Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung - Series 7 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Samsung - Series 7 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Silver

Model: NP700Z5C-S01UB
SKU: 5575679
UPC: 036725736887
Create customized CDs and DVDs with this Samsung Series 7 NP700Z5C-S01UB laptop's double-layer DVD RW/CD-RW drive, and video chat with family and friends using the built-in 1.3MP high-definition webcam. The 1TB hard drive allows you to store important documents and more.Windows 7 Home Premium installed Learn more.Learn more about Intel Wireless Display.
Average Customer Rating:
3.845 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 84 reviews
5 stars
39
4 stars
24
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
12
73% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
61 out of 84
)
Customer Reviews for Samsung - Series 7 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Silver
Review 1 for Samsung - Series 7 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Silver

Extremely fast much more then I expected.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: beason91
from Port Huron, MI
on 12/12/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Speed
What's not so great: Nothing
Fabulous computer. I would buy another one love Samsung.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Parent with kids, Number cruncher (10-key needed), Business Professional, Comfortable with technology, own my own bussiness
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung - Series 7 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Silver

Nice Laptop with decent specs

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Gabbar
from Laurel, MD
on 11/18/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: i7 Processor, 8 gb RAM
What's not so great: 1Tb Hard disk 5400 rpm disk, should be 7200 min
Great specs on the laptop, Samsung did really make a great laptop, but with the slow hard disk all the work put into creating a fast laptop bottlenecks to the Hard drive. Increase to a 7.2K disk or a SSD will really skyrocket this laptops performance.
This product is... A nice compact size, easy to set up
About me... Student, Technology guru, Regularly process large video or graphics files
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung - Series 7 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Silver

nice and easy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: becchoate
from lexington, Ky
on 11/12/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: supports everything I want to use
What's not so great: still a little heavy
Mostly I use this laptop for bills, shopping, and the such, but once every few months I like to play one silly game and this laptop has the video card to support it.
This product is... Big screen size, easy to set up
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung - Series 7 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Silver

A lot for the package.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: icyiceboat
from Michigan
on 11/09/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Backlit keyboard, Small size
It was easy to setup and go. Exceptional speed and memory. Like the keyboard layout and the backlit keys for working still in the dark. Nice screen size and quality.
This product is... A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast, backlit keys
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung - Series 7 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Silver

Good For the value?

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: bigd
from Katy Tx.
on 11/07/2012
  • Top 500 Contributor
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Solid build, backlit keyboard and fast
What's not so great: Screen could be better, sound is fair
I just purchased this laptop as a brand new open box. Seemed like it was never even used. I was looking for some open box deals with laptops that were open box with windows 7 as best buy is heavily introducing windows 8 and I'm not sold on that OS yet. So, my area BB had several open boxes they were discounting. I picked this up for 679.99 normally 999.99. I have read all the reviews on this unit. No need to go over again what people have said. This unit seems to be working good. I wanted the most powerful machine I could get for the value. Being icore 7 and internal graphics card, bluetooth, backlit keyboard etc I think it's a good deal, I'm curious what others would buy this laptop for the money regardless of drawbacks like I have read. Otherwise, I really like it. I heard customer service is lousy with samsung so that bothers me, but I will cross fingers it will hold up. I have 45 days to return it. I invite peoples comments. Thank you
This product is... Perfect for Business, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Technology guru, Comfortable with technology, small business owner
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung - Series 7 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Silver

Excellent laptop for the price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sambo53
from Huntsville, AL
on 11/05/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Overall quality & design
What's not so great: Nothing so far.
Excellent product for the price. Samsung quality has really impressed me.
This product is... easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Parent with kids, Student, Social media enthusiast, Gamer, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung - Series 7 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Silver

All around awesomeness

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: KimboSlates
from Fort Wayne, IN
on 11/02/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Separated graphics card doesn't bog down processor
What's not so great: Nothing really
Great computer from a company dominating the technology market right now. Quick startup and hard core processor kicks patootey! And the main thing is the graphics card isn't integrated into the processor which doesn't bog it down.
I had to revise this because the a word is too bad for virgin eyes.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Student, Social media enthusiast, Computer technology beginner, Gamer, Comfortable with technology, all around bad mofo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung - Series 7 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Silver

