Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Model: CX042A
SKU: 5512456
UPC: 886112492502
Quickly print crisp document and stunning photos with this HP Photosmart 5520 CX042A wireless all-in-one printer that prints up to 23 ppm* in black and up to 22 ppm* in color for efficient use. The touch-screen display helps simplify operation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.296 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(1361 Reviews) 1361
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 1,361 reviews
5 stars
732
4 stars
461
3 stars
68
2 stars
39
1 star
61
89% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
1,214 out of 1,361
)
Customer Reviews for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer
Review 1 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Great value

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Franklinstein
on 08/22/2015
I bought this printer for $40 as a "Deal of the Day." I've been pleased with it--I use it for making copies, printing tickets and the best use, in my opinion--printing pictures from my iPhone. It's been a great find.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0787936332
My Best Buy number: 0787936332
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Good printer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anon
on 08/09/2015
After looking at many printers, reading reviews, and price comparing, I found this printer. I only use it for a few things so it doesn't get daily use. It works good. It did give me a little trouble setting it up, but I finally got it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0590445021
My Best Buy number: 0590445021
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

I loved this printer at first but...

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Mnhorowitz
on 08/05/2015
I loved this printer at first, I could print from my cell phone, from my laptop remotely, did a good job a scan & copying but now over a year later I having problems and HP customer service isn't great and the ink cartridges are $$$. For whatever it won't make scan & make copies any more, keeps saying there's a jam but no jam found. Having problem with printing black from a computer, even after I have replaced it several times but when I do a test print, it prints black... boo
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0564757952
My Best Buy number: 0564757952
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Prints Great But Noisy

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Meg15
on 05/21/2015
This HP printer is very reasonably priced. It prints and scans very well wirelessly. The ink for it is very reasonably priced compared to others inks also. The only problem I've had with it is that it sometimes makes a loud grinding noise when trying to pick up a piece of paper to print, but otherwise I've had it for a year and it's still working great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0572594990
My Best Buy number: 0572594990
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Good product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Marisol233
on 05/20/2015
As with all my hp printers I've had, they work good for the price. Software download was kind of a pain in the behind, but not impossible. Hp customer service was really good when I had to call.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0413361217
My Best Buy number: 0413361217
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

INCREDABLE !!!!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DONTHECOBRA
from Torrance , California
on 05/09/2015
This is a neat idea !! Using wireless printing from 30 feet away with an iPhone , the printing is precise and colors are vibrant !!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2291382742
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

good price printer ok

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mike
on 04/25/2015
good price printer ok
some issues with it
quality starter
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0779855627
My Best Buy number: 0779855627
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Worst printer I have owned

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: pjm71852
on 04/04/2015
This review is fromHP - Photosmart Inkjet Multifunction Printer - Color - Plain Paper Print - Desktop - Multi.
I have used this printer for a few months. Initially, it seemed fine, although it is quite noisy and paper feed is not smooth. I needed to replace the black ink fairly soon, considering I don't use the printer daily. Now it needs replaced again. Also, the black does not work well even if it is at a good level.. Followed all the instructions to troubleshoot, but black still doesn't print and the tests used an awful lot of all colors of ink. In reasearching now, I see a ridiculous numer of complaints regarding the black ink problem. Definitely, the worst printer I have owned, and there have been many. This really needs an overhaul by HP. Just awful. Will chalk it up to a loss and reluctantly fork out yet more money for another brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2628778231
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Nothing but problems

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: sm12345
on 01/18/2015
replaced within a month,got refurbished one, broke
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0767867533
My Best Buy number: 0767867533
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

This is my second HP printer to fail on me.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: DADDY
from San Diego, CA
on 05/13/2014
This review is fromHP - Photosmart Inkjet Multifunction Printer - Color - Plain Paper Print - Desktop - Multi.
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: When it worked.
What's not so great: No longevity of life
This is my second HP printer to fail on me. Both printers mysteriously stopped printing in black after a short period of ownership.The first one I actually invested in what I thought was a higher quality printer, spent in the $250 range a couple years ago and in approximately 6 months it no longer printed in black. Hp tends to offer superior print quality and usually affordable ink which is nice as a college student. This school year I was in need of an affordable printer and I did not want to risk another substantial investment on another HP product. I opted for the photosmart 5520 as a cheaper alternative in hopes that I would be proved wrong. I wasn't. This printer didn't last through the first semester and again, it wouldn't print in black.This product didn't even make it a full three months. Would not risk buying another HP product. Would definitely not recommend the purchase of this product or any HP printer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Will last one year

