Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Insignia - Flex Tablet with 8GB Memory - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Insignia - Flex Tablet with 8GB Memory - Black

Model: NS-13T001
SKU: 6815166
UPC: 600603153525
Surfing the Web at blazing-fast speeds is easy via this Insignia� NS-13T001 tablet's 9.7" capacitive touch-panel display. The Android 4.0.3 Ice Cream Sandwich operating system and 1.0GHz TI OMAP 4428 processor ensure efficient multitasking. Surfing the Web at blazing-fast speeds is easy via this Insignia� NS-13T001 tablet's 9.7" capacitive touch-panel display. The Android 4.0.3 Ice Cream Sandwich operating system and 1.0GHz TI OMAP 4428 processor ensure efficient multitasking.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4.0
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 18 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
78% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
14 out of 18
)
Customer Reviews for Insignia - Flex Tablet with 8GB Memory - Black
Review 1 for Insignia - Flex Tablet with 8GB Memory - Black

awesome tablet

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jennabear01
from vancouver, wa
on 01/14/2013
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: all it offers
What's not so great: no complaints
I bought 2 of these tablets along with the new iPad, and these are just as good as the iPad. Different operating system, but still great!! Some of the other reviews stated problems with charging, but no problems with the 2 I bought!! Awesome product for an awesome price!! Very happy so far!! Would recommend to others.
This product is... responsive touch screen, Good sound quality, easy to set up, lightning fast, Variety of apps available, Sharp graphics, Easy to navigate, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Insignia - Flex Tablet with 8GB Memory - Black

Good bang for the buck

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MOZARKIAN
on 01/12/2013
After reading the reviews on this site, purchased this tablet for my teenager for Christmas. I have to say that I believe that this tablet is well worth the price. It is very smooth in operation, and is quite fast. Screen resoulition is pretty good, and the system is easy to setup, and understand. This was the first tablet I have purchased, followed by my two ASUS tablets, but highly recommend as a first tablet, or for a teenager.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Insignia - Flex Tablet with 8GB Memory - Black

Big disappointment in product and service

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: d3131
from Jeffersonville, IN
on 01/03/2013
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Bought this tablet as a Christmas gift for my husband. Only a week later and the tablet won't charge. Not sure if it was the cable or the charging port. He tried to exchange it for a new one, but they were sold out in our entire region. The store did not even try to offer any suggestions or solutions to his problem. Ended up returning the tablet, took the money and bought a Google Nexus (which is great so far). Really disappointed in this product.
About me... Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Insignia - Flex Tablet with 8GB Memory - Black

pretty easy to set up

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Brooke108
from San Rafael, CA
on 01/03/2013
What's great about it: nice size screen
What's not so great: not easy to set up Skype
I recommend buying it. I did need help from the free phone tech . The only problem is it won't recognize my skype name & it doesn't receive Skype calls. There are some navigation problems. It is not easy to get from 1 search to another on web
This product is... responsive touch screen, lightning fast, A nice compact size, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Insignia - Flex Tablet with 8GB Memory - Black

Maybe spending more gets you a better product

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Jsauls
from SC
on 12/30/2012
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Screen Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Durability
Ordered 2 tablets before Christmas, received them on 12/28/2012, one is fine, one is dead after only 2 days of use. The dead one refuses to charge which has been a reported problem on a previous review. The only use they have had is my kids sitting on the couch playing games and video chatting with friends. For one to die after 48 hours is dissapointing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Insignia - Flex Tablet with 8GB Memory - Black

Great Value!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Blamp28
from West Michigan
on 12/30/2012
What's great about it: Low price for 10 inch screen!
What's not so great: Nothing yet
I bought this tablet as an entry level choice to be my "laptop" away from my laptop on days when I am not needing to do heavy spreadsheet or word processing work. I am in sales and use it for presentations as and note taking. I share active work files over drop box with my work computer and keep10 gigabytes of reference files on a 32 gigabyte micro SD card. I'm very pleased with the performance and convenience at a very competitive price point.
This product is... responsive touch screen, easy to set up, Perfect for Business, Variety of apps available, A nice compact size, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Business Professional, traveler, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Insignia - Flex Tablet with 8GB Memory - Black

