Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver

Model: M5-481PT-6488
SKU: 6815209
UPC: 886541759450
Learn more about Windows 8 Enhance your on-the-go productivity with this Acer Aspire M5 Ultrabook M5-481PT-6488 laptop, which features built-in wireless networking for easy Web browsing, e-mail access and more. The 14" high-definition touch screen offers simple navigation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.27 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 63 reviews
5 stars
40
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
4
86% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
54 out of 63
)
Customer Reviews for Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver
Review 1 for Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver

great performance, good display, fast speed

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: NewWord
from dallas, TX
on 08/19/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: very fast, good display, convenient sized, perfect for home/work use. booting speed < 20seconds, plenty of ports
What's not so great: the toucpad is a little slow, sometimes non responsive
what is good?
perfect home/work ultrabook. lightweight, slim, sturdy, great display, very fast speed. Touchscreen is an added advantage. I have installed and used weblogic application server on this ultrabook, but there is no performance degradation, at least not noticeable. Glitch free operation.
great sound and display. this one comes with a cd/dvd r/w which is great. I have not seen too many ultrabook with attached dvd/cd drive.
Not so good?
touchpad is not very sensitive, however, the touchscreen compensates well for a below-average touchpad
This product is... Good sound quality, Perfect for Business, A nice compact size, lightning fast, sluggish touchpad
About me... Budget Conscious, Technology guru, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver

It crashed!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: len999
from mn
on 05/02/2013
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: I like the touch screen.
What's not so great: Windows 8 worked ok but didn't like the sidebar issues.
Nine days after purchasing the computer I have to return it back to Best Buy because it crashed. Luckily they have a 15 day return policy. Didn't like the sidebar constantly popping up when I tried to move the cursor quickly with the touchpad. Also had trouble with docked screens displaying when you didn't want them to.
This product is... A nice compact size
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver

Great battery life

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Annmary
from OKLAHOMA
on 01/26/2013
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Touch tone screen
Kinda of pricey, but slim and easy to transport. Backlit screen. Overall nice computer.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, A nice compact size, easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver

Great touch screen ultrabook

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Melfromgeorgia
from Columbus ga
on 01/25/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Touchbook
What's not so great: Power button in front of laptop turn off unintentionally
Great ultrabook for the price. I love that it has a cd/dvd drive. Other ultrabooks that I searched didn't have this feature.
touchscreen is sensitive and easy to use. Very sleek and slim. A light book with great features.
This product is... Good sound quality, Perfect for Business, Big screen size, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver

Great Windows 8 Computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bestbuyguy5151
from Peoria, IL
on 01/14/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything except...
What's not so great: Screen Glare
Great all around Laptop for the specs and price. Fast and responsive and ready for multi-tasking. Very fast for an 3Gi5 and not much slows it down.
I haven't done any photo or video edits yet. Sill waiting a while for that.
Love the touch screen but not the screen itself. Very responsive and great touch capabilities, but has plenty of glare if there is light in the background.
Ready to use out of the box. I love it and thinking about getting the same one for work.
This product is... Good sound quality, Perfect for Business, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Social media enthusiast, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver

Awsome laptop at a great price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PLEASETAKETHISNAME
from Sunrise, FL
on 01/13/2013
What's great about it: Fast Fast Fast
What's not so great: 1 USB ...
Had an Hp amd Touch screen lasted 2 years.. this is so much faster. I am in love. I love everything about this computer. The back light on the keyboard, the touch, the speed. It is great. The only room for improvement is the amount of USB. Only one. I have an external hard drive, a mouse and a camera. Need I say that I had to buy a USB hub. Acer should definitely change this to 2 or 3 USB. Meanwhile they give you a display port and an HDMI. Hello... Display port wire which is hard to find have adapters to HDMI. Not sure what the thinking process was when Acer add the ports. The computer itself is great. Still getting use to windows 8.
This product is... A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Comfortable with technology, professional photographer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver