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: HeWhoMustNotBeNamed
from Canton, Mi
on 05/10/2014
This review is fromHP - Photosmart Inkjet Multifunction Printer - Color - Plain Paper Print - Desktop - Multi.
What's great about it: Works good for one year
What's not so great: Stops printing black after one year of light use
After spending a lot of money on ink to run printer head cleanings, I give up. I see reviews that others also have the problem of no black ink printing after about one year. You have been warned.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Don't buy this printer!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Aimerator
from Phoenix, AZ
on 05/07/2014
This review is fromHP - Photosmart Inkjet Multifunction Printer - Color - Plain Paper Print - Desktop - Multi.
What's great about it: Good print quality, easy to set up
What's not so great: Quality, service, high ink consumption
I had this product less than 2 years and used it lightly...it was like new. Worked great for a year, easy to set up and had great print quality. However, after about 18 months, the print cartridge jammed and rendered it useless. I called customer service, and after being on the phone for 1+ hours and speaking to 4 different people in a country far far away (barely understanding a word they said), I was told it was out of warranty and I essentially had to buy another printer. I will never buy an HP product again.
About me... Infrequent user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2156878526
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Great while it worked, quit after 23 months.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Twiggie
from Fredericksburg, VA
on 04/17/2014
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
This review is fromHP - Photosmart Inkjet Multifunction Printer - Color - Plain Paper Print - Desktop - Multi.
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Speed
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Easy to setup.
What's not so great: Quit working after 23 months of extremely light usage.
The printer was easy to setup, and I am definitely not tech savvy. It worked great for 23 months and then started not printing any black print. I thought I had a bad cartridge--purchased another one and same problem. Online support revealed many users having same problem with no fix provided. Servicing the printer will probably cost more than a new printer. I trashed it and will purchase something else to replace. Don't waste your money!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 957782639
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Gets the job done

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: tmacias79
from California
on 04/11/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up
What's not so great: Needs more features
Gets the job done but expected more for the price.
About me... Demand high print quality, Frequent user, Budget Conscious, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2724962206
My Best Buy number: 2724962206
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

This is a great little printer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RassaFrassinSassafrass
from Racine, WI
on 03/15/2014
This review is fromHP - Photosmart Inkjet Multifunction Printer - Color - Plain Paper Print - Desktop - Multi.
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: fast set-up, easy to use, matches my other peripherals nicely
What's not so great: Nothing so far
I picked up my HP - Photosmart 5520 a few months back and have had no problems at all with it. It was an easy setup process and the ink is easy to find, and reasonably priced. It is very quiet, prints and scans are of good quality, I'd have no hesitation recommending this, or any other printer in the HP line, to my friends. In fact, I already have.
About me... Demand high print quality, Frequent user, Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
HP - 564 3-Pack Ink Cartridges + Photo Paper - Cyan/Magenta/Yellow
4.5 out of 5(377)
 
 
 
 
 
 
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 325831075
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Ok Scanner, Terrible Printer

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: NotAFan44
from Pittsburgh
on 02/24/2014
This review is fromHP - Photosmart Inkjet Multifunction Printer - Color - Plain Paper Print - Desktop - Multi.
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Print quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Wireless features, scanner is good quality
What's not so great: Printing
This printer worked great for 1 week of LIGHT use. I really liked the quality of the scanner, and the easy user interface.I liked that it was wireless as well. Printing was noisy but worked for the first week. After the first week it started jamming on 5 out of 10 pages (and I don't print often) but that progressed and it will literally not print. All it does is jam because it doesn't feed the paper correctly. I've only had it for ~3 weeks and its already a useless piece of junk.
About me... Budget Conscious, Infrequent user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Great printer for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: victor154
from san antonio, tx
on 02/15/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up and the price was great
What's not so great: nothing yet
The printer came out of the box and worked great. Been printing things like crazy but nothing wrong has happened yet and I dig it.
About me... Demand high print quality, Frequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 0086711524
My Best Buy number: 0086711524
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Incredible deal

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MiataDJ
from Dallas, TX
on 02/15/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: The money you save by buying it
What's not so great: Nothing
A fine printer for basic printing. However, the photos look OK. Printing via WiFi rocks.
About me... Frequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 0754011444
My Best Buy number: 0754011444
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

Very nice SOHO printer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: atxrob
from austin, tx
on 02/14/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: multicartridge ink
What's not so great: wireless only, no ethernet
It's an older model I got on clearance. No complaints here. Does a great job. I like the fact it has multiple cartridges. Haven't printed any photos yet but does great BW and color for documents and greeting cards. I'd buy another!
About me... Frequent user, Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2758130237
My Best Buy number: 2758130237
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP - Photosmart 5520 Wireless e-All-In-One Printer

great printer for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: roan1
from roanoke,va
on 02/08/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: nothing
great printer for the price.
took longer than promised for delivery by Best Buy
About me... Infrequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 0074681075
My Best Buy number: 0074681075
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 69 next>>