Great for everything

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ScubaD
from AK
on 11/02/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast, look, great battery, screen, memory, HD space
What's not so great: Nothing I can think of
I use this for video editing and its lightning fast. The screen resolution is truely among the best for laptops. Great product overall. Another awesome thing is it does NOT have a bunch of junk sofeware preloaded.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Regularly process large video or graphics files, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung - Series 7 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Silver

Excellent laptop for home

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HarleySoftailGirl
from Maine
on 10/30/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy of set up, style, speed, keyboard, finish
What's not so great: It's a little heavy, but not bad
I needed to replace my circa 2003 Dell laptop and searched around for a speedy, stylish, 'modern' laptop. This Samsung is super fast, sleek, and all around a great laptop. It was very easy to set up and I love the backlit keyboard. I plan on using this for years, so I went with the series 7, 8 GB, etc. So far, so good, I've had it a little over a month...no issues. I use it at home only for email, general surfing, social media, photo storage, and music storage mostly. In general, I love it.
This product is... easy to set up, lightning fast, backlit keyboard
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Social media enthusiast, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung - Series 7 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Silver

Great laptop except for one major flaw

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: K9kvr
from Atlanta
on 10/28/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Attractfive csse, lightweight, very fast cpu, exceptional graphics
What's not so great: multi-card slot died after one month and the touchpad operation is highly annoying
I am the previous owner of Dell Inspirion and Lenovo Thinkpad T61P laptops. Samsung computers weren't even on my radar. I was immediately attracted to the Chronos Series 7 because of its sleek, lightweight case, hard drive capacity , Intel core i7 cpu, RAM, fantastic LCD display and graphics card, cost to benefits, Samsung convenience software, and being able to enter hibernation mode by closing the LCD panel. I WAS concerned about how well the touchpad would operate since it combines several functions such as left/right click, scroll, and navigate. I was initially very happy with this computer although I had immediate problems using the touchpad and with the space bar on the keypad. I thougt that the touchpad and space bar issues would resolve as I adapted to using the laptop. However, I detest the touchpad and now use a wireless mouse to avoid using it. The space bar seems to be very sensitive to touch pressure and I have constant problems with a space not being inserted between words while I am typing and I have to go back and fix the text. I am concerned about the overall workmanship and longevity of the computer since the multi-card reader died after one month. This is covered under the warranty, but I have to send the computer to a service center to have the card reader replaced and this will take 4-6 weeks, so I will be without a computer at home during this time. Another related repair issue to consider is that the computer battery cannot be changed by the user and must also be replaced by Samsung. Overall, although this laptop has many great features, my experience with the touchpad, space bar, and failure of the card reader are deal killers for me. As an owner of a Samsung Smartphone and TV, I have come to expect, and receive, a high level of product quality. Unfortunately I am disappointed by this laptop.
This product is... Good sound quality, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast, lightweight for features, great graphics and screen display
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Number cruncher (10-key needed), Comfortable with technology, research microbiologist
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung - Series 7 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Silver

Excelent design and performance

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: escalisa
from Brazil
on 10/26/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It's thin and beautiful
What's not so great: Nothing bed in my opinion
I'm using it for edit videos and to run hard software for home studios (Sonar X1)... And it's working better than I expected...
Really a great product!
This product is... Big screen size, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung - Series 7 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Silver

I love it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Cypress, CA
on 10/26/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It really looks nice and has a great performance.
I bought it about one month ago, I am taking it wherever I go.
It's defnitely faster than i5 laptop I used have, and looks much better too.
This product is... Perfect for Business
About me... Parent with kids, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung - Series 7 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Silver

Promises much, delivers little

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: weighthead
from Portland, OR
on 10/26/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Light weight
What's not so great: battery life
It promises over seven hours of battery life, but as soon as you get it home it's back to two hours of battery life.
The keyboard is good for typing though and it is a fast processor.
This product is... Good sound quality, A nice compact size, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Student, Comfortable with technology
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung - Series 7 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Silver

Fantastic laptop with one flaw

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: fredandethyl
from Evanston
on 10/26/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: display and keyboard
What's not so great: Touchpad is terrible
This is a great laptop. The display and backlit keyboard are great. Unfortunately, the touchpad is terrible. It is inconsistent in how it responds to touch. Sometimes it works great, other times it doesn't work at all. I ended up buying a wireless mouse because the touchpad was so bad
This product is... Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Technology guru, retired, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung - Series 7 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Silver

