Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Model: A157
SKU: 5568676
UPC: 887276853406
Stay connected on the go with this AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157 cell phone that features 3G speed for a fast Internet connection. The 1.8" QVGA TFT color display offers a clear readout of the phone's features.
Average Customer Rating:
4.072 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(430 Reviews) 430
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 430 reviews
5 stars
153
4 stars
187
3 stars
64
2 stars
20
1 star
6
91% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
393 out of 430
)
Customer Reviews for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black
Review 1 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Does the job.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mpc3
on 10/18/2014
I bought this phone since I was canceling my at&t land line, but I wanted to keep my home number-and also to continue with at&t. This phone is simple and easy to use. It's small enough to carry around in a pocket without fuss. The battery lasts a good while, especially if you don't use a phone a lot... which I don't. I like the form-factor and the price. And, you can buy recharge cards everywhere, or just pay through the phone.
Nice and easy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2122265510
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Easy to use phone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: lynn
from Drexel HIll,PA
on 10/16/2014
I bought this phone to be a simple, easy to use phone to replace a slider with a menu that was difficult to navigate. You don't have to use the SIM card for the prepaid plan that comes in the package. I just took the old SIM card out of the old cell phone and put it into this new phone, and that was all it took to switch the service for the old cell phone number to this phone.
Something awesome that discovered is that is phone changes on a standard microUSB cable, so if you already have a Kindle charger, it will work for this phone also!
It was very easy to add items to the "Go To" menu for quick access to make it silent and to check voicemail.
The only thing I don't like about this phone is that it doesn't have a screen on the outside. When a call comes in, you have to open the phone to see who is calling. Not much of an issue for me. It does have a default setting that when you open the phone during an incoming call, you can choose to answer or decline the call. It does not automatically answer when you open it.
Nice compact phone that slides easily into pocket or purse! I have been very happy with it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0580589513
My Best Buy number: 0580589513
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Great Phone for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: liljo47
on 10/08/2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I needed a phone to send my grand daughter for when she comes home for the holidays, and this phone was a great price and serves as a great phone for her for the limited time she will be in the states.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2846627786
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Donate to charity

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: DrDan
on 10/02/2014
My fault. I should have checked the coverage map before I ordered this phone. A lot of the rural Midwest not covered under their plan. Inexpensive so not out much. AT&T support for GoPhone is limited at best. No online Chat with support personnel. I should have done better research.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0422432083
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Excellent option for just a cellphone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Chechar
from Chicago
on 09/24/2014
Call Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Small size, light weight and battery last for too long!
What's not so great: Nothing so far...
I have had this phone for a month so far just for calls and text messages and this has exceeded all my expectations, the quality of the calls and the signal is very good and I the battery last for at least one week.
This product is... Tough/durable
About me... need a phone for phone calls only for a few months
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:25-34
Phone size:Compact
My Best Buy number: 0568430981
My Best Buy number: 0568430981
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Good temporary phone

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Kimberly
from Eaton, IN
on 09/24/2014
Call Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: The price was fantastic.
What's not so great: It is a cheap phone with no bells or whistles.
I bought this phone for my grandma when she broke her AT&T contract phone. She needed something to tide her over until her new phone came in. It had to be simple because she is not tech savvy AT ALL. This phone worked well for that.
About me... Use for phone calls only
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:35-44
Phone size:Compact
My Best Buy number: 2676524354
My Best Buy number: 2676524354
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Good for a basic phone

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Alvarobl
from Allentown, PA
on 09/22/2014
It's a good phone for what I need it which is just to make phone calls and for that price it was perfect.
This product is... Tough/durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:45-54
Phone size:Compact
My Best Buy number: 0210212118
My Best Buy number: 0210212118
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Great flip phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mayohan
from Johns creek, ga
on 09/19/2014
Value for Money and I got it at 50% off which was even better. Works with att prepaid
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0965905952
My Best Buy number: 0965905952
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Good cheap temp phone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Bosespeaker
from Beaumont TX
on 09/16/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: texting
its a cheap phone i used as a replacement. Def worth it based on price. Nothing special at all though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:18-24
Phone size:Compact
My Best Buy number: 2356228169
My Best Buy number: 2356228169
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Great Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kpterminator
from West Palm Beach, FL
on 09/14/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
This Samsung phone is great and is so cheap, best buy always has the best prices
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0570961688
My Best Buy number: 0570961688
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

