Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Coby - 39" Class (39" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Coby - 39" Class (39" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Model: TFTV3925
SKU: 5472124
UPC: 716829983928
View your TV shows, movies, sporting events and more in arresting clarity with this Coby TFTV3925 LCD HDTV that features 1080p resolution for crisp images and a 60Hz refresh rate to clearly display fast-moving action scenes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 21 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
1
76% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
16 out of 21
)
Customer Reviews for Coby - 39" Class (39" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Review 1 for Coby - 39" Class (39" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

MAJOR problems

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: frankcm
from Texas
on 12/26/2012
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: cheap
What's not so great: Quality and performance
Purchased two of these, one for us and one for our son. Hook up was simple with no problems. The speakers were a bit tinny but adjusting the bass helped some. The picture was very good. I was going to use it in office and it was perfect size. Both my wife and I thought for the price it was a good value. It was on for the rest of day and evening but when turned on the next day the video came on for about 5 minutes and then went blank. We could not get to respond to anything. If turned off and back on it would last about 5 or 10 seconds and then go off. Only response I got from Colby C/S was to take it back.
Before taking it back I decided to check out the other one purchased for our son. It was WORST! After about 5 minutes BOTH audio and video went out. It would not come on using remote or manual controls. So we ended taking both back.
Maybe one could be a fluke, but I believe two indicates a major flaw with the TV'S. When I took them back I asked the person if they had many returns and he replied they did. When I asked what seemed to be the problem he just said they "didn't like them".
I purchased these largely on the positive responses here but it certainly did not turn out positive for us.
This product has... Easy to set up
About me... retired
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Coby - 39" Class (39" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Good for the Prince

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MontanaSam
from Kalispell Mt
on 12/16/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy Set up - Low Price - Good Quality Picture
What's not so great: Sound
I wanted a larger screen TV and chose this for the price, $279 with free shipping. I read all user reviews and took the leap. I do think it is worth the price, I am satisfied with the picture and it has 3 HDMI. The only thing I do not like is the sound quality and level. The sound can not be made loud enough for some programs and it sounds tinny. I solved this by ordering a refurbished speaker box by Vizio, which should do the trick. I paid $60 bucks for that so now the TV cost $330.00. I guess that is okay for a 39 inch though.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Love to stream movies, retired
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Coby - 39" Class (39" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Good buy.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Brad1
from Charlotte, nc
on 12/10/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Ease to set up and picture quality.
What's not so great: Sound
Not a bad TV. Good picture and easy to set up. Work a little harder on the sound. Not bad, but doesn't work as well in a large room.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Coby - 39" Class (39" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Great picture and sound

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: novabeachbum
on 12/03/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
What's great about it: Colors are great
TV was a surprise gift. Terrific picture clarity and sound.
This product has... Easy to set up
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
My Best Buy number: 561354666
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Coby - 39" Class (39" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

great picture for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jimbob112
from roanoke va
on 12/02/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: easy setup.. great price
What's not so great: sound
I was re doing my moms living room for christmas and this tv was the perfect size with perfect picture. The sound is good for tv but i like my sound and it was easy for me to hook up my home theater system. Great buy!!
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Coby - 39" Class (39" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

excellent product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: dumbgirl
from prt republic md
on 12/01/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: great price
never owned a coby tv, has good quality and picture. Would purchase again
This product has... Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
My Best Buy number: 2189253512
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Coby - 39" Class (39" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Great TV for the Value

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Hotabsdaddy
from Seattle, WA.
on 11/30/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up with a Cable box & dvd. But ad a soundbar w C.& DVD, and thats a whole new ball game. Instructions vague
What's not so great: Instructions for hooking up multiple compnents, with a sound-bar..
MyCoby tv is great, sound is typically tinny for a tv. Adding a Coby soundbar w subwoofer, took care of that.
Instructions for adding a sound bar, with your existing cable & dvd are non-existant, and after the buck being passed from tech to tech, nobody could tell me how to exactly hook up a simple sound bar w one cable, to my tv, cable box, dvd-vcr combo.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control, unclear instructions for adding multiple component
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
My Best Buy number: 7001191989
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Coby - 39" Class (39" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Great value

