Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba - Satellite 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Toshiba - Satellite 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

Model: P875-S7310
SKU: 6672456
UPC: 022265263235
Learn more about Windows 8 Best Buy Exclusive! This Toshiba Satellite P875-S7310 laptop features a 750GB hard drive for spacious storage and a 17.3" high-definition display for clear visuals. A high-speed wireless LAN offers fast Web connection.Learn more about Intel® Wireless Display.
Average Customer Rating:
4.198 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 81 reviews
5 stars
49
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
6
77% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
62 out of 81
)
Customer Reviews for Toshiba - Satellite 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver
Review 1 for Toshiba - Satellite 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

Decent Gaming Platform/Desktop Replacement

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: chimerandragon
from Worcester, MA
on 11/20/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Able to handle multimedia and gaming with ease for those on a budget
What's not so great: Not made for chill/cooling pads, Windows 8 Metro Interface
I bought this laptop after having problems with two HP Pavilion laptops and I really didn't want to get this laptop because of Windows 8 but I will address that later. If you are into gaming and you are on a budget then this laptop will perform admirably. The third generation i7-3630QM multi-core processors with the integrated Intel 4000 chipset can handle most of my games on their highest settings with ease with the exception of Skyrim.
For Skyrim it can handle the high settings with anti-aliasing disabled, FXAA enabled and the anisotropic filtering set at 8 samples with ease with very little to no lag for dialogue and gameplay. Beyond the 8 samples there is lag but so far has been an excellent gaming platform.
Multimedia wise it can handle most large video files with ease provided you have a decent video program instead of using the video app on the Metro screen.
Performance wise it is excellent and I run it on the High Performance power plan all the time so this laptop makes a decent desktop replacement.
Another plus is that this laptop comes pre-loaded with a full year's subscription to Norton anti-virus software so you can run it in tandem with other anti-virus software that you get for free from Best Buy. Just don't choose Kaspersky since it will conflict with Norton.
This laptop is very stylish and the brushed aluminum gives it a sense of sturdiness and doesn't feel cheap or plastic but the drawback is the weight and this laptop is heavy so it's more of a desktop replacement than a true mobile platform. The screen is extremely crisp but I hardly use it since I have this hooked up to my flatscreen TV.
Dual monitor support is awesome, other laptops require you to keep the lid partially open in order to keep the screen from re-sizing on your second monitor but this laptop allows you to close the lid fully and not lose any screen real estate on your second screen which is great for viewing movies through Netflix, Ultraviolet, Hulu, etc. on your flatscreen TV through the laptop as a multi-media gateway.
The four 3.0 USB hubs are extremely useful and come with legacy support so that you can use 2.0 USB devices.
If you are looking for a decent gaming platform or a desktop replacement and you are on a budget then this laptop will do very nicely compared to more expensive models from other manufacturers.
Now the cons and that is the Windows 8 Operating System. The plus side is that when it is running optimally this laptop is blinding fast but takes some time getting used to. Personally I use Start8 to get the start button back and then Windows is easy to navigate. Then there is setting your default programs which can be a hassle. Windows 8 wishes to use the Metro apps to open all your files and the Metro apps are horrible. You will have to find your files (music, pictures, videos) and set your own default programs to open those file types to override Windows 8 using the Metro apps to open them. Then there is the lack of webcam software. The only way to use the webcam on this laptop is through the camera app on the Metro interface and it's below subpar. You will need to get your own webcam software in order to use your webcam to it's full potential.
Then there is the Disk Usage. Depending on what you choose to have running on startup it can take anywhere between 5-15 minutes for Disk Usage to fall to 0% to unlock it's full performance potential.
Lastly there is the cooling options. When you do a lot of multi-media applications and heavy gaming as I do you can overheat the motherboard quickly which is always bad and you will have to shop around to find a chill/cooling pad that will work with this laptop. I have a Belkin chillpad that I can't use because the vents for the laptop are in the most awkward place on the bottom and the chillpad I have covers those vents.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, lightning fast, great performance for the money
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Technology guru, Social media enthusiast, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Gamer, Number cruncher (10-key needed), retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
+103points
111out of 119found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Toshiba - Satellite 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