An okay phone for 'not an avid' phon euser

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Puddypie
from Columbia City IN
on 09/08/2014
Call Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Cost
What's not so great: Back panel over battery falls off a lot
Only use this phone when absolutely necessary. Work outside so wanted a flip phone. Don't care about getting on internet nor texting although this phone can. Worse part about it is back panel does not stay on easily.
This product is... good price
About me... Use for phone calls only
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Age:45-54
Phone size:Compact
My Best Buy number: 2980665637
My Best Buy number: 2980665637
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Great no frills phone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: rg36
on 09/06/2014
This is a very good phone for basic tasks - voice calls and texts, the battery lasts for 5 days. It does not have a camera, blue tooth and the Web browser is pretty basic. The only hiccup is the 4 way navigation keys are not illuminated, so that is a bit of a problem in the dark
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0571523038
My Best Buy number: 0571523038
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Simple and sleek backup phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Maddy
from Raleigh, NC
on 09/06/2014
What's great about it: Price
Simple, sleek and most economical phone. Can be used as a backup phone if your primary phone dies.
This product is... Tough/durable
About me... Use for phone calls only
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:25-34
Phone size:Compact
My Best Buy number: 2846039466
My Best Buy number: 2846039466
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Great for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Matt
from Houston
on 09/05/2014
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: Will not last long
The phone is a good, cheap phone to get you through until your contract with AT&T is up. Works as advertised.
This product is... delicate
About me... Use for phone calls only
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:35-44
Phone size:Compact
My Best Buy number: 0024092845
My Best Buy number: 0024092845
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Great Go Phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gigi94121
from San Francisco
on 09/03/2014
What's great about it: The Price
What's not so great: No camera
Great starter phone for my nine year old. Bought my original phone from Walgreens and when I saw this on Best Buy, I knew I had to snag another one. I loved that it was so basic and easy to make and receive calls for her. It came in handy when she had a minor emergency and needed to get in touch with me. She loves to text on this phone too. I highly recommend this phone not only for the price but also for the functionality and it's a Samsung !
This product is... cheap, reliable
About me... My phone is my life, Use for phone calls only, Heavy texter
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:35-44
Phone size:Compact
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Good pocket phone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SanJoseBob
from San Jose, CA
on 09/03/2014
What's great about it: Very small and reliable
What's not so great: No touchscreen
This is a phine I loan to guests from out of the country and it works fine for their needs since they don't do a lot of messaging. Texting is a bit hard as there is no keyboard, so you are using the old input method of hitting 2 3 times for a letter c, but other than that, the phone is very functional and reliable.
This product is... Tough/durable
About me... Use for phone calls only
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:55-64
Phone size:Compact
My Best Buy number: 2157209855
My Best Buy number: 2157209855
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Meets Expectations

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Photog11001
from Lafayette, La
on 09/03/2014
Call Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Nothing thus far
Was purchased as a backup and serves that purpose adequately. Was a good price and does what I need.
About me... Use for phone calls only
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:65 and above
Phone size:Just right
My Best Buy number: 2498191864
My Best Buy number: 2498191864
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

great phone for the price

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: rocketfish
from honolulu, hawaii
on 08/26/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Call Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: the price
What's not so great: life of this product
this product is great for kids just starting to use a cel phone for the first time
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:45-54
Phone size:Compact
My Best Buy number: 2347646484
My Best Buy number: 2347646484
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

havent test it.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: moviewatcher13
from downey, CA
on 08/23/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Will work for my uncle that dont know too much technology.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2346884191
My Best Buy number: 2346884191
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Basic Cheap Phone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Cartoon
on 08/23/2014
There is nothing special but a regular cheap basic cellphone for a minimalist caller like me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2288558181
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>