Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for OtterBox - Defender Series Case for Apple iPhone 5 and 5s - Black

OtterBox - Defender Series Case for Apple iPhone 5 and 5s - Black

Model: 39127BBR
SKU: 6667567
UPC: 660543017639
Keep your Apple iPhone 5 or 5s safe from drops, bumps and shock with this OtterBox Defender Series 39127BBR case that features 3-layer protection with polycarbonate and silicone materials for durability. A belt clip holster allows easy transport.
Average Customer Rating:
4.61 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(1168 Reviews) 1168
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 1,168 reviews
5 stars
842
4 stars
241
3 stars
59
2 stars
8
1 star
18
95% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
1,104 out of 1,168
)
Customer Reviews for OtterBox - Defender Series Case for Apple iPhone 5 and 5s - Black
Review 1 for OtterBox - Defender Series Case for Apple iPhone 5 and 5s - Black

Very sturdy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Watchtower1
from Port Arthur, Texas
on 04/19/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: NA
All good and showing it off! The way it presents itself is remarkable with fit and design!
This product has... Attractive design, good fit
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0575594379
My Best Buy number: 0575594379
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for OtterBox - Defender Series Case for Apple iPhone 5 and 5s - Black

Perfect case for the occasionally clumsy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RegularGuy22
from Cincinnati, OH
on 04/19/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: built in screen protector, heavy duty
What's not so great: a little bulky
This is my second OtterBox. (I had one for my iPhone 4.) The silicone used to be pretty flimsy and would rip easily. Now the silicone piece is stronger and more durable. This one should last a lot longer. One nice thing about this case on the iPhone 5s is that the home button is exposed so that the fingerprint scanner can still be used.
Side note: Lots of people think this case makes their phone waterproof. IT DOES NOT. Speaker and microphone holes are exposed, and so are the earpiece and home button (on the 5s case).
This product has... Tough/durable
About me... Student, active lifestyle
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2008278139
My Best Buy number: 2008278139
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for OtterBox - Defender Series Case for Apple iPhone 5 and 5s - Black

Great protector case

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: AAyala
from Mt vernon,ny
on 04/19/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Durable and easy to handle
Case was offered by a Best Buy employee. Had a few choices but this was my best option.
This product has... Attractive design, A no slip grip, Tough/durable, good fit
About me... outdoor enthusiast, active lifestyle
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2844235433
My Best Buy number: 2844235433
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for OtterBox - Defender Series Case for Apple iPhone 5 and 5s - Black

Must Have

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cashman12
from Boston MA
on 04/19/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Durability, great physical protection
What's not so great: N/A
A must have for all smartphones. Great protection against drops and bumps.
This product has... Attractive design, Tough/durable, good fit
About me... outdoor enthusiast, active lifestyle
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2200483690
My Best Buy number: 2200483690
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for OtterBox - Defender Series Case for Apple iPhone 5 and 5s - Black

great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: csbone
from goodlettsville tn
on 04/18/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: the durability
What's not so great: its all good
love it protects my investment . I run a youth camp we play a lot of water games and messy games this case keeps my phone secure safe and dry
This product has... Attractive design, Easily fits in pocket/purse, A no slip grip, Tough/durable, A nice compact size, good fit
About me... parent, outdoor enthusiast, active lifestyle, traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0905699743
My Best Buy number: 0905699743
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for OtterBox - Defender Series Case for Apple iPhone 5 and 5s - Black

Great Protection for IPhone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Hybrid1603
from Tampa, FL
on 04/18/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: tough and protects phone
an otter box is a must have for a new iPhone. case makes phone a little bit heavier but it's worth the investment. I have dropped my iPhone various times and phone does not suffer any damage. I highly recommend you get an otter box specially if you work in construction, theater, or any job that you might drop your phone easily.
This product has... Attractive design, Easily fits in pocket/purse, A no slip grip, Tough/durable, A nice compact size, good fit
About me... outdoor enthusiast, active lifestyle, traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2748305423
My Best Buy number: 2748305423
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for OtterBox - Defender Series Case for Apple iPhone 5 and 5s - Black

Great Protection for a Teenager iPhone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: czmbvq
from Cedar Hill, TX
on 04/18/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Perfect Fit
What's not so great: Price
The case work well to protect your iPhone and has a great look in several different colors.
This product has... Attractive design, good fit
About me... Student, Fashion conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2218788565
My Best Buy number: 2218788565
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for OtterBox - Defender Series Case for Apple iPhone 5 and 5s - Black

Great Protection for a iPhone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: czmbvq
from Cedar Hill, TX
on 04/18/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Reliable Protection
What's not so great: Price
The case work well to protect your iPhone and has a great look in several different colors.
This product has... Attractive design, Easily fits in pocket/purse, A no slip grip, Tough/durable, A nice compact size, good fit, Reliable
About me... parent, active lifestyle, traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2218788565
My Best Buy number: 2218788565
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for OtterBox - Defender Series Case for Apple iPhone 5 and 5s - Black

Dust enters

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Ducksoup
from Austin, tx
on 04/18/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Light
What's not so great: Dust gets inside
Dust gets under cover and have to clean. Also when I have to charge very hard to open the covers. Also to your off it hard to do
This product has... A no slip grip
About me... traveler
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 1057982615
My Best Buy number: 1057982615
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for OtterBox - Defender Series Case for Apple iPhone 5 and 5s - Black

Great protection

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CommishKC
from Kansas City,MO
on 04/18/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
A small price to pay to protect an expensive investment.
This product has... A no slip grip, Tough/durable, good fit
About me... parent
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2345549442
My Best Buy number: 2345549442
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for OtterBox - Defender Series Case for Apple iPhone 5 and 5s - Black