Overall great laptop! Worth the money!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BMBW
on 11/28/2012
I bought this laptop on 11/24, not that long ago, but so far it is great. Six years ago my parents bought me a Toshiba Satellite a135 and it has served me well all these years, in fact it still runs strong, but slow for what I need. I thought i'd give this Toshiba laptop a shot. I love the big screen and I love the keyboard. The touchpad is a bit different to what I am used to, but I am beginning to like it for its multitouch feature. I havent done any gaming on this laptop, yet, not a big gamer though anyways. I have run photoshop for small projects, no big ones yet, but hope to soon. Sound is great, I have watched several movies and other videos on this laptop. I like the laptop a lot actually I just don't like Windows 8, if I had found a laptop just like this with Windows 7 I would have been thrilled. Windows 8 in my opinion should have been pre-installed only on tablet computers. I dont like the fact that the start menu is gone either, I did create a shorcut to the start menu, however. If you have gotten used to older windows versions Windows 8 is a completly different experience altogether. I am still learning the new OS and so far there are a few things I like and a lot I hate. Also keep in mind this laptop is big and bulky and will not be easy to carry around a lot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+34points
35out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toshiba - Satellite 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

Better than any laptop in Bestbuy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LastOttoman
from Dallas, TX
on 10/26/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything so far
What's not so great: carrying it
I purchased this laptop today, actually I was looking for the 15 display one of the same model but it was sold out everywhere. And I got this laptop with the same processor, ram, harddrive etc. and windows 8..
It is pretty fast with the i7 and it has a very good display with HD trubrite..This laptop has a great sound quality too I guess its some kinda 3D quality..it has huge screen which means you may have a hard time to carry it. Im just gonna use it at home so its not a big problem for me..Im a big fan of the strategy games and this machine is a monster for playing those with a good processor and HD graphics..And good for watching movies or tv shows, so Im glad that I bought it..
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, lightning fast, very nice display quality
About me... Gamer, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+130points
183out of 236found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toshiba - Satellite 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

Nice Laptop For Linux.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cavisco1
from Cayce
on 12/16/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Linux compatible. Great value, quad core, 8g mem. 2nd HD slot.
What's not so great: Windows 8, weight.
Very nice machine for the money. Looks to be well built and sturdy, with nice fit and finish. Speedy quad core with plenty of ram. A good desktop replacement, but a little large and heavy for travel. Nice sound quality. The downside is, there is no choice of operating system. It's only available with Windows 8. There is no option for Windows 7 or Linux. When will companies learn that consumers like choice? Anyway, I got rid of Windows 8 once I got it home. The sales droids and the Geek squad were totally clueless on how to disable UEFI secure-boot to enable booting a non-UEFI enabled OS, so I looked it up on the Toshiba site. I had to activate Windows 8 in order to gain access to the BIOS. Once I had access to the BIOS I was able to turn off Secure-Boot and switch from UEFI to Legacy BIOS. It is not readily apparent how to gain access to the BIOS. I found instructions in the support section of Toshiba's website under updating the BIOS. I removed the original hard drive and saved it in case of any need for a warranty return and installed a blank 1TB drive. I was then able to boot to a thumb drive loaded with Linux MINT 14 Mate. The install and updates went flawlessly. Mint found all the hardware and everything is working well. This laptop has an open slot for a second hard drive. Once the warranty is up I will wipe clean the drive containing Windows 8 and install it for additional storage and backup.
This product is... Good sound quality, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast, nice fit and finish
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology, linux user
I would recommend this to a friend!
+26points
30out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toshiba - Satellite 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

Fantastic

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ctendell
from Denver
on 01/11/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, hardware and customization, two hard drive bays!
What's not so great: bloatware
Let me start this off by saying I'm not your average user. I'm the guy who comes into Best Buy knowing what I want a head of time and can probably tell the sales guys more about the hardware then they know. I'm a computing professional & Geek Squad really has noting on me. That said, I sold my Mac Book Air and for what I sold it for I purchased this machine with very specific requirements. Speed and stability, I do a lot of virtualization so an i7 was a must. 8GB of ram is great but I upgraded to 16GB. After getting it home and playing with windows 8 for a bit I flipped it over and was pleasantly surprised to find a second hard drive bay. I moved the original hard drive to the second bay and added a SSD that I installed my OS and applications on.
Overall I LOVE this laptop so far. we will see how it goes .
Recommendations:
For an average user this laptop will meet and exceed your needs out of the box once you get used to Windows 8. For power users, strip the bloatware and start fresh Windows 8 is functional if you install Start8. Add an SSD and some additional ram and you have a future proof, a year or so, system that will serve you well.
Load: CS6, MS Office, Vmware workstation, Camtasia Studio.
This product is... Good sound quality, Perfect for Business, Big screen size, bulky, lightning fast
About me... Technology guru, Social media enthusiast, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Number cruncher (10-key needed), Business Professional, ceh
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toshiba - Satellite 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

