Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Model: NABI2NV7A
SKU: 5906964
UPC: 858119003074
nabi 2 Tablet: Designed for ages 7 to 10 but fun for everyone, the nabi 2 encourages kids to learn, play, explore and grow. Interactive learning apps, top billboard music and Treasure Box rewards for completing chores are just a few of the reasons your kids will love nabi 2. Use Mommy/Daddy mode to keep tabs on your kids' activities and surf the Web without kid-safe restrictions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.078 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(885 Reviews) 885
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 885 reviews
5 stars
444
4 stars
270
3 stars
51
2 stars
36
1 star
84
83% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
738 out of 885
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB
Review 1 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB
  • Featured

Best tablet for kids

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Comicspedia
from Naperville, IL
on 11/19/2012
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
What's great about it: Parental controls, variety of apps, durability, hardware inside
What's not so great: Viewing angles, no access to Google Play
The nabi 2 is easily the best tablet for kids available today. The hardware inside puts it at or above the level of most 7 inch tablets, as it features many similar components as those found within Google's Nexus 7. There is much to cover for why I love this tablet, but let's get the bad out of the way first: you will not be able to access Google Play. For some people, this is a deal-killer, but I must say that in using it, I can't say I've found the lack of access to be a problem. Amazon's app store can always be installed if you want a broader range of apps, but I've only used it to install a Reddit app and a Netflix app to use when we parents use our son's nabi after bedtime.
The nabi has its own app store, which I would consider to be a strength. The app store UI is attractive and easy to use, with apps organized by type (Entertainment, Creativity, Games, etc) and age. Apps that make it into the nabi app store have been examined by the nabi team to ensure safety for young users, which often results in the removal of clickable advertisements.
The tablet comes with an excellent chore management tool. Parents can buy currency and set up chores for their child to do. When the child completes the chore(s), they will receive a portion of currency based on the complexity of the chore, as indicated by parents. This can then be used to unlock downloadable content for their games or install full games.
The nabi 2 also comes with learning tools, including flash card games, mini lessons, math pages to complete, and more. For younger kids, dozens of books come preloaded, each with an option to be read by professional voice actors in a variety of languages. More books are available for free or purchase on nabi's app store. There are also dozens of craft guides available for parents and kids to do together based on seasons of the year or holidays. The educational potential is great with this tablet.
This tablet is built thicker than most grown up focused tablets, where thinner tablets are generally valued. By making it a bit thicker, and surrounding it with a rubber bumper, the nabi 2 is a very durable tablet that stands up well against heavy use.
I would absolutely recommend the tablet without hesitation to any parent considering a tablet for their child ages 3 - 10. This is a device I am confident in handing to my young son because I know he will enjoy it, it will not break, and he will not be able to accidentally stumble upon inappropriate content.
This product is... responsive touch screen, Good sound quality, easy to set up, lightning fast, Variety of apps available, A nice compact size, Sharp graphics, Easy to navigate, Comfortable to hold, kid friendly
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Gamer, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+673points
826out of 979found this review helpful.
Review 2 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

love it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jlc07
from pa
on 09/12/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Bought for my 2 year old grandson and he loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2222461577
My Best Buy number: 2222461577
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

don't get it

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: malujerry
from LI, NYY
on 09/11/2014
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: comes in a rubber case, hard to break
What's not so great: the longevity and apps you can play for free
It was good for while, then my child quickly grew tired of playing the same old free games in 2 months. Then it died at about 3 months, screen would not light up. I ended up getting an iPad mini, and she still plays with it 2 years later. I hate to admit it, but the expensive apple product was well worth it. i got a refurbished one straight from apple's website for cheaper with a warranty included.
This product is... responsive touch screen, easy to set up, A nice compact size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Parent with kids
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

great for kids

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ben1904
from port washington WI
on 08/14/2014
It is a great learning tool with great apps for kids most ages. Its is very easy to set parental controls and navigate through the tablet
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2039421160
My Best Buy number: 2039421160
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Love The Tablet

