Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Nikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Model: 26345
SKU: 6498656
UPC: 018208263455
Snap vibrant photos with ease using this Nikon Coolpix L610 digital camera, which features a 16.0-megapixel CMOS image sensor for sharp detail and easy auto mode to optimize shots based on your surroundings. Memory card sold separately.
Average Customer Rating:
4.115 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(183 Reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 183 reviews
5 stars
81
4 stars
70
3 stars
11
2 stars
14
1 star
7
81% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
149 out of 183
)
Customer Reviews for Nikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black
Review 1 for Nikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Good over all camera for summer travel

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: viczar
from San Diego, CA
on 06/27/2014
Ease to Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good value + uses AA batteries.
What's not so great: Battery door kind of fragil.
This camera is packed with all the features need to shoot both video and still for a summer vacation or weekend getaway.
What convinced me about this camera, apart from the 16 megapixels, was its capacity to use rechargeable AA batteries.
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2839231969
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Failed Twice on Important Trips

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: banderse
from Chapel Hill NY
on 02/24/2014
What's great about it: easy to use; great pictures
What's not so great: unreliable; battery hog
Initially excited about this camera - took great pictures and
was easy to use.. but the lens locked up during an overseas
trip 2mos after purchase, along with complete electrical
failure. Had to pay to return it for service under warranty -
got it back, and it intermittently failed again. Foolishly
took it on another trip - failed again and then complained
about battery exhausted even with 3 different sets of new batteries.
Had to return it again for repair - but will never trust it (nor take
it) on another trip again. Have had NIkon SLR's since forever -
but have no confidence in reliability of their digitals after this.
About me... Photo enthusiast
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Lots of features

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RetiredUSAF73
from Grants Pass Oregon
on 10/11/2013
This review is fromNikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Red.
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Good value for money
What's not so great: Roughness in lens travel
When I first received the camera and started using it, I wasn't sure I would keep it because when you turn it on and the lens travels out, there is a roughness within the travel. I didn't think it was normal, but continued to check it out. After checking with a relative that bought the same camera I found the same feel in there's as mine. So I decided to keep it and hope for the best. It takes fantastic pictures and the features seem endless. Takes movies in 1080p HD which is outstanding. Overall except for the one problem with the lens (which may not be a problem at all) I love the camera. I really like the use of double A batteries also. I use Lithium and have no problem with length of time between changes. I would recommend using Lithium batteries.
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

great camera

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: chilijohn
from owasso, ok
on 10/11/2013
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: pictures sharp, great price
What's not so great: nothing
best camera that I've used. I take a lot of pictures not only of the grandkids, but sports - soccer games - very sharp
About me... Love shooting sports, Parent with kids, Pro photographer
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2356339926
My Best Buy number: 2356339926
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Great Camera

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Gingers
from New Jersey
on 10/11/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use
I bought this as a gift for my grandparents and they love it. They've never owned a digital camera before and find it very easy to use.
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2026382771
My Best Buy number: 2026382771
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Great point and shoot.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GJMichigan
from Traverse City Mi
on 10/06/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
This review is fromNikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Red.
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great price, easy to use.
What's not so great: Focus can be slow with telephoto
Took this camera on a trip to Europe, fit well into a handbag. So easy to use even my spouse could use it.
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2214740314
My Best Buy number: 2214740314
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Good camera for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: KimberlyGlavan
from Carmel, IN
on 10/05/2013
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: easy to use
What's not so great: little bit large
I have used it and like the ease of use. My children and husband have used it , too and really like the photos.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1050705457
My Best Buy number: 1050705457
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

takes great pictures

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: djbrab
from jonesboro, ar
on 09/30/2013
This review is fromNikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Red.
What's great about it: quick response, just point and shoot
We took this camera on vacation and it was wonderful. Fit nicely into a pocket and was ready in seconds.
About me... Love capturing special occasions, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Easy to use.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: visegrips
from Daytona Beach Fl
on 09/05/2013
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Compact but large enough to use if you have large hands.
What's not so great: Haven't found anything.
This is the first camera of this type that I have owned. It combines the SLR qualities w/ a size that let's me take it w/ constantly.
About me... Love capturing special occasions, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2879057413
My Best Buy number: 2879057413
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Lens Problem

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: OONando
from Scottsdale
on 09/03/2013
Ease to Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: High resolution
What's not so great: Needs lot of batteries, blurry pictures, not good for night
This camera stopped working within 1 month of me using it. I hadn't downloaded all the pics from it and lost all of them. It experienced some sort a lens issue/error. Pictures mostly came out blurry, night pictures are terrible, eats up the battery like crazy. For my first Nikkon Coolpix purchase I couldnt be more disapointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Great Camera

