Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile - HTC EVO V 4G No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Virgin Mobile - HTC EVO V 4G No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Model: EVO V 4G
SKU: 5189742
UPC: 821793026820
Stay in touch with this Virgin Mobile HTC EVO V mobile phone that features 4G speed for fast data transfer and Bluetooth technology for simple connection to compatible devices. The 3D capability offers immersive visuals.
Average Customer Rating:
3.671 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 82 reviews
5 stars
32
4 stars
19
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
10
66% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
54 out of 82
)
Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile - HTC EVO V 4G No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black
Review 1 for Virgin Mobile - HTC EVO V 4G No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Perfect No Contract Smart Phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LizzyAM
from California
on 04/20/2013
Call Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: long battery life, great camera, true to life screen images, fast processor
What's not so great: dissapointing built in speaker
This is my second smart phone on the virgin mobile network and it is by far the best yet. I had a LG Optimus V slider, and I can't believe what shortcomings I delt with on that phone. The processor speed is greatly appreciated as it allows me to run multiple apps and info heavy games without lag or stutter (Simpsons Tapped Out) and the screen quality is bright and vivid without inacurately protraying color, so it's perfect for streaming video. I plan on using this phone for a while so I even bought a backup battery and an otterbox, I don't ever use the battery, but it's good to have on hand.
This product is... Replaced my MP3 player, Tough/durable, Good video quality, gamazing battery life
About me... Heavy texter, Heavy apps user, Need phone to keep me organized, use it to run my online store
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:25-34
Phone size:Large
My Best Buy number: 541149770
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Virgin Mobile - HTC EVO V 4G No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Best Bang for the Buck

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Howzit
from Waipahu
on 04/19/2013
Call Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Smooth, Snappy, Great sounds, Well Made
What's not so great: 3D not big enough
Ive been used to ZTE Warp and have had thought that was the best bang for the buck, untill I came across the EVO, The whole experience for Display,ease of operation, quickness, Beat music sound the best, I would refer anyone to get one even at retail store price
This product is... Replaced my MP3 player, Easy navigation, Replaced my camera, Tough/durable, Good video quality
About me... My phone is my life, Heavy texter, Heavy apps user, Business Professional, Need phone to keep me organized
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:65 and above
Phone size:Just right
My Best Buy number: 2000320775
My Best Buy number: 2000320775
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Virgin Mobile - HTC EVO V 4G No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

My first smartphone & it is really easy to use.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TomBh2o
from Tyrone, GA
on 03/09/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
Call Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great price, better quality of service
What's not so great: Battery life is average for a smartphone, need power mgmt ap
Virgin Mobile outperformed AT&T in this area. Love the phone does everything an iphone does at 25% of the price. 4G downloads are really fast and the service is available in most big cities. Recommend installing a power mgmt ap right away as battery life is typical for a smartphone.
This product is... Good video quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:55-64
Phone size:Just right
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Virgin Mobile - HTC EVO V 4G No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Nice Phone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: worksgreat
from Columbus Oh
on 03/05/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
Call Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use
Not a bad phone I like the 4G when it is on.......
This product is... Easy navigation
About me... Heavy apps user
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:35-44
Phone size:Just right
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Virgin Mobile - HTC EVO V 4G No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

3d pictures are awesome

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from arcadia, fl
on 03/03/2013
Call Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: nice and easy to handle
What's not so great: speaker has the worst quality when on high
Overall this phone is great for a htc fanatic that does not want to be stuck in a contract.
This product is... Tough/durable, Good video quality
About me... My phone is my life, Heavy texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:18-24
Phone size:Just right
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Virgin Mobile - HTC EVO V 4G No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

very easy to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mjpete
from harrisburg pa
on 03/03/2013
Call Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything
What's not so great: nothing
I love this phone I would the phone to any one. Buy it it's.great.
This product is... Tough/durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:35-44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Virgin Mobile - HTC EVO V 4G No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