Great laptop for 1 week. Hate Toshiba Service.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: NRH1
from Fort Worth Texas
on 01/04/2013
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Great Graphics, Sound.
What's not so great: Firmware update crashed computer. Havent seen it or heard from it since sending it back for warranty.
Loved this laptop. It was great for the 1 week I got to use it.
Toshiba has this great software that reminds you of software updates, driver updates, etc. Everyday, it reminded me that I needed to update my BIOS firmware (required/recommended update). Against my better judgement, I did this and sure enough it killed the PC.
I called Toshiba and their rep told me "oh, we don't recommend people update the BIOS firmware". Except their software update has it as a REQUIRED update and bugged me every day for a week.
So I send the PC int the repair depot for repair. I get a email with a web-link to check on the status of the repair. The estimated time for any repair is 10 working days. On the 10th day, I get a status update with says "will need new part. will add additional 10 days".
After the additional 10 days, I go to check the status and suddenly there is no record of my repair. I wait a few days an check again. Same thing.
I call to find out if I can find the status. I get the automated answering service and faithfully follow directions to "check on depot repair status". I choose this option and it says "check website link" and hangs up on you.
I call again and finally get ahold of someone (don't try check depot repair status, it just hangs up on you). They tell me that the repair depot is waiting on a part. I ask them why the weblink status doesn't seem to reflect that. They don't know. I ask them when was the information updated, they tell me more than 2 weeks ago. I explain that I am getting mixed messages since his update is the same one I saw sometime back but the website link for the repair does not have any record of my repair. I explain that I am worried that my laptop has been lost, sent back already, or something. I am told to check back in a week and they will have an update.
I check back today on the website link and now the repair link has completely expired and wont even pull up.
At this point I am not even sure I have a laptop anymore., but I really liked it for the 1 week.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+16points
21out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toshiba - Satellite 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

A monster of a computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kobayakawa
on 12/02/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Almost everything
What's not so great: the keyboard feels weird at first
This laptop is one of the best money could buy, and when I saw it was 100 dollars off I couldn't resist. I was getting this to replace my really old other satellite that is in its last dying moments. The boot time is phenomenal and all my programs run great thanks to the 8gb of memory. I got this with the thought of some mediocre gaming in mind, but when I found that it could run the very intense mod called Dayz of Arma 2 at near max video settings, I was absolutely in love with the Ivy bridge processor. As another test to see its limits I detonated 5 stacks of TNT and 20 nukes in a mod called tekkit for a game called minecraft with not the slightest hiccup in frame rate with max settings, when it would crash the game on my dads relatively new desktop. I was even able to have 20 tabs of youtube open in chrome all playing separate videos at the same time. With 750 gb of storage and 690 usable, my 70gb of videos hardly put a dent in the total. The usb 3.0 ports are especially convenient and makes a world of difference in transfer rates. I simply plugged an hdmi cable from my laptop to my t.v. and was instantly able to use the new very streamline features of media playback to watch some of my favorite movies on my t.v. I was kind of hesitant about windows 8. I spent a while trying to install windows 7 to this, but finally figured out you can't since windows 8 will not let anything boot before it. But since then, I have come to like windows 8 and its new features. I just pinned the control panel to the task bar and its all just fine. This laptop is a steal for the price, even at its original cost. It blows away any of the other computers in my family, even all the desktops. Well worth it to anyone in the market for a new laptop.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, easy to set up, bulky, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Student, Social media enthusiast, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Computer technology beginner, Gamer, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
19out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toshiba - Satellite 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

Awesome performance for price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: WAGH8r
from Mascoutah, IL
on 12/11/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: screen and speed
What's not so great: touch pad
overall great device out of the box. Using this as a desktop replacement and have no problems with device. At times I find my palms will touch the touch pad making the internet browser zoom in and out while typing.
This product is... Good sound quality, Big screen size, easy to set up, bulky, lightning fast
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Parent with kids, Technology guru, Social media enthusiast, Regularly process large video or graphics files, retired, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toshiba - Satellite 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