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Chattanooga, TN
on 11/30/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good size
What's not so great: -
I really like the value for the size. I think anyone would love the great picture quality
This product has... Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
My Best Buy number: 2143187341
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Coby - 39" Class (39" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

for 279

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: sharethemusic
from miami fl
on 11/30/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: nada
What's not so great: sound,remote
a very bottom end hi def tv..you get what you pay for..the picture quality is fine
This product has... Easy to set up, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
My Best Buy number: 2837371193
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Coby - 39" Class (39" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Overall the tv's good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: cvet
from nj
on 11/30/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
What's great about it: Picture
What's not so great: Audio
For the price point the tv is a great value. The picture quality is very good as long as you're sitting a few feet away. The sound is not the greatest and no real audio connections on rear to enhance the sound. Not even a headphone jack.. Slow to turn on after hitting power button. And lastly my unit makes a weird sound periodically even when off. Does not seem to affect the tv though.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Coby - 39" Class (39" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Excellent HDTV for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BryanS007
from Tampa, FL
on 11/25/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great picture and easy setup
For the money this is an excellent TV. I bought this TV for our guesthouse to replace an old Mitsubishi tube TV and everyone loves it. If you are looking for a no frills flat screen of this size with a great picture at a good price I would recommend this TV.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
My Best Buy number: 2589365693
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Coby - 39" Class (39" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Great TV for All Purposes

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Erie, PA
on 11/25/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy setup, good sound quality, great picture quality
I bought this television primarily to use with my PS3 and the picture and sound quality are excellent. I had no issues with the setup and have had no problems with this television at all. Fair price for such a high quality television as well.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
My Best Buy number: 2705064516
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Coby - 39" Class (39" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

OK, not great

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: lgh56
from Atlanta, GA
on 11/03/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
What's great about it: Average
What's not so great: HDMI does not work with PCs
"HDMI carries both digital video and audio (at resolutions up to 1080p) in a single cable. It provides the highest-quality connection between your TV and Blu-ray players, PERSONAL COMPUTERS, video game consoles and more. The more inputs your TV has, the more devices you can connect directly."
This is what the Specs say and yet the HDMI connection does not work with PCs. You have to use the lo-res regular PC video connection for it. Very disappointed as most PCs now have the HDMI input. Obviously, the 6ft HDMI cable I bought with it is of no use.
This product has... Easy to set up
About me... Technically savvy viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
My Best Buy number: 2107737469
-2points
7out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Coby - 39" Class (39" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Good value

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: dinahlee87
from Pittsburgh, PA
on 11/02/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
What's great about it: picture quality is good from a distance
What's not so great: the sound quality could be better
The sound quality was a problem that I solved by using one speaker more than the other. Picture quality is good however, upon using the zoom or wide screen mode you lose some of the picture from the top of the screen ie: peoples' heads are not visible. Normal picture is best mode to use.
This product has... Easy to set up, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer, Gamer, retired
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
My Best Buy number: 2193711787
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Coby - 39" Class (39" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

good tv for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: nicknames6969
from louisiana
on 11/02/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: great value
What's not so great: no digital audio port
Needed a reasonable tv to replace an dlp tv in the living room. Got this one on deal of the day. It has filled its role nicely. Would have been nice to have digital audio connector to be able to connect the tv out to the suround sound. But other than that I have no complaints.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Coby - 39" Class (39" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Good value for price

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: SHAKUNA
from BOS
on 11/02/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: I found it difficult to set up the TV monitor holder/small stand
The TV monitor holder/small stand wasn't a great one. And, I actually broke one of the small plastic pins while doing the setup.
This product has... Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
My Best Buy number: 0571878442
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Coby - 39" Class (39" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Great value!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Kellooo
on 10/27/2012
When I 1st saw the price I was skeptical! I compared reviews of this tv and another hoping to make the right decision. I bought it on bestbuy.com about 2wks ago for 270 & free shipping, so I assumed it would be poor quantity. I must say I love it!! User friendly, easy to adjust settings. I also bought an hdmi cable w/o knowing what it was for and whether I needed if, & I didn't.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Coby - 39" Class (39" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

good average TV but check your connection needs

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: D0UG
from North Carolina
on 10/01/2012
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: prince on sale at $269
What's not so great: limited inputs not compatible with older accessories
This is a good inexpensive TV; however, buyers should ckeck their older accessories to make sure they will work b ecause most do not have HDMI connections. This TV is missing S-Video connections which was a standard until recently. My DVD player and VCR player does not look nearly so good on this TV without the S-Video.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price
About me... Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+2points
15out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Coby - 39" Class (39" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Nice TV but low volume

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Mannybx
from Bronx, NY
on 07/06/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: best picture quality
What's not so great: sound is very low
I love the pictures but the sound is nothing to write home about. I called and they sent a technician who saw it and adviced that I should either return it for exchange or try the TV manufacturer. i decided to keep the TV due to its high picture quality because for the price I paid for the TV, I may get something with a bad picture next time. I will recommend the product for the price because you can connect it with a srround sound dvd and the problem will be solved.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: did not connect to internet
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Coby - 39" Class (39" Diag.) - LCD - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Very nice quality for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: shali
from sussex, wisconsin
on 07/05/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: fits great in basement
What's not so great: nothing really
This TV was a great value. Easy to set-up and looks great in the basement. Had an older cabinet, and it fit perfect in the space!
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, watch tv. every day
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
+13points
18out of 23found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>