not a good phone

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: mandy4u2k
from Pennsylvania
on 02/26/2013
What's great about it: not much
What's not so great: short battery life
This phone to me just all around sucks.I dont get my incoming calls half of the time.Sometimes i have to keep turning the phone off and on several times because it seems like it isnt getting a signal when i know there is bc after i turn it on and of several times it works.The frame around the top is already coming off and i only had it for 4 months.Sometimes my texts dont want to go out and again i have to do the same thing of taking battery out or turning phone off and on several times.I get alot of radio interference signals for no reason.Just a horrible phone for the price i spent and the battery takes to long to charge up and dies within a few hours.I would recommend another phone.This one just isnt worth it.
This product is... Easy navigation
About me... My phone is my life, Heavy texter
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age:25-34
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Virgin Mobile - HTC EVO V 4G No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

An upgrade from TracPhone still not the greatest.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: JuliBean
from Chicago, IL
on 02/18/2013
Call Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Battery Life
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: I like having android platform. Good phone for beginner.
What's not so great: Battery life short, picture quality not great, sound tin like.
Phone and charger get warm on occasion, read that this is a problem with this phone. I am keeping a close eye, may need to trade in. Watching video on phone not so clear and sound kind of tin like. Still learning features. Having fun as this is a huge upgrade from TracPhone. I now have Virgin Mobile. Can't wait for what comes out in another year.
This product is... secondary to phone mp3player etc
About me... avg texter and phone/ap user fun
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:45-54
Phone size:Just right
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Virgin Mobile - HTC EVO V 4G No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

A good 4g phone if you don't want a contract.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SA191521
from Saint Charles,MO
on 02/14/2013
Call Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Prepaid 4g,not too big or small,pretty good battery life.
What's not so great: 4g doesn't always feel like 4g
Got tired of being tied down by contracts & wanted a 4g phone.
This was the cheapest I've found for having a dual core processor.
It feels nice in hand,screen is easily visible.
It operates off of Virgin Mobile which is run/owned by sprint.
I did have issues initially with a bad battery but,it was resolved satisfactorily & now works with no issues.
The rear camera is okay but,when I take self-photos with the front camera them seem to turn out much clearer than the rear does of other things.
The 4G service can be fast but,at times it feels like it gets throttled down heavily(even if you aren't a heavy data user) & can be slower than 3g at times.
Overall for less than $200 I'm satisfied with this phone for light on the go games,talking,web,surfing,etc.
This product is... Replaced my MP3 player, Easy navigation
About me... Heavy texter, Heavy apps user
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:25-34
Phone size:Just right
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Virgin Mobile - HTC EVO V 4G No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Awesome smart phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ratemytv
from la, ca
on 02/10/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
Call Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: Short battery life.
Have friends who have this same phone but with the larger, extended-life battery who rave about the extended battery. I am convinced the extended battery would take me from 92% satisfied to 99% satisfied.
This product is... Easy navigation
About me... Heavy texter, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:25-34
Phone size:Large
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Virgin Mobile - HTC EVO V 4G No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Smooth, no 4G in Phoenix

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: sarsho
from Phoenix, AZ
on 02/08/2013
Call Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: No 4G in Phoenix
The phone is fine as they go, biggest problem is that Virgin Mobile which is on Sprints network, has no published plans to implement 4G service in the Phoenix AZ area for the next couple of years. Sure you can turn off the 4G radio, buts whats the point of selling a product in a market that you cannot take advantage of it?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age:45-54
Phone size:Just right
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Virgin Mobile - HTC EVO V 4G No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Good phone, but experienced problems

