Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony - VAIO 14" Refurbished Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Gunmetal/Vintage Gold

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Sony - VAIO 14" Refurbished Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Gunmetal/Vintage Gold

Model: SVE14A27CXH
SKU: 6747147
UPC: 027242861404
Learn more about Windows 8 Enhance your on-the-go multitasking with this Sony VAIO SVE14A27CXH laptop that features built-in wireless networking for simple Web connection and a 1TB hard drive for ample file storage space. The touch-screen display allows easy navigation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.033 out of 5
4.0
 out of 
5
(152 Reviews) 152
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 152 reviews
5 stars
81
4 stars
38
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
18
78% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
119 out of 152
)
Customer Reviews for Sony - VAIO 14" Refurbished Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Gunmetal/Vintage Gold
Review 1 for Sony - VAIO 14" Refurbished Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Gunmetal/Vintage Gold
  • Featured

The closest I could find to the perfect laptop.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: argylesylva
from sylva, nc
on 10/27/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Portable, extremely powerful, touchscreen.
What's not so great: A little heavy though not too bad, display is only ok.
I had originally purchased a MacBook Air to do some audio production with, as well as some general computer use. Quite frankly, the ulv processor in the Air just wouldn't cut. Performance was not where I needed it to be. So, I began looking for a decent compromise of power and portability, and I found it in this laptop.
Overall the laptop seems very well made and solid, it is heavier than an Ultrabook, but not by any insane amount. The screen size is optimal, as 15-17" laptops are quickly becoming a thing of the past, and the excellent screen resolution is a plus.
Perhaps most importantly though, this machine has a quad-core i7 that runs extremely well with intensive tasks.
The touchscreen is also a lifesaver with Windows 8, which is truly a touch-designed operating system. I wouldn't have Windows 8 without one.
As a minor plus, the speakers are great and the backlit keyboard is excellent. I also did a little game testing, and found that Skyrim runs very well on med-high settings. You can also overclock the GPU about 150mhz with no noticeable heat increases, which yields an extra ~8 FPS when gaming.
I could not be happier with this purchase.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Technology guru, systems administrator, musician and producer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+237points
274out of 311found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony - VAIO 14" Refurbished Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Gunmetal/Vintage Gold

fantastic product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sanugaloelc
from anchorage, ak
on 11/22/2013
What's great about it: great price for all the product features
What's not so great: touch screen so need the screen cleaner
no complaints. outstanding value for price. 8GM ram and 1TB memory runs the laptop smoothly, no slow operating performance, no issues with WiFi or range. size and weight is standard. only issue at times is with display brightness - have to keep changing the setting based on if laptop is plugged in or not. doesn't keep the setting saved at times. had geek squad setup and install protection software, Microsoft updates, and MS office software. no issues with that service. first time using new Windows OS and still getting used to not having the standard desktop features.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Big screen size, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2501273945
My Best Buy number: 2501273945
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony - VAIO 14" Refurbished Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Gunmetal/Vintage Gold

Fast, functional, fun

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BlueNotes
from Pittsburgh, PA
on 10/25/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: HIgher end options at value price
Picked up this laptop specifically for my college daughter. I wanted something with a dedicated graphics card but still at an affordable price. This was it! Windows 8 is serviceable after you get used to it. Has everything you need for college work and low end and online gaming. Highly recommended.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0561484899
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony - VAIO 14" Refurbished Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Gunmetal/Vintage Gold

Quality Product - awesome display

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kjm1690897
from Tn
on 09/21/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Love the backlit keyboard
What's not so great: No problems discovered
Tried an HP before this and a glitch with the Hp gave me the opportunity to try this. So glad I got the chance.
This product is... Good sound quality, Big screen size, A nice compact size, easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Parent with kids, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2097868440
My Best Buy number: 2097868440
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony - VAIO 14" Refurbished Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Gunmetal/Vintage Gold

great and no lag

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: notanerdabc
from burbs of chicago
on 09/08/2013
I use it for simple uses, surfing, watching movies, ect. Wish it had a blu ray player.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, easy to set up
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0907000974
My Best Buy number: 0907000974
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony - VAIO 14" Refurbished Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Gunmetal/Vintage Gold