Didn't even last a month

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: scarterGA
from Atlanta, GA
on 01/13/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Beautiful display, touchscreen
What's not so great: Touchpad, internet lags
Bought this for myself right before Christmas. I was really enjoying until the touchpad just quite working. Took it in to have it looked at and was told the Acer brand has touchpad issues - they've seen multiple issues at their store along. Now I'm having to back up everything and return it for something else. What a hassle!!
This product is... Big screen size
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Technology guru
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver

Great computer love it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: woodcarver73
from Owasso OK.
on 01/12/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: speed and ease
I love this computer had a dell and was always wating for it to keep up
this is my first aspire and love it my wife has one for work and she has no complantes with it.love the touch screen and the ease of the screen
great resolution
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver

A solid choice for a Windows 8 ultrabook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MTSIndy
from Fishers, IN
on 01/12/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Performance, 10-point touch screen, build quality, optical drive (not found on most ultrabooks)
What's not so great: A few ounces heavier than many of its competitors, all ports on back, display is good but doesn't have the "pop" of some
We bought this as a Christmas gift for our daughter, to upgrade from her 2007 HP Pavilion laptop. As an IT professional, I researched the options thoroughly before we decided on the Acer. We wanted an ultrabook and performance needed to be good, especially with Windows 8 and several more years of software evolution to support. We also wanted a device with good build quality and a manufacturer with a reputation for customer satisfaction.
A multi-point touch screen was a must for a Windows 8 machine, and it was surprising how many of the competition either had 2-point touch screens or no touch at all. When we found the Acer on Best Buy's web site, we were surprised again to see that it carried an optical drive (not a feature on most ultrabooks). Comparing the specs to competing models, the Acer definitely was near the top with its hybrid hard drive, RAM, processor, and included Bluetooth.
Once we saw the machine in the store and handled it, the decision was made. Yes, this machine weighs in at 4 pounds 6 ounces (actual measurement from our kitchen scale) versus my HP Folio 9470m at 3 pounds 7 ounces (my corporate machine), but the Acer has a slightly larger and more solid chassis, plus the touch screen, optical drive, and better overall specs. Compared to a 2007-era Vista laptop with 4GB RAM, 4 hours battery life (with extended battery), and weighing in 6.5 pounds, the difference is like night and day.
Our 16 year old daughter quickly adapted to Windows 8, and I have been learning along with her. It's clear that Windows 8 is -- at the moment -- at a crossroads between a true leap forward and the "old" Windows 7 environment, but as more software is written for its native user interface, the old world will fade. The performance and battery life of the machine have been all that is advertised, and in the end, we couldn't be happier with our purchase.
This product is... Good sound quality, lightning fast, excellent collection of features
About me... Parent with kids, it professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver

Favorite computer I've ever had.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TrainMan1
from Neb
on 01/10/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Touchscreen, Battery Life, Quick, Quick Startup, Fun to Use, Keyboard
What's not so great: Power button placement and inputs on back
I love this computer. The touchscreen is so well done with Windows 8, I don't think I'll ever be able to go back to non-touch. It is just as responsive and fluid as any tablet I've used, including Ipad, and it gives this computer the best of both laptop and tablet worlds.
I've seen many negative reviews on this computer based on Windows 8 - it does have its learning curve, but so does any new, innovative operating system. It still has the standard "Windows 7" style desktop, but I find myself using that less and less as I learn how to do things much more easily using the Windows 8 start menu.
This computer starts up FAST. MacBook fast, maybe even faster.
The TouchPad: yes, it has its annoyances as many reviews point out, but I find them mainly because of the Windows 8 gestures - it's easy to accidentally move your finder to an edge of the pad and switch your screen or something. Once I figured out its annoying quirks, I was able to avoid them, and I feel this touchpad is more responsive than my old Windows 7 laptop, but not as responsive as my wife's MacBook #but Mac has amazing touchpads#. Anyway, the touchpad is not used as much as a typical computer because the touchscreen is so great to use.
This product is... lightning fast, awesome touchscreen, great battery life
About me... Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver