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: MrsMort
on 02/08/2013
I bought this phone at Best Buy on 2/4/13, phone worked perfect even running on 3G coverage. Today 2/7/13, I am having problems experiencing my voicemail etc. Won't update my apps. I have to swap it for another phone tomorrow, because Virgin Mobile said that It's most likely the phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Virgin Mobile - HTC EVO V 4G No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Best deal for a pre-paid smartphone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mrshowrdh
from nyc
on 02/04/2013
Call Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Big, bright, clear screen. front and rear camera, 8gb sd card included
What's not so great: No panorama shot
Had the phone about 2 months now and I like everything about it. Android 4.0, big bright screen, great front and rear cameras plus flash, fast dual core processor, 1.2 gb of phone memory plus an included 8gb micro sd card. I can download and play all my favorite apps and it never runs out of memory and never freezes. I just wish it had the panorama feature in the camera.
The only complaint I used to have was frequent dropped calls and delayed text messages but that was fixed by HTC with a software update I received about a month ago. Now the phone is rock solid. All calls and texts go through loud, clear and fast.
One thing I do to make my battery last much longer is turn off gps, bluetooth, wifi, mobile data 3G and 4G when Im not using them. That alone will easily double your battery life.
This has to be the best deal out there right now. You get a whole lot of phone for not a lot of money.
This product is... Replaced my MP3 player, Easy navigation, Replaced my camera, Tough/durable, Good video quality, loud and clear calls, big screen, very fast
About me... My phone is my life, Heavy texter, Heavy apps user, Need phone to keep me organized
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:25-34
Phone size:Just right
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Virgin Mobile - HTC EVO V 4G No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

not a bad phone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Moonlightop
from chattanooga, tn
on 01/29/2013
Call Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: has an awsome 3d camera...love the clearness of the screen
What's not so great: wished the battery lasted longer. Does not flip the home screen in landscape mode. also voicemail is set up different.
Overall its been a great phone so far. My only problem is the voicemail. When I switched from my last phone to this one there were 2 voicemails in my box now this phone still shows 2 voicemails in the notification bar separate from the voicemails I actually get on this phone. It will not let me access, erase, or even clear it from my notifications. Virgin mobile couldn't even take them off so now every time I turn my phone on it shows those two voicemails and they are permanently in my notification bar. Other than that not bad.
This product is... Replaced my MP3 player, Replaced my camera, Good video quality
About me... My phone is my life, Heavy apps user
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:25-34
Phone size:Just right
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Virgin Mobile - HTC EVO V 4G No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Excellent Value

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: newguy001
from Toledo OH
on 01/25/2013
Call Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: HTC Sence
What's not so great: Battery Life of course
This one is a gem for sure. For the price an excellent value. Lots of good features and very customizable. Some problems with SMS some type of network error. Quick e-mail to VM and problem fixed. Good Call quality. High end features with video streaming VIA home wifi media servers. Extra storage available, very fast screens. Did I say great value?
This product is... Easy navigation, Good video quality
About me... Heavy texter, Heavy apps user
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:55-64
Phone size:Just right
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Virgin Mobile - HTC EVO V 4G No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Cheaply made phone

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Folme1ce
from New Bloomfield, PA
on 01/17/2013
Call Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Battery Life
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Android program
What's not so great: Short battery life, bad camera, dropped calls and lost text
This phone has so many problems I do not have time or space to list them all in detail here. All I can say is do not buy this phone. The battery goes really quick, a lot quicker then any other smart phone. The 3D camera is useless and I would have rather just had a better 2D camera. It will not send text sometimes and give you strange errors that you have to reset your phone to fix. The speakers are so quite that the alarm would not wake me up and had to use an alarm clock. Overall this phone is a piece of junk and made me switch to AT&T after over 5 years with virgin mobile. Just got tired of having to pay $300+ for a phone every 4 to 6 months
This product is... junk
About me... Heavy texter, Heavy apps user, Business Professional, Need phone to keep me organized, use my phone for everything
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age:25-34
Phone size:Large
-10points
3out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Virgin Mobile - HTC EVO V 4G No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Battery... really?

