Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP - Photosmart 6520 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

HP - Photosmart 6520 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

Model: 6520
SKU: 6541303
UPC: 886112774059
Print, scan and copy documents and photos with this HP Photosmart 6520 wireless all-in-one printer that features a 3.5" CGD touch-screen display to simplify operation. The built-in wireless networking enables easy connectivity.
Average Customer Rating:
4.464 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(2378 Reviews) 2378
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 2,378 reviews
5 stars
1,418
4 stars
776
3 stars
99
2 stars
39
1 star
46
93% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
2,222 out of 2,378
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
69 Questions | 147 Answers
Customer Reviews for HP - Photosmart 6520 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black
Review 1 for HP - Photosmart 6520 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

Great for home use (with Mac/iPhone)

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: QuodEratDemonstrandum
from New York
on 12/17/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Everything
I only used this printer with Macs and iPhones. Don't know about PCs.
I don't print big jobs very often, but when I have to print I want minimal hassle and good quality. Same about scanning. This printer fits the bill. In addition, I can print from my iPhone without having to use apps or installing extra software on the computer.
1. Setup. The beauty is that there is NO SETUP. I turned it on, entered the wifi password, and the printer showed up in Safari on my Mac under the Bonjour bookmarks. The printer's browser interface is self-explanatory.
2. Software. You don't need to install the software form the CD on the Mac, as it talks the same language as the Mac. That's very important as I want to keep the clutter on my computer to a minimum. So you can print from the Mac without installing any software. When you first scan (using the scanning menu in System Preferences or Image capture), you will be prompted to download software from Apple. You can also scan from the web interface, but that doesn't work well (can only scan to JPEGs, scanning to PDFs does not work properly). Now, if you want to use the HP printing/scanning software rather than Apple's or HP's browser interface, you can safely install the software form the CD. It is minimal, it doesn't come with the bloatware that my old HP (similar) printer came with.
3.1 Printing photos. I just printed 6x4 50 Christmas good quality Christmas pictures and it consumed 70% of the color cartridges. I think that's acceptable.
3.2 Printing docs. I like the double-sided option.
4. AirPrint (print from the iPhone without using apps). It works fine, as advertised. The computer is off, it's all between my iPhone and the printer.
5. Printing speed. Slow, but not bad. OK for home, maybe for a small business too. Setting quality to fast draft helps.
6. Scanning works fine. I did not measure it but it took me maybe 12 hours to scan several drawers full of old documents. It's not just the scanning speed that matters. but the entire workflow: lift lid, place document, hit "scan" button on computer, save document when done. I am pretty happy with it.
About me... Demand high print quality, want minimal hassle, often print from iphone, do not want clutter on computer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP - Photosmart 6520 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

Great printer for both documents & photos

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gopher8
from Shakopee, MN
on 10/23/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy set-up, wireless, air print
What's not so great: Nothing so far
I was attempting to buy the HP 6510 but the store was having trouble getting it for me so went with the newer model (6520) instead. Set-up couldn't have been easier, maybe took 10-15 minutes total and it's been simple to use every time. I printed a photo, compared it to one I had professionally done and it looked just as good. I would definitely recommend this printer!
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP - Photosmart 6520 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

Disappointing HP Product

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ExpertShopper
from Aurora, IL
on 01/05/2013
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Easy set up and cartridge installation, vibrant colors on photos, speed of printing
What's not so great: quality and consistency of printing results, loud printing, huge amount of ink consumption
This printer was very easy to install. It almost installed itself. When it worked the colors were very vibrant and clear. Great for the few photos that printed correctly. The printer is loud but I was willing to leave with it.
The deal breaker is the fact that the consistency of the print quality was horrible. We don't print a lot however when we do the printer could only successfully print a couple of jobs. The the remaining prints would be streaked, blurry and have smudged ink spots. The only way to correct was to clean the print head and print cartridges the realign the printer. This had to be done after every 2-3 print jobs.
This printer also used a lot of ink but worse of all we had to replace all the ink cartridges when one cartridge ran low. If not, the printer would "swap" colors.
I've returned the product.
About me... Demand high print quality, Infrequent user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
+20points
22out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP - Photosmart 6520 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

Great all in one printer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Wiesiu2012
from Temperance, MI
on 10/26/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, great photo and document print quality, very good scanner
What's not so great: Nothing so far
This is a great all-in-one printer. The wi-fi setup was fast and easy. The photo and document print quality is great. The scan quality is also great for this all-in-one. I am very happy with my purchase.
About me... Demand high print quality, Frequent user, Budget Conscious, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP - Photosmart 6520 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

