Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Visual Land - Prestige 7 7" 8 GB Tablet - Wi-Fi - ARM Cortex A8 1.20 GHz - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Visual Land - Prestige 7 7" 8 GB Tablet - Wi-Fi - ARM Cortex A8 1.20 GHz - Black

Model: ME1078GBBLK
SKU: 5071526
UPC: 828063410723
The Visual Land Prestige 7 utilizes the latest versatile Android operating system 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich on the powerful Cortex A8 1.2GHz processor with 512MB RAM and supports Adobe Flash Player 11.1 for optimal web access. Access a wide variety of apps available for download. Whether you want to see the latest news, updates to your social network, check the local weather or read e-books, it's as simple as selecting an app and you're ready to go in seconds. The built-in WiFi allows you to do everything you can do on a PC at home, but on the go. Surf the web like never before. Zoom in and out of web pages, check and manage multiple e-mails at any time or even view streaming video wherever you are. The large 8GB internal storage gives you plenty of room for your apps and documents. A built-in, front facing camera allows you to do video calls on the go. The Prestige supports multiple codecs giving you full HD video which you can even output to your TV.
Average Customer Rating:
2.923 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 26 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
7
50% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
13 out of 26
)
Customer Reviews for Visual Land - Prestige 7 7" 8 GB Tablet - Wi-Fi - ARM Cortex A8 1.20 GHz - Black
Review 1 for Visual Land - Prestige 7 7" 8 GB Tablet - Wi-Fi - ARM Cortex A8 1.20 GHz - Black

Terrible

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: miame
from new york
on 03/26/2013
This review is fromVisual Land - Prestige 7 7 inch Tablet with 8GB Memory - Black.
What's great about it: size, screen, price
What's not so great: everything else
I bought two of these for my kids for Christmas. Since all they were really going to do was play games I didnt want to spend a lot of money on an expensive brand. Well you do get what you pay for. This tablet is really slow in connecting to the internet and response time when trying to type a search or web page. Also, do not let the battery die otherwise you may not be able to turn it on. If it powers down, it wont power up until after several times hitting the power button as you'll get the android welcome screen and it never gets to the home screen. You may have to "reset" it a few times before it will actually power back up. So we have found that we just cant let it die, or turn it off, and just make sure we charge it before the battery is completely gone. Because I ordered on-line, I just didnt want to go through the hastle of returning and waiting a month for a refund before buying a different one, and I think it would have been a much bigger price jump for something better so I kept them, but I would not suggest buying this tablet.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Visual Land - Prestige 7 7" 8 GB Tablet - Wi-Fi - ARM Cortex A8 1.20 GHz - Black

I works for what i need it for

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Reke
from Texas
on 02/01/2013
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to Use
What's not so great: Can slow down after opening to many apps
I got this on Black Friday for cheap. I wanted a tablet to use when on vacation, but didn't want to pay big bucks for something that wouldn't be used regularly. So for my needs it works fine.
The screen is easy to use, I like the look of the tablet, I can play Flash with the Firefox app, and I liked the price.
I used it more the first week I got it just to make sure it was working fine after reading all the reviews, and I didn't have any major issues. Only issue I have is if I go into to many games, it will slow down the tablet. But since I just want to use it on vacation to check some websites, and play a game here and there, I don't need a more expensive tablet.
And for the app thing. It doesn't have Google Play, but it has the 1Moblie Market app. Now I was downloading mostly game apps, but it pretty much had almost every app that Google Play did. I was even going on the Google Play website looking for apps I wanted and then downloaded them through the 1Moblie Market app. I've only run into two apps Google Play had that 1Moblie Market didn't.
This product is... responsive touch screen, easy to set up, A nice compact size, Easy to navigate, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Visual Land - Prestige 7 7" 8 GB Tablet - Wi-Fi - ARM Cortex A8 1.20 GHz - Black

Great for pre-teens

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Reallyrotten
from Greece, NY
on 01/19/2013
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The price is right
I bought this for my 10 year old grandson and he was thrilled Xmas morning. Nice tablet for the price and it does almost as much as my Galaxy Tablet.
This product is... responsive touch screen, Good sound quality, easy to set up, Comfortable to hold
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Parent with kids, Social media enthusiast, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Visual Land - Prestige 7 7" 8 GB Tablet - Wi-Fi - ARM Cortex A8 1.20 GHz - Black

Could not get to work

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: tabletuser
from NY
on 01/19/2013
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Screen Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: Was hard to connect to WiFi and would not download apps
This is the worst tablet on the market. I ended up taking this back for a refund and buying a refurbished Samsung Galaxy from another store and that one had no problems. Would not recommend to anyone!
This product is... not good for any age
About me... Parent with kids
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Visual Land - Prestige 7 7" 8 GB Tablet - Wi-Fi - ARM Cortex A8 1.20 GHz - Black