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Deb1954
from beaumont,tx
on 08/07/2014
What's great about it: Keeps 4 year old interested
What's not so great: Nothing
Bought this for my grandson. Keeps him intertained
This product is... responsive touch screen, Good sound quality, easy to set up, Variety of apps available, A nice compact size, Sharp graphics, Easy to navigate, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0535394308
My Best Buy number: 0535394308
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Good for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gloch
from Monroe, LA
on 08/06/2014
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
My son really enjoys the games. Item was good for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2803149375
My Best Buy number: 2803149375
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Great Investment

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MissMonique
on 08/06/2014
My daughter loves it. She can't go a day without playing on it. I love the fact that it is not only educational but also user friendly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0538885063
My Best Buy number: 0538885063
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Awesome tablet

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Joyce
from Whitney , tx
on 07/25/2014
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Kid friendly
What's not so great: Battery life
I would recommend this item to people who have children between ages 3to 8.
This product is... Easy to navigate
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3315849937
My Best Buy number: 3315849937
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Not For My Family

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Kinsey915
from Ohio
on 07/25/2014
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: My son loves this and the preloaded apps
What's not so great: Too difficult to add movies, tv shows
I was between this and an ipad mini for my son. We wanted to get him something for his birthday that would have the educational apps on it like this, but that we could also put movies and tv shows on for him. This tablet makes downloading additional movies and tv shows on to it very difficult. The first problem is that you cannot buy these directly on the tablet. The next problem is getting whatever you have downloaded, and paid for, onto the tablet either with a usb cord or and sd card. Well, I went with the use of an sd card to transfer a few tv shows and a movie for him and they won't play because I bought them through itunes and they cannot be reformatted. I'm not sure where else I was supposed to buy them from and now feel as though I wasted $200 on this tablet (we bought the Disney one) and another $20 on the stuff I just downloaded for him. I really wish I would have known this was going to be a problem when we were shopping for tablets so I could have just spent a little extra money and gotten what would work best for us. Now we have a car ride, flight, layover, another flight and the same back home in a week, as we are getting ready to leave for vacation.
This product is... responsive touch screen, A nice compact size, Easy to navigate, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Parent with kids, Comfortable with technology
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

awesome for learning

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: thecheeze
on 07/18/2014
Easy to use and very helpful.great for kids between the age of 4 as Well!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Mobile Submission: True
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Unable to Update

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: HuntsvilleAL
from Huntsville, AL
on 07/14/2014
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: Unable to function properly
So I got this for my 3yr old son. As soon as I get it I setup my account very easily. I tried to go to the app store to see what I could download for my son because all the basic stuff was worthless. Unfortunately I needed to run an update to OTA version 2.1 before I can do anything and the update failed everytime. I called the Nabi help desk and wasted a half hour trouble shooting because all they did was the same steps I already tried. They told me to bring it back to Best Buy to exchange it. I brought it back to best buy as a return. I think I will try a Kindle Fire next and see how that goes. I chalk this up to one of the many reasons why computers will never go away. If I can't plug in a USB device to rebuild a tablet from scratch then what's the point. I can do this all day with my desktop and laptop. I should be able to complete any and all repairs myself without having to wait a few months to get a replacement from a manufacturer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2711646751
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Great tablet.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: nawor
from rosenberg,texas
on 07/05/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Great tablet. Seems to be more appropriate for kids under 12 than sime other tAblets. It can be used by my 3 yr old but also by my 9 yr old without seeming like a toddler tablet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2036833645
My Best Buy number: 2036833645
Mobile Submission: True
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Not worth the headache