The HP 6520 has very nice lines.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Ironmaster
from Jim Thorpe, PA
on 12/17/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: It is easy to connect to a computer.
What's not so great: It uses great amounts of ink.
The HP 6520 is the best looking printer I have seen. However, the ink runs dry, very quickly, and the levels shown on the indicator are incorrect. It will substitute print in other colors, without notice. Finally, It seems like the only way to acquire the intended colors is to replace all 4 of the inkjet cartridges at the same time, every time one runs out.
About me... Frequent user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Photo printing
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP - Photosmart 6520 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

Economic Versatility

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NYGrammy
from NYGrammy
on 12/07/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Multi-function fax/printer/scanner w/photo-print. Easily prints from anywhere/any device in range.
What's not so great: Jams if paper not loaded just so or not HP.
Found the most versatile/economical solution for my technically-challenged needs. I wanted a device that the ink cartridges were readily available in store instead of on-line only as with my old printer. I also wanted a unit that could easily adapt to the multiple devices we use....cell/smart phones, laptops, and pads. The touch screen pad guides you easily through any task step-by-step, and often includes visual prompts. I have already used it to scan documents/photos to send to in emails. I have printed photos...including iron-on fabric photos. They were nice quality. I use it almost daily to print coupons from my emails, internet recipes and Word documents. HP has many free programs, including a nice/user-friendly photo-editing processing similar to those found at drug or department stores. I did have to contact HP to disable a function that sent coupons and HP document/updates to my printer whenever my printer was left on. Their free product support team is very helpful with any questions or issues.
About me... Frequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2844208208
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP - Photosmart 6520 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

Outstanding printer with great features!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JamesKC
from Kansas City
on 11/19/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy wi-fi setup, iOS printing is ridiculously simple
What's not so great: Nothing
Awesome printer! Set it up in 5 minutes. Didn't even hook it up to my laptop. Wi-fi connection was simple, worked immediately, and never drops the connection. The iOS AirPrint is amazing. I put the printer in the kitchen, and now I print photos of my kids directly from phone all the time. So simple. Photo quality is great. The HP app store is really cool too. My kids love getting the comics every morning. You can set it up to print each morning at a certain time. Overall, great printer. I'd buy it again.
About me... Demand high print quality, Frequent user, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Photo printing
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP - Photosmart 6520 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

Great Little Printer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PineWarbler
from Western Carolina
on 12/08/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good Quality Photos, Nice Desktop Size
What's not so great: Nothing so far
I had to replace my little hp F4180 All In One, which was a perfect little printer for my purposes. It just pooped out. They say printers only last about 3 years, so I should be happy mine lasted a bit longer than that. I just used it at home for printing off the internet or printing letters or sometimes photos and sometimes some scanning. This one is a little larger, but still a reasonable desk-top size, and it looks great--not like a monstrosity like some of them. It has been easy to work with so far. This review page did not give the option to select use BOTH for photos and documents, so I selected documents, but I've printed some 4x6 photos with free photo paper that came with the hp ink purchase, and the quality was surprisingly good! It doesn't give the resolution option (don't know why this is), but the photos I printed from my little digital camera (nothing fancy) came out great. Scanning is easy. Other printing like a webpage or a document is fine. It will also printed two-sided, which works great, and I use it a lot to save paper. It's pretty quick, too. It is supposed to consume less ink, so I hope that will turn out to be the case. We all are aware how expensive hp ink has been in the past. Also, you can see your ink levels by opening "Devices and Printers" then opening the "hp Assistant." Finding out my ink levels on my F4180 was such a hassle, and now it's easy. About the hookup, I had trouble getting the wireless connection working, so I just plugged in the cord and it worked immediately. If you're a techie, which I am not, you could probably have it up and running wirelessly in nothing flat. This printer does not have a document feeder, so if that's important to you, look for something else. The ink cartridges are easy to change. The colors can be changed out separately, so if you run out of blue or red, for example, just switch out the one that runs out. I'm sure this printer does more than I know it does, too, but it has been great for what I use it for so far. I hope this review helps you readers; I almost always read reviews before I buy something if they are available. I am budget conscious, yes, but more descriptively, VALUE conscious.
About me... Frequent user, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP - Photosmart 6520 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

Bad experience

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: notanovice
from Gilbert, AZ
on 11/10/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Print quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: easy to set up wi fi
What's not so great: bad photo printing
Had it two days and printed the first photo which came out fine. Then printed the second photo right after that and got nothing but big globs of ink all over the photo paper! What a mess. So I tried to run the diagnostics and the text would not print. Took it back to store and got a Canon printer instead which is beautiful, LOVE it !
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP - Photosmart 6520 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