Very disappointed and cust serv is no help

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: 2WsMom
on 12/29/2012
Received this tablet Christmas morning and by today (12/29) the charging port was broken and the screen had 3 scratches from very, very minimal use. Returned the tablet to BBuy with no issues. This was the easy part. While we were there we looked for a screen protector so the new one would not get scratched. We were told there were no cases or screen protectors for it. Now why would BBuy put out a product and not make accessories to fit it?!?!? The nice guy at the store suggested that I contact the Customer Service number listed on the box. Called and was told the same thing. No covers or screen protectors. The call center is located in Mexico City which makes it hard to communicate. So now we have this tablet that was given to us as a gift that we are afraid to use for fear that we will scratch the screen OR break the cheap charging port. Come on Best Buy!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Insignia - Flex Tablet with 8GB Memory - Black

Great budget tablet

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JohnnyZ72
from Fort Worth, Tx
on 12/27/2012
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy set up, fair price, great apps
What's not so great: Wish screen protector was included, hard to find accessories
Picked this tablet up after returning Hipstreet Equinox 2 (should of known better), for daughter's present. I am really amazed with tablet. Preloaded apps are great (Google play, chrome, google maps, etc,..). Wifi works great; nice clear display. The extra money was worth it. If you want a descent tablet, better than the cheap one, with Google play preloaded; this is one to get.
This product is... responsive touch screen, easy to set up, Variety of apps available, Sharp graphics, Easy to navigate, Great screen size
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Gamer, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Insignia - Flex Tablet with 8GB Memory - Black

Cant get started

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: joansbooks
from Seattle
on 12/26/2012
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Screen Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Size of screen and my purple cover
What's not so great: Cannot get it to work. Minimal instruction book
My husband bought this for me for Christmas because I am always running out of books to read and he thought I would love being able to just download books from Amazon instead of purchasing a book and waiting for the delivery. However I am having a lot of trouble getting started because, even though we charged the note pad overnight, it keeps shutting off. When I tried to download the Amazon app I got a message that my (Amazon) user name and password does not match. So I am nowhere with having a book to read. Felt that an instruction book should have come with it instead of on line instructions. Having to go back to the store with it for help.
This product is... responsive touch screen, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold, avid reader
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Computer technology beginner, Business Professional, retired
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-18points
0out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Insignia - Flex Tablet with 8GB Memory - Black

Dis tablet is da bomb

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: datninja
from DaStreets
on 12/26/2012
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It got dat touchscreen, i be lovin that icecream sandwich, it got da ability to let you watch some not so holy videos
What's not so great: the camera is a bunch of bull, the backgrounds are real dumb
Man, this tab is the best ish to hit DaStreets. It be real fast and when I be typin and stuff it be auto correcting what I be talking bout... not that I need dat i am da best speller in DezStreets. But on some real this tab is real Fab. Buy it for the little ninjas at home.
RealNinjaReviews
This product is... real ninjas
I would recommend this to a friend!
-16points
10out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Insignia - Flex Tablet with 8GB Memory - Black

Just what I wanted

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NCConch
from Mooresville, NC
on 12/22/2012
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Most bang for the buck
What's not so great: Have not found anything bad yet
I was looking for something to use while sitting on the couch that was small than my 17" laptop and bigger than my iPod Touch. Having the iPod, I didn't think I need an iPad but wanted something a screen bigger than my wife's Kindle.
I am very happy with the Flex and still figuring out all of the Android features.
This product is... responsive touch screen, Good sound quality, easy to set up, lightning fast, Variety of apps available, A nice compact size, Sharp graphics, Easy to navigate, Comfortable to hold
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Parent with kids, Social media enthusiast, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Insignia - Flex Tablet with 8GB Memory - Black

Great all around tablet!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: clhdpgh
from Pittsburgh, PA
on 12/20/2012
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, great price.
What's not so great: Lack of cases/accessories.
I bought this device to replace my wife's Nook. She wanted a bigger screen and this had just come out. I have a HP Touchpad and I have to say that this actually compares well with the HP. Snappy response and full Market/Google app access and a decent screen resolution make this a great tablet. 16:9 ratio would be better but the screen size makes all the videos very watchable. We haven't found a game yet that will not run on this device.
This product is... responsive touch screen, Good sound quality, easy to set up, Variety of apps available, Sharp graphics, Easy to navigate, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Technology guru, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Insignia - Flex Tablet with 8GB Memory - Black

Really easy to use and fast, great quality screen!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: laurenelizabeth
from Jonesboro, AR
on 12/14/2012
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to learn to use and has great screen quality!
What's not so great: The back scratches easily
I am in love with this tablet. It was so easy to set up and learn how to use. It also has great screen quality and great sound!
This product is... responsive touch screen, Good sound quality, easy to set up, lightning fast, Perfect for Business, Variety of apps available, A nice compact size, Sharp graphics, Easy to navigate, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Student, Technology guru, Social media enthusiast, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Insignia - Flex Tablet with 8GB Memory - Black

