Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Acer - Ultrabook 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB Solid State Drive - Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Acer - Ultrabook 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB Solid State Drive - Silver

Model: M5-581T-6807
SKU: 6815281
UPC: 886541775191
Learn more about Windows 8 Multitask on the go with this Acer Aspire M5 Ultrabook M5-581T-6807 laptop that features a 500GB hard drive and a 20GB solid state drive for ample file storage. The 15.6" high-definition display and Intel HD Graphics 4000 offer stunning visuals.
Average Customer Rating:
3.983 out of 5
4.0
 out of 
5
(115 Reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 115 reviews
5 stars
62
4 stars
22
3 stars
9
2 stars
11
1 star
11
77% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
88 out of 115
)
Customer Reviews for Acer - Ultrabook 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB Solid State Drive - Silver
Review 21 for Acer - Ultrabook 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB Solid State Drive - Silver

Computer is easy to operate; has good display

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PattyB647
from Gladwin, MI
on 02/09/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up
What's not so great: Customer service from ACEr is not very helpful
I like the computer. It is face and has a good screen. Windows 8 was easy to get used to. I have had some trouble with the computer recognizing devices such as external hard drives and memory cards which Best Buy explained to me was a problem with Windows 8. Ony happened twice and has been fine since then.
I have called Acer support 4 times and was dissatisfied with the response 3 of the 4 times. The second time I called them I was told that I had to send the computer in for service - and this was two days after I got the computer. Instead I called Best Buy and they solved the problem for me over the phone. Also, the computer said it came with a program for transferring files from my old computer to the new one. However it is not on the computer and Acer support said it was never included with Windows 8 - so why was it listed in as a program????
Overall I love the actual computer. Weight is pretty good and it does everything I need.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Acer - Ultrabook 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB Solid State Drive - Silver

this is a nice piece of equipment

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jjeemm
on 02/09/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: great graphics, fast and fun
What's not so great: a little pricey
love this ultrabook. nice equipment that has been overlooked by reviewers. fast and easy to get going on.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Acer - Ultrabook 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB Solid State Drive - Silver

Great laptop for a student/minor gamer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Shelly87
from Pittsburgh, PA
on 02/08/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: illuminated keyboard keys, display, HD graphics, speed
What's not so great: nothing that I've encountered so far.
I bought this laptop for my senior year in college 3 weeks ago. I absolutely love this laptop. The speed is amazingly fast. I multi-task (check e-mail, facebook, do homework, listen to youtube, etc) all at the same time and I can switch between the pages and back to home screen within one second. The graphics are great when watching movies online. The illuminated keyboard keys allows you to work in dim light as well when your spouse wants to sleep. I like the layout of the keyboard with the 10 key laid out on the right side of the keyboard. The keyboard keys are smooth and are just the right size.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Big screen size, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Student, Social media enthusiast, multi-tasker, minor gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Acer - Ultrabook 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB Solid State Drive - Silver

Everyday computer for basic Internet and office

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: WriterGal
from Colorado Springs, CO
on 02/08/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nice looking, thin, great price
What's not so great: Hate Windows 8 OS
As soon as I figure out how to find all my programs and how to play a DVD, maybe I'll learn to like this computer! I've turned it on less than half a dozen times since spending a frustrating few days with it. It seems very user-unfriendly to me, and am back to my old computer which has Windows 7 and is much easier to maneuver. So far, I truly hate Windows 8 which, of course, totally impacts my Acer experience to the negative. Not sure I like that back-lit keyboard either.
This product is... A touch pad that works great
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Social media enthusiast, Number cruncher (10-key needed), Business Professional, Comfortable with technology, author, editor
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
5out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Acer - Ultrabook 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB Solid State Drive - Silver

