Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bose - Virtually Invisible 191 Speakers (Pair)

Bose - Virtually Invisible 191 Speakers (Pair)

Model: 191
SKU: 5402441
UPC: 017817323116
Whether kicking back with your favorite CD or firing up the home theater for a movie marathon, the sound delivered by these barely noticeable in-wall speakers is truly impressive. Learn more about Bose products and proprietary technologies in our Bose Store.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 18 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
100% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
18 out of 18
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Bose - Virtually Invisible 191 Speakers (Pair)
Review 1 for Bose - Virtually Invisible 191 Speakers (Pair)

Excellent Sound Quality for Their Size

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Flash
from Quincy, IL
on 06/27/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
These speakers are not only compact and virtually invisible they produce professional, life-like sound day in and day out. I am a long time Bose customer!
This product has... Right size for my space, Easy to set up
About me... practical
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2226174343
My Best Buy number: 2226174343
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bose - Virtually Invisible 191 Speakers (Pair)

Extremely install Pro results

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Damascus007
from Palm Springs, CA
on 02/23/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: sound, easy install, looks
What's not so great: nothing
Price is right for sound and power hadling quality. Install was simple with bulk of speaker hidden above ceiling line in attic. Better yet, portion of speaker above ceiling is self contained within "sound box" so bugs, mice (if they get there) cannot impact speaker. Portion viewable from below is minimal. Worst part of install was having to crawl through small attic space to run wires to amp!
This product has... Right size for my space, Easy to set up, Good build quality
About me... Tech savvy
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2174575049
My Best Buy number: 2174575049
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bose - Virtually Invisible 191 Speakers (Pair)

Terrific sound out of thin air

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: needaspeaker
from Charlotte
on 01/03/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Sound and apperance
What's not so great: price
Great sound from a tiny, well hidden package... the added bass/separation from the extra hidden box separates this speaker package from the others!
This product has... Right size for my space, Good build quality
About me... practical, Tech savvy
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0775526255
My Best Buy number: 0775526255
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bose - Virtually Invisible 191 Speakers (Pair)

B cuz there bose

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Redskinsbob
from Albuquerque
on 11/23/2013
What's great about it: The sound is quality
What's not so great: Nothing so far
Once again bose has not let me down. I had these installed in my man cave and wow, really wow awesome sound when were watching the game and awesome sound when we watch movies
About me... Technically challenged
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0547914310
My Best Buy number: 0547914310
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bose - Virtually Invisible 191 Speakers (Pair)

sounds good and flush in ceiling!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: sbutt
from reston, va
on 06/16/2013
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Really like the look of them flush mounted in the ceiling.
would buy again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2088649324
My Best Buy number: 2088649324
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bose - Virtually Invisible 191 Speakers (Pair)

Great in wall speakers

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: scifigreg
from Denton, TX
on 06/01/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Virtually hidden and out of sight, sound awesome
What's not so great: installed a little too high in wall
I'm using 4 of these for my 7.2 surround for the BLR and SLR in my theater room. Combined these with some 301 Bose and a old VCS-10
center channel and Polk SWs. Installed with Geek Squad and they did
a great job. The sound of the system is clear and easily keeps you
on your seat during movies. For Music, these are crystal clear.
They install between the studs and in the wall attaching to the drywall. They should work in the ceiling, but I don't think I'd recommend it.
Only thing I may have asked to do different is to install them a bit lower on the wall. When standing these are great, when seated they are a bit high and the sound seems to flow over you head somewhat. I think I'm just being overly critical, because I've been very impressed with them regardless.
This product has... Right size for my space, Easy to set up, Good build quality
About me... Audiophile, Tech savvy
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1054431444
My Best Buy number: 1054431444
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bose - Virtually Invisible 191 Speakers (Pair)

Very good for price and purpose

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ullrich
from Greensboro, GA
on 04/13/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Sound quality for small speakers
What can I say - happy to have them. Very good installation instructions - which you really should read and follow, just for once.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0398780157
My Best Buy number: 0398780157
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bose - Virtually Invisible 191 Speakers (Pair)

GREAT value for true sound lovers!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SoldOnBOSE
from Houston, TX
on 03/01/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great Sound, easy to install
I have recently converted my upstairs gameroom area to a theatre room and installed the Sharp 70" to watch football and movies. Originally, I had installed the Klipsch Qunitet III speakers. Although they did an OK job on the sound, I was never very happy with the way they sounded. I have owned the Bose Acoustmas 10 speakers for my downstairs sound system for over 15 years. The Klipsch never were comparable to that sound. I also had very comparable receivers in both areas (Onkyo with THX). I decided to upgrade the upstairs speaker to the Bose 191's. WOW!!!!! That made ALL the difference in the world. The sound separation is truly amazing and am able to notice more sound depth. These sound better than the Accoustmas 10's! Some people have commented on the lack of bass. You will need a sub-woofer to accomplish the true bass.
Since I had never installed in-ceiling/in-wall speakers, I paid the Geek Squad to install and they did an outstanding job! I had already run the wiring, so they were able to install the speakers in about 90 minutes. I watched them do the install and it really is easy and can do it myself in the future if need be.
This product has... Right size for my space, Easy to set up, Good build quality, bose quality
About me... practical, Audiophile, Tech savvy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bose - Virtually Invisible 191 Speakers (Pair)

Top notch surround sound system.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: camelback
from Phoenix, AZ
on 11/30/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The sound quality is amazing. You can't beat Bose.
What's not so great: Nothing yet.
The Bose surround system is excellent quality with amazing sound. The system also has attractive styling. We went with the white recessed wall and ceiling speakers. It really enhances your movie watching experience. Best Buys also gave us price match guarantee so we got the best price at the time of our purchase.
This product has... Right size for my space, Easy to set up, Good build quality
About me... practical, Tech savvy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bose - Virtually Invisible 191 Speakers (Pair)

