Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Model: A157
SKU: 5568676
UPC: 887276853406
Stay connected on the go with this AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157 cell phone that features 3G speed for a fast Internet connection. The 1.8" QVGA TFT color display offers a clear readout of the phone's features.
Average Customer Rating:
4.092 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(444 Reviews) 444
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 444 reviews
5 stars
164
4 stars
189
3 stars
65
2 stars
20
1 star
6
91% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
406 out of 444
)
Customer Reviews for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black
Review 1 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

its great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MaWh
on 12/05/2014
the phone is great and the battery last a week, but the problem is that if you receive a text and a missed phone call the the phone will display the missed phone call every time you receive a text.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2658425082
My Best Buy number: 2658425082
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Simple Phone, Simply Works

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: skim05
on 11/28/2014
This is a great basic phone to have around when your main phone breaks. It takes the regular sized sim card and has great battery life. I keep one of these in the house in case of an emergency or when someone needs a loaner phone while they are getting their's repaired.
Great size and usability for its price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 055103673
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

good phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: nanda
from toledo,United States
on 11/26/2014
best value for price, it can be resetted any used for any carrier
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0584195352
My Best Buy number: 0584195352
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

A travel phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gundam00
from flushing ny
on 11/26/2014
a cheap flip phone with sim card; good for travels
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2720055100
My Best Buy number: 2720055100
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

A winner for simplicity

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sbpceap
from Staten Island NY
on 11/26/2014
Some people use their phones for internet, for music, for video games, for e-readers. For those who want a cell phone for just... phone calls... this is it. Simplicity abounds. Real buttons to press. Press the numbers in the proper sequence, and, presto! Your call goes through. I needed a simple phone for my elderly mother. This phone also permits speed dialing for additional ease of use. At first I gave her a ZTE smart phone, but that apparently was too smart for any of us. ZTE took Android to a new level of user unfriendliness. This Samsung does some fancy stuff like internet and texting, but it's really made for phone calls. If it wasn't for this user-friendly design, I would have had to purchase my elderly mother a "jitterbug" and forego my ATT service. I am appreciative that some companies have recognized that not everybody wants all the bells and whistles of a smart phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

excellent go phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lac817
on 11/21/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
excellent go phoneexcellent go phoneexcellent go phoneexcellent go phoneexcellent go phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0575591491
My Best Buy number: 0575591491
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Easy to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cmel23
from orlando
on 11/17/2014
This phone is very easy to use and works with ATT.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0206058102
My Best Buy number: 0206058102
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: elife
on 11/15/2014
great value for the price, using it on a daily basis.
cheap & good
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3446740080
My Best Buy number: 3446740080
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Good Price, Good Phn

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: FoneGuy
from Cyberspace
on 11/15/2014
Good Go Phone and price is right without any long term commitments necessary. The 10 cents per minute plan is good for majority of people
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0766618730
My Best Buy number: 0766618730
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Good choice of a dumb phone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Angi
from United States
on 11/14/2014
I have been looking for a dumb phone for quite a while. This is the best fit for my choice of a basic phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3314252172
My Best Buy number: 3314252172
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Decent quality and cheap

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Richard
from Miami, FL
on 11/14/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Very cheap go-phone. No need the expensive plans! Aloha.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2703442835
My Best Buy number: 2703442835
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Great simple phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dantheman
on 11/14/2014
A fantastic solid, easy to use, lit-up keyboard, large number for my senior friend to see an use. An absolute great buy for a non-smart phone
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1049665014
My Best Buy number: 1049665014
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Simple Clam Shell Phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: supamariobros
from Los Angeles
on 11/14/2014
This is a Simple basic clam shell phone, It has good battery life and uses a standard micro usb. Perfect replacement to an older phone. Just remove your old ATT sim card from the old phone and slide into this one, power on and it should be ready for use.
Pros:
Has speakerphone function
Good battery life
Charges with Standard Micro USB cable.
Cons:
No camera, but its a budget phone so this is a given.
No MicroSD
No Bluetooth
This phone is perfect for my parents since they needed a basic phone, the less features available the simpler it is to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0572099785
My Best Buy number: 0572099785
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

OK Basic phone

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: MissLeopard83
from Los Angeles, CA
on 10/23/2014
I bought this last year and realized, almost instantly, that the time the phone takes to load after you power it up was a huge problem. I use my phone mainly for emergencies and I wonder sometimes if the phone would power up quickly enough if I need to call someone right away. I'm guessing it wouldn't. It really is a pain to have to wait for the signal to come up and be able to access the web to read email. So much so, that I'm replacing this phone as soon as I'm able.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0564190773
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Does the job.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mpc3
on 10/18/2014
I bought this phone since I was canceling my at&t land line, but I wanted to keep my home number-and also to continue with at&t. This phone is simple and easy to use. It's small enough to carry around in a pocket without fuss. The battery lasts a good while, especially if you don't use a phone a lot... which I don't. I like the form-factor and the price. And, you can buy recharge cards everywhere, or just pay through the phone.
Nice and easy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2122265510
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Easy to use phone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: lynn
from Drexel HIll,PA
on 10/16/2014
I bought this phone to be a simple, easy to use phone to replace a slider with a menu that was difficult to navigate. You don't have to use the SIM card for the prepaid plan that comes in the package. I just took the old SIM card out of the old cell phone and put it into this new phone, and that was all it took to switch the service for the old cell phone number to this phone.
Something awesome that discovered is that is phone changes on a standard microUSB cable, so if you already have a Kindle charger, it will work for this phone also!
It was very easy to add items to the "Go To" menu for quick access to make it silent and to check voicemail.
The only thing I don't like about this phone is that it doesn't have a screen on the outside. When a call comes in, you have to open the phone to see who is calling. Not much of an issue for me. It does have a default setting that when you open the phone during an incoming call, you can choose to answer or decline the call. It does not automatically answer when you open it.
Nice compact phone that slides easily into pocket or purse! I have been very happy with it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0580589513
My Best Buy number: 0580589513
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Great Phone for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: liljo47
on 10/08/2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I needed a phone to send my grand daughter for when she comes home for the holidays, and this phone was a great price and serves as a great phone for her for the limited time she will be in the states.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2846627786
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Donate to charity

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: DrDan
on 10/02/2014
My fault. I should have checked the coverage map before I ordered this phone. A lot of the rural Midwest not covered under their plan. Inexpensive so not out much. AT&T support for GoPhone is limited at best. No online Chat with support personnel. I should have done better research.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0422432083
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Excellent option for just a cellphone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Chechar
from Chicago
on 09/24/2014
Call Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Small size, light weight and battery last for too long!
What's not so great: Nothing so far...
I have had this phone for a month so far just for calls and text messages and this has exceeded all my expectations, the quality of the calls and the signal is very good and I the battery last for at least one week.
This product is... Tough/durable
About me... need a phone for phone calls only for a few months
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:25-34
Phone size:Compact
My Best Buy number: 0568430981
My Best Buy number: 0568430981
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for AT&T GoPhone - Samsung A157 No-Contract Cell Phone - Black

Good temporary phone

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Kimberly
from Eaton, IN
on 09/24/2014
Call Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: The price was fantastic.
What's not so great: It is a cheap phone with no bells or whistles.
I bought this phone for my grandma when she broke her AT&T contract phone. She needed something to tide her over until her new phone came in. It had to be simple because she is not tech savvy AT ALL. This phone worked well for that.
About me... Use for phone calls only
I would recommend this to a friend!
Age:35-44
Phone size:Compact
My Best Buy number: 2676524354
My Best Buy number: 2676524354
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>