Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Model: NABI2NV7A
SKU: 5906964
UPC: 858119003074
nabi 2 Tablet: Designed for ages 7 to 10 but fun for everyone, the nabi 2 encourages kids to learn, play, explore and grow. Interactive learning apps, top billboard music and Treasure Box rewards for completing chores are just a few of the reasons your kids will love nabi 2. Use Mommy/Daddy mode to keep tabs on your kids' activities and surf the Web without kid-safe restrictions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.083 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(853 Reviews) 853
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 853 reviews
5 stars
429
4 stars
260
3 stars
50
2 stars
34
1 star
80
83% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
712 out of 853
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB
Review 1 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB
  • Featured

Best tablet for kids

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Comicspedia
from Naperville, IL
on 11/19/2012
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
What's great about it: Parental controls, variety of apps, durability, hardware inside
What's not so great: Viewing angles, no access to Google Play
The nabi 2 is easily the best tablet for kids available today. The hardware inside puts it at or above the level of most 7 inch tablets, as it features many similar components as those found within Google's Nexus 7. There is much to cover for why I love this tablet, but let's get the bad out of the way first: you will not be able to access Google Play. For some people, this is a deal-killer, but I must say that in using it, I can't say I've found the lack of access to be a problem. Amazon's app store can always be installed if you want a broader range of apps, but I've only used it to install a Reddit app and a Netflix app to use when we parents use our son's nabi after bedtime.
The nabi has its own app store, which I would consider to be a strength. The app store UI is attractive and easy to use, with apps organized by type (Entertainment, Creativity, Games, etc) and age. Apps that make it into the nabi app store have been examined by the nabi team to ensure safety for young users, which often results in the removal of clickable advertisements.
The tablet comes with an excellent chore management tool. Parents can buy currency and set up chores for their child to do. When the child completes the chore(s), they will receive a portion of currency based on the complexity of the chore, as indicated by parents. This can then be used to unlock downloadable content for their games or install full games.
The nabi 2 also comes with learning tools, including flash card games, mini lessons, math pages to complete, and more. For younger kids, dozens of books come preloaded, each with an option to be read by professional voice actors in a variety of languages. More books are available for free or purchase on nabi's app store. There are also dozens of craft guides available for parents and kids to do together based on seasons of the year or holidays. The educational potential is great with this tablet.
This tablet is built thicker than most grown up focused tablets, where thinner tablets are generally valued. By making it a bit thicker, and surrounding it with a rubber bumper, the nabi 2 is a very durable tablet that stands up well against heavy use.
I would absolutely recommend the tablet without hesitation to any parent considering a tablet for their child ages 3 - 10. This is a device I am confident in handing to my young son because I know he will enjoy it, it will not break, and he will not be able to accidentally stumble upon inappropriate content.
This product is... responsive touch screen, Good sound quality, easy to set up, lightning fast, Variety of apps available, A nice compact size, Sharp graphics, Easy to navigate, Comfortable to hold, kid friendly
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Gamer, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+663points
807out of 951found this review helpful.
Review 2 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Short-lived usability

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: jelabarre
from Dutchess, NY
on 04/14/2014
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: hardy construction, good graphics
What's not so great: odd and breakable power connector, severely limited capacity
This product is usable **ONLY** if you never want to add anything to it. The uninstallable built-in apps fill up a LOT of the storage of this device, *especially* if you've gotten the update that adds the enitre bloatware of the Google Apps universe. And due to their disabling of moving apps to the microSD slot, you will find the device will extremely quickly fills up the internal memory. You will find you can't even run an UPDATE on it because Fuhu couldn't figure out how to use the microSD, so if an app likes to store a lot of data files, the device will become unusable within one month. You will end up telling your child he/she can't have their favourite app because the Nabi2 is quite simply incapable of holding it. You'll end up installing it on your own tablet, so you might as well have saved the 200 bucks by NOT buying a Nabi2 in the first place.
In addition, in a time where everyone *else* is going to standardized miniUSB and microUSB for power, teh Nabi2 still uses an oddball, proprietary power connector. Not only that, but the power connector is SO tiny it will probably be broken and destroyed within a few months, Hopefully it hasn't done that by shearing off inside the device. It also doesn't have a rear-facing camera, but that would be excusable if the device weren't so severly hamstrung by boneheaded engineering decisions.
This product is... Good sound quality, Sharp graphics, Comfortable to hold
About me... Technology guru, Comfortable with technology
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Great for child