Could not have done better at this price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: scottinks
from Topeka, KS
on 02/03/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It's thin, fast, sexy, has a lighted keyboard
What's not so great: windows 8 but that's Microsofts fault. I'll get used to it.
I am completely satisfied with this laptop. It has a great keyboard, good screen, it's so thin and takes up less space than other 15.6" laptops. The SSD is a definite bonus - this thing boots in no time. I'm glad I didn't spend twice as much to get a MacBook like I originally wanted.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast, sexy
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Technology guru, Gamer, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Acer - Ultrabook 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB Solid State Drive - Silver

Great for those with an Open Mind

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MNSSTeacher
from Minneapolis
on 02/01/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Keyboard, Windows 8, Weight, Size, Screen, Performance
What's not so great: Battery (kinda)
I read all the reviews before buying being skeptical of the WiFi, Screen, and the battery issue. I was tentative with Windows 8 too.
Overall the computer has been fantastic. I am a teacher and graduate student and the computer has been an outstanding buy so far. I have had no issues with the WiFi at home, school, or my university.
Windows 8 was very different but easy to set up if you're not going to get angry and give up because its different. The new interface=the "missing" start button. The multi gesture clickpad has been great to learn Windows 8 with. I love the customization of Windows 8. If you take the time (for some it could be an hour, for others it could a week) to personalize it you should come to enjoy Windows 8. I also have Office 2013 and having that and Skydrive makes organization a cake walk. Windows 8 is also incredibly smart and takes care of some bugs with the old operating system.
The browser display takes some adjusting to but Windows 8/Movies play wonderfully. I have yet to come across any issues other than the battery. The length of the battery and charger are fine but when you plug it in when you get the 10% remaining notification it does not charge unless you sleep/hibernate the computer. It will still hold the battery level just not charge it. Not really an issue with a very long battery life.
I would recommend this computer to people who like technology. Luddites need not waste their time with Windows 8. If you're willing to learn I recommend this device with Windows 8. This computer is a good device as we move to a future of connected devices and cloud servers. This device makes me want to get a Windows Phone (I still have a dumb phone)
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Student, Social media enthusiast, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Acer - Ultrabook 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB Solid State Drive - Silver

Great ultrabook for the price!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mnmomma85
from Minneapolis, MN
on 01/31/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: price, speed, portability, aesthetics
What's not so great: noise
Yes, this has Windows 8 as the pre-installed OS, which many do not like (I, quite frankly, don't mind). However, I paid the $4.99 for Start8 so I would have a start button. This computer is an amazing deal for the price! It's sleek, has a nice backlit keyboard, boots up quickly, and the Dolby speakers are fabulous. The fan is noisy, but for the price I'm okay with it. I would def recommend Acer to others (I have owned 2 Acer's in the past AND both are still working - one of them is almost 5 years old). Very happy with this purchase. Perfect computer to have as I'm going to grad school!
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Big screen size, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Student, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Acer - Ultrabook 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB Solid State Drive - Silver

I do not like the computer because of Windows 8

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from PA
on 01/31/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: I like the lighted keys. It is very thin! Works very well except Windows 8
What's not so great: I do not like Windows 8
This would be a great computer if it were not for the operating system, Windows 8. When I purchased the computer from Best Buy in Erie, PA I was asked if I wanted windows 8. I was also told it could be downgraded to Windows 7 if I wanted. Well, I tried Windows 8 as suggested by salesperson, but did not like it! Why would Microsoft do this. I have been using computers since the early 80's and never have had such problems running software or just finding my way around. Windows 8 will not work with my program for my tax collecting. I am Tax collector for the city here and also do many scholarships for local students. The software I am using will not work with this Windows version! I called Best Buy in Erie to get help but they now told me I can't downgrade to Windows 7. I am not stuck with this computer and hoping my old Dell will last a bit longer. I bought the new one to replace the Dell as it has battery charging issues and is almost out of battery! Help! I really don't know what to do! Now it is just past the 30 days to return the computer to Best Buy and find one with Windows 7!
This product is... Big screen size, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Number cruncher (10-key needed), Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
7out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Acer - Ultrabook 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB Solid State Drive - Silver

