Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP - ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Midnight Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

HP - ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Midnight Black

Model: 4-1105dx
SKU: 6879218
UPC: 887111497192
Learn more about Windows 8 Enjoy stunning images with this HP ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 4-1105dx laptop that features a 14" high-definition touch screen for brilliant visuals and simple navigation. The 500GB hard drive offers plenty of space for storing music, movies and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.21 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 76 reviews
5 stars
37
4 stars
27
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
4
89% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
68 out of 76
)
Customer Reviews for HP - ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Midnight Black
Review 21 for HP - ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Midnight Black

Great camera

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: M44EH
from Woodbridge, VA
on 08/16/2013
What's great about it: Good price and easy to use
What's not so great: Nothing
Love it! Might purchase as a gift for Family or friends. Great buy! My experience with Best Buy was over the top.
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0556207496
My Best Buy number: 0556207496
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for HP - ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Midnight Black

awesome touch experience..

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sree6
from CH, IL
on 08/02/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: good deal
What's not so great: key pad
its been a month...So far no issues..no complains..good deal. 100% value for your money....what I liked most is its touch experience. Its as good as your mobile multi touch experience..key pad is not really good...overall I strongly suggest a buy for this...
This product is... A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 23 for HP - ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Midnight Black

Disappointed with its overall poor performance

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: TechDad27
from Sugar Land, TX
on 08/02/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Price, light weight,
What's not so great: Touch screen, flickering display, poor speed
Was initially excited buying this ultra book with decent specs at a great price. That excitement soon withered when several problems surfaced in a day - touch screen did not work properly (had to touch twice or thrice many a times), display would flicker randomly, games were slow (Mine craft was exceptionally slow). Had Geek Squad check out the settings, performance did not improve. Finally returned it and got a Lenovo Idea Pad with better specs and poerformance.
This product is... easy to set up, poor touch screen response, flickering display
About me... Parent with kids, Comfortable with technology
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 24 for HP - ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Midnight Black

Worse laptop I have ever purchased

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: kjmjr4848
from Raleigh. NC
on 08/02/2013
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: the backlit screen
What's not so great: RETURNED TO HP TWICE IN 6 MONTHS
Purchased this laptop because it was so light, backlit keyboard and everything I wanted in a laptop. Purchased lasr October and have returned it to HP twice already because it is defective. I am so sorry I bought it. Definitely would not recommend this to my worse enemy.
Thank God I have a spare Dell. No more HP products for me.........at all!
This product is... A nice compact size, easy to set up
About me... Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
5out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 25 for HP - ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Midnight Black

Very good laptop with a low budget

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Jennyyyyy1515
from SF
on 07/29/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, good price, fast
What's not so great: Short battery life, Webcam does not work, Sound quality
After 2 weeks of using this laptop, the webcam decided to stop working. This laptop could not detect any camera device which sucks. It is also stated that the sound quality is beatsaudio but it really sounds like any other laptop to me. It is not special at all. Nonetheless, this was a great priced laptop and I have enjoyed using the touchscreen. It is also very fast and a great laptop overall.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, poor sound quality, easy to set up, lightning fast, webcam problems, short battery life
About me... Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 26 for HP - ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Midnight Black

Good budget ultrabook

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BMcFrizzle
from Tennessee
on 07/26/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: fairly thin and light weight, fluid and responsive touchscreen, backlit keyboard, decent battery life
What's not so great: Screen resolution could be better and a bit brighter, touchpad can act strangely at times
Overall I am satisfied with this product. I upgraded from a 15.6" laptop with a battery that lasted 2 hours if I was lucky - the battery on this lasts a good 4-5 hours, which is decent. I do a lot of programming, web design, and things of that nature and it is nice to be able to get away from an utlet for a while.The touch screen is really great, although it's not really needed except when navigating/using windows 8. The laptop is pretty thin, but I expected it to be a bit thinner for an ultrabook. The audio is good, but I think there was a problem with the Beats audio drivers when I first purcahsed this laptop back in December 2012. Since then I believe it has been fixed (or I fixed it myself?). The touchpad has been a bit finicky but you can customize a lot of its features which is nice (I disabled the windows 8 swiping features because I kept accidentally using them). I've had a few strange problems with the wfif adapter but I fixed it by reinstalling some wifi drivers. Also, the ethernet port is really convenient and clever, in my opinion. Backlit keyboard is really a plus and I won't buy a laptop without it anymore. I wish the battery would last around 7 hours instead of 4-5 and the battery is built in (not replaceable), but that is the case with most ultrabooks now anyways. Overall this is a good buy, especially for the price. I would not recommend this for gaming or anything that requires a lot from the CPU because it's running on the little 1.8GHz i3 processor so it can't handle anything crazy - but it works great for most tasks and software.
This product is... A nice compact size, easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Student, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2381111795
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 27 for HP - ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Midnight Black