Good for my teenager

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Bjsj
from Wisconsin
on 01/19/2013
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to carry
What's not so great: Little slow
My son says that it is easy to use. A little slow when on Internet. He is enjoying the game apps. I think it is a good investment and well worth the price I paid. My son said that its the best tablet (first) he's ever had. Would recommend for use by young children because of its easy of use.
This product is... Good sound quality, easy to set up, Variety of apps available, A nice compact size, Easy to navigate, Comfortable to hold
About me... Student, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Visual Land - Prestige 7 7" 8 GB Tablet - Wi-Fi - ARM Cortex A8 1.20 GHz - Black

Horrible Tablet

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ShaZee
from North Carolina
on 12/03/2012
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Screen Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Has HDMI Port
What's not so great: Everything Else
I purchased this product even though I read the poor reviews warning me not to buy. I am that one person who is optimistic and take into consideration that people are comparing this product to more expensive tablets or to an IPad. Therefore, I decided to purchase this tablet anyway and see for myself if it was an acceptable tablet. I am telling you now, if I say its an absolutely HORRIBLE tablet then its Horrible. This tablet is a Hot Ugly Mess. It froze four times within the first hour. It locked up to the point where I could not cut it on or off. If you tried to go to youtube it locked up. It was very slow to pull up websites and froze often once it was on the sites. However, the memory was ok because if you went to the website again it pulled it up faster, but would still freeze. The battery lasted only for an hour or so before the low battery warning showed. It did play a movie that I had on a USB drive... but I did not see if it played it all the way through. If it does, I guess it would be good to use as a player, using the HDMI. I purchased five of these tablets because they were on sale for Black Friday and I didn't want to pass up a good deal and miss the sale, but I will most definitely be returning them as soon as I can. This has turned me against Visual Land because they are receiving negative feedback on this product and they seem to be doing nothing to fix the problems. I found another tablet that I purchased for 69.99 that I compared well to my kindle which I love (not the HD one) that runs a lot better than this tablet. I was aware that it didn't do Google Playstore, so that was not an issue because there are many other places to go to dl apps. But the tablet needs to work first before you can even get that far. And, when I put three apps on it it froze really really bad. And the glare on the screen is weird. Anyway, DO NOT BUY! EVEN IF ITS FOR YOUR CHILDREN! The poor reviews you see are accurate! Everything they said on these reviews happened to me. I would give it a zero rating if I could.
This product is... not a good tablet but has hdmi, very disappointing
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology, would not recommend to an enemy either
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Visual Land - Prestige 7 7" 8 GB Tablet - Wi-Fi - ARM Cortex A8 1.20 GHz - Black

Limited Features

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: WalterTh
from Iowa
on 11/25/2012
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Screen Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Inexpensive
What's not so great: Lack of Google Play Store Availability
It is not satisfactory as a tablet. I will probably use it to store photos and chop fruit. The specs look similar, but my Kyocera Rise charges faster, is easier to use, and came with better documentation. The Rise is also faster working off the same home WiFi. I should have spent a little more and gat a Google Nexus or a Kindle File HD.
This product is... A nice compact size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Visual Land - Prestige 7 7" 8 GB Tablet - Wi-Fi - ARM Cortex A8 1.20 GHz - Black

Excellent Tablet for all users

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Cdskidso
from Baltimore, MD
on 10/19/2012
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Many features, excellent responsive screen, ICS 4.0, sleek form, Micro HDMI out to TV
What's not so great: slippery case, speaker on back-muffled in a tablet folio, SD card sticks out slightly
I purchased this tablet several months ago as a budget upgrade to an older Android 2.2 tablet. 2 days after I ordered, Best Buy had a special sale for $99.00 so I got $50.00 back from their price match which made this a fantastic deal. The unit worked flawlessly out of the box and set-up was simple and direct. Migrating from Android 2.2 to 4.0 was easy and I appreciate all of the enhancements and improvements. Granted, Google play is not accessible, but I have found that I can download many previously unavailable apps from www.1mobile.com and I have found that their selections usually have newer app versions than Amazon's store. The only time you cannot download apps from 1 mobile is when they occasionally link back to Google Play for download. I have downloaded all the apps I need and then some from these two app stores. I have several cautions. Although the back has a texture, it is still slippery, hard plastic and can easily slip from your hands. A rubbery back like the Kindle Fire would have been better. I highly recommend a screen protector to protect the screen in case of a slip and drop. Since the mono speaker is on the back, it is muffled if you use this tablet with a tablet folio, consider using a small portable speaker system. Lastly, the micro SD card slot does not allow the card to insert so that it is flush with the case. It sticks out just enough that it could be accidentally pulled out and lost. Since I bought the black case, I simply put a piece of black electrical tape over the hole to make sure that the micro sd card stays in place. All in all, these are minor gripes and I consider this tablet to be a great value.
This product is... responsive touch screen, easy to set up, lightning fast, A nice compact size, Sharp graphics, Easy to navigate, Great screen size
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Visual Land - Prestige 7 7" 8 GB Tablet - Wi-Fi - ARM Cortex A8 1.20 GHz - Black

