Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Model: CX042A
SKU: 5512456
UPC: 886112492502
Quickly print crisp document and stunning photos with this HP Photosmart 5520 CX042A wireless all-in-one printer that prints up to 23 ppm* in black and up to 22 ppm* in color for efficient use. The touch-screen display helps simplify operation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.302 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(1352 Reviews) 1352
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 1,352 reviews
5 stars
731
4 stars
455
3 stars
68
2 stars
39
1 star
59
89% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
1,209 out of 1,352
)
Customer Reviews for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer
Review 1 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

This is my second HP printer to fail on me.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: DADDY
from San Diego, CA
on 05/13/2014
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: When it worked.
What's not so great: No longevity of life
This is my second HP printer to fail on me. Both printers mysteriously stopped printing in black after a short period of ownership.The first one I actually invested in what I thought was a higher quality printer, spent in the $250 range a couple years ago and in approximately 6 months it no longer printed in black. Hp tends to offer superior print quality and usually affordable ink which is nice as a college student. This school year I was in need of an affordable printer and I did not want to risk another substantial investment on another HP product. I opted for the photosmart 5520 as a cheaper alternative in hopes that I would be proved wrong. I wasn't. This printer didn't last through the first semester and again, it wouldn't print in black.This product didn't even make it a full three months. Would not risk buying another HP product. Would definitely not recommend the purchase of this product or any HP printer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Will last one year

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: HeWhoMustNotBeNamed
from Canton, Mi
on 05/10/2014
What's great about it: Works good for one year
What's not so great: Stops printing black after one year of light use
After spending a lot of money on ink to run printer head cleanings, I give up. I see reviews that others also have the problem of no black ink printing after about one year. You have been warned.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Don't buy this printer!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Aimerator
from Phoenix, AZ
on 05/07/2014
What's great about it: Good print quality, easy to set up
What's not so great: Quality, service, high ink consumption
I had this product less than 2 years and used it lightly...it was like new. Worked great for a year, easy to set up and had great print quality. However, after about 18 months, the print cartridge jammed and rendered it useless. I called customer service, and after being on the phone for 1+ hours and speaking to 4 different people in a country far far away (barely understanding a word they said), I was told it was out of warranty and I essentially had to buy another printer. I will never buy an HP product again.
About me... Infrequent user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2156878526
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Great while it worked, quit after 23 months.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Twiggie
from Fredericksburg, VA
on 04/17/2014
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Speed
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Easy to setup.
What's not so great: Quit working after 23 months of extremely light usage.
The printer was easy to setup, and I am definitely not tech savvy. It worked great for 23 months and then started not printing any black print. I thought I had a bad cartridge--purchased another one and same problem. Online support revealed many users having same problem with no fix provided. Servicing the printer will probably cost more than a new printer. I trashed it and will purchase something else to replace. Don't waste your money!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 957782639
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Gets the job done

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: tmacias79
from California
on 04/11/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up
What's not so great: Needs more features
Gets the job done but expected more for the price.
About me... Demand high print quality, Frequent user, Budget Conscious, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2724962206
My Best Buy number: 2724962206
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

This is a great little printer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RassaFrassinSassafrass
from Racine, WI
on 03/15/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: fast set-up, easy to use, matches my other peripherals nicely
What's not so great: Nothing so far
I picked up my HP - Photosmart 5520 a few months back and have had no problems at all with it. It was an easy setup process and the ink is easy to find, and reasonably priced. It is very quiet, prints and scans are of good quality, I'd have no hesitation recommending this, or any other printer in the HP line, to my friends. In fact, I already have.
About me... Demand high print quality, Frequent user, Budget Conscious
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 325831075
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Ok Scanner, Terrible Printer

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: NotAFan44
from Pittsburgh
on 02/24/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Print quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Wireless features, scanner is good quality
What's not so great: Printing
This printer worked great for 1 week of LIGHT use. I really liked the quality of the scanner, and the easy user interface.I liked that it was wireless as well. Printing was noisy but worked for the first week. After the first week it started jamming on 5 out of 10 pages (and I don't print often) but that progressed and it will literally not print. All it does is jam because it doesn't feed the paper correctly. I've only had it for ~3 weeks and its already a useless piece of junk.
About me... Budget Conscious, Infrequent user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Great printer for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: victor154
from san antonio, tx
on 02/15/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up and the price was great
What's not so great: nothing yet
The printer came out of the box and worked great. Been printing things like crazy but nothing wrong has happened yet and I dig it.
About me... Demand high print quality, Frequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 0086711524
My Best Buy number: 0086711524
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Incredible deal

