Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dynex™ 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Dynex™ 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive

Model: DX-EF101
SKU: 6307436
UPC: 400060007320
Kick your computer up a notch with this versatile external floppy disk drive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.03 out of 5
4.0
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 33 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
5
82% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
27 out of 33
)
Customer Reviews for Dynex™ 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive
Review 1 for Dynex™ 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive

Did not work out of the Box

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: seant169
from Forney, Texas
on 01/16/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to plug into the USB port.
What's not so great: Floppys are out dated!
ordered this from BB so that i could back up my floppy disks. This unit looked used and kinda old. It would not be recoginized by my laptop. I could not get my files backed up off of my floppys so i just gave up.
I would try this unit again.
I would backup my files with a cd or dvd instead.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dynex™ 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive

HOT TRASH!!!!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: al4emil
from Detroit,MI
on 04/18/2009
What's great about it: It plugs in :(
What's not so great: Haven't been able to use the product since the day of purchase!!!!!
I am very upset, unable to use the product & tried to speak with Manufacture and Retail company still unresolved!!! Waste of Money!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dynex™ 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive

Dynex DX-EF101

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: imsteve
from Okalhoma City, Ok
on 12/06/2008
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Does not work with Vista OS
Will not work with Vista OS. Appears to be properly installed and and indicates working properly it wants to reformat every floppy disk I tried and wont let me when I try to reformat. Digging further into system an Error Code 47 is found to be associated with this product.
Dynex is no help. Update for Drivers only goes up to XP OS, their FAQ is useless and you get no response for assistance.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dynex™ 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive

Won't work with my new Vista

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: redgarnet54
from Seminole, FL
on 10/17/2008
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Potential to read floppy disk
What's not so great: Doesn't recognize Vista; short cord
Software will not recognize Vista. Dynex hotline rep. told me to exchange it at the store because the unit may be faulty. Very disappointed that this new product will have to go back to the store. I know it's either the unit itself or the disk as my computer is new and working properly. Even a 1 star rating is too high for this one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dynex™ 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive

Poor

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Jonno
on 06/12/2008
What's great about it: Portable, no extra power needed
What's not so great: Very expensive
The 40 $ price tag is a MAJOR drawback. Laptop doesn't see it in the boot list, either for USB device, or Floppy device.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dynex™ 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive

Not for Windows Vista

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: DBunBun
on 01/06/2008
What's great about it: Works great for previous versions of Windows
What's not so great: No Drivers for Windows Vista
We purchased this disc drive when we had Windows XP and it worked great. Now that we have Windows Vista, we can't use it anymore. The software that came with it does not support Vista and when we go to the manufacturers website, it says it is compatible with Vista, but when you download drivers from the site, you get drivers for every version EXCEPT Vista. Not goooood.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dynex™ 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive

buy it

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: stryder
on 10/05/2007
What's great about it: good price point, usb interface, dos compatable
What's not so great: short usb cable hardwired into the unit and the plastic feels cheap.
plastic is cheap that surrounds the unit. price may be high for some people but its old technology so thats why you pay the price...usb which is nice but the cable hardwired into it is just too short.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dynex™ 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive

works fine for my use.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: dwbjr
from circle pines, mn
on 10/25/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: It is not great as the useage is on obsoltete discs.
What's not so great: Nothing
Works fine for my use. I do not use it on a regular basis and have had no problems with the external floppy drive. On ease of installation, it is the same as most other extrenal drives.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dynex™ 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive

Good product.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: WRBUX
from Reno
on 01/10/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It worked as advertised.
Worked with disks that were archived for over ten years. Tested data recovery with a half-height in a desk top and it worked just as well. Thankfull I could find this so I can move the data I want to keep to a USB backup drive and throw away all the 3.5" disk boxed up in the garage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dynex™ 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive

Great plug and play

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: wrightrd2
from Mechanicsburg, PA
on 01/09/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use
Since my computer has no 3 1/2 inch drive, I now have access to my collection of "ancient" disks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dynex™ 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive

