Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black

Model: I17RSE-3589BK
SKU: 6697664
UPC: 884116101802
Create customized DVDs with this Dell Inspiron I17RSE-3589BK laptop's DVD±RW/CD-RW drive and enjoy viewing them on the 17.3" high-definition WLED display. The built-in 1.0MP webcam and digital microphone let you easily video chat with friends.Learn more about Intel® Wireless Display.
Average Customer Rating:
4.064 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 109 reviews
5 stars
53
4 stars
34
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
10
79% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
86 out of 109
)
Customer Reviews for Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black
Review 21 for Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black

Excellent sound and graphics

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ZacinLA
from L.A. CA.
on 06/28/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: 1 TB hard drive is great for storage
After shopping around I found that BestBuy had the best deal on almost all laptops I compared with. Most places didn't even have 17 in laptops. The screen makes it seem like your watching movies on a regular T.V.. I haven't even begun to make a dent in the storage space. Overall I haven't got any complaints about this laptop. It's excellent.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Student, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Gamer, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black

Still working out bugs

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: newcomputerbuyer
from madison, wi
on 06/28/2013
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Not sure
What's not so great: Keeps going into hibernation mode
The computer crashed on us in 3 days. Unknowingly, we contacted Dell instead of Best Buy - Best Buy needs to be notified within 15 days of delivery for replacement. We did not contact them until the 19th day! Dell, however, has been great - their customer service out of India has actually been very helpful. They have now repaired our computer and sent it back to us - we hope it keeps working! My biggest complaint is that even though we complained to Dell within 3 days, Best Buy did not consider that "notice". I think the computer will be fine - I'm not as impressed with Best Buy.
This product is... Good sound quality, Perfect for Business, Big screen size
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black

Great desktop replacement

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: PeanutTheFurious
from Zebulon, NC
on 06/28/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Crazy fast
What's not so great: Windows 8
PROS:
-This laptop is really fast. I was able to process video from my GoPro camera in about a third of the time it takes on my desktop computer.
-The built in speakers sound really good compared to other laptop speakers. I watched a Michael Bay movie on the laptop and the explosions didn't bottom out the speakers.
-I like the full size back-lit keyboard with keypad
CONS:
-Windows 8 - I wish Windows 7 was an option for this laptop. I have to add three or four extra steps to everything I do in Windows 8 compared to Windows 7. I hope the Windows 8.1 update fixes these annoying "features".
-The large screen is very reflective so using it outside in the sun is difficult. It's not really a problem for me because I am an IT professional and I avoid the sun like a vampire(The Anne Rice vampires, not the Stephenie Meyer ones).
This product is... Good sound quality, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Parent with kids, Technology guru, Social media enthusiast, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Gamer, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2514908179
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black

"Always leave them wanting more."

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Schalomoe
from Ca.
on 06/24/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Best Buy Price & Customer Service.
What's not so great: Overall Display Output Resolution/Quality.
A review which had been posted here previously presented a very informative and concise report praising Dell for "its choice in using high quality/performance hardware when building the Inspiron....With one very prominent exception." This one exception (of which I totally agree) the reviewer went on to state was "perhaps the sole reason in how Dell was capable of producing such a high performance product at such a low cost to consumers." As I read this person's review on-line with my new Dell Inspiron I had purchased just hours before, I began thinking to myself: Enough already! What's this "one exception?" Well, little did I know and to my complete surprise, this "cost saving exception" was staring me right in the face the whole time...
This product is... easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, retired, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2851369565
My Best Buy number: 2851369565
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black

Uh... well...