Known WiFi issues

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: WMDG
from Lee's Summit, MO
on 10/25/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Looks good
What's not so great: Inferior to non-functioning Wifi
The Wifi signal and throughput was very limited. Many Web comments indicate a problem with the Wifi. The system worked fine on a Wifi adaptor dongle, but I was not willing to keep a new notebook with which I had to use one of the USB ports to support a function that was supposed to be built-in. This system was exchanged for another brand that is working well.
This product is... A nice compact size, known for wifi issues
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung - Series 7 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Silver

Track Pad does not function when it wakes

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: fsurookie911
from Knoxville,tn
on 10/24/2012
constant crashing, track pad does not work when computer wakes from sleep mode
About me... Student, Technology guru, Gamer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung - Series 7 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Silver

Very disappointed

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Chilipepper27
from Howell, MI
on 10/21/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: Had it just over 30 days and it needs repair
I tried to love this laptop and I just do not. I bought it 40 days ago and, unfortunately, 10 days past Best Buy's replacement period, it started having a mind of it's own. The screen will just start flashing and the fan will turn on and off while it is doing this. Sometimes it freezes up for no apparent reason. I will have to send it in for repair and am not at all happy about it. Dropping $1K on a machine should get you something pretty awesome. NOT!! I purchased this model because I have the Galaxy III phone and love it. This may be my last Samsung purchase.
This product is... very disappointing
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Technology guru, Number cruncher (10-key needed), Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung - Series 7 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Silver

Defective - Should of bought the ASUS backlit.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: gingie
from Chicago, IL
on 10/21/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Backlit Keyboard
What's not so great: Defective Laptop
I did extensive research on the Samsung backlit keyboard laptop before I purchased. Although I was going to purchase the ASUS, I decided to purchase the Samsung after comparing the specs and the price difference. I have a MAC that I've had for 7 years that still works perfectly. I took this laptop on vacation a week after purchased and couldn't get a connection at 2 different hotels. Blaming their internet. Only to return home, where I have super highspeed internet and still had issues. I found myself setting the Samsung aside and using my Sony Vaio constantly. Last week I couldn't even bring up a webpage so decided it's finally time to bring it in (4 months after purchase). I don't know why I didn't return it sooner, but that's another story. I went to Geek Squad. They told me the hard drive is bad and it's a special hard drive so it must be sent to Samsung for repair. I think it was bad out of the box because after reading these wonderful reviews, I think I just had a lemon. It is under warranty, so they will cover free of charge but it will take 2 weeks. I will edit my review after it is repaired and let you know if it's as great as everyone says. No doubt, it is a beautiful laptop. Unfortunately, I just bought a bad one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung - Series 7 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Silver

Not worth the money. Have had too many problems.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Cindyla4
from Cleveland, Oh
on 10/20/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Beautiful graphics
What's not so great: Locks up constantly, won't wake from sleep, have to reboot to get cursor to work
I paid a lot of money for this because I thought it would last me a long, long time but I'm so aggravated with it I'm ready to trade it in and I've only owned it for less than 6 weeks. The Geek Squad fixed a lot of the problems I was havinig with it initially but now they're continuing to happen. I don't have time to deal with sitting on the phone with tech support for an hour or two or to keep going back to the store. I'm very disappointed in this computer.
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung - Series 7 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Silver

DO NOT BUY IF YOU NEED DECENT SKYPE QUALITY CALLS

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Daniel222
from CH
on 10/19/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: design, speed, keyboard, battery life
What's not so great: microphone, speakers, camera, screen suck so BAD
I bougth this laptop after having read dozen reviews. I was ready to sacrifice pretty bad screen and risk of getting the famous blue screen.
I decided to return it after a week. The screen sucks big time. BIG TIME. My 3 year old 400 USD Toshiba´s screen does not have to be adjusted so often to actually get pretty decent picture. Speakers are the same case.
Also it seems like Samsung put the cheapest microphone into it. Not only I only hear "What..what...what??" while Skype calling, the microphone is also placed on left palm rest!!! I wonder what genius designed it. You cannot basically type while using microphone because:
a) the microphone is perfectly covered while resting you palms
b) if not tottally covered microphone pics up so much keyboard noise that the other party asks besides "What...what...what???" even "What is clapping there?"
I have kind of specific needs but if you do not skype, it will do great job for you while watching pretty bad screen.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>