Love the computer - Windows 8 - not so much

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: GLLL
from FSS
on 07/08/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
I was looking for something light and portable to carry around (check), solid construction (check), fantastic audio (check), FAST bootup time (check), good battery life (check), sleek design (check), and that met by budget (check). It is a really impressive laptop to be in the $5-600 range. Highly recommended.
This product is... Good sound quality, easy to set up, lightning fast
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 575722482
+28points
29out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 28 for HP - ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Midnight Black

Amazing computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Kent, WA
on 06/07/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease of use!
What's not so great: Fingerprints on screen
Overall, a great computer for my small business and I would recommend it to anyone!
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Perfect for Business, Big screen size, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Parent with kids, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2873692443
My Best Buy number: 2873692443
+23points
27out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 29 for HP - ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Midnight Black

Great, light book and love the W8 touchscreen

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cmptrcwby
from Cincinnati, OH
on 05/17/2013
Great, light book and love the W8 touchscreen. Recommended
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0423866597
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 30 for HP - ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Midnight Black

Searched and read many other laptop reviews

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Beanzy
from h, MamoutPly
on 03/22/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: size, weight, display, speed, big plus with touch screen useing windows 8
What's not so great: none found
very happy wi this laptop. Already have a Asus with windows 7. This one far excedes the purformance and display. Would highly recommend.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size, easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 31 for HP - ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Midnight Black

Not exceptional, but its fair.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: SBrown0003
from Georgia
on 03/11/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Backlit keys and touchscreen are convenient.
What's not so great: Display is very poor.
This laptop is perfect for light computing. (Word Processor, Web Browsing, Viewing videos and media.) However, I would not recommend for heavier graphically intense programs. (like video games and large software)
I waited a few months to make sure I had an genuine experience with the laptop. With that I can say that in general I find this to be a decent laptop with few complaints from me. My only issues are the following:
It has problems connecting and reconnecting to networks (basically it has issues with internet access when waking up from being asleep). But this doesn't happen all the time so its not so bad.
However, my main gripe is with the screen. The screen is of poor quality all around. Don't get me wrong. The touch screen feature works flawlessly, and I love it. But the screen itself leaves much to be desired. The maximum screen resolution is too low, making it hard to read the small text on the screen. Also the color of the screen looks washed out and faded. So in the end I am left constantly readjusting my screen to find a better viewing angle and zooming in to read text. If you look up from the laptop to any other screen you will see a night & day difference in the display quality.
In conclusion. This laptop is fine. No major issues (that's more than I can say about most other laptops) But its network issues and horrible screen are enough to annoy me, but not enough to justify spending more money on a better laptop.
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size, easy to set up
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Student, Technology guru, Social media enthusiast, Gamer, Number cruncher (10-key needed), Comfortable with technology, computer expert
I would recommend this to a friend!
+27points
42out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 32 for HP - ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Midnight Black

