Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Moon Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Moon Silver

Model: I15R-2106SLV
SKU: 5395753
UPC: 884116082750
Surf the Web with this Dell Inspiron I15R-2106SLV laptop that features wireless networking for an easy connection to the Internet. The 15.6" high-definition widescreen display provides a clear picture.Windows 7 Home Premium installed Learn more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.269 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 26 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
88% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
23 out of 26
)
Customer Reviews for Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Moon Silver
Review 1 for Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Moon Silver

Great laptop

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Karthikg
from Neenah wi
on 11/18/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good price
Very good laptop with good configuration.wonderful quality
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size, easy to set up
About me... Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Moon Silver

Decent laptop for the money

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: corc
from Knoxville, Tn
on 11/14/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Big bright display
What's not so great: Overly sensitive touchpad
Only had this laptop a short time, so we're still discovering the full range it's capable of, but wanted to report one major fault: the touch pad is ultra sensitive and can produce some weird, annoying results. Like suddenly selecting all the text from a 6 page email, and then replacing it with the last three words you typed! And if you aren't quick enough to reverse it before auto save kicks in........... Good computer, but for long correspondence, I'd recommend disabling the touch pad. Also, the large screen comes at the expense of compact design, obviously, but this computer seems inordinately heavy, even for the size. Not one I'd want to try to use on an airplane, if I were stuck in coach, or carry across campus
This product is... Good sound quality, Big screen size, bulky
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Moon Silver

Laptop is excellent

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: pigeongirl66
from Washington DC
on 10/19/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Superfast downloading internet and videos; 8gs gives me loads of memory for whatever my needs
What's not so great: Needs MS Word or some other software with which you can type a letter for example
Overall I love my new Dell. I'm not a techno-savvy person but for my needs--primarily using the Internet and/or watching videos, I'm very happy about. Comes with temporary antivirus too, which is a plus as the Asus laptop I also purchased from Best Buy does not.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Computer technology beginner, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Moon Silver

I really like this laptop.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PolishFalcon
from Byron Center, MI
on 10/12/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It had everything I liked to have on a laptop. Can do all the things I wish to do.
What's not so great: The number 9 buttom has come loose and I may have to send it back to Dell to repair. That is ridiculous.
Laptop works just great except the 9 button has come off and no way to reattach without going back to Dell. This laptop had all the storage and power that I was looking for. The 6 hour battery life is very misleading. I get about 2 hours of continuous use and the message comes up to plug in. Dell needs to be honest with their buyers on battery life.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast, battery life is misleading
About me... Budget Conscious, Social media enthusiast, retired, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Moon Silver

soft keys and good clarity camera

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: preethipearls
from virginia
on 09/29/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Its fast
What's not so great: battery life could have been better
overall the laptop is very good and user friendly.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size
About me... Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Moon Silver

Nice laptop for multitasking

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MasterZang
from Newark, NJ
on 09/27/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: easy to set up, lighting fast
What's not so great: its batery life is a little shorter than i expected
i bought this computer for college but, i also wanted a high performance for other things.
when i got this computer i got impressed because it got 10 out of 10 in howfastismypc.com also i can play almost any game on it in higher graphics!! =D
follow me in instagram
MasterZang
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Computer technology challenged, Student, Technology guru, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Moon Silver

Excellent value. Full-featured yet light-weight.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RTuten
from Pensacola FL
on 09/27/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Speed & Storage
What's not so great: Port placement is awkward for our application.
Easy setup. Fast machine. Preloaded with MS products made activiting Office easy, but the pre-loaded IE was unstable.
This product is... Good sound quality, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Moon Silver

little powerhouse laptop

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mlbmom
from worcester, ma
on 09/26/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: big screen, good graphics, lots of speed
What's not so great: a little heavier than expected
i bought two of these, one each for my 14 and 15 year-old daughters for school, so they could stop fighting over the one they shared which was older. this is a powerhouse little computer with very good functionality. great graphics, good screen resolution, terrific memory and RAM, overall a great little laptop. price was fairly comparable to other stores, but best buy has very good customer service, so we bought it there. would buy it again, but hoping not to have to buy them new computers for the rest of high school, as this one has everything they should need for a long time. they also have the advantage of "switch" covers, so we got them each their own different color cover so they can see at a glance which one is theirs.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, has a nice advantage of "switch" covers
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Moon Silver