Good full function ultrabook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Didacus
on 01/30/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great performance, professional design
What's not so great: Slightly heavy
When I bought the Aspire M5-581T, I was was thinking of having a low-voltage ultrabook in order to use on battery at uni, without sacrificing a dvd reader which the lighter models tend to miss. The low voltage processor hinted at me that i could not run heavy applications for design or gaming. What I found however is that the processor overclocks to 2.1 Ghz automatically when running high demand programs which really does the work; I haven't found myself using my desktop computer since. The design looks very professional, and the battery life is fantastic. The integrated 1.7GB graphics are good for gaming too (playing XCOM: enemy unknown on high and Guild Wars 2 on medium). I never expected to get such a great ultrabook in the $700 price range.
This product is... Good sound quality, Perfect for Business
About me... Student, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Acer - Ultrabook 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB Solid State Drive - Silver

Liked it originally

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: snolily
from Seattle, WA
on 01/28/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Nice display
What's not so great: Keyboard uncomfortable
Originally purchased non-touch screen with Win 8, due to availability. Quickly realized needed touch screen with this version of Windows. Exchanged and spent next 24 hours transferring files and loading software. Next morning, entire unit was dead. Returned and replaced with another brand.
This product is... Big screen size, A nice compact size, easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology, primary use home office
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
4.2 out of 5(128)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Acer - Ultrabook 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB Solid State Drive - Silver

Nice PC for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: PnCPC
from Colorado Springs, CO
on 01/28/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great computer for the price.
What's not so great: Display is fine for normal use but color accuracy and viewing angle don't make it the best for picture color adjustments
A good basic laptop. Display not very accurate in terms of color so not the computer for professional photo editing but fine for most people. Built in speakers aren't that great. Otherwise a really nice light computer. Happy with it overall and would buy another.
This product is... poor sound quality, A nice compact size, easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Technology guru, Social media enthusiast, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Acer - Ultrabook 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB Solid State Drive - Silver

Great computer for the price; Nice look and feel

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TripleAAardvark
from Beantown, MA
on 01/28/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Speed, Display, Lighted Keyboard
What's not so great: Annoying On/Off button; runs a little hot
I bought this for my teenage son--I was looking at lower equipped computers, but this was the same price due to an open box special. I really got a bargain--this is a very nice looking computer, solid build (more solid feeling than my Sony VAIO at twice the price). Great speakers for laptop. Lighted keyboard is a feature I like when watching movies in the dark, and usually something you don't get in this price range. Performance is excellent. I haven't seen any lag or delay even with multiple intensive programs running. It's plenty of juice for most home applications. Very light, but it does get fairly hot on the lap--use a good cooling pad and you're all set. Good deal.
This product is... Good sound quality, easy to set up, lightning fast, nice looking, light
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Technology guru, geek
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Acer - Ultrabook 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB Solid State Drive - Silver

Bought for my Daughter for Christmas

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: txdan123
from Austin, Texas
on 01/28/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Light and then
What's not so great: Nothing
I bought this for my daughter for christmas and she really enjoys it. The slim design and picture quality are of high quality. The machine boots very quickly and has great battery life.
This product is... A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Acer - Ultrabook 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB Solid State Drive - Silver

Best Bang For The Buck Out Right Now

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cg1987
from Los Angeles, Ca
on 01/27/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Speed, Size, Quality Aluminum Construction, Backlit Keyboard
What's not so great: Glossy Screen is Average
Great specs for $600:
- 6 GB RAM
- i5 3317U CPU
- 5.1 lb & 0.8"
- Backlit Keyboard
- Aluminum Chasis
- Free 1-Year Subscription to Webroot
Unique combination of specs for an Ultrabook in this price range. Fits perfectly is Case Logic sleeve, super portable for the college student who keeps their laptop in their backpack. Doesn't heat up even with 8 straight hours of use. Battery will last 4-6 hours depending on type of use. Minimal bezel around the screen.
Cons:
Screen is very glossy
I notices a lot of buyers are having problem with WIFI, so here is the link to fix it:
http://us.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/drivers
This product is... A touch pad that works great, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Student, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Acer - Ultrabook 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB Solid State Drive - Silver