Doing well the first month

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: stevecr
from Omaha
on 11/03/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, fairly fast printing
What's not so great: Slow pre-print warmup, as with all inkjets perhaps.
I got this as the only available warranty replacement for its predecessor the 6510, which started printing messes within a couple months. This model design I like because of a low profile height and front paper feeds, which allow use inside a cabinet. I have a roll-out shelf and can roll it out of the cabinet to lift the scanner lid. The print quality if good, and pages print in just a second or so, once the printer finishes its preparatory workout. The black ink on its predecessor seemed to run out quickly; I haven't empttied a tank yet on this one. The wifi connection works well - how handy is that feature?! The scanner seems to work well.. The input paper tray has a drop-down front so you can slide paper in without removing the tray. The touch-screen controls seem reasonably logical and responsive. I just hope it can perform for 5-10 years like a good printer should. I bought extended coverage because its predecessor had failed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP - Photosmart 6520 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

EXCELLENT INKJET PRINTER AT FAMOUS BEST BUY PRICE

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GREAT2BHERE
from BROOKLYN, NEW YORK
on 03/03/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: REASONABLE SIZE FOR SUCH QUALITY FEATURES & PRINTING
What's not so great: ACTUALLY, THIS INKJET PRINTER MODEL IS GOOD ENOUGH
I just may follow-up with an updated review in the future, as I've thus far not had sufficient time to give this printer opportunities to exhibit all it can probably do. I can assert, though, it's evidently an excellent inkjet printer, loaded with great features, at a famous, very reasonable "Best Buy" price, along with superb "BBY" service. Moreover, while a laser printer is surely much more expensive yet yields crisper & cleaner image prints, this HP all-in-one inkjet printer functions remarkably well. If anyone is in my position, requiring a somewhat conveniently-sized wireless printing device, due to already possessing too much equipment in too little space, this serves to fit. All the same, it's an overall superb choice for nearly any printing need.
About me... Demand high print quality, Budget Conscious, Infrequent user, Photo enthusiast, personal/professional requirements, high-quality/ durability conscious, space efficient requirements
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2561306850
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP - Photosmart 6520 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

I like it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: helianthus
from minnesota
on 02/16/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: no problems
I took the step of purchasing this printer because previously I had fallen for the cheap printer/expensive ink ploy that we all know so well. Tired of paying $30 for a color cartridge, and then being forced to throw half the ink away when the black portion was gone, I looked for a printer that would do things differently. I asked the salesperson point blank: which company is known for its low-priced ink? Answer: HP. I looked at the model below this printer in price, but the salesperson was not able to easily demonstrate the cruder-looking touch screen, so I rejected that model, and went to this one on sale, which, indeed, is easy to understand, I was steeled for all sorts of problems with setup, having read other reviews, but there were no problems at all. The wireless works easily. I like how I don't have to carry the laptop into the office to print. I'm only a light user, though, so I can't say how durable it is yet. Yesterday the printer spit out a printed document before I even realized it was done warming up. To me it's fast, much faster than my old all-in-one. The scanner actually works, too. And you have the option of telling it to only use black ink for copies. And the ink cartidges--yellow, blue, magenta, and black can be separately replaced when they are actually empty and do cost less than I was used to. I do not use it for photo printing, so cannot speak to that. Looks good on the desk. I like the paper drawer it has. So far so good.
About me... Budget Conscious, Infrequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP - Photosmart 6520 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

Great printer for a student

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tkdgirl
from Gilford, NH
on 11/19/2012
What's great about it: Great price, very easy to set up
I am a student and this printer meets my needs. It wasn't the printer I had originally chosen, but I'm really happy I ended up with it. Overall, I am very happy with it.
About me... Frequent user, Budget Conscious, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP - Photosmart 6520 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

Easy to setup.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: LeeJerry
from San Francisco
on 11/02/2012
What's great about it: Good price.
Easy to setup. I use it occasionally to print print pictures and sometimes documents. Ok for small print jobs.
About me... Budget Conscious, Infrequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Photo printing
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP - Photosmart 6520 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

