Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony - Internet Player with Google TV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Sony - Internet Player with Google TV

Model: NSZGS7
SKU: 5764553
UPC: 027242849419
Take home entertainment to the next level with this Sony NSZGS7 media player that features built-in Wi-Fi for fast streaming of media to your TV. Google TV integrates results from your cable provider, the Internet and apps for expansive media searches. Smart Set-Top Box Get a world of instant entertainment with this smart set-top box. Connect to the Internet and stream movies, listen to music and access a wide variety of other content on your HDTV. Learn more about smart products.
Average Customer Rating:
3.973 out of 5
4.0
 out of 
5
(186 Reviews) 186
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 186 reviews
5 stars
76
4 stars
63
3 stars
24
2 stars
12
1 star
11
78% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
145 out of 186
)
Customer Reviews for Sony - Internet Player with Google TV
Review 1 for Sony - Internet Player with Google TV

too complicated

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: MomOfFourSons
from omaha, ne
on 02/28/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: lots of features & can combine both online (ie, netflix) with live tv
What's not so great: too much stuff!
I just need something simple. All I have is Netflix, so I just need something to stream. I don't have "regular" /live tv. This has too many buttons, options, etc . If I ever lose the remote, we're in trouble. I got it for $50 on clearance, so the price was good, but I prefer the simplicity of my roku.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Roku - 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle
 
 
 
 
 
My Best Buy number: 0564936494
My Best Buy number: 0564936494
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony - Internet Player with Google TV

Great for beginner

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cjwoo
from North Texas
on 01/04/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Good thing it had detailed instructions, I managed !! It is great !!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2543823306
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony - Internet Player with Google TV

awesome product.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rajaspito
from Saint Paul, MN
on 11/30/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: good value
It works great.Easy to operate and more to gain from it's use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0782061466
My Best Buy number: 0782061466
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony - Internet Player with Google TV

Great internet player, AWESOME REMOTE

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Christopher3576
from Houma,La
on 11/19/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Remote Control
What's not so great: Sometimes Streaming Slows Down
Went to BestBuy looking for an internet player to make my TV "Smart" and had a couple of choices to choose from. A store associate came and help me out and advised me to take a look at the Sony Player. What had me hooked was that it came with a full QWERTY keyboard built right into the remote control. If you ever had to use a standard remote to type anything into your TV it can get very bothersome and time consuming, and for only a hundred bucks it was a deal i couldn't pass up, the remote alone was worth it, coupled with bestbuy return policy if i didn't like it, this was definitely a win-win
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0907166816
My Best Buy number: 2141875820
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony - Internet Player with Google TV

excellent product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gypsi
from Denton, TX
on 11/11/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: fast, easy to use, full featured
Been using this product for a month and I love it. Highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2822419848
My Best Buy number: 2822419848
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony - Internet Player with Google TV

So far so good & very easy to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Coolsha
from Bossier, LA
on 10/27/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: How easy it is to use & how neat it is.
What's not so great: It's wide I guess but smaller than a DVD player.
I really like it so far. Pulls up everything we want no problem. I really love the keyboard on the remote-it's really fun to use & very cool
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2527714798
My Best Buy number: 2527714798
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony - Internet Player with Google TV

Great multifunction multimedia box.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: chad499
from Baldwinsville, NY
on 10/21/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Multitude of functions
What's not so great: Cinavia and weak hdmi ports.
Even though I lucked into a refurbished model, I'm incredibly happy with this item. Tons of great features including some Android apps. Overall a great investment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2368182015
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony - Internet Player with Google TV

Works as advertised

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Pitstop1961
from Georgia
on 10/12/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy setup, able to see all media servers on my network
What's not so great: limited apps, slow to update Android version
Originally went into store to purchase another Roku and saw this on the shelf. It was an open box that was reduced price and I had some reward points to cash in so I figured I'd give it a try. Setup was very simple. Can't vouch for TV aspect as I don't have anything to use as an HDMI input in my office. I only have basic cable. I'm mainly using it to stream from my Plex media server in the den. It does this well although it's slow to render the servers contents because it is quite large. Had to switch to a separate app that does it faster ...... aVia Media Player.
Was very surprised to see it only using Honeycomb 3.2 as the firmware. Seriously? After going on several forums and doing some reading this appears to be a major issue with long time GoogleTV owners. They've been hearing about firmware updates for ages but none materializes. I'd say this and the limited app market for the system are it's biggest flaws.
My "would not recommend" vote is due to the uncertainty of the platform. With rumors about the GoogleTV brand yielding to become the new Android TV and Google's focus on other things such as it's ChromeCast device, I'd advice waiting before going all in on any GoogleTV device. I'm pleased with my purchase because it was a great deal with the discounts I was fortunate to have at the time. At full price I probably would have stayed with getting another Roku. I have one in the bedroom and it works just as well.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2629777189
My Best Buy number: 2629777189
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony - Internet Player with Google TV

It does what it says it will

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: critter1962
from Mn
on 10/11/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy hook up and operation
I haven't used it as much as I thought I would. But it does perform, when I use it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0550850704
My Best Buy number: 0550850704
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony - Internet Player with Google TV

Adds features to TV, but clunky...