Good Value Ultrabook

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: UltraReview
from Orange, CA
on 01/08/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: backlit keys, spaces between keys, boot time, cd, thin
What's not so great: trackpad, H x W = big "14, usb ports on back, removing smudges
It came down to this, the yoga 13, or the hp envy. The yoga 13 hard drive was to small, no backlit keyboard, and pricey. My choice would have been the hp envy if i could have gotton it for $550 on black friday or $580 on cyber monday. Since i didn't this was the obvious value play. All in all not to shabby.
With the backlit keys and touchscreen it seems like i should be able to be productive while sitting on the couch? Not sure i haven't tried it yet but that was one of the main drivers for buying this unit. I dislike trackpads and i particularly dislike this one. I prefer the touchpad on my previous laptop and that was a five year old compaq. Moving on, the width and height of this unit is only a half an inch less for both dimesions than my compaq. However my compaq had a "15.6 screen. The reason for almost the same dimensions is the 1 3/4 inch gap between the base and the monitor on the acer. On my compaq there is almost no gap. Maybe there is an invisible reason for some of this but there is some obvious waste in the way the monitor sits above the base? Not a small footprint on this ultra.
The good news is this puppy boots fast. Oh ya, like that. The touchscreen works fairly well. This was the best value ultra on the week i bought mine.
This product is... Perfect for Business, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Technology guru, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver

Very disappointed in this computer

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Badkitty1
from Sumter South Carolina
on 01/07/2013
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: It is small. The lit keyboard is nice. It has lots of options i.e. uses CD's, memory sticks, etc. The battery lasts.
What's not so great: I find this computer very difficult to use. It's not user-friendly for me.
This laptop was a Christmas gift. So far it has been a huge disappointment. I wanted something that was small and could do a very wide range of programs. I loved the idea of having a small laptop with so many functions. I thought that since it came with Windows 8, I would be having lots of fun with it. That's not the case. Typing on it is extremely difficult because I will be typing on one line and then it jumps to another. When I lockout the mouse pad, some of the problem is solved, but not all. The print is also hard to read in my email. It is somewhat faint and not clear. I am going to Best Buy and see if they can work with me on this.
This product is... easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Social media enthusiast, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
4out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver

Great computer for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ReppinDaNorth21
on 01/06/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great display and touch screen
What's not so great: you can hit the mouse when typing.
First off I want to say to anyone that is ify about windows 8 and doing the switch over do not be alarmed its not as hard as lot of people have said. If you plan to get a laptop with windows 8 though make sure it is a touch screen everything goes a lot smoother that way.
The computer update starts up and runs very smoothly. The webcam is a little ify, but honestly doesnt bother me. If anyone has a problem with it its really not hard to get a good one, and plug it in.
A lot of people complained about the USB and plugs being in the back of the laptop and I thought I would at first but honestly it doesnt bother me at all.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver

Beautiful computer, terrible operating system

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: ELKCLT
on 01/06/2013
I purchased this computer for my mom for Christmas. She absolutely loved the sleek look of the computer and the light weight feel. The touchscreen is easy to use and wonderful. However, within one day the operating system fully crashed and became completely unusable. I went to best buy and exchanged the computer for a new acer touchscreen, assuming this was just a lemon. I asked the folks at best buy if they had been getting a lot of returns, they said no. So, I setup the new computer for my mom and within 1 day, the wireless stopped working completely. Took it back to best buy and this time convinced my mom to go with the MacBook. Geek squad confirmed the operating system on the acer was corrupt and continued to inform me that they are getting a lot of returns of computers operating windows 8. I would caution anyone against purchasing a computer running windows 8 until the glitches are worked out. I personally own a MacBook and I have never had a single issue. This is a shame because the touchscreen, charm concept is very cool within windows 8. I don't think these issues are related to the acer computer per se, but with the combination of the computer running windows 8 operating system.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-19points
4out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver