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: WickedSeraphina
from Bend, OR
on 06/23/2013
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Great graphics, runs most games perfectly.
What's not so great: There -is- a problem.
This laptop is having the same issue some else's had/has. It likes to disconnect from WiFi at random, and then refuse to reconnect unless you shut down the computer and restart (sometimes multiple times). It's annoying. HOWEVER, when it DOES remain connected, it's awesome. Not super fast with the internet, but runs games like a dream. Considering I largely use this gadget for gaming, I'm happy. I'm just going to try to have it fixed.
I guess it's a good thing I'm taking a break from MMO's though.
But, because of this issue that doesn't seem uncommon, I wouldn't rave about the machine to friends.
This product is... Good sound quality, Big screen size, easy to set up, bulky, great for all your offline games!
About me... Regularly process large video or graphics files, Gamer, Comfortable with technology
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black

Bulky but super fast

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Boston, MA area
on 06/22/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Speed, display quality, performance, price
What's not so great: Size, weight
For this price it is definitely one of the best laptops out there. Excellent graphics, plays games well and supports doing work just as easily and fast. It's been a great buy for me! The only downfall (I like Windows 8!) has been the size and weight for me since I didn't have an appropriate size bag yet. Easily recommendable, though, for its performance.
This product is... Big screen size, easy to set up, bulky, lightning fast
About me... Student, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black

My third Dell ...best yet

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Madgert
from Nj
on 06/21/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up with lots of "wow"
What's not so great: Weight
Would buy again...Windows 8 is intuiitive and fairly easy for a non-computer geek.
This product is... Big screen size, easy to set up
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Computer technology beginner, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2877756028
My Best Buy number: 2877756028
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black

YOU BETTER READ THIS!!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ONIvox
from detroit, MI
on 06/21/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything!
What's not so great: cant think of anything.
Ello all ^^ if your thinking about getting this pc here are my thoughts after 2 months of ownership. I searched for a long time befor deciding on this laptop. I previously had a Toshiba and was unsure about dell. I needn't have worried. all my expectations have been blown away!! plays games like League of Legends in full rez at solid 60fps. plays Dungeons&Dragons online in full rez with fps stuck at 61.9 ^^ plays World of Tanks in advanced rez at 70+fps. plays SKYRIM so good I cant believe it (seriously! xbox 360 version sucks in comparison) Add to that the awesome Nvidia graphics card, Skullcandy speakers(with mini woffer) and 17.9'' screen and its epic win!! Tera bit hard drive is nice too xD all USBs are 3.0. and this is a limited addition laptop with the black aluminum finish. im totally in love with it. cant say enough good about it.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast, epic win
About me... Gamer, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2650978746
My Best Buy number: 2650978746
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black

Great computer!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Megablackcar
from Sterling Heights
on 06/21/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Easy to set up
What's not so great: Windows 8
Love this computer...easy to use. Only down fall windows 8.
This product is... easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0215280525
My Best Buy number: 0215280525
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black

Just look at the specs! Best value for dollar.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: VinnyI
from NJ
on 06/16/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Specs, Price, 17" screen
What's not so great: very large, heavy, bulky. runs hot if not elevated slightly.
Unbelievable price for this computer. Runs Starcraft II easily at ultra settings. i7 processor is fast. If you are using this as a portable, it might be a bit bulky and heavy, but for stationary use it's fantastic. Backlit keyboard is a very nice touch. Runs a bit hot during gaming, but I put a small book to elevate it and noticed a tremendous difference in temp. Very glad I purchased this.
This product is... Good sound quality, Big screen size, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Technology guru, Gamer, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 006882362
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black

good at first

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: jake678
from MI
on 06/09/2013
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: it was fast and would play all games
What's not so great: gpu
the gpu started to fail after a few months, games i would normally play at 50 fps struggle to break 20, and i have no clue what to do i re-booted but that doesnt work and i cant return it because ive had it for more than 15 days and i am not a premier member. this was a very bad experience this is a re-review also at first i said it was good but now it doesnt seem so great
This product is... Good sound quality, Big screen size, easy to set up, bulky, lightning fast
About me... Student, Technology guru, Gamer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black

I love the large screen.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: henegar1953
from Tennesee
on 06/08/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Color and sound is wonderful.
What's not so great: nothing
I love my new dell. The screen is large and the sound is great. Great price also.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2856114856
My Best Buy number: 2856114856
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black