Great home/business laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: FCavalin
from Santo Domingo, DR
on 03/11/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Design and performance
What's not so great: Weight, maybe
I just bought this computer and I'm pretty impressed with the machine for the price I paid for. It's got a solid aluminum frame and the keyboard works just like a MacBook Pro. Among all laptops I had, 6 by now including Macs, this is the first computer that doesn't heat on my lap. Which I love because I can lay it on my chest and watch my videos at night with no hassle.
I believe I've read over 100 reviews before buying this computer and I was very concerned about Windows 8. To be honest, I congratulate Microsoft for Windows 8, it's user friendly and got a bunch of features and shortcuts to stand up toe to toe with Apple's OS.
Worth it!!!! Can't complain!
This product is... Good sound quality, A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, bulky
About me... Parent with kids, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 33 for HP - ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Midnight Black

Excellent PC

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: davespc
from Birmingham
on 02/22/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
What's great about it: Windows8-Touch screen in an Ultrabook
What's not so great: There's nothing missing from this machine
This PC was a great purchase: new Windows8, 64-bit, with a high-res Touch screen, in a thin ultrabook shell. It was an 'open box' BestBuy item, that was further discounted on BestBuy's Open Box sale.
This product is... Big screen size, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast, touch screen that works well
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 34 for HP - ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Midnight Black

Great student computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Longmont CO
on 02/01/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The start up is amazing the features are also great! Battery life is nice as well as portability!
What's not so great: So far no complains and Ive had it for about two months now
I really like the start up it is super fast which is very convenient during school. Also the features are really great I love playing around with this lap top and seeing what else it can do. The battery life is also very great it is far better than my old hp and that is really a great feature for me as a student also.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, Big screen size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Basic web surfing & emails, Parent with kids, Student, Social media enthusiast, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 35 for HP - ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Midnight Black

Great value touchscreen laptop

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: rayman63
from Minneapolis, MN
on 01/29/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Awesome touchscreen
What's not so great: Cheap power cable already broken
Overall, very satisfied with the laptop -- touchscreen is really cool. Disappointed, though, with the cable that plugs into the laptop from the power supply -- connector is already falling apart because it sticks out far and is prone to being banged about. An annoyance in an otherwise good product.
This product is... great touchscreen
About me... Parent with kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 36 for HP - ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Midnight Black

Great Touchscreen

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tony559
from Visalia, CA
on 01/26/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The touchscreen, windows 8
What's not so great: It heats up to much and doesn't have a cd/dvd drive
This is my 4th HP computer and all have worked great, they are still running.
This computer is great, the touchscreen makes the experience better. The battery life, the backlight keyboard are great. it has Bluetooth which is handy.
The only problem is from Windows 8 it needs more apps.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Basic web surfing & emails, Parent with kids, Student, Gamer, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 37 for HP - ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Midnight Black

Nice new innovation

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: tim49
from fremont,in
on 01/25/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Lighted Keyboard
What's not so great: Loses Internet connectivity alot
Touch screen is nice,Windows 8 is a learning curve for sure.
This product is... Perfect for Business, easy to set up
About me... Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 38 for HP - ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Midnight Black

Great Product for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: willib
on 01/22/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: simple
I bought this laptop on Thanksgiving day for a very good price. The laptop was easy to set up. Only downside is that it did not come with Micorsoft, had to purchase it separately. But the laptop was worth the price.
This product is... A touch pad that works great, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 39 for HP - ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Midnight Black

great touch screen laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jmom2
from Northville, mI
on 01/22/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: price was outstanding, touch screen is great with the new Windows 8, starts up very quickly, good battery life,
my daughter loves this laptop - has the ease of touchscreen with the keyboard when necessary for typing. Windows 8 is so much nicer with the touchscreen! I got a great deal on this laptop right before Christmas.
This product is... Good sound quality, A nice compact size, easy to set up, lightning fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with kids, Comfortable with technology
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 40 for HP - ENVY Touch-Screen Ultrabook 14" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Midnight Black

You cannot have windows 8 without touch screen!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: madisontchr
from Miami,FL
on 01/21/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The processing is fast. The sound quality is to die for. The graphics are pretty good for a PC.
What's not so great: The battery life is average, but can be adjusted by brightness.
I love my HP envy. It is used primarily for school and entertainment. I enjoy the quick reboot from sleep.
This product is... Good sound quality, easy to set up
About me... Student
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>