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Lulu
from Baltimore md
on 04/12/2014
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Easy for child to use
What's not so great: Not like a normal tablet
I bought this for my daughter to use it is not like a ipad it is a kids tablet with not to many features. But is great for a child wanting to learn.
This product is... responsive touch screen, A nice compact size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Parent with kids
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2924800193
My Best Buy number: 2924800193
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

great for a five year old

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: krina
from md
on 04/12/2014
improve kids learning capabilities when it comes to reading.
This product is... Good sound quality, easy to set up, Easy to navigate, Great screen size
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2858812385
My Best Buy number: 2858812385
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Non functioning

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: StewKack
from Oxford, MA
on 04/11/2014
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Not much.
What's not so great: Wi-Fi would not work.
Seems like a great product for kids but unless you can actually connect to a wi-fi network you can't use all the features. I couldn't even connect so therefore I couldn't even try to use most of the features.
This product is... Good sound quality, Easy to navigate, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Parent with kids, Comfortable with technology
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2538018472
My Best Buy number: 2538018472
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Keeps a four year old busy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MommyofB
on 04/08/2014
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Education apps and Parent Controls
What's not so great: Mommy Mode does not work the greatest and I had yet to be able to download anything for me.
Parent Controls are great. The education apps are very nice and I like that I can put the web sites on his tablet that he is allowed to explore. No more worrying about him getting into something I do not want. We had problem with the charger but that was taken care of by exchanging it and now no problems.
This product is... responsive touch screen, Good sound quality, easy to set up, Variety of apps available, Easy to navigate, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2863449538
My Best Buy number: 2863449538
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Bought it form one of the Grand kids

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: kissoma2
from Wichita. ks
on 04/04/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
So far it is working good for what I bought it for.
This product is... Easy to navigate
About me... retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0753801145
My Best Buy number: 0753801145
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Decent tablet for my 6 year old.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jjpoet22381
from Philadelphia, PA
on 04/02/2014
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: User friendly
What's not so great: Can't get Google Play Store
I love t his tablet for my 6 year old son! It's easy for him to use and it keeps him occupied. He doesn't lose interest in it like most other electronics. I really love the Mommy Mode because I can use it just like my laptop and I can monitor what he does on the tablet. I was able to download the Amazon App store to the tablet so he can download his favorite games. The only downside is that it doesn't have Google Play store and I couldn't download it either. I don't know if I'm just not tech savvy enough or if you really can't download it to the tablet. Either way, I was disappointed by this because it is an Android system and I thought all Android systems came with Google Play. As a result, some of the games he used to play on my phone can't be downloaded. Other than that, it's great. He doesn't even ask to play games on my Galaxy anymore. I bought him some headphones and he can listen to music, watch videos, and I even downloaded the MagicJack app so he can call his grandparents! This was a great investment.
This product is... responsive touch screen, Good sound quality, easy to set up, lightning fast, A nice compact size, Sharp graphics, Easy to navigate, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Parent with kids, Social media enthusiast, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2861296981
My Best Buy number: 2861296981
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Great for my 4 year old grandson!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Nino9096
from Lilburn Ga
on 03/28/2014
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: All of the kid safe app's !
What's not so great: Battery life!
Got it for my grandson and he is on it all the time, loves the games and app's, just wish the battery lasted longer,
This product is... responsive touch screen, Good sound quality, easy to set up, Variety of apps available, A nice compact size, Sharp graphics, Easy to navigate, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
About me... retired, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2804908537
My Best Buy number: 2804908537
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Kids love it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tucson
from Az
on 03/28/2014
What's great about it: The bumper protection had come in very handy!
What's not so great: The battery tends to go dead fast.
The kids love playing the games and perfect for our older daughter she can watch youtube on mommy mode.
This product is... easy to set up
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2809242414
My Best Buy number: 2809242414
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Great for kid and parents

