Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Model: NABI2NV7A
SKU: 5906964
UPC: 858119003074
nabi 2 Tablet: Designed for ages 7 to 10 but fun for everyone, the nabi 2 encourages kids to learn, play, explore and grow. Interactive learning apps, top billboard music and Treasure Box rewards for completing chores are just a few of the reasons your kids will love nabi 2. Use Mommy/Daddy mode to keep tabs on your kids' activities and surf the Web without kid-safe restrictions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.056 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(906 Reviews) 906
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 906 reviews
5 stars
450
4 stars
275
3 stars
53
2 stars
38
1 star
90
83% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
749 out of 906
)
Customer Reviews for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB
Review 1 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB
  • Featured

Best tablet for kids

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Comicspedia
from Naperville, IL
on 11/19/2012
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
What's great about it: Parental controls, variety of apps, durability, hardware inside
What's not so great: Viewing angles, no access to Google Play
The nabi 2 is easily the best tablet for kids available today. The hardware inside puts it at or above the level of most 7 inch tablets, as it features many similar components as those found within Google's Nexus 7. There is much to cover for why I love this tablet, but let's get the bad out of the way first: you will not be able to access Google Play. For some people, this is a deal-killer, but I must say that in using it, I can't say I've found the lack of access to be a problem. Amazon's app store can always be installed if you want a broader range of apps, but I've only used it to install a Reddit app and a Netflix app to use when we parents use our son's nabi after bedtime.
The nabi has its own app store, which I would consider to be a strength. The app store UI is attractive and easy to use, with apps organized by type (Entertainment, Creativity, Games, etc) and age. Apps that make it into the nabi app store have been examined by the nabi team to ensure safety for young users, which often results in the removal of clickable advertisements.
The tablet comes with an excellent chore management tool. Parents can buy currency and set up chores for their child to do. When the child completes the chore(s), they will receive a portion of currency based on the complexity of the chore, as indicated by parents. This can then be used to unlock downloadable content for their games or install full games.
The nabi 2 also comes with learning tools, including flash card games, mini lessons, math pages to complete, and more. For younger kids, dozens of books come preloaded, each with an option to be read by professional voice actors in a variety of languages. More books are available for free or purchase on nabi's app store. There are also dozens of craft guides available for parents and kids to do together based on seasons of the year or holidays. The educational potential is great with this tablet.
This tablet is built thicker than most grown up focused tablets, where thinner tablets are generally valued. By making it a bit thicker, and surrounding it with a rubber bumper, the nabi 2 is a very durable tablet that stands up well against heavy use.
I would absolutely recommend the tablet without hesitation to any parent considering a tablet for their child ages 3 - 10. This is a device I am confident in handing to my young son because I know he will enjoy it, it will not break, and he will not be able to accidentally stumble upon inappropriate content.
This product is... responsive touch screen, Good sound quality, easy to set up, lightning fast, Variety of apps available, A nice compact size, Sharp graphics, Easy to navigate, Comfortable to hold, kid friendly
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Gamer, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+685points
840out of 995found this review helpful.
Review 2 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Not user friendly

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: KrisA
on 01/09/2016
This review is fromnabi - nabi 2 - 8GB.
Sorry to say, but after reading all the reviews I bought this for my granddaughter for Christmas and ended up taking it back. It was so un-user friendly, we adults couldn't even figure it out.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2914250854
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Buy something else!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: couldabeengreat
on 12/18/2015
This review is fromnabi - nabi 2 - 8GB.
OK fellow parents...If you bought your kid a nabi Dream Tab for Christmas, do yourself a favor and take it back ASAP! My son begged for one last year. So, after trying to persuade him to get something else to no avail, I bought him one. It was supposed to be for Christmas. While I was trying to set it up so that it would be ready for Christmas morning, it wouldn't make it past the update in the beginning. I had ordered it from Best Buy so I took it back and exchanged for one that worked (supposedly.) I got this next one past the update and thought all was well but then the screen froze. ....by this point I am OVER IT and ready to be shopping for something else. My son still wouldn't budge. At this point, I had to make a rain check to give him (how disappointing!) So I snuck off to Best Buy right after Christmas (nightmare..) and exchanged once again. This third one made it to March before messing up. At this point I had to contact nabi for help. Their customer service is (was? They've filed bankruptcy and Matel is buying them out) great! They talked me through trouble shooting and when it still didn't work, they sent us another one. I never received a shipping notice so it came unexpectedly one day while we were gone and devil dog was out. Needless to say, that was all she wrote for that Nabi. I contacted Nabi and told them about it and they sent us another one!! We received it in May and my son has used it (with just a few minor hiccups) and loved it! Now here we are in December, just a little over 6 months since we received this one, and the speakers have gone out. You can still hear with ear plugs but I won't let him use them because of his ear surgery. Nabi has done away with their former customer service page on facebook so now you have to call. I called for help today and was told there was a 2+ hour wait time. Save your money and child's heartache and buy something that is going to work!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Not good

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Zatchillac
from Owensboro, Ky
on 10/27/2015
  • Top 1000 Contributor
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
This review is fromnabi - nabi 2 - 8GB.
Bought this for Christmas a couple of years ago for my daughter. Honestly this thing was pretty decent before doing any updates, but the first update I did included the Google Play store so I couldn't help myself... boy what a mistake. This tablet is barely functional with apps crashing/freezing all the time, INSANE lag, terrible battery life/very slow charging, poor screen, and just about anything else you can think of. My daughter gets pretty frustrated with it (she's now 4) and I rarely touch it because I just don't have the patience. The only reason I gave it more than 1 star is because if you lose the charger, you just fill out a form on their website and they'll ship you a brand new one for free (the charger is proprietary even though the tablet also has a micro USB port, which is only for updates if I remember correctly). In the end, if you can get this tablet without any updates then it's kind of worth buying, but honestly you'd be better off buying a better tablet and just putting a big case on it. It's very unfortunate that this thing performs so poorly because the features and UI are actually pretty nice and kid friendly, not to mention you can put it in "Mom" or "Dad" mode and have a full Android tablet. Also, if you buy this and set up your Google account on it be weary of the kids camera apps as they can actually access your pictures (I had to completely block the app).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0569039046
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Charging Cord is Horrible