Great deal on a good laptop

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: yuo45fe
from CT
on 08/17/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price and performance
What's not so great: No SSD
Good specs and great performance. Only downside is no SSD. These should come standard in all laptops. The speed difference is amazing. Anyway it was a used/refurb laptop. Great price and sonys build quality is always great.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size, easy to set up
About me... Parent with kids, Gamer, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0953534171
My Best Buy number: 0953534171
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony - VAIO 14" Refurbished Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Gunmetal/Vintage Gold

laptop broke after 2 weeks of normal use.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Teacherma
from Mobile, AL
on 07/05/2013
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: It was great until it completely quit working.
What's not so great: It quit working after 2 weeks.
My new Sony VIAO laptop was impressive in every way including ease of use and speed of operation, but about 15 days after I bought it it quit working. It was not abused in anyway. I just tried to turn it on and it produced a plane blue screen with no other signs of life. I returned it for a full refund and selected another laptop instead.
This product is... easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Parent with kids, healthcare professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2201922013
My Best Buy number: 2201922013
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony - VAIO 14" Refurbished Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Gunmetal/Vintage Gold

Excellent machine

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: keipet01111111
from Quad Cities
on 06/28/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Touch screen and win 8 make computing easy
What's not so great: Have no complaints so far.
I was a little concerned about a display model but this one had only been out two weeks and they power them down at night so I figured why not take a chance. Buying open box provided a significant savings and got me a great machine. The touchscreen is awesome but buy a big box of screen wipes or get a touch pen.
This product is... Good sound quality, A nice compact size, lightning fast
About me... Parent with kids, Technology guru, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony - VAIO 14" Refurbished Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Gunmetal/Vintage Gold

Plenty of Computer for the money

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: stillestilo
from Kokomo,IN
on 06/19/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Good Price,Bluetooth built in
What's not so great: mouse pad is difficult to use, No Blu-ray Player
I bought this computer used, so it was a great price, but was also in great condition,they even hooked me up with a case for half price since they couldn't find the original box. The computer is beautiful with a gunmetal appearance,I also liked that it is touch screen enabled and has a feature that a lot of other laptops don't have such as built in Bluetooth (mostly I only see this on Mac's.) With a powerful i7 processor it can muiti-tasking with ease, and although I don't use it for games I imagine that it would have no problems with them as well. The Mouse pad is really hard to master do to the lack of physical buttons, I would recommend buying a wireless mouse rather than trying to use the mouse pad. I would have also liked to see a Blu-ray drive, at least it does have an HDMI output.
This product is... lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Social media enthusiast, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2226793865
My Best Buy number: 2226793865
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony - VAIO 14" Refurbished Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Gunmetal/Vintage Gold

really good laptop and works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dopey123
from spring
on 05/25/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: love the speed and light up
What's not so great: nothing yet
Very good one of the best laptop I have bought love it
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Parent with kids, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2505671709
My Best Buy number: 2505671709
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony - VAIO 14" Refurbished Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Gunmetal/Vintage Gold

All around decent computer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TtocS6
from Hammond, IN
on 05/12/2013
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Size and price
What's not so great: Switchable Graphics
I bought this both for the size and the price point after reviewing the spces and reading a few reviews. After getting accustomed to Windows 8, I have to say that it is a pretty responsive bit of kit. I run Lightroom on it with little problem along with Photoshop CS 6 and several plugins.
The laptop is nice and lightweight without feeling cheap.
The only thing I struggle with is the way the switchable graphics is implemented. I would have been much happier if I could just toggle the discreet card on and off completely instead of waiting for a pop-up on a per program basis.
This product is... Perfect for Business, A nice compact size, easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Parent with kids, Social media enthusiast, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2374311454
My Best Buy number: 2374311454
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony - VAIO 14" Refurbished Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Gunmetal/Vintage Gold