Incredible sound!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Swamplander
from St Johns, FL
on 12/03/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Form factor, sound quality
What's not so great: Bit pricy
True to Bose's reputation, these lilttle speakers pack one hell of a punch. I have them hooked up to a 100w/channel receiver and have never pushed them to their limit, but could easily blow my ears out. The sound is crisp and crystal clear. I mounted them to the sides of my TV and one as a center channel above. All were painted as well to blend into the wall...they came out great!
This product has... Right size for my space, Easy to set up, Good build quality
About me... Pro audio / DJ, Tech savvy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bose - Virtually Invisible 191 Speakers (Pair)

Used 5 of these for my 5.1 Surround

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Herknav
from Cheyenne, Wy
on 11/02/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: In wall.
What's not so great: Had to buy them in pairs.
I Paired 5 of these with a Polk Audio 10" 100W Powered Subwoofer - Black Model: PSW10 BLACK | SKU: 8826112 for my 5.1 surround system and they sound great. Some reviews talk about the lack of base, but they sound good to me. I just wish you could buy just one. I had to sell my extra on ebay.
This product has... Right size for my space, Easy to set up, Good build quality
About me... practical, Tech savvy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bose - Virtually Invisible 191 Speakers (Pair)

Great sound, look great.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mulefan
from Amory,Ms
on 01/20/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Great finished look,great mounting feature,sound awesome.
What's not so great: Nothing, I'm still getting more of them.
I put these in a house I just finished in the living room as the rear surround speakers and two in a 14 foot vaulted ceiling. I also put a pair in my sunroom and now am going to put another pain in my kitchen. They sound great and use the 301's for my front speakers for my home theatre setup and also have the 451 outdoor speakers on my patio ( I think they are called 451's but not sure, I've had them for several years) I also use Bose headphones and they can't be beat for sound in my opinion. One thing I have to admit is without a subwoofer hooked to your home theater setup they sound a bit thin as Bose speakers don't put out a great deal of bass but I play bass so I'm a little partial to good bottom end.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
16out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bose - Virtually Invisible 191 Speakers (Pair)

Great technology

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sebasti
from Matthews, NC
on 01/15/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Sound quality
What's not so great: price
Sound quality is great and easy to setup up into a system
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bose - Virtually Invisible 191 Speakers (Pair)

Great Speakers

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ctburrell
from Atlanta
on 02/15/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy installation
What's not so great: They are pricy but worth it
I was hesitant about buying these speakers and attempting to install them in our theater room in our basement. These were to be used as surround sound speakers in the ceiling. I already had the speaker wires run, so the only issue was to cut out the holes and wire them up.
The installation was VERY easy and Bose did a great job with the installation materials and directions. The template made cutting the hole very easy, and the design of the speakers made it so that you could do the job by yourself with no problems. It took me about 45 minutes to do the installation from start to finish.
The speakers put out incredible sound and they are well worth the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
28out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bose - Virtually Invisible 191 Speakers (Pair)

good sound

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: frank12345
from miami, fl
on 11/01/2008
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
These were a husbandly-compromise, as my wife was adamant about not having a big bass unit in the newly refurbished living room. They're not quite as great as advertised, especially on the bass, but they do have as small a profile as you could want, especially if you paint the grills (and you get a choice of round or rectangular) the same color as the wall. The only objection is that although I used the Bose mounting plates before sheetrocking, they do not lie absolutely flush with the wall. However, the sound is pretty good, all things considered.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bose - Virtually Invisible 191 Speakers (Pair)

Great speakers

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MikeWC
from Florida
on 07/20/2008
What's great about it: sound quality, ease of installation
What's not so great: None
Great speakers, no suprise from Bose. I have owned Bose speakers for almost 20 years starting with 401s that still sound great. I am glad Bose finally came out with an in ceiling speaker.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bose - Virtually Invisible 191 Speakers (Pair)

Easy to Install

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Pyle
from Atlanta GA
on 02/16/2008
What's great about it: Excellent installation instructions and great sound
What's not so great: None yet
Bose thinks of everything!! The directions are easy to follow and very detailed. They walk you through the process to determine if there is enough space behind your wall to accommodate the speakers. Using a wire coat hanger and a small ½ inch easy to patch hole you will be certain that they will fit prior to cutting the larger opening. My first two locations would not work because of a horizontal fire break 2x4. If I had not preformed this step I would have had a large hole that would have required a major patch job. Instead I was able to side steep this problem; quickly repair the ½ inch hole in the wall and move on to a suitable location. The template makes cutting the holes a snap. The speakers have tabs on them that hold them in the opening while you wire them up. The grill is very small an unobtrusive but the sound from the speakers is great!! I am using them as surround sound speakers and could not be happier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bose - Virtually Invisible 191 Speakers (Pair)

Speaking of Speakers

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Yanmon
from Texas
on 09/18/2007
I owned these speakers in my previous home and was so satisfied, that when I moved across country and purchased a new home, I made a B-Line to B-Buy to buy them again. They provide great sound for the average home user and they are Virtually Invisible. Imagine that! The weakness of these speakers is obvious; you have to cut holes in your walls to install them. SCAREY! But, once your fear is overcome by your confident ability to do it yourself, it can be done. I would still recommend professional installation for those who are still queasy just thinking about violating their sacred home walls. Overall, this is great product that will provide years of satisfaction.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.