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MiataDJ
from Dallas, TX
on 02/15/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: The money you save by buying it
What's not so great: Nothing
A fine printer for basic printing. However, the photos look OK. Printing via WiFi rocks.
About me... Frequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 0754011444
My Best Buy number: 0754011444
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Very nice SOHO printer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: atxrob
from austin, tx
on 02/14/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: multicartridge ink
What's not so great: wireless only, no ethernet
It's an older model I got on clearance. No complaints here. Does a great job. I like the fact it has multiple cartridges. Haven't printed any photos yet but does great BW and color for documents and greeting cards. I'd buy another!
About me... Frequent user, Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2758130237
My Best Buy number: 2758130237
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

great printer for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: roan1
from roanoke,va
on 02/08/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: nothing
great printer for the price.
took longer than promised for delivery by Best Buy
About me... Infrequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 0074681075
My Best Buy number: 0074681075
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Love everything about this printer !!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: littlewhitedove
from Fredericksburg, VA
on 02/03/2014
What's great about it: Prints SUPER FAST !! Great Value .. can't beat the price
What's not so great: Can't think of a thing. It's absolutely wonderful :) :)
Absolutely love everything about this printer !! I now have a scanner, copier and printer for a great price. Spits out copies fast as lightning. I am simply AMAZED. Extremely happy with my purchase :>) Highly recommend to anybody for home or business. Can not say enough good stuff about it. Glad it prints photos also, which I haven't taken advantage of yet. Based on my experience with this printer, I am sure it will do a fantastic job on that as well. What more could you ask for.
About me... Frequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 0111896943
My Best Buy number: 0111896943
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Great printer for college students

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: momofthree123
from Hartville, OH
on 02/03/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It was inexpensive and works like a charm.
My kids are in college, and they needed a wireless printer that doesn't take up too much room. This was a perfect choice.
About me... Budget Conscious, Infrequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2799062764
My Best Buy number: 2799062764
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Works great and travels easily.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 10BB
from Ohio
on 02/03/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up and a great price.
What's not so great: n/a
I had this model before. I liked it so much when the first model finally gave out I bought another one.
About me... Demand high print quality, small business owner, Frequent user, Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2799640344
My Best Buy number: 2799640344
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Great Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Koragg
from Naperville,IL
on 02/02/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price and functionality
Nice Printer, Painless installation. Simple Wireless setup, 3-in-1 functionality (Print, Scan and Copies for flexible use).
About me... Frequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2792853550
My Best Buy number: 2792853550
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

SChool Printer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Prepdjm
from Prospect Park
on 02/01/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Does as expected, use for mostly reports for school
About me... Frequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2084202561
My Best Buy number: 2084202561
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Works great as a 2nd printer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HKMJ
from KY
on 02/01/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I purchased this printer to place as a second printer in the house. It has worked very well so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Photo printing
My Best Buy number: 2270674271
My Best Buy number: 2270674271
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Great printer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: hacc100
from harrisurg, PA
on 01/31/2014
What's great about it: Set up with no problem, excellent price
What's not so great: The way it holds printed documents
Works great for me. Pictures are very nice. I read other reviews and alot are negative. For 49.00 this printer is great. Best thing is it came with full cartridges. I was expecting just enough ink in the ones that came with it to set up. I have been printing like crazy. I bought extra just in case.
About me... Frequent user, Budget Conscious, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2948211081
My Best Buy number: 2948211081
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Great item for the price ($50 when I nabbed it)

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Doctorpoz
from PA
on 01/31/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Does everything I need (print, scan) and does it well and wirelessly.
About me... Infrequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2151309957
My Best Buy number: 2151309957
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Easy hook up.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: acctswede
from Minnesota
on 01/31/2014
What's great about it: connection
What's not so great: so far nothing
I purchased this to replace a failed Epson. So far it works great. Was easy to connect. haven't tried the wireless aspect of it yet. Price was very reasonable!
About me... Infrequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 0063498905
My Best Buy number: 0063498905
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 68 next>>