Very Impressive

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: FSRSR
from Monroeville
on 01/06/2013
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Adapting to the Win OS 8 Interface
I have been looking for a new laptop for several months. Was very frustrated because I could not find what I was looking for at a reasonable price. Further, with so many different laptops available, deciding which brand, model, features, became more of a hassle than it was worth to me.
Essentially chose this laptop because it was listed in a recent CNET review as one of their top 5 laptops. Price was a little more than I wanted to pay $699 but this laptop had all the features/components I wanted in a computer. Reading other owner reviews also influenced me to buy this laptop.
My experience thus far is that I am very impressed. Feels solid in my lap, not too heavy, backlit keys look cool, very responsive, and starts up very quickly. I am still figuring my way around Win 8 but that is no fault of the laptop. Connecting to my wifi was instantaneous as stated on the features of the laptop. Acer also makes the claim the battery will have long life up to 4 years (we will see). Screen quality acceptable. This will take me some time to get used to touching the screen as compared to using the mouse. This chassis is battleship grey aluminum so it won't get any bonus points for style.
If you are considering buying this laptop, you may want to review the CNET articles:
http://www.cnet.com/laptops/acer-aspire-m5-481pt/4505-3121_7-35472868.html
All in all, I am happy with this purchase and glad I am done looking for a laptop.
This product is... Perfect for Business, A nice compact size, easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver

Awesome Touch Screen

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: j55555
from CT
on 01/02/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, fast, great computer to help get used to windows 8
I've had this computer for a few days now and I'm really enjoying it. Windows 8 is an adjustment for sure, but the computer itself is helping make the process easier. The touch screen, the keyboard, the size of the ultrabook are all great.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver

Great laptop for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: myera
from Los Angeles
on 12/31/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Touch screen, sounds, speed, screen resolution, Optical drive for a UltraBook, Big screen, great price, backlit keyboard
What's not so great: where all the ports are located but not a big deal
I did a lot of research before buying this ultrabook. I feel like this is a little heavy compared to other ultrabooks with 4.6 pounds but only .9 inches. It has a classy look, the backlit keyboard and the touch screen are great. The battery life is upto 8 hours with fully charged, I've been using it for the past 3 hours--watched videos and all and still have 3-4 hours to go and it is a huge plus. I love how this ultrabook is pretty fast, but I hate how many useless apps are pre-installed because I had to uninstall them all.
This laptop was highly recommended to me by the geek squad for its durability and high performance for its price. I am a college student and I really wanted something less heavy with long lasting battery to take to school and this has it all. The plus is a dvd drive is included. Love this product!
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver

Exceeded my expectations

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: onatytbudget
from AZ
on 12/30/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Blazingly fast, accurate & responsive touch screen, excellent specs for the money
What's not so great: only a 1.3 MP camera, location of power button & connections, windows 8 learning curve, and bloatware
I was looking to replace an old Windows Vista Toshiba laptop and was originally looking to buy the Lenovo Yoga. After doing my budget for the semester, I found that I could not afford the Lenovo (it costs twice as much!). So I did a lot of research on touch screen laptops, and I found this Acer Aspire M to be the best value for the money. At first I was hesitant to buy because I didn’t know anything about Acer except for their acquisition of Gateway a while back.
I had to get used to a few things. The power button is in front, and I accidentally powered it off when I turned it to show someone what was on the screen. The ports and connections are located in the back, and I found that it was somewhat cumbersome. I did have connectivity issues like some of the reviewers, but I checked the “always connect” box and fixed it. There was also a lag. I just reinstalled the OS and took out all the preinstalled programs and apps. I now only have the programs and apps I use, and it is blazingly fast. The battery life is excellent. I have gotten away with 7-8 hours of multi-tasking before the low battery notification came on.
Windows 8 was so frustrating at first; I could not find anything except for the tiles. But after a few tutorials on YouTube and the Acer site, I hit the ground running. The Windows 8 interface is intuitive, smooth and impressive, and even better with a touch screen. I already feel like a pro, but I am still discovering more and more ways to make it more efficient for my personal use.
I read some reviews where buyers weren’t happy with the display, but I was actually quite impressed with it. There’s a calibration feature where you select which display (it shows text only) looks best. After I calibrated the display, both blacks and colors look even richer in my eyes. The sound quality is better than on most laptops. There’s a “Dolby Home Theater Professionally Tuned” stamped on it. I also thought that the 1.3 MP camera was a disadvantage, but I use Skype on my iPad, so this is not a deal breaker for me.
As far as upgrades, the 6GB of RAM is the maximum. I checked for the ability to upgrade to an SSD and found that I am able to upgrade to a 512 SSD. I will take advantage of it later, when SSD’s get cheaper…lol.
THE BOTTOM LINE:
If you are looking for a TOUCH SCREEN laptop, this is the one to buy. It offers the best specs for the money. However, if you prefer a laptop that is not touch screen, there are other laptops with better specs for the same price. I had to consider a laptop with a 3rd gen i7 processor, a 1TB hard drive, and a 15.6 WXGA display vs. this one (see my recommended products below). After playing with both at my nearest BB, I chose this one for its smaller size (my medical textbooks and gear are heavy and bulky enough!), LCD display, and touch screen capabilities. Personally, I own both a touch screen smartphone and a 3-year-old all in one touch screen desktop and I don’t want to go back to a non-touch screen ever again. Weigh out the pros and cons and make the choice that is best for you.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Parent with kids, Student, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver
4.3 out of 5(63)
 