What a monster!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DCBlueStar
from Florida
on 12/02/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
What's great about it: Speed, Smoothness of use, Graphics, Sound, Quick Startup
Let me just start out by saying that I've had this laptop for less than 24 hours, but I'm still in awe... this thing is fantastic!
I see a lot of folks complaining about the Windows 8. I'm glad they still rated this machine 5 stars, as the "Windows 8" isn't really the computer, it's just the OS installed.
If you find that you're not a fan of Windows 8, there's a quick and easy fix to make it feel more like Windows 7.
I wasn't as bothered by the Windows 8 start screen as the others have appeared to be, but I did a little research and bought & downloaded a nice little program called Start8. You can get it online for about $5.
It gives you customization options to allow you to choose whether you want your screen to be the Windows 8 start screen, or your desktop. Whether you want the Windows 8 menus, or the Windows 7.
I use the main Windows 7 settings, but do find the Windows 8 screen useful at times.
This machine is lightning fast. The start up from being powered off is about 10 seconds, if that.
It's a very smooth and sleek machine. I love the keyboard. The keys are large enough to type with ease, and don't make a lot of clicking noise while you type.
The touchpad is fantastic, and also customizable to allow you to use finger swipes and gestures to your liking. It's a large pad, about 4 inches wide and 3 inches tall.
The laptop itself is not too heavy considering the large 17.3" screen. I love the silver finish.
The sound is great as well. Better than any laptop I've ever had.
I love that it comes built with 4 USB slots as most laptops that I've had only came with 2 or 3 if there was a HDMI slot too... but this one has all of the above.
I marked above that this was a great value for the price, but on the day that I bought it I was able to make the purchase for about $699. I noticed on Toshiba's site they normally sell for $920.
I think even at that price, all the storage space (700 GB), memory (8GB) and the best processor out there (intel core i7)... it would be worth it.
But this laptop. You wont be disappointed... after all... I'm already a review, raving about it, and I haven't even owned it a day!
I ♥ Toshiba!
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Student, Technology guru, Social media enthusiast, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Comfortable with technology, graphic designer, web designer, occasional gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
21out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toshiba - Satellite 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

Works great!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PeginLA
from Thousand Oaks
on 12/08/2012
  • Verified Purchaser
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great bang for the buck
What's not so great: Windows 8
This is my 2ndToshiba - Satellite in the last 5 years, first one served me well, and so far this one is great as well!
This product is... Big screen size, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Technology guru, Business Professional, writer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toshiba - Satellite 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

Really Like this Computer!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bigsky01
from Big Sky Country
on 12/06/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Display, Fast, Great Sound.
What's not so great: Keyboard has 10-key which offsets clickpad from center of screen.
I have owned and used this computer for nearly a month and am pleased enough to write this review. The display is nice and the computer is plenty fast. The 8G Ram seems necessary; the computer already uses about 4G while surfing and with not much installed. I wonder if the Win 8 computers with 4G have enough ram.
Speaking of Win 8, after using it and getting to understand it better, I really like it. Win 8 works great with the mouse. I cannot understand the negative reviews; maybe just that people find it hard to change, rather than learning some "new tricks."
Norton comes pre-installed, but I removed it in order to use the new Windows Defender which is a part of Win 8, and is said to be a good anti-virus solution.
I did want to mention the Synaptics click-pad. I considered returning the computer because I found the pad erratic and hard to use, but then I discovered all the settings that are available. The Synaptics web site helps explain them, and the pad is one of Synaptics' best. I adjusted the sensitivity and the "smart sense" settings, but do not use the gestures. The pad is very advanced, so don't give up on it.
All said, a very nice computer.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toshiba - Satellite 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

Awesome

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Celeste72587
on 12/24/2012
Nice clear screen. Love the fact that the letter on the keyboard are bigger then others, quick response time... And with all the apps that I've put on it with in a three day period it is still running smoothly. It is an awesome computer and I would recommend it to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toshiba - Satellite 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

Great Number Cruncher

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Treehacker
from Jericho, VT
on 12/02/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Fast processor, lots of memory, great price
What's not so great: Windows 8 takes some getting used to
Out of the box, set up and running immediately. Once having sorted out where things are in Windows 8, cleaned out some bloatware, put it to work and am very impressed.
I have now had this for over a week and can find nothing to complain about..other than mutzing with the counter-intuitive windows 8. Oh, I already said W8.....
Did I mention that W8 is .... oh, yeah
This product is... Perfect for Business, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Number cruncher (10-key needed), Business Professional, retired, Comfortable with technology, big databases
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toshiba - Satellite 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