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: MrNewYork
from Ithaca, NY
on 10/09/2013
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Set Up
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Add smart TV features to non-smart televisions
What's not so great: Clunky software, slow, lack of intuitive features
I wanted a way to watch Netflix, YouTube, and do quick overlaid searches while watching live TV. While most of these features were available, they proved to be clunky, slow, and just ended up being more work and stress than grabbing the cell phone/laptop/tablet for the same purposes.
The search interface for youtube and Netflix were not nearly as polished as I'd like to see.
Search was difficult and took way more time than it should, and often meant losing a spot in a video while looking for something.
Development stinks - not many aps. I was just using Netflix and YouTube, because nothing else was any good. Not worth the price for just those features.
In the end, it's easier cheaper to look for alternatives, like HDMI hookup to a nearby PC, or a chromecast.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
My Best Buy number: 2126487529
My Best Buy number: 2126487529
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony - Internet Player with Google TV

Better than the cable company

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Homemomoffour
from Woodbridge, VA
on 10/05/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great searching menu, replaces cable remote
What's not so great: The remote seems fragile
This device lets me access the browser, watch YouTube and Sony Entertainment Network, NetFlix and even controls my cable. I especially like that it will sort the programs from the cable menu better than the cable company does it. In addition to giving me easy access to the Google options, the remote controls my cable and television.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2266626031
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony - Internet Player with Google TV

great addition to my TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BigJeffw
from Mcallen Tx.
on 10/05/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: functionality and ease of use
What's not so great: if you have to reset up the settings
Great addition to my TV in my outdoor kitchen/pool. Decided to buy a standard LED TV and this Sony internet player instead of a smart TV. What I found with smart TVs which cost $200 more than a non-smart TV is that most smart TVs just have apps and may not be fully internet capable. So for the same or less money I bought the Sony internet player so I can surf the web and have all the apps I want.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony - Internet Player with Google TV

Great Internet Player

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Marcosball
from Miami
on 10/04/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, comes with Google TV
What's not so great: The remote control keypad is small
Great Internet player, easy to set up, the processor is very fast, the only negative is the remote control, it could be bigger, with larger keys
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2680188078
My Best Buy number: 2680188078
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony - Internet Player with Google TV

Getting a smart tv for cheaper

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: johnhpa
from Upper Darby, Pa
on 10/04/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
It is worth it if you don't want to pay for the whole big tv. Takes a little bit of time to set up but you will enjoy browsing the internet to watch your tv shows.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2701156116
My Best Buy number: 2701156116
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony - Internet Player with Google TV

Neat little devce. It's well worth the price !

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Googlehead
from Hampton VA
on 10/02/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Turns your regular TV into a Google Smart-TV.Excellent remote as well.
What's not so great: Not all Play Store Apps available [Hulu for example], crashes on ocaission and has to be rebooted.
Overall a nice little device. It allows one to browse the web via chrome. It basically upconverts your standard HD TV into a Google Smart-TV.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2911947597
My Best Buy number: 2911947597
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony - Internet Player with Google TV

Good, not great Internet TV Box

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Dondoo
from Greenfield, MA
on 10/02/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Excellent remote, easy to navigate
What's not so great: Hung up on first set-up, no Hulu Plus, limited Google apps
This is a nice, small, and relatively inexpensive (I paid $100 on a Deal of the Day) way to turn your HD TV into a Smart TV. The remote is full-featured, controls not only my TV, but my DirecTV box, and also was able to control my Sony AV receiver. Google TV enhanced my DirecTV viewing. It has a limited selection of Google apps and games, but they are not very appealing. And though it has Netflix and Redbox, it is sorely missing Hulu Plus, though you can configure it to run through PlayOn.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2506620706
My Best Buy number: 2506620706
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony - Internet Player with Google TV

Great device for using Slingbox and much more

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: COLJAWS
from Colorado Springs, CO
on 10/01/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It has multi functional capability
What's not so great: A little confusing on setup
I primarily use this for my Slingbox app, but it can do much more like surfing the net. It is a great device. Love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0216277746
My Best Buy number: 0216277746
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony - Internet Player with Google TV

Good platform with which to experience internet tv

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: tbrimerkel
from Buffalo,NY
on 09/29/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: The internet tv channels are inventoried for me
What's not so great: google chrome lacks some features
For $100.00 off list price, I couldn't go wrong. Now I can enjoy internet videos in full HD, which would not happen if I connected my computer to my television. I really have more viewing choices now and I have access to an incredible amount of free movies. It is a far better viewing experience than cable TV.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony - Internet Player with Google TV

Great media player

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dave2333
from Ohio
on 09/29/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good price
What's not so great: Not that many apps
This unit has sling player and that's the main reason I purchased the unit. It works great looks almost as good as the satellite box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0420827232
My Best Buy number: 0420827232
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony - Internet Player with Google TV

Great media player

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: daxxxx
from austin tx
on 09/27/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to used on a non-smart tv
What's not so great: None
Sony google player makes browsing the internet easy to view streaming video and your favorite apps.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2192948597
My Best Buy number: 2192948597
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>