Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

Model: m7-1015dx
SKU: 5608347
UPC: 887111071910
Stay productive with this HP Pavilion m7-1015dx laptop that features a high-speed wireless LAN for a simple connection to the Internet. The 1TB hard drive provides ample storage space for your movies, games, documents and more.Windows 7 Home Premium installed Learn more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.416 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(149 Reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 149 reviews
5 stars
107
4 stars
20
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
8
87% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
129 out of 149
)
Customer Reviews for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
Review 1 for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

best laptop I've purchased

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Whatsinaname4real
from Illinois
on 07/21/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: loaded with features, no issues with it, dependable
What's not so great: nothing yet
This has been a great buy and I have had no issues with it. It has tons of features, a superior sound system and the battery life is great! I don't imagine this laptop would be fun to travel with because it is large, but as a home computer it is amazing. I hope this thing never dies!
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Social media enthusiast, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0067646654
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

OK.. Hard Drive crashed within 90 days of purchase

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: TGRAVES1986
from Tioga, ND
on 05/04/2013
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: SimplePass is AMAZING!!! Very Helpful
What's not so great: Slow performance.. Touch pad sensitivity
Overall a decent product. However, my personal experience with this Product is definitely the reason I would not purchase another one, at least not the same make/model.This computer has a weird touch pad. It works when it wants to work. And the hard drive crashed on me in less than 90 days from original purchase date.. I dont download anything at all that could damage it. In fact, I only use Microsoft Excel and Word, and adobe pdf viewer. I sometimes download from or attach excel, word, and/or pdf files to my yahoo email.. so nothing that would slow performance or cause system failure.. So overall, I only really like SimplePass, as far as the rest of the features, I have to give a big thumbs DOWN...
This product is... Big screen size, easy to set up, bulky, slow performance, terrible touch pad
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Parent with kids, Student, Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

Great laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gracie2426
from dallas,tx
on 04/19/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy 2 use & set up
I tried a different brand & hated it. I was lucky to find this HP.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Business Professional, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

When it works right it is fast.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: chiefmarkie
from ny
on 02/08/2013
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Back lit keys are a bonus.
What's not so great: See Review
When closing te cover many times the screen will not come back on and the computer must be totally turned off and back on to reboot system. Tried to find a fix without success. Some of the keys on the keyboard are not very responsive. The touch mouse pad is not very sensative and must be pushed on for it to react. Overall this computer was not worth the money I paid for it.
This product is... bulky, lightning fast, touch pad is poor, battery life poor, better computers on the market, very disapointed in the product.
About me... retired
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

I must have gotten a lemon.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: mwginsf
from San Francisco
on 01/19/2013
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Keyboard, screen size
What's not so great: Performance problems
I was really excited to buy this product. I friend who has been staying with me bought the same computer in a differnt color a few months ago and I was very impressed by its performance. So, needing a new laptop myself I bought this one with the extended warranty thank god. Everything was fine until i tried to transfer files from my old laptop to the new one. Suddenly my cd/rom drive wouldn't read some discs. I took it back to Bestbuy, had it looked at by the Geeksquad and was told there was nothing wrong with it. Brought it home and suddenly it would read any discs. A techie friend of mine looked at it and said it might be deffective but we could try restoring it back to factory settings. Tried that. cd/rom drive now works fine, but the fingerpring reader now doesn't work. I've been too frustrated to deal with it but I plan on taking it back to Bestbuy again next week. I'm sure they/HP will make it right since I've barely had the thing for four months. I'll post any updates.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Social media enthusiast, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

everything you need

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cjkolp
from schofield, wi
on 01/15/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: resolution
very good product for any person or family to use.
This product is... Good sound quality, Big screen size, lightning fast
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Social media enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

not good to buy used

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: timothytim1
from ca
on 01/03/2013
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: price as display
What's not so great: was not checked out thoroughly before sold
hard drive was going to fail failed short test press escape at startup ran test failed. returned no problem.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

Excellent Laptop, runs cool and is very fast.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jakeydog
from Duluth, MN
on 12/24/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Speed is great and enough memory, runs cool
What's not so great: Mouse is quirky
This is a nice laptop in the medium price scale. It has windows Media Center for movies and has a good size memory. The Mouse is quirky and can left click itself just by draging it. I have a wireless mouse on it now. It has a nice 17.3" screen for viewing.
This product is... Good sound quality, Perfect for Business, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Comfortable with technology, media center enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