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jamt
from Reno, nv
on 03/27/2014
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
My kids have so much fun with this tablet.
the preset apps are perfect for my kid to use.
This product is... Variety of apps available, Sharp graphics, Easy to navigate, Great screen size
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Computer technology beginner
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 307179317
My Best Buy number: 0307179317
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

overall great for kids

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: calstolegp
from Albert Lea, MN
on 03/21/2014
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy set up
We bought some downloadable games and they never showed up.....bought them again and they still never showed up and yes we were connected to the internet. Other then that the kids still love the music and camera.
This product is... Good sound quality, easy to set up, Easy to navigate, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2786979808
My Best Buy number: 2786979808
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

easy to use

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: thenabi1982
on 03/20/2014
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Screen Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Easy to use..has a decent camera...enough games to get started.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2855381969
My Best Buy number: 2855381969
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

good for little ones to start out with

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: 120976
from iowa
on 03/16/2014
What's great about it: all the learning apps
What's not so great: short battery life, trying to put in password then go back it won't
Overall the nabi is good for a beginner, just don't like the short battery life then it takes along time to charge.
This product is... Variety of apps available, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2753024715
My Best Buy number: 2753024715
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Durability

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TDBRONCOS
from nampa, id
on 03/15/2014
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Great entertainment for the kids
What's not so great: short battery life, pricey
Great for young kids for their entertainment needs. The Nabi is the most durable tablet out there that I know of.
This product is... responsive touch screen, Good sound quality, Variety of apps available, Sharp graphics, Easy to navigate, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Parent with kids, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2113560594
My Best Buy number: 2113560594
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Great tablet for beginners

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Vonneb
from Mount Vernon, ny
on 03/15/2014
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It was easy to set up. Great price
What's not so great: The camera can be a little better.
My son love his nabi. Easy to use. Sometimes I catch myself playing on it. It has a lot of learning games I was looking for for my 5 years old.
This product is... responsive touch screen, Good sound quality, easy to set up, Variety of apps available, A nice compact size, Sharp graphics, Easy to navigate, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

This was a great investment for my kids.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: promise615
from concord nc
on 03/14/2014
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use good price durable
This was a great investment for my kids. I bought 2 of them. My children have learned a lot from the Nabi.
This product is... responsive touch screen, Good sound quality, easy to set up, Variety of apps available, Easy to navigate, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2701996194
My Best Buy number: 2701996194
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

son uses it with ease

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kelvar
from Hudsonville, MI
on 03/14/2014
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy for children to play
What's not so great: having to approve everything firsdt
I would recommend to anyone who is looking for a tablet for kids
This product is... Easy to navigate
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2832373703
My Best Buy number: 2832373703
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Poor product

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: pipes1
from NY
on 03/14/2014
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Screen Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: great for kids
What's not so great: false setup
we bought 2 of these for our kids and thought they had the 8gb of storage. found out they where only 4gb and contacted the company and they told me i was wrong and that the android OS was 4gb and i was looking at it wrong.
these are great for kids as you can lock out things like the internet and such.
bad in the fact they where defective/ wrong from the manufacture. and they have very poor customer service centers.
This product is... Easy to navigate, Comfortable to hold, easy to set up
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Comfortable with technology
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Great for my kids

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Vinceak47
from El Paso, tx
on 03/14/2014
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: Needs a better case
Easy to use, all the games and apps are great, easily download more apps,
This product is... responsive touch screen, Good sound quality, easy to set up, lightning fast, Variety of apps available, A nice compact size, Sharp graphics, Easy to navigate, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2822445410
My Best Buy number: 2822445410
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 43 next>>