Great computer for desktop replacement

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Pistol77
from San Diego
on 09/22/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything the average user needs.
What's not so great: Integrated graphics card.
This is a great laptop and a stellar replacement for my ten year old desktop brah, The hard drive is large enough to fit everything I need and more. The memory allows me to be run music smoothly whilst doing almost anything else, even installing programs and transferring large files. The integrated graphics card is not too bad, unless you want to play the newest games. The 4000 is a definite improvement over the 3000 I hear. Anyways, after about a month of use, I have no regrets about this purchase. The USB 3.0 ports seem pretty fast, but USB will be replaced in about a year by something faster.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, easy to use
About me... Budget Conscious, working class stiff
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Moon Silver

great value for the price and convenience

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: hawaiimama
from Honolulu, HI
on 09/19/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
great value for the price and convenience...always enjoy shopping at bestbuy! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Moon Silver

Very disappointed

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: clgarner
from waterloo,ny
on 09/12/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Really good specs for the price
What's not so great: Didnt live up to the performance it supposedly had
As a long time dell owner and after looking at numerous laptops i decided to go with this dell inspiron. It had a really good price especially for the specs it had. Unfortunetly boot times were absolutely terrible and laptop was bulky. Some of it was my fault because i didnt think of going for an LED screen since this one has major glare issues and having a backlit keyboard turns out to be a nice thing to have. I took it back after 20 days thanks to best buys great return policy. I bought a ASUS Infinity tablet with the mobile dock.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Technology guru
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Moon Silver

I have owned a lot of Dells but ...

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Patrick2098
from Louisville, KY
on 09/12/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up and decent price
What's not so great: I got the dreaded "blue screen" five times in two weeks.
I bought the laptop to replace my four year old Dell laptop that was having some issues with the screen. I got the dreaded "blue screen" five times in two weeks. I took the laptop back to Best Buy and I was offered an exchange. That was fine but I had just spent the last two weeks moving all my files off my old laptop and downloading all the drivers for my devices. The Best Buy blue shirt guy went and got a Geek Squad guy. The Geek Squad guy told me it would take FIVE days to check out my brand new laptop. That was not what I was looking for so I went home and deleted everything off my brand new laptop and took it back for an exchange. I now have a second brand new laptop and guess what ... I got the "blue screen" again !!
I am not happy with the laptops perfrormance and not happy it was going to take FIVE DAYS to check out my brand new laptop. Who in the heck can go FIVE DAYS with out their computer.
This product is... Good sound quality, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Moon Silver

Disappointing laptop.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: HKL3
from SF Bay Area, California
on 09/06/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: haven't discovered its greatness yet
What's not so great: having trouble with navigating. cursor jumps around and does things unintended.
Don't like my new computer. I did like my old Dell laptop fine, but this one not so much. The cursor jumps around and does unintended things and sometimes I can't figure out what it did or how to undo it! Very frustrating. Didn't have this problem with the old one. Also, I don't have all the software I want yet, so can't use it as much as I'd like. Also, it makes a lot of noise when operating. I keep thinking maybe something is wrong.
About me... Budget Conscious
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
3out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Moon Silver

very great computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: toolshed222
from houtzdale, pa
on 09/05/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: flexibility, lightweight, fast
What's not so great: screen is on the small side
this is a great computer i love the fact of how much memory i have. i mostly play games on it and it does alright.
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Technology guru, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Moon Silver

Great computer for its size. Fast

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Crock81
from summerville SC
on 09/05/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Speed and price;great design
What's not so great: I wish it had backlit light
This is a great pc for the price. I enjoy doing running my business on this computer. It runs cool for a long period of time. I had it over a month and had no problems with it getting hot which odd for a computer of its specs and size. Overall, dell did a great job with this particular model ---from design,speed, and memory.
This product is... Good sound quality, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Moon Silver