Usual top quality from Otterbox

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bakerboy
from Livermore, CA
on 04/18/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to mount phone, great appearance
What's not so great: Dirt gets in bit around home button
I recommend this model to anyone! It's very protective, yet easy to take on and off
This product has... Attractive design, Easily fits in pocket/purse, A no slip grip, Tough/durable, A nice compact size, good fit
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0038909009
My Best Buy number: 0038909009
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for OtterBox - Defender Series Case for Apple iPhone 5 and 5s - Black

Excellent case for the accident prone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Reg722
from Whittier, CA
on 04/18/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Does exactly what it's supposed to and that's protect the phone
Overall this is a great product. This is my second one because the first one finally failed after many many drops by our 6 year old. Best buy honored the warranty and gave me new one free of charge no questions asked.
This product has... Tough/durable, good fit
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0079098984
My Best Buy number: 0079098984
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for OtterBox - Defender Series Case for Apple iPhone 5 and 5s - Black

Very protective case!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 4cmom
from Texas
on 04/18/2014
The otterbox defender is one of the most protective cases you can buy!
This product has... Attractive design, Easily fits in pocket/purse, Tough/durable, good fit
About me... parent, active lifestyle
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0781143873
My Best Buy number: 0781143873
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for OtterBox - Defender Series Case for Apple iPhone 5 and 5s - Black

Probably the best protection for the iPhone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DLM1414
from Slidell,LA
on 04/18/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Colorful, durable and very necesary.
What's not so great: Double the size of phone, scratches the glass on the phone, dirties quite easily
Great product and is a must have for any iPhone owner. iPhones are very easy to damage so proper protection is a must. One major gripe is buying the case to protect the phone and the case itself damages the glass on the phone.
This product has... Attractive design, A no slip grip, Tough/durable, A nice compact size, good fit
About me... parent
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0961696519
My Best Buy number: 0961696519
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for OtterBox - Defender Series Case for Apple iPhone 5 and 5s - Black

Very durable product.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: grhill7
from Crosby, TX
on 04/18/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Exceptional Protection
What's not so great: Not very easy to remove
Great protection as my grandbabies constantly drop my phone and it never has any problems or breakage!!!!
This product has... Attractive design, Easily fits in pocket/purse, A no slip grip, Tough/durable, good fit
About me... parent, active lifestyle
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0536487726
My Best Buy number: 0536487726
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for OtterBox - Defender Series Case for Apple iPhone 5 and 5s - Black

Good case

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mike
from Liverpool Ny
on 04/16/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Durable, keeps the phone in new condition.
What's not so great: Cant use docks and dose add a lot to the phone size wise.
I like the otter box cases they do a good job of protecting my phone. I have had other brands like life proof and never was really happy with them. The otter box dose add unwanted size but its still comfortable to hold and its nice to have a free belt clip. I have dropped it a few times and the other day it got thrown at me and hit the wall and it was like nothing happened to it thanks to my otter box. I plan on buying these cases for all my future phones.
This product has... A no slip grip
About me... active lifestyle
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1020241602
My Best Buy number: 1020241602
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for OtterBox - Defender Series Case for Apple iPhone 5 and 5s - Black

Fits in my pocket

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Dakota
from Birmingham
on 04/15/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Usefulness
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It fits in my pocket
What's not so great: Covers for the charging port and buttons are only so so
Good case to keep in my pocket but I don't think it's as waterproof as other cases.
This product has... Attractive design, Easily fits in pocket/purse, Tough/durable, good fit
About me... outdoor enthusiast, firefighter
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0965246291
My Best Buy number: 0965246291
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for OtterBox - Defender Series Case for Apple iPhone 5 and 5s - Black

Perfect case for anyone who breaks the iPhone!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MatthewMP
from Orland Park, IL
on 04/13/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Durability!!
What's not so great: Not Water Proof
I tend to break my iPhone a lot (5 times in 2013) and had to get another one generally through insurance (but still cost me about $100 for each replacement). My brother introduced me to OtterBox in December of 2013 and five months later I still have my iPhone without a single scratch. Plus, now OtterBox comes in all sorts of great colors!
This product has... Attractive design, Easily fits in pocket/purse, A no slip grip, Tough/durable
About me... parent, active lifestyle, traveler
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0226519430
My Best Buy number: 0226519430
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for OtterBox - Defender Series Case for Apple iPhone 5 and 5s - Black

Great phone case

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kayla0412
from Port Saint Lucie, fl
on 04/13/2014
What's great about it: My phone has never been scratched or damaged while in this case
What's not so great: Very bulky
My phone was run over by a car while in this and no damage was done to the phone, this case is worth every penny:
This product has... Attractive design, Easily fits in pocket/purse, A no slip grip, Tough/durable, A nice compact size, good fit
About me... parent
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1028389986
My Best Buy number: 1028389986
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for OtterBox - Defender Series Case for Apple iPhone 5 and 5s - Black

Overall good protection aganst drops

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DZpals
from bettendorf Ia
on 04/13/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: protection
What's not so great: not as good for speaker phone function
Otterbox quality is very good. Lots of color options. I purchase multiple Otterbox products and have been happy overall. A previous Otterbox case I owned had the sides get loose and stretched so I had to replace it. Not as easy to hear with this case but still useable. I like the various color options as other in the family also have the same case.
This product has... Tough/durable, good fit
About me... parent
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0049151947
My Best Buy number: 0049151947
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 59 next>>