 
 
Lenovo - IdeaPad 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Graphite Gray
3.9 out of 5(53)
 
 
 
 
 
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver

Great Value Ultrabook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BradLSpokane
from spokane wa
on 12/29/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The Body Design and keyboard are great
What's not so great: As is typical with Acer laptops and probably most other brands, the touch pad interferes with typing
This is a seemingly well built high value utlrabook. It is quite a bit cheaper than comparable models. The touch screen works well. The back-lit keyboard types well. The battery life is great! With real world use it seems like I am getting around 4 hours of battery life, but it could probably go longer. I haven't used it on battery consecutively as of yet.
My biggest problem with this computer is the interference of the touch pad while typing. I was finding that my left palm seemed to be causing the cursor to jump back in the sentence I was typing. I was able to remedy this problem by using the program called "TouchFreeze" a free program that disables mouse input while typing.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Technology guru, Social media enthusiast, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Acer - Ultrabook 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB SSD - Silver

Great computer for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mimeis
from minnesota
on 12/29/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Excellent display, easy setup, solid build
What's not so great: touchpad not as smoot as Mac
At 42 y/o I feel like a kid with a new toy. I will admit, when windows 8 was released I installed it on my desktop PC(network PC). Initially I HATED IT. I wanted Microsoft to die. I was truly angry at the travesty. But, Kept using it. Slowly it grew on me. I started to get it. So I went to Best Buy and played with a touchscreen. I thought," Huh, this is cool". So I decided I would get this for Xmas.
I have to say, I am now blown away by W8 with a touchscreen. This is fantastic. This, in my view, is the future of personal computing.
I have an option to download quick, cheap, small , single purpose apps, just as I do on my phone or ipad, but if I want to run a full program such as photoshop or full MS word or any other complex program, all I have to do is swipe the screen and desktop is there. The tiles for PhotoS and MS word are there and when you click it brings you to desktop version. Swipe the screen left-right and brings up my tiles and I can start iheart radio, swipe again and go back to PhotoSh.
Now I get it. We created w8. We wanted the ability to quickly download a small game or other program for a couple of bucks and w8 provides that ability without compromising our desire to run fully featured complex large programs. And best of all, it does it so elegantly!
Everything is so smooth and responsive.
And this Acer laptop provides the ideal platform for W8. It is well built, solid, has enough memory and a very responsive, bright and beautiful screen for only 700$. Its quite amazing to me. Im new to W8 and am now in the "discovery stage", but I must say, the more I play with this laptop the more cool stuff I find. Its like easter egg hunting. You just need to take your time, start swiping away, explore and let the" ooh, ahh's, wo-ho that's cool" flow.
BTW, W8 works best on touchscreen. Cannot stress that enough. Unfortunately, as much as I am loving W8, I am not crazy about it on my desktop PC. If you can afford the extra 150$ get the touchscreen otherwise the W8 experience will be less than ideal, and then you'll blame W8.
This product is... Perfect for Business, A nice compact size, easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Parent with kids, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>