Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Asus - 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 320GB Hard Drive - Matte Pink

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Asus - 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 320GB Hard Drive - Matte Pink

Model: X401A-RPK4
SKU: 5732476
UPC:
With built-in wireless networking, this Asus X401A-RPK4 laptop enables speedy Web surfing. An Intel Pentium processor elevates multitasking capabilities, boosts productivity and enhances your entertainment and Internet browsing experiences.Windows 7 Home Premium installed Learn more.Learn more about Intel processors. Information provided by Intel.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 51 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
7
65% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
33 out of 51
)
Customer Reviews for Asus - 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 320GB Hard Drive - Matte Pink
Review 1 for Asus - 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 320GB Hard Drive - Matte Pink

Good laptop, needs better control of track pad

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: g0lf3r
from Sparks, NV
on 01/19/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Thin, Light, Convenient
What's not so great: No DVD Drive & Mousepad lacks customizations needed
Good laptop with solid specs but the track pad has presented some issues because it did not have some of the finer customizations my wife needed to make it fit her use.
This product is... Good sound quality, A nice compact size, easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Parent with kids, Technology guru, Social media enthusiast, Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Asus - 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 320GB Hard Drive - Matte Pink

Great introductory laptop for a student

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: zimbobwean
from gainesville, ga
on 12/03/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It is a great price and very light so easy to carry around with books.
Seems to work well especially for the price. I bought it for my daughter to use at school. The fact that it doesn't have a cd/dvd drive is not an issue since most files are transferred by memory stick or email these days. To install software I used my usb external drive. The color is a hit with my daughter and I really like the weight at a little over 3 lbs. I was looking for a light laptop since she has to carry around a backpack full of notebooks, most laptops are much more expensive if they are lightweight., so the price was an advantage. So far, very happy with it.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size, easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Microsoft Office Home and Student 2010 - Windows
4.5 out of 5(238)
 
 
 
LG - 8x External USB 2.0 Double-Layer DVD� RW/CD-RW Drive
4.3 out of 5(341)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Asus - 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 320GB Hard Drive - Matte Pink

Good computer for second laptop

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: definitelyjim
from Lorain, Ohio
on 11/29/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Light, fast, plenty of hard drive
What's not so great: If you write much, you will HATE the spacebar. Puny speakers.
I am happy with theAsus X401A. As you will notice Iam using the spacebar with my normal pressure. If you write muchand havealight touch, youare sure tobe unhappy with the unduly hard thump you must applytothe spacebar. I typed this reviewby using my normal thumb pressure on the spacebar. As you can see, you must frequentlyproofread. Get a ToshibaSatellite! Also, if youalready own theASUSX401A, get amouse and deactivate its totally inadequate touchpad.
This product is... Big screen size, poor sound quality, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Parent with kids, Social media enthusiast, retired, Comfortable with technology
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Asus - 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 320GB Hard Drive - Matte Pink

Black Friday

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: love100008
from Boston, MA
on 11/29/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I love this computer. I bought it on black Friday. The only thing that is different is I have windows 8. I love that it light and doesn't weight a lot. Its fast and the display it grate. I like it lot better then my last laptop. Can't wait to use it more.
This product is... wonderful
About me... Budget Conscious, Social media enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Asus - 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 320GB Hard Drive - Matte Pink

Blackfriday pick up!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PJsProject
from San Diego
on 11/28/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, size, memory, hard drive, keyboard, PRICE
What's not so great: Speakers
Stopped by BestBuy to pick up a USB since they were on sale. While waiting for my pickup, I saw two of these pink Asus laptops sitting on the shelf. Luckily they were no ones and I was able to buy two doorbuster laptops for Christmas gifts!
Overall, the laptop is great. I set them up so that when they get them, all they would have to do is open it and begin using it without the hassle of set up.
The design is amazing. I love the slim look, the layout of the keyboard, and the matte finish. 4GB of DDR3 ram with a 320GB hard drive? Amazing! I can't wait to see their faces when I give them as gifts. Even when they're not on sale,this is still a steal. Buy buy buy while they are in stock!
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, Technology guru, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Asus - 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 320GB Hard Drive - Matte Pink

