games well, looks amazing.
What's not so great: Not loud but fan isn't exactly quiet, default mouse & keyboard is bad.
So I've had mine for about a week, and I must say this thing is amazing. It can run games like Battlefield 3 like a charm, and the LED lights on it is sexy. My only real fault is that I really dislike the mouse & keyboard that come with it, but I ordered a Razer Naga & Ultimate Stealth so it doesn't bother me anymore. Overall its amazing, and I would recommend this to any gamer!
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
20out of 26found this review helpful.