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BeckyBecky123
from Rochester, NY
on 08/28/2013
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: uses double A batteries
I enjoy using this camera. It is great and takes very nice pictures
About me... Love shooting sports, Video enthusiast, Love capturing special occasions, Photo enthusiast, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2812751026
My Best Buy number: 2812751026
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Great as gift for a young adult.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: missqueentmr
from Taunton, MA
on 08/24/2013
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The easy use and and great price.
What's not so great: How to look at pictures that has been taken.
I share this camra with my daugter. She loves it and finds it very easy to use, as do I. My only complant is, it is not easy to figure out how to view the pictures you have taken.
About me... Parent with kids, Love capturing special occasions, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0741206334
My Best Buy number: 0741206334
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

I've taken the best photos of my life.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GingerQueen
from Florence, SC
on 08/23/2013
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Lacks very little
What's not so great: Continuous shots only in Auto Mode
Overall, this camera is awesome. Once you learn to use it, and all the settings, it will be a piece of cake! No need to spend all the money for a "super great" (costly) camera and special lenses. Learn to use THIS camera, and you will have no need for another. I speak as someone who has enjoyed photography my whole 41 years. This camera can do almost anything you need it to do.
BUT...carry extra batteries. It does like to drain batteries. Biggest drawback.
About me... Love shooting sports, Love capturing special occasions, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Good camera

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: smiles101
from NC
on 08/22/2013
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Ease to Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture Quality
What's not so great: Ease of use
Better quality than most, but not as easy to use as the point and click cameras. If you just want to point and snap, this may not be the camera for you. If settings aren't correct, pictures are blurry. Burns through batteries extremely fast.
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 393926635
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

if only it didn't eat batteries for breakfast

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: queenofzen
from palo alto, ca
on 08/19/2013
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: small and easy to use
What's not so great: eats batteries like i eat chocolate
everything i needed and wanted in a camera for my trip to some national parks, except for having to worry about the batteries during the course of the day.
About me... casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Great for AA Battery Camera

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: whymenot
from san antonio
on 08/18/2013
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Uses AA Lithium batteries so no recharging needed just carry two AA's with you.
What's not so great: Must use Lithium AA size batteries that are $3 each and it takes two.
Nikor lens with 11 groups in a point and shoot camera under $200-WOW!
Quick to turn on.
Fast focus.
Good zoom strength.
Good Megapizel size for enlargements.
If you need a compact point and shoot with strong zoom without need of electricity to recharge just drop in two AA Lithium batteries - this is your camera. MUST USE LITHIUM AA. Alkaline AA will probably last less than a day, but can be used just need to carry alot more with you.
About me... Video enthusiast, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0761571764
My Best Buy number: 0761571764
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Nice camera, good pictures!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PopeyetheSailorMan
from Honolulu
on 08/17/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Nothing
Good camera, easy to use. A step above an average point & shoot camera.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2022545101
My Best Buy number: 2022545101
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Clear crisp pictures...but

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Maurice3
from Saint Louis
on 08/16/2013
Ease to Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
What's great about it: clear awesome pictures
What's not so great: Battery life
Great clear pictures, easy to use, battery life is horrible. I went on a 5 day trip and used a dozen AA batteries.
About me... Love shooting sports, Parent with kids, Love capturing special occasions, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0769467908
My Best Buy number: 0769467908
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

great camera for beginners

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tiger311fan0711
from Lake Charles, LA
on 08/16/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
This review is fromNikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Red.
Ease to Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to use, great pictures, very portable
What's not so great: battery life is terrible, invest in lithium or rechargeable batteries
Great first camera and I love the picture quality. Once I get a better battery, it'll be one of the best things I own.
About me... Love capturing special occasions, casual user
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0755542503
My Best Buy number: 0755542503
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nikon - Coolpix L610 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Great camera, good battery life, easy to use!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: capecameraguy
from Boston
on 08/14/2013
What's great about it: Great picture quality, easy to access numerous shooting modes, feels secure in hand (nice grip), great battery life*
What's not so great: Flash seems a little slow to reload. Eats regular alkalide batteries.
I wanted a backup camera to my Nikon D5100...something to take on the go that would easily fit in a pocket. I bought this camera because the feel in my hand was perfect, it used AA batteries, and the position of the flash was just right. It's sister camera, by another great manufacturer, had the flash pop up where your left index finger would usually be positioned, along with a flat front, with no right side grip. When I tried the other camera first before buying the Nikon, I almost dropped it several times.....just not a good grip. Regarding the batteries, you "must" use brand name Ultimate Lithium, or use the rechargable ones. First set of batteries yielded 721 pictures with no video and maybe twenty-five flash pictures. I typically use an HD camcorder for video. The Nikon L160 has an easily accessible video button for shooting video.
Regarding picture taking, the numerous choices of easily accessible shooting modes is impressive. I like the sports mode from shooting several quick shots in a row of a moving subject. Great feature for a point and shoot camera.
One negative for me is the camera does not have a view finder to look through at your subject. When shooting in the sun, I can't always see the subject because of the glare off the screen. It seems that view finders on point and shoot cameras are becoming extinct. You'll need to go up to the DSLR's to get one. This is a nice little camera for the money...and it's a Nikon! Have fun with it!
About me... Love shooting sports, Parent with kids, Love capturing special occasions, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>