Workplace, yes, entertainment no

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: zcab911
on 09/07/2012
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Screen Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Inexpensive, Average construction
What's not so great: Audio
Everything here was working well, until I ran Pandora (which I got from the Amazon Store). Every single song had the last 5 or so seconds chopped off the end. That was a no-go, since the main reason for the tablet was to use Pandora on my stereo rather than burning out my high end TV.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Technology guru, Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
7out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Visual Land - Prestige 7 7" 8 GB Tablet - Wi-Fi - ARM Cortex A8 1.20 GHz - Black

You get what you pay for.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: jettech1
from NY, NY
on 08/22/2012
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Screen Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Everything.
Out of the box would not connect to the wifi in my house. I have 6 wireless devices connected without a problem so I know it is not my router. Exchanged it and same problem, I ended up returning it. Tech Support no help. Display is horrible, and touch screen not responsive. Ended up getting a kindle fire, no issues.
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Technology guru
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
6out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Visual Land - Prestige 7 7" 8 GB Tablet - Wi-Fi - ARM Cortex A8 1.20 GHz - Black

hardware problems

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: guilleFromArcadia
from Arcadia, CA
on 07/18/2012
What's great about it: neat little tablet, easy to use
What's not so great: it is junk, does not work for more than 5 minutes without crashing
I got this tablet and it was fantastic for 2 weeks, after then it wouldn't work for more than 5 minutes straight without crashing and resetting. I think it had serious hardware issues, sounds like quality problems to me. Anyways, I returned to Bestbuy and got my money back. I'll try a Galaxy next.
This product is... Good sound quality, A nice compact size, Great screen size
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Visual Land - Prestige 7 7" 8 GB Tablet - Wi-Fi - ARM Cortex A8 1.20 GHz - Black

bad in every way possible

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: manythingsbuyer
from salem , massachusetts
on 07/18/2012
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: every thing
very slow , very hard to operate , battery life under one hour eventhough it takes 4 hours to charge it , many apps don't work especially SKYPE , just a bad tablet , don't buy it !!!
This product is... awfull tablet that does not work
About me... Parent with kids, Technology guru, Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
9out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Visual Land - Prestige 7 7" 8 GB Tablet - Wi-Fi - ARM Cortex A8 1.20 GHz - Black

Good tablet but with bugs

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Veritas3
from Florida
on 06/21/2012
What's great about it: Good price, operating system
What's not so great: screen freezes, flickers and low resolution
Bought this tablet to be shipped to Europe so I could skype with family. Obviously dependability was key which this product lacked severely. It performed well for the price level and I liked the operating system, but the screen would flicker weird colors and freeze atleast once a day that would require it to be restarted. This would not work for elderly people who are technology challenged therefore I exchanged it and bought the Samsung 7 inch $250 tablet. That one worked without a hick up and was just what I needed. Also the screen resolution on the visual land was not as great as the samsung but I guess you get what you pay for. It is a good tablet but still needs to be tested and improved.
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, Great screen size
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Visual Land - Prestige 7 7" 8 GB Tablet - Wi-Fi - ARM Cortex A8 1.20 GHz - Black

Decent Base Tablet

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: OlyNerd
from Olympia, WA
on 06/20/2012
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: No Android Market
My son got his so he could mostly play games like Angry birds. Unfortunately, it cannot hit the Android Market (Google Play). That being said, it has its own market with several versions of Angry birds and many other apps. A could have failed to load, but most work fine. He is happy with it. If you want a fully functional Android, I would steer clear, but if you are looking for a base tablet that runs flash, you should be happy.
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Visual Land - Prestige 7 7" 8 GB Tablet - Wi-Fi - ARM Cortex A8 1.20 GHz - Black

This was a gift for my grandson He loved it

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JimE76
from Savage, mn
on 05/27/2012
What's great about it: playing game and using the internet
What's not so great: ?
This was a gift for my 11 yr old grandson He loved it. He can take it with him and play games, read or use the internet
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, Great screen size
About me... grandparent
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Visual Land - Prestige 7 7" 8 GB Tablet - Wi-Fi - ARM Cortex A8 1.20 GHz - Black