Good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Genref
on 10/08/2008
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I needed a floppy drive and went with this. I found it was easy to install, it had no problems recognizing my winxp. I think this device is a bit too expensive for its use, but it is very easy to use and if you need to use a floppy drive I recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dynex™ 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive

Works good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Maui1
on 08/01/2008
What's great about it: Plug-n-play install. Works good. Reasonable price.
What's not so great: short usb cord
I just purchased mine today & it was plug & play with OS Vista Home Premium. The install took less than 1 minute for Vista to recognize & install the drivers. The cord is very short but other than that, it's a good product. Even though it is a shelf item for them, you may want to call before going out as they only keep 1, maybe 2 in stock since it's not a highly sought after item.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dynex™ 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive

Easy to use

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: PB07
on 09/18/2007
Needed an external floppy drive for my laptop. Plugs right into USB. Easy to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dynex™ 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive

Great Floppy Drive

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MrsCapt19a
from Citrus Springs, FL
on 09/14/2007
This is a great product. Needed a Floppy Drive for my new computer, that has Vista operating system. Salesperson recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dynex™ 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive

Great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MetalPhoenix
from Tampa, FL
on 09/13/2007
It works great, except for one time when it jammed up, but for the price it is great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dynex™ 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive

Found one that worked!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lillibug1
from Morristown, N.J.
on 12/21/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease of use
What's not so great: Cord should be about 6" longer
Had several drives that didn't work with my Windows 7 system, even though they claimed they would. Plugged this baby in, instant recognition, worked fine. Answered my needs! Don't get a mysterious brand X drive with no name: it probably won't work!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dynex™ 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive

Simple installation, excellent performance.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: glassjoe333
from Spring House, PA
on 12/03/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease of hook up/CPU recognition/smooth performance
What's not so great: Nothing I can determine.
I have bought a number of these units (for myself, boss, other coworkers) for an industrial, research setting. A number of laboratory instruments still use older CPUs that do not have typical USB connections to allow the use of Flash Drives/memory sticks; these older instruments only use the 3.5" floppy for data transfer. However, scientists' desk computers were many times upgraded and no longer have floppy disc drives.
Enter this product...it is a perfect "bridge" that solves this problem.
If any one has any need to retrieve, transfer, a.s.f. information from a 3.5" floppy to their newer computer, you will not be disappointed!
The item is a breeze to hook up (no driver installation required) and it operates perfectly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dynex™ 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive

Great for those of that have old floppy disks

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TommieG
from New Jersey
on 10/03/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Just plug it into the USB and Go
What's not so great: Absolutely nothing!
I found this so easy to use, just plug it into a USB port, and go. For anyone who needs to transfer all those old 3 1/2 floppies to a hard rive or a CD disk, this is well worth the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dynex™ 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive

Life Saver for looking at Floppies

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Buck0009
from Los Angeles, CA
on 09/13/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast, ready to go out of the package - no set-up or settings - just go
What's not so great: Nothing - I think a good price too
Simply, this was a life saver - I unexpectedly lost my old faithful desktop and replaced with a laptop. I have a few dozen 1.44 floppies collected since the mid ninties - never got around to putting them on on a CD or hard drive.
Found the Dynex on the net and bought it - It is truly a USB plug in ! Worked instantly with no driver hassle or anything - I have run 50 - 60 floppies through it, many from the mid 90'S and never a problem. Opens them up in seconds!
Note I am talking Windows 7 here - many of the Net products are XP and Vista, but not Windows 7 - I actually purchased one supposedly for a "7", it did not work and I wasted a week until I returned it and bought the real thing, this Dynex.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dynex™ 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive

Dynex® 3.5" External USB Floppy Disk Drive

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bartley
from Baltimore
on 04/19/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Handy for the old floppies laying around in shoe box.
What's not so great: Not used very often.
Great devise to have around, newer computers do not come with Floppy drives any more and for those like me have shoe box full of floppy disc's from years ago and want to see or install some of that old stuff, this is perfect! Problem after installing all that old stuff there is no more need for the Floppy drive, but is very small for storage for the future when you wish you still had one.
Note some of those programs also wont work on the new computers, like the old word pad is not compatable with the new windows 7.
But in my mind well worth having!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>