Not a good laptop

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: RGul
from Tukwila, WA
on 01/27/2013
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: screen size and clarity
What's not so great: Wifi
This computer won't stay connected to wifi. You can hear the gears grinding on this thing. It's very annoying. Having to always use an ethernet cable totally defeats the purpose of this laptop. I would not recommend anyone purchasing this laptop.
This product is... easy to set up, not good
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Social media enthusiast, Regularly process large video or graphics files, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Acer - Ultrabook 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB Solid State Drive - Silver

Great laptop but bundled with one horrid OS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Senatee
from College Park Ga
on 01/27/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design: This laptop is built with a design akin to a uni body. The screen is one piece and the keyboard is another. It definitely has a very industrial feel to it. No shiny surfaces of gimmicky, glittery plastic; just metal.Or some platic that looks feels and gets cold like metal. But I really think its metal. Because of this the keyboard shows absolutely no flex. the material under and surrounding the keys is the same metal the entire laptop is made of. But even though the laptop is made out of this material it is fairly light. Yes this is a 15.6 inch laptop with an Intel processor and a number pad to the side. Understand that although it has the ultra-book branding and is comparatively light compared to other laptops in its spec class it is not as light as say the Samsung 9 Series laptops. It feels solid in hands but at no point does it feel heavy. You sacrifice weight for quality design. ps. there are no creeks or noises that emanate from the laptop when you pinch at corners or pick it up. It is a well made laptop.
Touch pad: I have to get used to depressing the entire pad instead of hitting either the left or right clicker. It is nice and big and feels good to the fingers.
Ports: All the ports, except for the sd card slot, are all on the back of the laptop. In order to accomplish this Acer employs a hinge/backside that is very old school. It sort of adds to the industrial feel of the notebook and is a tad ingenious considering that the ports are on the back. I kinda of had a chicken or the egg moment, trying to understand whether they changed the backside first or moved all the ports to the back first. You get 2 usb 3.0 slots and one 2.0 slot. As well one of the 3.0 slots allows for usb charging to your phone, kindle etc when the laptop is off. You can even determine how far the laptop battery can be depleted while charging your other devices. Sidenote: The power button is positioned at the bottom of the keyboard in the front. (something you need to see to understand) It isn't a problem as you wont mistakenly brush into it and turn off the laptop; its just a peculiar design choice.
Keyboard: No flex at all. It is a very chiclet style keyboard with ample spacing between every key. The Number pad is not cramped with the standard keyboard and arrows. There is a clear line/space to delineate between the number pad and everything else. I don't like laptop designs where you cant tell one button from another without looking down.
Display: The display, unlike the rest of the laptop, is par for the course when it comes to this price range. Its nice don't get me wrong, but you wont be wowed by it. It serves its purpose and I will watch movies on it without problem.
Cd/DVD: It has a dvd/cd player,which accounts for that extra weight mentioned above. It almost seems like an afterthought for the design but does not seem fragile.
Misc: The 20gb mssd hard drive is only for booting up your computer. From OFF position to ON the laptop takes about 10 to 15 seconds. The fan comes on alot. But unless you are in a quiet room you wont notice it. It doesn't sound loud but if you are listening for it you will hear it. After you remove all the bloatware the computer will be very fast and you should not experience lag. Mozilla Firefox seems to have a big problem with Windows 8, as it freezes for about 3 minutes every 5 minutes. It will force you to use Chrome or Internet Explorer until Mozilla fixes the issue. The laptop DOESN'T get hot at all. My mother does not play video games and I stopped playing WOW so I cant speak to that. But even when updating, removing bloatware, and playing music I never felt heat. Also remove McAfee from the laptop, since Microsoft has Windows Defender which is more than enough to protect the laptop. I experienced NO WiFi issues. I bought mine in a Best Buy store and the connectivity works without problem.
****Now that we have gotten past the nice things.... lets talk about Windows 8*****
Windows 8 is unusable without buying a little piece of software called "Start 8". Period. I'm 25, my mother who will be using this laptop, is in her 50's. She needs the freaking start button. Why Microsoft couldn't leave the start button and have the new Windows look and style is beyond me. But it is clearly a ridiculous oversight.
Now. When you get the laptop you need to do 2 things. One uninstall all the Metro UI apps (like kindle, news, ebay, amazon etc), that will be running at all times. These apps waist memory and battery and their functionality can be easily achieved by going to their websites instead. Second, uninstall ALL of the Acer bloatware. It is legion and they are many. It took almost a hour to remove it all, but it is worth it.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size, lightning fast
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Acer - Ultrabook 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB Solid State Drive - Silver