Poor Performance

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: ParentForStudent
from Virginia Beach, VA
on 06/07/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Graphics and keyboard
What's not so great: The wi-fi was erratic and rarely connected to wireless
This was a good functioning computer with ample capability for a student except the wireless. It frequently would not connect to any wireless connection available and prompted for ether cable connection when that LAN connectivity was not selected.
This product is... Good sound quality, Big screen size, easy to set up
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Parent with kids, Technology guru, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology, information security professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0045665332
My Best Buy number: 0045665332
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black

Very good desktop replacement

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: plandoc
from Plantation
on 06/01/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Great display, better sound then expected and excellent value
What's not so great: Heavy, annoying trackpad, and not as fast as I thought an i7 should be, but no previous experience, only with an i5.
Picked this up as a replacement for a desktop computer at the office. Decided to check out the graphics card by viewing a movie off of hulu on office ethernet, 6meg att, this was mistake, it was great, display sound smooth. Makes a good media machine. It is also heavy, solid, feels well made, annoying trackpad, just avg battery life for its size. I feel it is a very good value for what you get.
This product is... Good sound quality, Big screen size, bulky
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0104430758
My Best Buy number: 0104430758
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black

Good laptop to take to college

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: momofgrad
from South Bend, IN
on 06/01/2013
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Windows 8
What's not so great: short batter life
This is a good computer that will hopefully last the entire 4 years of college.
This product is... Big screen size
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2589217145
My Best Buy number: 2589217145
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black

Powerful, sleek laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Striper75
from Navarre, FL
on 06/01/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Speed, dislay and price
What's not so great: Heavy
I love Dell products and wouldn't have another type of laptop. The processor in this system is fast and responsive, display is outstanding...hard to find any negatives about it.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Big screen size, easy to set up
About me... Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black

It works great.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: terafirm
from Hickory, NC
on 05/31/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease of use
What's not so great: Console does not seem as sturdy as last one I bought.
Overall, I am pleased with my Dell Laptop. The body itself does not seem to be as sturdy as the Dell I bought 3 years ago. I've had no problems with Windows 8, in fact it's easy to use and linked itself to my home network, printer, etc.
This product is... Good sound quality, Big screen size, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast, poor toughpad response
About me... Regularly process large video or graphics files, retired, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2653806220
My Best Buy number: 2653806220
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black

Solid for gaming and multimedia; comfy layout

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Nitric
from VA
on 05/31/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great specs (esp. for price), huge screen, lots of connectivity
What's not so great: W8 is annoying on a laptop
I bought this after using an HP for about 4 years (also pretty solid, btw) because I needed more space and graphic power. This has not disappointed. The games I've tried so far have been maxed out in graphics, and it's been smooth. It also remains pretty cool, even when the fan grid is blocked. I've done a little writing and blogging too, and the keyboard is very comfortable to use.
It also is a great choice for someone used to using a desktop. I've seen complaints about the bulkiness, but why would you buy a computer without noticing the size...?
Windows 8 is frustrating to use at first, but it doesn't take long to figure out. The viewing angle is also confusing, but tilt the screen back a little, and you are golden.
Overall, great laptop.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, easy to set up, bulky, lightning fast, great for gamers
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Technology guru, Social media enthusiast, Gamer, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2540215166
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black

Good value. Average display heavy.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: applehazar
from Ann Arbor, MI
on 05/31/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Screen size
What's not so great: Heavy. No 9 cell battery option
Good value. Large screen. 10 key a +. No 9 cell battery option makes battery life very short. Ok speakers. Still like the overall quality.
This product is... Big screen size, bulky
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Number cruncher (10-key needed), Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2511423910
My Best Buy number: 2511423910
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black

Great price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Freakarmen
from Dallas, TX
on 05/31/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Display and performance
What's not so great: Heating problem
Got this for the best price for i7, 8gb memory and 2gb NIVIDIA. Has the best display and performance but also has a bit of a heating problem on the left side of touch pad only while using it on your lap. I got rid of the problem by using a laptop fan while using it in lap. Other than that it was a great buy.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, easy to set up, bulky, lightning fast
About me... Student, Computer technology beginner
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>