Good Laptop/notebook for college

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: customer2220202
from San Mateo, CA
on 11/23/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy set up, VERY light weight
What's not so great: can get slow from time to time
I switched from an apple to this computer. It's classified as a laptop because of the screen size i think, but it's light enough to be a notebook. Being a college studen this is a great laptop to take to class and do simple stuff like write a paper or take notes. I noticed it started slowing down as soon as i loaded Sims 3 on it and dont forget to get an external disk drive when you purchase this. For a small price, its worth not having to lug the extra weight to class. other than those few things this is a great laptop!
This product is... Big screen size, A nice compact size, easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Student, Social media enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Asus - 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 320GB Hard Drive - Matte Pink

This a great laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TinyStar
from Florida
on 11/20/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to use,good price
What's not so great: mouse pad is VERY sensitive
I want to start out saying this is an amazing laptop. I'm nineteen and I make logo/graphics for money since I'm a student in college. My Acer laptop had finally went after owning for three or four years.I have a little background about computers/laptops,so I knew what I was looking for. Anyways,this is a great laptop. It's fast,easy to use,and it's a cute color. I play games like League of Legends so I was looking for something that could handle it without the lag. I can play LoL,Skype,listen to music,and use photoshop at the the same time without any trouble. I would 100% recommend this to a friend. The web cam works really well my boyfriend can see me crystal clear,the mic is okay. The laptop itself is VERY light which is a good thing,but this does NOT have a CD/DVD drive so if you're looking for a laptop that has one and want to buy this Asus laptop you will need to purchase an external CD/DVD drive. The only thing I do not like about this laptop is how sensitive the touch pad is for the mouse,but luckily you can change the setting for it.
Well that's all I have to say. I hope I helped a little. Good luck to those who are looking for a laptop :)
P.S. my mom also bought this laptop. She loves it! You also have to press FN+f2 when you finally get through all the agreements and such to connect to your internet.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Student, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Gamer, web designer, grahic designer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Asus - 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 320GB Hard Drive - Matte Pink

Great laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SDIowa
from Iowa City, IA
on 11/18/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Lightweight, long battery life
What's not so great: No DVD Player
Purchased for my 11 year old's birthday. She loves it. The only downside is the need for an external DVD player to load some software on the machine.
This product is... Big screen size, easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Technology guru, Gamer, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Asus - 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 320GB Hard Drive - Matte Pink

Great performance

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DeathNoteHunniie45
from Brooklyn, NY
on 11/18/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Very tough
The media is awesome, the videos I make are clear.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Student, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Computer technology beginner
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Asus - 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 320GB Hard Drive - Matte Pink

It is very basic which is what I wanted.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: suesusansusie
from Gilbert,AZ
on 11/11/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use.
What's not so great: It does not have a cd slot.
I wish this basic lap top had a cd slot so I could watch movies while I travel on an airplane!!!!
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, A nice compact size, easy to set up
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, retired
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Asus - 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 320GB Hard Drive - Matte Pink

This computer is easy to use right out of the box.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Koalat
from Anchorage, AK
on 11/09/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up.
What's not so great: The way they key board is so sensitive and sometimes has the cursor jump around.
This is a great, lightweight computer to do normal word processing, gaming and other activities on. A great value for the money.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, A nice compact size, easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Social media enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Asus - 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 320GB Hard Drive - Matte Pink

Would not connect to internet

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Boom123
from IL
on 11/09/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: unable to use
Purchased as a light use/spare computer for my home. First time I tried to use it the computer failed to connect to the internet. When I returned it the call back to electronics was "I have ANOTHER asus return"- makes me think this happens all the time. For the price I had low expectations but still was disappointed.
About me... Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Asus - 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 320GB Hard Drive - Matte Pink

good value for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Mirm
from Baton Rouge, LA
on 11/07/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: pink, very thin & light
What's not so great: speakers sound like junk
We got this little laptop for my daughter, 15. She liked the pinkness of it & we thought it was wonderfully sized, nice & thin & lightweight.
It worked great until it just randomly would power off. I tried to use it once & it powered itself off each & every time I got it logged on & opened a browser. It did it like 5 times one right after another.
So we took it back. We would have been willing to give the same model another shot, but they had no more pink, and for just about an even trade, she picked a lenova with windows 8.
This product is... poor sound quality, A nice compact size, easy to set up
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Asus - 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 320GB Hard Drive - Matte Pink