Great low-budget laptop with a lot of power.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: galvatrons
from Madison, WI
on 12/06/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, great price, great specs
What's not so great: Slow HDD, short battery life, fairly fragile
I am a college student that shopped for a laptop with a budget. In short, this is a great laptop that *should* last you a while. Decent specs and Windows 8 are both pretty attractive. However, a slow hard-drive and misleading blu-ray support (as displayed on this website) are downers.
Quick points on why this is four stars and not five:
- This machine DOES NOT have blu-ray. The images show a blu-ray logo on the disk tray, but it only writes/reads in CD/DVD.
- The entire machine is plastic. It looks like it might be aluminum but it isn't.
- Too many pre-installed apps/programs.
- It's very easy to hit the windows button on the keyboard or accidentally click on the track pad while typing. Large track pad is nice, but can get annoying.
Overall, I really like this machine. Its spacious screen size and relatively light weight is a great feat for the laptop. The keyboard is also comfortable. The speed, harddrive size and general won't be disappointed with this for the price its offered. The speakers are also pretty nice. Harmon/Kardon do great here so that's no surprise.
I previously owned a Toshiba Satellite A505-S6970 and can say this is definitely an upgrade in at least performance and design. The thinness is also noticeable.
Aside from the above gripes, the only other thing I wish Toshiba would have included for this laptop is give it a faster harddrive. With these specs, this should be writing/processing at least at 7200. It's kind of disappointing.
This product is... Good sound quality, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Student, Social media enthusiast, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Gamer, Comfortable with technology, graphic designer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
18out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toshiba - Satellite 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

what a waste

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: pj620
on 01/04/2013
In just over an hour I will be returning my second Toshiba (same model) in less than 2 weeks. Both performed well for about 9 days each. Then, suddenly they were unable to connect to my home WiFi. Returned the first one on the 26th of December at the suggestion of tech support. The replacement stopped connecting last night, 9 days later. It made no automatic updates, nothing was changed. Just like the first. Oh, how am I writing this? On my phone. One of many devices in my house that have worked with the WiFi all along. Toshiba help boards are littered with this same problem. No more toshibas. Avoid the headaches. Get something else. Once is a fluke. Twice, same problem, is a design flaw.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toshiba - Satellite 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

Monster performance

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Slavchikd
from Brooklyn NY
on 12/01/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Speed, resolution, sound
What's not so great: Windows 8
Bought this one as a replacement to Dell desk top. This Toshiba computer is extremely fast and does everything I need it for.
The only thing I still have problems with is Windows 8.
For some reasons I can not update or purchase new appts from its on-line store. But it has nothing to do with the Toshiba.
Would strongly recommend this device.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, easy to set up, bulky, lightning fast
About me... Parent with kids, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Toshiba - Satellite 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

Fantastic Laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Laz862
from Southeast Missouri
on 12/24/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Huge clear screen, fast speed, GREAT laptop!
What's not so great: Somewhat bulky to carry, but Still good weight for 17.3/ has Intel Graphics.
This is a fantastic laptop for the price. I was looking to upgrade from my 6 year old Dell. As an Professional IT person, and a long time gamer, I require power. I do most of my gaming and high graphics program on my main desktop PC, but I bought this as a mobile solution for webpage design, picture editing via Photoshop, web browsing, youtube and Netflix, and some games...it does it ALL! If you're looking for top of the line graphics/speed for gaming, good luck getting a top notch system for <$1500-2k. Those Nvidia/ATI cards make all the difference. This is a solid mid-range system for if you're on a budget, and not looking for an end all beat all system.
When I first bought it, I thought about installing a copy of windows 7 on it, but wanted to see what all the complaints with windows 8 are. No Start bar? WHAT!? After a couple weeks of using it, it has really grown on me, and while I wish I had a bit more flexibility in the number of apps on screen with the desktop, I REALLY enjoy it. Windows 8 is better for a touchscreen for the use of the "start" menus, but for example, say I want to open control panel. I hit windows button, and type 'CO' and hit enter. BAM! Control Panel. The super quick indexing of windows 8 combined with the ability to start typing and bring up your list of apps/programs/documents/files is a fantastic feature, and when the world actually tries and adjusts to win8, they're going to love it!
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast, general use great computer
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Technology guru, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Gamer, Number cruncher (10-key needed), Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
19out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toshiba - Satellite 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

good for price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: spudnik
from albuquerque nm
on 12/08/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: good price
What's not so great: nothing at this point
So far so good. Never had a lap top before and learning the Windows
8 has slowed down my progress but I am getting there.
This product is... easy to set up
About me... retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Toshiba - Satellite 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

LOVE it!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Smilingstill
from WA
on 12/20/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything!
What's not so great: Haven't found anything yet.
I love the 17" screen. The touch screen is a nice option. Was simple to get started. It's fast. I have no complaint about it.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Toshiba - Satellite 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

Something for a biginner or a profesional

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Maru27
from Baltimore, MD
on 12/02/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great sound quality, big screem size
I am a person that is comfortable with the technology, and I must say that the Toshiba Satellite P875-S7310 works excellent. The battery life is good, the sound quality is great and I love the screem size.
The only thing that I have to say against is that when I bought it the product came with Kaspersky Internet Security 2013 and I must say that the program is not compatible with the operating system (Windows 8).
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Student, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>