Very pleased with it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: walleytoo
from Jefferson City, MO
on 09/05/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Decent price for what I got
What's not so great: Nothing so far.
Glad I purchased it. I was debating between it and another model - I made the right choice.
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to set up and is lightning fast, A nice compact size
About me... retired, contractor
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Moon Silver

Great deal - don't purchase at Dell's site

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Shabac
from Kansas City
on 09/05/2012
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Haha - only complaint is length of cord
So, please read review in full if you are looking for feedback on this particular model. First, let me say for the price, you can't beat this model (paid $600 at local BB store). Next, when opting for a laptop, or any computer for that matter, you have to ask what is the primary purpose you are looking for from that particular PC/Laptop? Most consumers will look for the overall best value for his/her need when making a purchasing decision. Fast forward to this unit......what is your primary need/use for this system? I am by habit a PC gamer, and as a side interest, digital photographer. That is where I spend the bulk of my "free" time. With that said, would this laptop meet my needs? Absolutely NOT !!! Let me rephrase that...this laptop is not meant for gaming and/or any graphic editing applications whatsoever!! Repeat...Look at your primary needs. This computer is not for the gamer/video editer. What does that mean??? It means that if you decide on this system, you will get A LOT of system for your money, as long as you aren't looking for a high end system. Explanation.....this particular system has the most current Intel mobile processor, a great amount of fast RAM, and a good size HD. What it doesn't have is the video graphics adapter to make it fly. Yes, the system has an Intel onboard HD 4000 controller, but what that means is there isn't a dedicated graphics controller in the form of an NVIDIA or ATI separate card. Again, the system wasn't designed for that, so you can't expect to see it. However, what you get is a fantastic purchase for the dollar. The system is fast, works great for other tasks outside of graphics, and responsive. If you compare the system today spec for spec, you will find it cheaper at BB than you will on Dell's website. Great buy....won't go wrong !!!
This product is... Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Technology guru, Gamer, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Moon Silver

Great laptop for its class

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Claytron
from California
on 09/05/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It's just about perfect for the price. Good weight, screen, keyboard. the i5 3rd gen and intel hd 4000 graphics are awes
What's not so great: Under the laptop on the right side where the disc drive is, is a little flimsy
I love my laptop. Great for nearly everything a laptop of it's class is meant for. Fast, efficient, light, and just great.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Student, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Moon Silver

Great laptop for all uses.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rose58
on 08/31/2012
After having and holding on to a great desktop for 10plus years, I decided to finally switch to a laptop. If you are looking for something that replaces an old desk top and offers the mobility of a laptop then this is the way to go. Can't believe how super fast it is and this saves a lot of valuable time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Moon Silver

Great specs for the price!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HockeyBeast
from Bakersfield, CA
on 08/14/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Storage, RAM, USB 3, almost everything!
What's not so great: No backlit keyboard
So I bought this laptop about a month ago, and now I have had ample time to use it and see what I like about it, I decided to write my review.
I am a mobile DJ, and of course want a MacBook, but I do not have near the money to spend for one. I have heard great reviews about Dell Laptops, especially the Inspiron series. So I have a 2TB external drive that is USB 3 capable, and new that I wanted a laptop with usb 3. A great thing this laptop has 4 usb 3.0 ports!!! Also the 3rd gen quad i5 is a very nice processor, and knew it would be more than enough with what I was doing. The description of the laptop is wrong, because it labels it as Ivy bridge, which is correct, but says its Intel Graphics 3000, which is wrong, it is 4000 actually. Overall I LOVE this laptop and couldnt find anything in a price range with the same specs! I JUST WISH IT HAD A BACKLIT KEYBOARD!?!?! But I can buy a USB powered light for the keyboard for cheap anyways. Definitely well worth the money! Dell is a very reliable company for support reasons as well. Hope I helped.
This product is... Good sound quality, Perfect for Business, Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>