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Momof5
from Santa Clarita, ca
on 07/02/2014
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
I replaced 3 leap pad with 3 nabis and I regret it. The leap pads were great but they had been through the ringer with my kids so I decided it was time for an upgrade. I did some research and decided to go with the nabi. The first day I bought them I kept having problems with one not updating so I had to return it. That should've been a sign right there. I've had them for 6 months and they're glitching again. I even spent days on the phone with nabi support and I stumped them. They're answer was turn it off for an hour and it should resolve itself. That shouldn't be a problem because they always die anyways. The battery life it terrible and it takes a whole day for it to charge 100%. The problem did not resolve itself so I plan on returning them tomorrow. I'd rather spend a few more bucks and buy a mini iPad or the samsung tablet. Also not the easiest things to use. I guarantee you will have to google how to add apps to nabi mode.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Mobile Submission: True
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

great tablet for children andvadults

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: msjazzy28
from pooler ga
on 06/22/2014
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: easy to use
What's not so great: battery life isn't very long
I love this tablet. I bought this for my 2 years old and he loves it. It comes preloaded with lots of apps that are easy for him to use. The battery doesn't last very long when he plays games, but with the timer it's easy to offset it. He loves it and so do I.
This product is... Good sound quality, easy to set up, Easy to navigate, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Parent with kids, Student, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2826485269
My Best Buy number: 2826485269
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

It seems durable kid can run it better than mom.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MOMMY4
from PIPESTONE,MN
on 06/18/2014
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It has a kid setting & a mom setting
What's not so great: It is dificult to down load games.
I would recommend this to a family that is tech inclined.
This product is... Good sound quality, A nice compact size, Sharp graphics, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Computer technology beginner
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2818427277
My Best Buy number: 2818427277
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Great tablet for kids

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: hcasados
from MCallen,TX
on 06/15/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Perfect design for kids
What's not so great: low sound level
Great for kids, good rubber cover design... easy to setup, and control as parents and as a kid... perfect for all the family but design for kids
This product is... easy to set up
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2738097819
My Best Buy number: 2738097819
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Great tablet for kids

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: nice
from norco California
on 06/13/2014
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
My kids enjoys her new nabi great for kids games movies
This product is... A nice compact size, Easy to navigate, Great screen size
About me... Parent with kids, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1015799378
My Best Buy number: 1015799378
Mobile Submission: True
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Horrible product!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: slm77
on 06/13/2014
Do NOT buy a Nabi!
Don't do it!
You will lose your money!
I bought one from Best Buy (who is no longer selling them!!!) for my daughter at Christmas. The charger stopped working.
Best Buy allowed for an exchange at the end of April.
I delayed in doing the software upgrades because it is a huge pain (you have to do two right away to be able to access google).
So my daughter only started using it in the middle of May.
Then we lost it for about 4 weeks.
Basically, it had only been charged once and only had 4-10 hours of use and the screens started locking up.
It got really hot. You would turn it off and wait- and it would do it again.
We went to charge it and the charger broke into the port.
I tried taking it back to Best Buy, so I could exchange it for something OTHER than a Nabi.
They wouldn't accept. It was outside their return and exchange period, and they no longer sell them (Sarcastic-I wonder why:|)
I called Nabi to get a refund.
They won't give you one.
They will only send out another horrible product!
Who wants another one?
You spend a really long time doing upgrades on the software-only to have it break in a few weeks to a few months!!
In the end, you are buying a Horrible product! You will lose you're money! You will have headaches and frustration.
DON'T BUY IT!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2020758008
Mobile Submission: True
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Great tablet for kids!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: bigdaddyof2
from Belleview, FL
on 06/09/2014
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: it can take a good drop, easy to navigate
Great tablet for my daughter! She absolutely loves it!
This product is... Easy to navigate, great for kids
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2142416091
My Best Buy number: 2142416091
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

My 3 y.o loves it

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: RahRahK
from D.C.
on 06/06/2014
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Screen Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: fun and engaging
What's not so great: battery life
I thought it would be daunting but she picked it right up.
Ran through the setup and it needed a credit card to set up an account (which I didn't like) I bypassed that at first but my teenager promptly informed me that she could not do anything on it until the account was setup.
So we set up the account and have not had any problems (or charges ;-)
since!
This product is... Easy to navigate, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0393229576
My Best Buy number: 0393229576
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 45 next>>