Cannot add any apps

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: JohnReview
from Illinois
on 05/26/2012
What's not so great: Cannot add any apps
There is no indication before buying this that the Google App store is not available from this tablet from the ads. This severely limits the functionality of this device. The battery life is not long . All in all, I would say to not spend your money on this tablet.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-12points
7out of 26found this review helpful.
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ben1b
Portland
 
Please wait while more information about Ben1b is loaded.
Additional information about Ben1b could not be loaded.
Incorrect, you CAN add apps
06/04/2012
First of all, you CAN add apps, tens of thousands are available for this. And you CAN install the Google Play store; but even without that, here are a few simple ways to add thousands of apps:
1. The Amazon App Store. Install this and have full access to the thousands of apps there, including the "free app each day" feature. Visit Amazon to see what's available there.
2. Getjar. Install this and have access to tens of thousands of apps, all free. Visit their website to browse apps and see what's available there.
3. APPBrain ... again, thousands of apps here, visit their site to browse and choose.
Further ... you can install Google Play on this device, and have full access to everything they have to offer. There are many users to prefer NOT to be tied to Google Play, because they can protect their privacy by not being a part of it.
Do a simple search on the web or on youtube and you'll find that the perceived lack of apps ability on this device is completely false.
+5points
5out of 5found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Review 17 for Visual Land - Prestige 7 7" 8 GB Tablet - Wi-Fi - ARM Cortex A8 1.20 GHz - Black

very happy with it, love playing angry bird on it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jotjot
from hicksville
on 05/23/2012
What's great about it: perfect size,very clear picture,response adequate
What's not so great: size make it a little hard for me to type,battery has short life,
love the size can put it in my pocket. game of angry bird worked great , also email,youtube,internet ,wifi,there is nothing bad i can say,well maybe-external speaker could sound a little better, also do not compare this to a $500.Apple or Asus this for the price is great.
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, Great screen size
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Visual Land - Prestige 7 7" 8 GB Tablet - Wi-Fi - ARM Cortex A8 1.20 GHz - Black

great for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: tah200
from farmingtonhills,mi
on 05/16/2012
What's great about it: good price,works as i thought it would
What's not so great: little bit slower than the galaxy tab
bought this to replace a galaxy tab that is almost 2 yrs old. i figured for this price i can buy a new one every year when a new android OS comes out. i'm very happy with it,works good i got the otg adapters and a keyboard and now i can hook up a mouse and it works with out any problems.also got an mini hdmi cable and hooked it to the TV also works instantly.it is a little slower than the galaxy tab but i can live with that.you should know that you have to download the amazon app store to get more apps. also you can download the "slideme " app store . the screen is very responsive and the display is good, videos plays just as good on the galaxy.as i said i'm pleased with this tablet.
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, Perfect for Business, A nice compact size, Great screen size
About me... Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Visual Land - Prestige 7 7" 8 GB Tablet - Wi-Fi - ARM Cortex A8 1.20 GHz - Black

Excellent Tablet for personal use!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: hmvannoy
from Fort Campbell, KY
on 05/09/2012
What's great about it: Great price, ease of use, quality
What's not so great: Nothing as of yet
I bought this tablet after I purchased a different brand and was highly disappointed. This tablet is AMAZING! There is nothing that I have found that is less than ideal. The video player is great, it has a camera for taking photos as well as chatting via webcam, and the interface responds smoothly. It's a great device!!!
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size, Great screen size
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Student, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Visual Land - Prestige 7 7" 8 GB Tablet - Wi-Fi - ARM Cortex A8 1.20 GHz - Black

Well, I can say that it works! But that's it.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Spence2011
from Los Angeles, CA
on 05/09/2012
What's great about it: Fairly Cheap
What's not so great: Very Slow Rendering/Processor
I bought this device as a kind of extra throw away for those times I need a computer/tablet with me but when the likelihood of it getting broken is unacceptably high. So I leave my iPad in the case and carry this.
It actually works pretty well except that the actual time on a full charge is actually 3 hours continuous and not the 8 hours they advertise. Using WiFi and Lowest Brightness level (there are 3 levels).
Netflix App from Amazon App Store (Google Android Appstore will not work with this device) will install but the quality and poor rendering is so bad that there is no point in using Netflix. It's OK for VERY basic apps only.
Also, after a short time, the device gets hot on the connector side (Right). Don't know how much of the battery time is lost because of heat.
But having said that, I must say that it actually works. It's a single core processor that barely gets things done but it does get them done. So it's a good cheap alternative.
This product is... Good sound quality, just adequate
About me... Technology guru, Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
13out of 19found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>