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: jdog
on 10/11/2015
The only bad part is the charging cable is horrible. The prong broke off of 2 of my nabi's.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2800151302
My Best Buy number: 2800151302
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Good for kids

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Crystal
on 09/28/2015
My 3 year old got this for Christmas. Only problem is after a year we've had some problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2197140774
My Best Buy number: 2197140774
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Great for kids

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: George
on 08/24/2015
My kids love this tablet... only wish there was a wat to download more apps
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0304103063
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Not Pleased

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: mrkrs2
on 06/12/2015
Purchased this item and opened it up to setup for my kids but found it very difficult to use. We own iPads and I may be biased, however for being a "kid" focused tablet it was still very difficult to setup.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2138358831
My Best Buy number: 2138358831
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Great Item and Awesome price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Onihuawanshu
on 03/13/2015
I purchase for friend and with the last upgrades work awesome.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0540665196
My Best Buy number: 0540665196
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

waste of $$

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: duncandoggie
from Michigan
on 02/07/2015
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
This review is fromnabi - nabi 2 - 8GB.
This product doesn't work well...period. The apps don't run properly. It crashes/freezes all the time. We have had to do several factory resets. Customer service is horrible. Need I say more?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2546999237
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Great Device until the charger broke

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: MommyTechLover
on 02/02/2015
I really enjoyed this product for my son until the charger broke off three times. The third time we could not find a local store to replace the charger.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2657193050
My Best Buy number: 2657193050
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Terrible customer service.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Lynndsey
on 12/14/2014
This review is fromnabi - nabi 2 - 8GB.
This review is ONLY about the product...not Best Buy.
My son loves this tablet. However, if anything happens to your tablet a year after you purchase it, Nabi will NOT help with repairs. Once the warranty is over, they will not touch it. Even if you are willing to pay for the repair. I think this is terrible customer service and it makes me question WHY they will only stand by their product for a year. From the reviews I read MANY people are having the same issue with their Nabi and receiving NO help. Maybe that should tell them something about their product. I will NEVER buy anything affiliated with them again. I also will spread the word how their lack of customer satisfaction is evident. Thanks for nothing Nabi.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

awful -

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: NiniJones
from Billings mt
on 11/21/2014
returned to store. not at all an easy tablet, apps just didn't work
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0528660564
My Best Buy number: 0528660564
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Have had 2 for 2 yrs!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dawn
on 11/20/2014
This review is fromnabi - nabi 2 - 8GB.
I bought these for my son and daughter 2 yrs ago. They received them Christmas of '12. They have not stopped playing with them since. My son who was 8 at the time had already been through 2 tablets. One that his dad crushed and one that he shattered the screen getting mad at angry birds. So I desperately searched for a tablet that he nor his father could destroy. I researched the nabi 2 alot before I bought it. I was not disappointed. I was easily able to add movies and games to it from the play store. I will say the chargers are a little flimsy. They have a very skinny tube, that plugs into the nabi, that gets bent or broken very easily. Once it does it will no longer charge the nabi. But I can not tell you how many times they wave dropped them and they still work just fine. I also have dropped them on occasion, to demonstrate how rugged and tough it is. It is great for a child of any age who may not have the "safest" hands.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Over-rated and Over-priced...

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Marusik
from Sacramento, CA
on 11/13/2014
This review is fromnabi - nabi 2 - 8GB.
I've got the nabi 2 for my daughter on her 6th birthday, which at $200 price tag for the Disney version was not worth it. Cheaply built and bulky, not mention it's below average performance (It claims 8 GB storage but is actually half, according to it's own nabi MD app). The ARMv7 processor fails to perform as fast as it should, especially multitasking. Did I mentioned the actual screen size is only 6 inches (and not 7 as per specifications). And while it's children oriented nabi mode gives parents some comfort, it really gets kind of annoying and boring, especially for a 6 year old girl who already knows her ways around Google Play, YouTube, et al.
In other words, if you are looking for a smart choice for your child (unless is 4 years old or under), I would suggest to look around at the choices galore within the similar priced tablet segment, which in most cases will have much better performance and practical everyday use.
To finish my story, I've put the nabi 2 back in it's original package, which will make a perfect, though expensive, Xmas gift for my 3 year old son.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0929087946
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

great for my grandchild to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: nana911
on 11/01/2014
I bought for my granddaughter. IPad ismuch easier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0563342272
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

great for a child

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kycatsfan
on 10/30/2014
great item, lots of fun for the little ones. Would recommend it for any child.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0420796408
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

great pad for my grand daughter, she loves it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tilly
on 10/29/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
pad seems to be very easy for my 3 1/2 yr old granddaughter. the case is easy for her little hands i am very pleased with the quality and ease of setup.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0030349698
My Best Buy number: 0030349698
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Good value for price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: NabiUser5486
on 10/22/2014
The nabi is easy to use and well protected. It stands out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2591834460
My Best Buy number: 2591834460
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for nabi - nabi 2 - 8GB

Nabi 2

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Nick96
on 10/18/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Keeps My grandson entertained for hours if I let him haha
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2149897480
My Best Buy number: 2149897480
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 46 next>>