GREAT LAP TOP

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SFRAN
from BRICK, NJ
on 12/16/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: THE SCREEN IS CLEAR AND BRIGHT. THE PERFORMANCE IS EXCELLENT.
What's not so great: HAVE NOT FOUND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT YET.
I LOVE THIS LAP TOP. I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE. IT IS GREAT FOR WORK, THE INTERNET, GAMES. IT IS AN ALL AROUND GREAT COMPUTER.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Technology guru, Social media enthusiast, Gamer, for personal use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

should have gotten a smart phone and tablet

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: patzi
from bergen county new jersey
on 11/27/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
My first laptop which I have had for about 6 weeks. I'm still adjusting to it - touch pad vs mouse, need for new desk [it doesn't fit on keyboard shelf and top of desk where monitor was located is too high for comfortable laptop use]. I'm not thrilled with the clarity and sharpness of the screen. I think it is too pale, gray and white vs black and white. I also think the screen picture is sized for a 14" screen. You can make the type bigger but when I did that I had to move the screen left to right to get the full picture or text. Also despite moving to a wireless system I still have messy cords all over the place. The printer and laptop need to be plugged into a surge suppressor to work or be recharged.
This product is... easy to set up, bulky
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, retired
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

Very nice entertainment laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Terriermom06
from Maine, USA
on 11/25/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Lighted keyboard, 17" screen, plenty of speed
What's not so great: Bulky for carrying around, fingerprint reader is a nuisance.
I bought this laptop to replace a Toshiba Satellite. Very happy with the overall use for what I need. Handles everyday basic computing needs with no issues at all. HP was smart by creating the Cool Sense technology. Had major overheating issues with the Toshiba but none with the HP. I would recommend this for anyone looking for a good, reliable entertainment system but not for someone that carries their laptop around with them. Quite heavy. A little on the pricey side but I guess you get what you pay for. I received the special $14.99 price for Windows 8 upgrade which I took advantage of. Only complaint was I lost Microsoft Office Starter even after I downloaded the recommended update.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, bulky, lightning fast
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Social media enthusiast, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

Lots of great features and plenty of memory

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Norman1217
from North Carolina
on 11/21/2012
What's great about it: Speed
What's not so great: Nothing so far
Glad that I stretched my budget last month.Well worth it.
This product is... Good sound quality, Perfect for Business, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Social media enthusiast, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

Great value for the money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Caesar701
from Lincolnshire, IL
on 11/21/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Display, fingerprint passwords, speed, battery life, audio
What's not so great: It's heavy
You get a lot for the money with the m7-1015. The i7 processor is fast and the graphics and sound are great. It's only offered through Best Buy
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, easy to set up, bulky, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

Excellent laptop by HP

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HurricaneDitka
on 11/20/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: great display, sleek silver finish, beats audio, easy to set up and use
What's not so great: Battery pack sticks out a bit awkwardly
The laptop has a big, great looking screen, and the Beats audio gives it excellent sound. Other than the battery sticking out on the bottom a bit more than I would like, this is a terrific, easy to use laptop with a good deal of power to boot.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

Very Happy with Lap top

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 4321H
from GreenBay wi
on 11/18/2012
What's great about it: Size Of Screen
Easy to use. Great screen. High quality. Very fast.
This product is... Big screen size, easy to set up
About me... retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

Outstanding Machine !!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: EndwellFrankie
from Endwell, NY
on 11/10/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Speed, Storage, Memory, Graphics
What's not so great: Nothing
Has all the essentials I need with great performance and ease of use.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Technology guru, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Business Professional, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

Very good computer for my needs

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SamsValleyMark
from White City, OR
on 11/10/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good price
What's not so great: Screen is a bit delicate to open
Computer worked fine straight out of the box. A RAM upgrade to 16 GB was done and really helped spped things up. Screen display is bright and easy to view under most lighting.
This product is... Good sound quality, Perfect for Business, Big screen size, lightning fast
About me... retired, part time environmental consultant
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

great comp i love it veryhappy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dimey
from norwalk
on 11/10/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
What's great about it: its ease of use
would recommed it
to everyone we love it and will have it a long time
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Social media enthusiast, Number cruncher (10-key needed), Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

Awesome computer!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Skoo88
from Pueblo, CO
on 11/09/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, lots of tips from HP
What's not so great: Tons of features that might not be so easy for a beginner
I use this computer primarily for online classes, and it has everything I need and more. I also use it for music, and it has an awesome sound system. I love it!!
This product is... Good sound quality, Perfect for Business, Big screen size, easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Parent with kids, Student, Social media enthusiast, Number cruncher (10-key needed), Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

Great desktop replacement

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BigDaddyJB
from Crystal River, FL
on 11/09/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: speed of processor, display, screen size, hard drive size
What's not so great: sound is not quite as good as my last laptop that had Aztec Lansing speakers
Really satisfied with computer thus far! Hard drive is plenty big enough to hold my music library and digital photo library.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, lightning fast
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Social media enthusiast, Regularly process large video or graphics files, retired, Comfortable with technology, mobile dj
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>