Great computer except for poor wireless function

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: 4valake
from Birmingham , al
on 05/10/2013
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Storage, touch screen
What's not so great: Wireless networking and sound
Wireless networking with this computer has completely ruined the computer for me. All other specs are great. Have to reboot wireless router to connect to my home network. My family owns and uses a MacBook, an HP laptop Pc - windows 7, an ASUS laptop vista, a Sony vaio i3 windows 7, 3 iPads, and 2 itouches and none of these devices have the wireless networking issues that I have experiences with this laptop. I have taken the laptop back to Best Buy and discussed issues with Sony support.....no help.
This product is... poor sound quality, A nice compact size
About me... Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2002688583
My Best Buy number: 2002688583
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony - VAIO 14" Refurbished Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Gunmetal/Vintage Gold

Great value for the price!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kranger143
from Greeley, Colorado
on 05/03/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The speed is wonderful, and it has every feature I was looking for.
What's not so great: I am not a fan of Windows 8.
I was very lucky to find this computer as an open box special and received excellent customer service at Best Buy
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, Social media enthusiast, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2856245260
My Best Buy number: 2856245260
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony - VAIO 14" Refurbished Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Gunmetal/Vintage Gold

Great deal

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MommaA87
on 05/03/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Touchpad gestures
I spent a lot of time looking for the right computer, bought some, had to take them back. But this one was the winner! It had everything I wanted and more. More memory than I could ever need and was touch screen and had a backlit keyboard. Love it! Only bad thing is windows 8, not a fan.
This product is... Good sound quality, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0560695135
My Best Buy number: 0560695135
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony - VAIO 14" Refurbished Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Gunmetal/Vintage Gold

Fast Laptop

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: qazwsx123456
from ames
on 05/03/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Processor and optic disk drive
What's not so great: Scratches easy and had issues with keyboard
Nice laptop with a very fast processor. Touch screen is nice as well.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, lightning fast
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Student, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0393965429
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony - VAIO 14" Refurbished Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Gunmetal/Vintage Gold

Lot of Hardware for the Money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JimmyY
from Charlotte, NC
on 04/26/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The i7 processor, 1TB of hard drive space and 8GB of memory make for a SUPER fast PC.
What's not so great: The switchable graphics are not so switchable. You cannot disable the integrated graphics to use the dedicated graphics
Great PC for the money, top of the line hardware, wonderful PC ... but the switchable graphics are more complicated than advertised to use.
This product is... Perfect for Business, easy to set up, lightning fast
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2794156789
My Best Buy number: 2794156789
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony - VAIO 14" Refurbished Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Gunmetal/Vintage Gold

Great computer for the money, as bought as an open

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Pedegreedyyy
on 04/24/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Fast great hard drive space
What's not so great: screen keeps dimming even know I set it bright
I purchased this computer as an open box buy and I am very happy for the low price of $700.00.The computer has a large hard drive for all of my movies and pics. I was unsure of getting a windows 8 computer...but now that I am used to Window 8 I really like it. It is a very fast laptop. Great for gaming too.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Gamer, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2866243515
My Best Buy number: 2866243515
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony - VAIO 14" Refurbished Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Gunmetal/Vintage Gold

it's my 2nd vaio

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: thnkpnk72
from Southaven, MS
on 04/19/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: just an overall great laptop
What's not so great: no number keypad
this is my 2nd vaio. I loved the first and I love this one!
This product is... Good sound quality, Big screen size, easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Parent with kids, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0535597099
My Best Buy number: 0535597099
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony - VAIO 14" Refurbished Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Gunmetal/Vintage Gold

it'$ a SONY!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: daddybackdoor
from Miami, FL
on 04/19/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: EVERYTHING
What's not so great: NOTHING
I had a Sony laptop before and do not regret to got another one
This product is... Good sound quality, Perfect for Business, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2189303651
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony - VAIO 14" Refurbished Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Gunmetal/Vintage Gold

Great Laptop!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ImAHotMom
from IL
on 04/18/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Fast setup, good price, very fast processor
I love my new laptop! It boots up fast and I'm able to finish more work in less time.
This product is... Perfect for Business, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Social media enthusiast, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0219005179
My Best Buy number: 0219005179
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>