EXCELLENT FOR THE PRICE POINT

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: OLDWARHORSE
from FRIENDLY VALLEY, CA
on 12/10/2012
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The 9.7 inch screen.
What's not so great: No preinstalled games.
Two points to clarify first.
1. This is not an I-PAD and if that's what you want and you have the bucks my all means buy it. However, if you're looking for an excellent tablet for the money this is it.
2. Yes, there is only one camera, but for me I use a digital camera and can't see holding up a 9.7 inch tablet to ask my Grand Kids to say "Cheese."
I'm 66 years old and moved up from a Nook Classic to the Nook Tablet to the Insignia Flex. My main reason for the change was the 9.7 inch screen which helps me with my love of reading. Even though I just got new glasses eye strain, retina problems, develolps too soon on a 7 inch screen reading three hours a day and maybe watching a movie on Netflix on the front proach with my dog. The size of the screen does the trick and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a tablet for a senior citizen.
I read some reviews saying this tablet is good for a beginner, or a student. I agree whole heartedly, but would add that at the price point the features make it a better value than most E-readers with tablet capabilities.
This product is... responsive touch screen, Good sound quality, easy to set up, Variety of apps available, Great screen size
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Social media enthusiast, retired, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+37points
38out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Insignia - Flex Tablet with 8GB Memory - Black

Good tablet for newbies

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: drkncurly1
on 12/05/2012
I purchased this tablet for my husband and I decided to test it out. The screen is very good compared to other tablets at similar prices. I was able to download all of his favorite apps with no problem. The only cons so far is one, no flash player. A couple of my husbands favorite sites would not play videos. This was a huge letdown because this was brought mainly for him to watch videos and play games. The second con is the browser is very slow when 3 links are open. The tablet also gets heavy after holding upright after 20 min or so. I was ready to return this tablet until I stumbled on a link to install a flash player. Now all videos play and the slow browser isn't a deal breaker. Overall this tablet is a good product, I would recommend some friends and family to purchase it for a first tablet and for teenagers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+27points
32out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Insignia - Flex Tablet with 8GB Memory - Black

Android tablet

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Slackman41
on 11/21/2012
Very nice tablet,would make a nice gift or starter tablet. I give an A+. I have several different kinds of tablets,and like this one also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+34points
42out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Insignia - Flex Tablet with 8GB Memory - Black

The Price is not the Only Thing making this Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anthony702
from Las Vegas
on 11/13/2012
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Screen Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Google Play access, fluid usage, good screen quality
What's not so great: A bit heavy
Obviously this will not be the prettiest tab out there. However for the price this thing is amazing! It gets the job done plain and simple. Has fast browsing and app performance. The 4:3 display (which is the same one as the first two iPads used) is awesome for reading books, magazines, and web pages. Movies also look well even with the letter boxing. The flex also uses the old 30 pin apple connector, I'm not sure as of yet if it will work with old accessories but the old apple chargers are good!
This might not be the thinnest or lightest tab but with that comes extra durability and the wonderful ports!
I am so happy with my purchase, the flex was everything I needed at a fair price. You to will be happy with this as long as your expectations for it are reasonable. But even then it will probably still leave room to impress you!
This product is... responsive touch screen, Good sound quality, easy to set up, lightning fast, Variety of apps available, Easy to navigate, Great screen size, Comfortable to hold
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Student, Technology guru, Social media enthusiast, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+69points
92out of 115found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Insignia - Flex Tablet with 8GB Memory - Black

Great tablet for streaming and social media

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MinnesotaNice
from Minneapolis, MN
on 11/12/2012
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, great for first time tablet or Android users.
What's not so great: No rear facing camera, USB, and lags at times
This tablet is great for a beginner and someone not sure if they want to get into tablets or not. Very affordable for a tablet that runs Ice Cream Sandwich operating platform.
I have an iPhone that I use primarily for the same functions as a tablet but wanted the bigger screen for streaming Netflix which it does great. The browser is also very nice for web surfing and quick.
The only two downsides I would say is you can tell it is a bit laggy when trying to use a lot of applications at once. Also the keyboard seemed to be a bit slow on the browser when typing in URL's. Second it does not have a rear facing camera, and the front camera is only 2 megapixels so not the best quality.
Overall I would say if you are looking for a good affordable tablet to do your netflix, facebook, emails, and surfing it is absolutely perfect for that!
This product is... easy to set up, Variety of apps available, Easy to navigate
About me... Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+79points
85out of 91found this review helpful.