It eats Cartridges. Wont print in pure Black.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: athenasculptress
from VA
on 01/03/2013
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: I HAD to buy this according to Best Buy to set up Apple wireless printing with iPad.
What's not so great: You will be replacing cartridges within 2-3 months. Not only that, it wont print in Black alone (comes out Gray).
Horrible little printer because it eats Cartridges for breakfast. You will be replacing them every 2-3 months. It's ingenious how they get more of your money because you have to have the color cartridges to print in Black. If you don't have any color left, it will print in Gray. I had to buy this one according to Best Buy rep. in order to setup my iPad for wireless printing. A Money Drain.
About me... small business owner, Frequent user, artist
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP - Photosmart 6520 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

i'm sure it works great, but it's going back

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: philakacheena
from here
on 11/06/2012
What's not so great: efax-- you have to pay a monthly charge
When I bought this i was thinking it an all-in-one with great reviews. The guy in the store didn't have any knowledge of the wireless faxing, and i just assumed it was another wonder of the internet. however, after i bought it i found out you have to create an acct online they give you a fax number, and you have to pay a monthly fee. we don't do THAT many faxes. I just wanted to spare myself from going to the store every so often. It's going back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP - Photosmart 6520 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

Printer HP6520 is an Ok printer

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: StanX2
from Phoenix, AZ
on 09/07/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Speed, WIFI and Screen
What's not so great: Paper Jams
Printer HP6520
I enjoy the wireless ability after troubleshooting for several hours to trace down why my printer took so long to print. The physical setup was simple; however following the instructions on the installation disc was a bit confusing because some of the windows displays on the HP 6520 printer were not the same as mentioned on the instruction disc. Network wireless is just not as simple as it is made out to be. Some say just 20 minutes but really took at least an hour. For those who are not tech savvy, it would be best to have an experienced computer person alongside of you to answer the question where do I go from this point to that point. The touch panel is nice and displays colorful apps, more about this later.
Paper Jams
I now see why so many purchasers of this printer have the continuing problems of paper jams. The sheet pickup from the paper tray is designed to jam. I noticed that whenever I tried to add more paper to the paper tray, and the paper tray was not completely empty, the printer would jam. Looking into the paper tray I could see that the printer partially feeds a new paper sheet on to the rollers after each job is completed. When adding new paper to the tray, this partially fed paper then jams the printer by clumping up as the newly filled paper tray is pushed back into position. The clumped sheet has to be removed before the next printing job can start. On my previous HP C6820 printer, adding paper to a partially filled paper tray was no problem; however on this HP 6520, the design causes an immediate paper jam. The size of the paper tray holder only allows for about 50 sheets of paper which causes you to constantly fill the tray with more paper and, most likely, in the middle of a printing job. The design of the paper tray does not allow you to visually check how much paper is left in the tray without opening the tray, and thus causing another paper jam—pure frustration.
Minor Annoyances
The on/off switch is a small micro bar just above the written symbol for on/off. Unless you are looking for it you cannot see it. Most printers have a larger and lighted on/off switch.
Also the lid edges to the scanner are so narrow, that sometimes when trying to lift the lid to scan you lift the top part of the printer and expose the inner workings and ink cartridges. Just a quarter of an inch more plastic around the edges would have prevented this problem.
Another printer/sheet problem is that sometimes the printer will grab two or three sheets together in a lump and try to print on the top sheet only. If the print is successful all you can do is throw the other wasted sheets away. Do not try and put them back into the sheet holding tray, this will only cause another paper jam.
Support
My old HP printer after 5 years started crashing and paper jammed to a point I could not use it after a gear wheel broke; maybe a 20 cent part. I webbed HP printer support here in Phoenix and went down to the address listed on their web site only to find that they were not at the listed place any more. When I called the listed phone number on the web site the person said that they get many calls concerning HP, however they are not an HP office. I called a few other printer repair shops and they told me just to throw the HP printer in the trashcan and buy another printer.
Web Connect Apps
Read the fine print carefully before activating the apps. Yes, this printer has apps. Many of the apps automatically print 4 to 6 pages of information each week without your permission. What a waste of paper and valuable ink.
Cartridges
Probably the worst designed replaceable cartridges to date. Each slim ink cartridge, #564, has a large orange lever that has to be twisted off the cartridge to expose the ink before being placed into the printer. A couple of the levers in my first set of four cartridges were very difficult to twist off; one I thought I wasn’t going to get off and another cartridge almost flew out of my hand once the tab did come off. I recommend that when you are adding replaceable cartridges to your printer open each cartridge separately over the kitchen sink and then walk your open cartridge with a paper towel under it to the printer and install it. This will prevent you from having the ink cartridge drop or fly out of your hand and land on the floor and permanently stain the floor. The amount of force required to force the orange lever off the cartridge is ridiculous. All my previous ink cartridges had a simple lift off foil tab to expose the ink.
Copying/Scanning
This printer copies each sheet of paper very fast, as least twice as fast as my older HP C6820. Printing from the computer is also faster and colors are good.
Have not tried the scanning into the computer yet.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2094175947
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP - Photosmart 6520 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

