Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dynex - 3-Port FireWire/IEEE 1394 PCI Card

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Dynex - 3-Port FireWire/IEEE 1394 PCI Card

Model: DX-FC103
SKU: 6307392
UPC: 400060001120
Get the most out of your desktop with FireWire connectivity for DV camcorders, cameras and more.
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 24 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
3
75% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
18 out of 24
)
Customer Reviews for Dynex - 3-Port FireWire/IEEE 1394 PCI Card
Review 1 for Dynex - 3-Port FireWire/IEEE 1394 PCI Card

Works great!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MommaOf4Kids
from Manassas, VA
on 03/08/2014
What's great about it: Easy setup and worked as it should
Highly recommend...pop in your computer and it works just fine
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:No
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
My Best Buy number: 0401468102
My Best Buy number: 0401468102
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dynex - 3-Port FireWire/IEEE 1394 PCI Card

Great price and quick delivery

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kiheiman
from Chandler, AZ
on 02/21/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Very low cost
Needed a low cost firewire card that worked with Windows 7 and Windows 8. Very easy to install.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dynex - 3-Port FireWire/IEEE 1394 PCI Card

Great price, poor functionality

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: mysprice
from Seattle, WA
on 02/04/2014
What's great about it: How can you beat <$4 for Firewire card
What's not so great: Says Windows 7 compatible, but NOT
OK, I bought this on the off chance it would work OK so I could interface my digital video camera and/or Canopus analog to digital capture. The specs did say compatible with Windows 7. And, it did seem to run through the installation with no problems, but unfortunately, nothing I plug into the card gets recognized. Luckily, I can use my wife's computer, which has a native Firewire port, to do video processing, but just inconvenient!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dynex - 3-Port FireWire/IEEE 1394 PCI Card

Not for My Gateway PC

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Dogman12
from Rice Lake, WI
on 09/14/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: ?
What's not so great: ?
Best Buy sold me this card for my Gateway PC. It's for PCI, NOT PCI E. Might be a good card, but it wouldn't work with my PC.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dynex - 3-Port FireWire/IEEE 1394 PCI Card

Did not work in my machine.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: DVEInc
from Pasadena
on 08/31/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Installation
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: did not work
After installation, I could get control of my HDV cameras but I could not get any video from them, so to me it is worthless.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Build or modify your own PC:No
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dynex - 3-Port FireWire/IEEE 1394 PCI Card

This is a very helpful PCI Card.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: andynunlist
on 11/19/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The high transfer rate to my external hard drive makes this great.
Until USB 3.0 becomes more common I’m going to use FireWire/IEEE cables to connect some peripheral devices. I have a Windows® system but for connecting a printer or a hard drive FireWire works better because of the high transfer rate. This Dynex PCI Card enables me to connect up to three peripheral devices.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dynex - 3-Port FireWire/IEEE 1394 PCI Card

Works great!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: butterfly09
from St. Augustine, FL
on 03/19/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It is current technology but has the old pci plugs. Installs easily.
What's not so great: can't think of anything.
Many of the new pci cards have plugs that do not fit in the 2005 pci slot in my home-built computer. I have used it to run in 60 minutes of video. I worked flawlessly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dynex - 3-Port FireWire/IEEE 1394 PCI Card

Worked Without a Hitch

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dawdude
from Charlotte, NC
on 03/19/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very easy installation.
What's not so great: Can't really say anything bad about it.
I recently purchased a desktop computer from Best Buy to use strictly for audio recording. It was literally the lowest priced Desk Top they had with Windows 7 installed. I purchased my audio interface a few days later and had gotten a good deal on CraigsList. The only conflict that I had was that it was a FireWire interface instead of USB. I got online and found this jewel. I made sure that it would work with Windows 7 and then made the purchase. Make sure if you buy this that you check compatibility with your operating system because I think I read of this device having problems on Vista. Anyway, for me it was just, plug it in to the slot, put the cover back on the computer and it worked great from the start. W7 recognized it immediately and the first time I plugged my interface in, it worked with no issues at all. I would highly recommend this product for the price and ease of use. Like I said, just make sure you check for compatibility problems especially if you have Vista. Other than that, it's a wonderful product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dynex - 3-Port FireWire/IEEE 1394 PCI Card

Works Great For Me

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: FMB
from Lithia Springs, GA
on 01/04/2010
What's great about it: Works great with my HP Pavilion Vista 64 bit
What's not so great: Nothing
I questioned the Geek Squad tech about the reviews above stating that this card was not compatible with Vista 64 bit. He was convinced that it would and told me to bring back the card if in fact it didn't work.
Found an open slot, seated the card and it worked to perfection.
I've tested my cameras [both SD and HD] with short firewire cables and long ones [14 feet].
All OK and accounted for in the Device Manager.
If you have Vista, give it a shot.
It worked for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dynex - 3-Port FireWire/IEEE 1394 PCI Card