Wifi.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: twicupcake
from Midwest, USA
on 01/27/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything, but the Wifi.
What's not so great: Wifi
What everyone else has said about the wifi issue is true. I bought this computer about 3 weeks ago from my local Best Buy, and the first week I only had a few random wireless issues, figured I had gotten lucky. It has gradually gotten worse, and now it drops to "Limited" every 15 minutes or so. I even rolled back the drivers, and unchecked that 'automatic' box like over reviewers suggested - no go.
This computer is AMAZING for the price, specs, start-up, display, keyboard, you name it - but the wireless is a deal breaker. When it drops to limited every 15 seconds, it's extremely frustrating and annoying - don't expect to use this for gaming or anything else.
The touchpad is also a little too sensitive for my tastes. And Windows 8 is absolutely pointless on a device that is NOT touchscreen - I have no idea why Windows 8 is on this, and I hate it.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Big screen size, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Gamer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Acer - Ultrabook 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB Solid State Drive - Silver

great machine except for wireless connection

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MyFirstUltra
from Santa Rosa
on 01/26/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: pre installed windows 8 works fabulous
What's not so great: keeps dropping off my home wireless connection
I have 5 different equipment running on my home wireless network. This is the only one that keeps dropping off
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Parent with kids, Social media enthusiast, Number cruncher (10-key needed), Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Acer - Ultrabook 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB Solid State Drive - Silver

Troublesome Out of the Box

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: MynewAcerComputer
from Irvine
on 01/25/2013
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Fast Boot Up Time
What's not so great: WiFi Connecting is Unacceptable
I bought two of these computers: one for me and one for my daughter. Both of us experienced unexpected but constant disconnection to our wireless routers. My daughter and I live in different houses in different towns with different wireless routers. It was determined - from no help from the Geek Squad or the Acer website - that there was an inherent problem with the wireless drivers. By researching the problem on the internet, I found a new driver and now both machines work. If you are the type of person that expects their new equipment to work correctly and is not inclined to except damaged goods right out of the box, you don't want to get one of these computers.
This product is... lightning fast, not ready for production
About me... Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Acer - Ultrabook 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 20GB Solid State Drive - Silver

Excellent Product for the Money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ReefLex
from Pleasant Valley, NY
on 01/25/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Quality, style and performance
What's not so great: Display is ultra sharp but very reflective; the hard drive is noisy
This laptop was purchased for a Freshman college student so we were looking for a machine which could pull academic and standard business applications to serving as entertainment system while away at school.
This ACER Ultrabook fit the bill to a 'T' without breaking the bank. I have never owned an ACER before but did all the homework and found the reviews encouraging.
The product has not disappointed. Is it perfect? No, the display is very reflective which makes it difficult to see in bright light, the hard drive is noisy, its rather heavy and the Windows * operating system all take getting used to. But, the whole package is exceptional for the price.
Would highly recommend this machine.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>