The perfect printer/scanner for my small space

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Momhudson
from Ocala, FL
on 12/05/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, great price and was recommended by Apple.. I like being able to print pictures for my granddaughter .
What's not so great: Haven't got a complaint so far.
I love the printer. Scans well for me. Can copy and fax if I want. I would recommend it to someone looking for a printer to do more than just documents.
About me... Demand high print quality, Frequent user, Budget Conscious, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Photo printing
My Best Buy number: 2622322959
My Best Buy number: 2622322959
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP - Photosmart 6520 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

I will never buy HP again

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: NoMoreHP
from Denver, CO
on 08/30/2014
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: It was great while it worked...
What's not so great: Stopped working when the warranty expired
This is the second HP 65XX that stopped printing in black soon after the warranty was up. The first one stopped after about 9 months. I hadn't registered the warranty (my fault, I know) so HP would not honor the warranty because the printer had been manufactured more that a year earlier. Since I bought all new print cartridges while troubleshooting, I bought another printer so that I could use the new cartridges. This one worked great for about a year but started doing the same thing. To its credit, this one did last about 15 months. But now I have another printer that doesn't work and 4 new cartridges that I can't use. I am just going to eat the cost and buy another brand. HP used to make quality printers. Our old all-in-one lasted almost 10 years. I even refilled my own ink cartridges and never had a single problem. These new ones, even with only brand new HP cartridges, seem to be designed to self-destruct after one year so that you are forced to buy another one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP - Photosmart 6520 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

Pleasantly Surprised

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gsthunder
from New Hampshire
on 05/24/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price/Features/Speed
What's not so great: Setup Is A Pain
My previous printer died in mid project on me so I had to grab a printer fast and finish up. That meant I had no time to research and had to go with the recommendation of the Best Buy employee I dealt with. He did not hesitate after I told him my needs and wants to head right for this printer.
I have always used Epson printers in the past but was tired of the crazy ink prices and short lived cartridges so when the guy showed me the HP printer I decided to give it a try. I have always heard good things about HP and their ink is cheaper and is supposed to last longer. The price was reasonable so I took the plunge.
I haven't had it very long at this point but it did an outstanding job finishing up my project. The pages printed on the HP are much better quality than the ones from my previous Epson. Much crisper and cleaner text and images. It also appears it does a better job matching the color from the monitor. It is also very fast as the guy said which is another bonus.
I don't usually print photos on photo paper but it came with a small pack of 4X6 sheets so I tried it and WOW does it print photos in amazing color and clarity. I printed one out that I already had a 4X6 from a photo store and you can't tell the difference. I am very impressed and it prints the photo very fast. A 4X6 prints in about 20 seconds.
I haven't tried the scan function yet but I will in time. I imagine it will work as it should. This printer will actually print wirelessly but I hooked it up via a USB cable. I prefer hardwired printers but it can be hooked up wirelessly if that is your preference.
My one gripe is this was a PAIN to setup and I am a very knowledgeable and tech savvy user. The setup directions are just one sheet with a few pictures. Basically unwrap it then follow the steps on the printer's little LCD screen. Part of the setup is done that way then you have to insert the CD and go from there to install driver's and software onto your computer. Just a poor way of doing it IMO.
I had an awful time, an AWFUL time, getting the printer to recognize the ink as well. You MUST use the special ink they give you for setup and it took me a good 20 minutes to get the printer to recognize it. It better not be like this at every ink change or it is going back. I would properly install the ink, close the lid as directed, and it would give me an error saying no ink detected. I actually had to power down mid setup for it to finally see the ink.
You will also find that during setup you are bombarded with attempts to sign you up for a myriad of HP software and internet accounts. I hate it when companies do that personally. Makes me want to return the item when it happens.
Overall I am happy with the printer. It prints very nice quality items and it does so at a good speed. So far based on how much I printed and where the ink levels show it appears it is economical with ink too which is nice. At least it is only $40 to replace the ink on this HP vs $70 on my Epson so that will help.
I hope this lengthy review will help. I do recommend the printer just be aware setup is kind of a pain.
About me... Demand high print quality, small business owner, Frequent user, Budget Conscious, Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2877864464
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 119 next>>