After all the hedachs

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Snookie
from South Jersey
on 01/04/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: This card connects my video camera in Win 7 32 and 64 bit. It works like a charm. Thank God!!! Lets do shots!
What's not so great: I'm short but the card isn't. It fits right into my dual Xeon 5160 motherboard PCI slot.
I can't stop fist pounding for this card! Even with a swollen jaw I'm happy. As you know there are countless posts on windows 7 32 and 64 bit fire wire problems. This card works for my GR-D750U camcorder. I'm using Adobe Premiere CS3 and its a relief since all my on board (motherboard) fire wire doesn't work. I can't stand the fact I couldn't get my motherboard and windows to work together but how cares. It's all good now.
Do yourself a favor and order a card online. I went into the store and picked it up right at the door. Best Buy is great! I couldn't get too mad at that!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dynex - 3-Port FireWire/IEEE 1394 PCI Card

Good Card

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Hokiebird718
from Mechanicsville, VA
on 12/19/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Works well, easy install
Card works great out of the box. Installed it in my Windows 7 x64 and without doing anything else it was ready to go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dynex - 3-Port FireWire/IEEE 1394 PCI Card

This+Vista= :[

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: BossBoys95
from California
on 08/06/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to install, No special Drivers, No Dropped Frames when capturing.
What's not so great: NOT VISTA COMPATIBLE
It did not work with my 64-bit Vista machine, but did work immediately on my 32-bit XP machine. Too bad my XP machine is SSSUUUUPPPPEEEERRR SLOWWW!!!!!!!! I would recommend it if you have XP or below. there are cheaper and better firewires out there.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dynex - 3-Port FireWire/IEEE 1394 PCI Card

Does not work with Visat

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Austin, TX
on 06/27/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to install, works great as an Firewire input device
What's not so great: is not compatible with Visa, no way to update firmware
Reasonable value for money and easy to install seemed to support the decision to add this to my PC to provide 1394/Firewire video input support. Installed without any drama and worked well to capture digital video from my camcorder. BUT..interferred with Visa to the extent that I could not either turn-off or sleep my PC from Vista (which kept restarting !) and had to revert to a "hard stop" i.e.powering-off which hard stopped Vista. Problem disappeared when the card was removed and reappeared when re-seated and rebooted.
So absolutely NOT COMPATIBLE WITH VISTA !
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dynex - 3-Port FireWire/IEEE 1394 PCI Card

Works for Vista 32 bit not the 64 bit

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: onebad90stang
from Texas
on 04/05/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to put in the computer
What's not so great: if you have the 64 bit vista dont buy
Easy to install but like I said so you dont waste your time works well for the vista 32 bit but will not work with the 64 bit version
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dynex - 3-Port FireWire/IEEE 1394 PCI Card

BAD PROBLEMS WITH VISTA

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: bkmtj
from Columbus, Georgia
on 02/19/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to install
What's not so great: Does not work properly with Wndows Vista, even though the package says Vista compatible!!!
The package says Vista compatible!!! It was a let down. Vista started up and recognized the new hardware and it installed and was ready to be used. But every firewire device i plugged into it... nothing would happened. It didn't recognize the external devices being used. I put the card on a system running XP and the card worked great. Also bought a firewire card with a different brand name in the Vista computer and the acer brand card worked perfect. The Dynex card is not compatible with Vista!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dynex - 3-Port FireWire/IEEE 1394 PCI Card

NOT Vista Compatible

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Rich369
from Oklahoma City
on 01/23/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy setup
What's not so great: Packaging states Windows Vista compatible to which it is not
I bought this card since the packing stated Vista compatible. I had a web conference to do. It took me all day to troubleshoot when tech support finally told me that the card wasn't capable. The whole afternoon's webcast was shot but somebody with a Mac saved the day.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dynex - 3-Port FireWire/IEEE 1394 PCI Card

Amazing!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lucila
from Portland OR
on 09/15/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything!! So easy to install.
What's not so great: None
For years I've been wanting to upload my minidvs and I tried many things such as little devices that do it for you. NO. DONT!! This is the way to go. Get the device, the cable, and bam! its does it all for you!!! you can rewind, pause, fast forward from the computer. GREAT purchase!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dynex - 3-Port FireWire/IEEE 1394 PCI Card

Easy Install, Bad performance

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: djblade
from OC
on 06/12/2008
What's great about it: Easy to Install, no special drivers needed
What's not so great: Bad throughput, drops firewire devices
This card is very easy to install and seemed to work at first. While having my external 250 GB hard drive and M-Audio Firewire sound card attached to this card, the sound became distorted upon large data transfers. This card simply cannot handle the throughput / processing that it should. Sometimes the firewire devices would stop responding and the card would disappear from the installed device list.
Replacing this unit with another card that contains a better chipset solved my problems.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dynex - 3-Port FireWire/IEEE 1394 PCI Card

Almost too easy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 412PCHOMichigan
from Metro Detroit, Michigan
on 05/25/2008
What's great about it: Literally Plug and Play
What's not so great: Package was a treat to open
I purchased one of these cards as a simple computer upgrade to take advantage of the dedicated bandwidth on each port so that my external hard drives could transfer more data faster. So far i couldn't be happier with the performance of this card. It does exactly what it says it should and was super easy to install with the hardest part being to simply get it out of its packaging.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dynex - 3-Port FireWire/IEEE 1394 PCI Card

Easy Install

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JDing
from Pennsylvania
on 03/15/2008
What's great about it: Easy hook up
What's not so great: -
This was an easy install into my Dell computer. Pops right in, no problem!
Too bad it dosen't include the cable!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>