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Port Arthur
on 01/15/2013
Call Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good price, good interface, nice touchscreen, nice camera
What's not so great: worst battery life ever, data connection sucks
The phone itself is GREAT, the touchscreen is amazing and it simple looks beautiful, it goes very fluently and everything, but when it comes to the battery life, really? PLEASE do you a favor and don't be stupid like me, do not buy it at all, I mean my battery lasted like one hour, it drains like 6 % when you are using it, it's like if every text message would drain 1 % of the battery, and every minute playing like 10, as well as web surfing, in my case the data connection sucks, it does not connect sometimes in my house, or it's constantly disconnecting and it will take forever to download something, even to charge a normal web page, it's awful. I just got it yesterday and I hate it already, I mean the phone as I'm telling you is awesome, but without good battery is useless, you are not going to have a plug in everywhere, that's the point of the cellphones, I'm so disappointed.
By the way if you know if I can return it to the store, I just got it yesterday, I totally cannot get another one, please answer, you don't know how you would be saving my life, for real, I'm sad :/
This product is... Easy navigation, Replaced my camera, Tough/durable, 3d is pretty good
About me... Heavy texter, Heavy apps user, Need phone to keep me organized
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age:18-24
Phone size:Just right
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Virgin Mobile - HTC EVO V 4G No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Nice 4.3 inch screen. Feels solid in the hand.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: BareBear
from Sterling Heights, MI
on 12/11/2012
Call Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Virgin Mobile $35 monthly plan.
What's not so great: This device has many software glitches.
At first I was happy to get a phone with a 4.3 inch screen on a $35 monthly plan. After two weeks of ownership the phone would cut off on its own overnight making the alarm useless to me. The HTC Evo would also freeze up at least once daily requiring me to remove the battery and replace it to restart the device. I went to Youtube to research this phone before purchasing and I saw nothing that would indicate the phone had glitches in the software. Perhaps the phone performed smoothly before Sprint released it to Virgin Mobile. I have recently downgraded to the HTC One V. A smaller 3.7 inch screen but no more glitches.
This product is... good specs/ poor execution
About me... Need phone to keep me organized
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age:45-54
Phone size:Just right
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Virgin Mobile - HTC EVO V 4G No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Bad product bad service from Virgin Mobile

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Dulusion
from Duluth, MN
on 12/04/2012
Call Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Seems like it would be a good phone if it would work.
What's not so great: Will not call out or receive calls anywhere in our area. Battery life horrible.
We purchased this phone and had it activated at the store. We had checked coverage maps and assumed it would work in our neighborhood. We are unable to make calls anywhere in Duluth. This phone displays bars but when you try to call the bars disappear and the call drops off and displays a message that service was dropped. We made three calls to Virgin Mobile trying to trouble shoot. Don't bother..we wasted three hours on the phone with people who made us jump through the same stupid hoops every time. The first "tech" told us we just needed to shut the phone off for 20 minutes (after spending 40 minutes on the phone to get to that point we hoped it would work) This just got the tech off the phone with us, it did not work. We called back, only to sit on hold for 20 minutes, then be shunted to another tech. She put us through several checks and steps only to say we now need to wait 24 hours. She promised a call back the next night and never did call back. Next night, I explain the previous steps taken and the tech proceeded to tell me to do the exact same fruitless steps! This phone is going back and I will not ever call Virgin Mobile customer service again...they are NO HELP!
This product is... defective and not working out of the box
About me... Heavy texter, Heavy apps user, Need phone to keep me organized
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age:55-64
Phone size:Large
-9points
7out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Virgin Mobile - HTC EVO V 4G No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black

Initial Impressions

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Wayfinder
from USA
on 12/04/2012
  • Top 250 Contributor
What's great about it: Great interface, response, speed, Android 4
What's not so great: Battery, design
I haven't even activated this phone yet but have initial impressions that warrant review. I agree with so many other reviewers here: the phone itself seems good as far as an "Android micro-tablet" goes. But the bulky 3-D camera lens that sticks out the back is very cumbersome and the battery life is very poor (someone mentioned getting an "extended life" battery-- something I'd consider a necessity). I tried using a "live background" screen and it drained half the battery in 30 minutes (so forget the live background screens and stick with a static). I would estimate this won't survive an average-use day. However, at this time the only real alternative in its class is the Samsung, which costs about $100 more. Probably worth it in the long run. The 3D camera is interesting but I consider it a "gimmick" that made my sister motion sick just to look at a picture. The 3d photos have to be manually pixel adjusted for "best effect". My suggestion: forget the 3D. Get a nice flat phone without a huge bulge sticking out the back. And above all get one with a decent battery life (or at least invest in a better battery).
This product is... Easy navigation, Tough/durable
About me... Heavy apps user, loving android-- windows 8 doesn't come close
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>