Nearly unbeatable at the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: AnotherAnonymousGuy
on 11/05/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price, light, nice display, fast CPU
What's not so great: No optical drive, battery life only so-so
I bought this laptop for my father-in-law. He's not overly technical, so when his netbook (which I also bought for him) died, we took a trip to the local Best Buy to look over the laptops available. I was pleasantly surprised that there was a model for $299 that had a speedy CPU, a nice display, 4GB RAM, and a decent sized hard disk. It doesn't have an optical drive, but it does have both VGA and HDMI ports for flexibility in monitor attachment. It has Windows 7, which is far better than the new Windows 8 for the non-techie. Touchscreens would just confuse him. He has been thrilled with the larger screen, the performance, and most importantly to me, he hasn't had to ask me to help him with it yet! Best ease of use endorsement I could give.
This product is... Good sound quality, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Asus - 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 320GB Hard Drive - Matte Pink

Save your money

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Fancymom
from Spokane,wa
on 11/02/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Display
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Color and weight
What's not so great: Poor materials, very slow
Bought for my daughter use for school. Lightweight but it is so slow she still waits in line to use college computer. Many things will not load.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Parent with kids
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Asus - 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 320GB Hard Drive - Matte Pink

Great Laptop at Great Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bamafan762
from Alabama
on 10/30/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: CPU, Memory,USB3.0,HDMI,Keyboard, Color
Far better cpu and other specs than anything else at $330. Pentium 970, 4g Ram, 2 USBs 1 is 3.0, HDMI output, nice 14" screen, lightweight, i was a little concerned about getting pink but it looks very good matte metallic like, I like the keyboard style, the trackpad isn't so great but it does work. Definitly get a mouse. I bought this for my mom and got another Asus for myself and I've been very pleased with both. Highly recommend.
This product is... Perfect for Business, Big screen size, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Gamer, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Dynex - Wireless Optical Mouse - Gray
4.4 out of 5(494)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Asus - 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 320GB Hard Drive - Matte Pink

Get what you pay for... actually a bit less

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: sgdhdj
from denver
on 10/26/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Display
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: thin / light
What's not so great: does not really work... mouse pad unresponsive constantly.
Just not very good. Even for surfing the internet. cheap and works randomly.
About me... Basic web surfing & emails
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Asus - 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 320GB Hard Drive - Matte Pink

Great quality

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: coastlover
from Pismo Beach, CA
on 10/18/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast, great screen quality and pink which my daughter loves
What's not so great: no dvd/cd drive
Great computer for the money. This was a gift for my daughters 16th birthday and she loves it.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Asus - 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 320GB Hard Drive - Matte Pink

A New Low In Computers

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Bainisg
from Fl
on 10/17/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Display
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: The price sucked me in, but sometimes you really do get what you pay for.
What's not so great: Touchpad AWFUL, keyboard stiff, browser was SLOW, sound was sketchy
I learned a big lesson: always do a little research before buying a laptop. There can be BIG differences, even in computers from the same company. I've owned other Asus systems that were just fine, but certainly not this one.
Best Buy was great about taking it back, I was out the door with another computer in 15 minutes. A computer, btw, that I researched before selecting!
This product is... poor sound quality, glitchy touchpad, stiff keyboard, slow browser
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Social media enthusiast
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Asus - 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 320GB Hard Drive - Matte Pink

Worst laptop I've ever used

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: McCoy5280
from Denver, Co
on 10/13/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: It's cheap
What's not so great: Keyboard and Mouse are awful
I had to return the laptop i couldn't type right the space bar only works if you hit it right in the center. The mouse is all over the place and to use the right click you have to click the very right side of the button it was difficult to type anything on this laptop i would never recommend it to anyone else...
This product is... poor sound quality, A nice compact size
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Student, Social media enthusiast, Comfortable with technology
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>