Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for CyberPower 550VA Battery Back-Up System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

CyberPower 550VA Battery Back-Up System

Model: 550AE
SKU: 7033417
UPC: 649532005598
Don't let a blackout ruin your equipment. Protect your system with this 8-outlet battery back-up system.
Average Customer Rating:
2.833 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 12 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
4
50% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
6 out of 12
)
Customer Reviews for CyberPower 550VA Battery Back-Up System
Review 1 for CyberPower 550VA Battery Back-Up System

Good backup power for your Internet connection

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: BenEN
from Denver, CO
on 06/03/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reliability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Protection
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Inexpensive backup power
What's not so great: Battery seems t last only about 3 years
This product works well as an inexpensive backup power solution for my Internet connection. Provides plenty of power for the cable router, Wi-Fi base station and the VoIP router.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for CyberPower 550VA Battery Back-Up System

Not great

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: copperdad
from Copperopolis Ca
on 02/17/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Protection
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: least expensive but what do you get
What's not so great: Battery on 3 of these has died and cost is $40 for new battery! They also die and leave you with no power.
I run small office with 6 of these but 3 maybe now 4 have failed. Battery lasts a few years, but when it goes...it just shuts down! Have tried to get battery to replace but cost is $25 and $15 to ship!!! can just go to store and buy new one for a few bucks more! Will probably look to get different one online with free shipping...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CyberPower 550VA Battery Back-Up System

GREAT BACKUP VERY EASY TO USE

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: samrocks456
from florida
on 09/27/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Protection
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to use and backs up my computer with no problems
What's not so great: no major except the weight of the product
overall this product is great it backs up my 20 in. imac with no problem.
no setup required dont need to install the software.
just plug it in and thats it
overall great product definitely buy it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CyberPower 550VA Battery Back-Up System

Better that APC by far!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Michael34239
from Sarasota, FL
on 09/03/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Protection
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: AC outlets are spread out for adapters. Forget software, they work out of the box
What's not so great: Nothing I can find
We have used APC's for years at our office & home but no longer. Those stop working in 12 to 15 months! The CyberPower ones operate at least 24 to 30 months - twice as long for the same price. Also, APC ones seem to short out for some reason.
We have over 20 backup power supplies in use today, including our TV and audio equipment at home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CyberPower 550VA Battery Back-Up System

Battery depleted and wont work

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Manny08
from Los Angeles, CA
on 08/05/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Protection
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: the software works
What's not so great: the UPS does not work
Owned it for 2 days and first time I plugged my PC and DVR it worked but then after installing the software and ran the self test there I realized that the battery capacity is inaccurate as one self test shuts down everything and when my pc reboots gives me a 33% battery capacity and 1 min of usage that is from a 100% battery capacity before self test
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CyberPower 550VA Battery Back-Up System

Bad UPS

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ML54
from Hendersonville, NC
on 08/02/2009
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Protection
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Cheap
What's not so great: Doesn't Work
You get what you pay for. This unit shuts itself off at random and won't power back-on until all the plugs from the attached devices have been removed. I've used TrippLite's also with mixed results. I'm going back to and staying with APC.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CyberPower 550VA Battery Back-Up System

Unreliable

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: JamesCo
from California
on 06/27/2009
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Protection
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Good package, when it works
What's not so great: Doesn't always work
Unfortunately I've had this device crash my computer more than it saved it. Without the power going out, it has dropped power to my computer unexpectedly, the same as unplugging my computer from the wall. If the power had gone out, the battery should have kicked in, but it wasn't power outages, just a failure of the UPS to work at all. I can recall it saving my computer 1 time from an outage and it surprised me. But what good is a UPS if it caused more shutdowns than it's prevented? I would have been better off plugging into the wall and suffering the 2 or so REAL outages than the 10 or so failures.
I am saving to replace it as soon as I can and am going to use it as a backup for my monitor. On the plus sides, when it works it is helpful and the voltage regulation provided helped in some poorer houses I was in (though the regulation is not as good as some more expensive models). I expect if you're willing to try and get one that works, then it would be great. I wont risk it again myself.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CyberPower 550VA Battery Back-Up System

If you can stand the beeping

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Kelnumbr17
from NH
on 12/18/2008
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Protection
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Plug in and use
What's not so great: Beeping
This battery runs my wireless router and vonage box and can charge my cell phone for over an hours time. I'm not sure exactly how long the battery can last because the unit beeps every 30 seconds when the power goes out. Not sure how this is a feature since the whole point of the unit is to supply power when you don't have any. I've had to find my way to the unit with a flashlight and shut if off several times when the power has gone out at night. If I was getting another unit I'd make sure it doesn't have this beep!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CyberPower 550VA Battery Back-Up System

be careful

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: berwyn
from Miramar Beach, Florida
on 09/16/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Protection
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: does the job
What's not so great: generator caution
I have 4 of these units and they all do the power backup job very well. Be careful if you have a power generator and need to use it. For some reason some of the units beep after the generator is on and you neet to remove them form the circuit to restore your computer or other devices being supported. Kind of sick I think.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for CyberPower 550VA Battery Back-Up System

Great! Hasn't failed me!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from NW Missouri
on 07/08/2008
What's great about it: Priced right and does the job
What's not so great: None I've found
I bought and installed this back up from CyberPower over a year ago. I live in a farm house in the middle of the country where lightning strikes and power outages occur frequently in summer and winter. From 10 below zero to 99 degrees it works fine for me.
This powerful and efficient back up system has never failed me. If it can do the job here - it should do the job for you.
I have two laptop computers, 3 printers, a DSL modem and Dell 19" monitor plugged into it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for CyberPower 550VA Battery Back-Up System

Crash faster

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Douglas
from Columbia, SC
on 04/28/2008
What's great about it: Adequate power for most PC needs.
What's not so great: When the battery wears out, it's worse than nothing.
It's not the most pricey UPS out there, but I still can't recommend it. The battery in mine wore out in about 13 months. Now that the battery is gone, it will crash a PC on a brownout that wouldn't affect one plugged directly into the wall. As near as I can figure it, it must be instantaneously failing over to the dead battery on any flicker which crashes the PC. Maybe its not so bad to get a years protection for this price, but I have two others that cost twice this much that have protected equipment for nearly four years with no signs of failing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for CyberPower 550VA Battery Back-Up System

Works well but annoying beep

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Clubcar
on 10/06/2007
What's great about it: Easy set-up, works well
What's not so great: Beeps every 30 seconds
It was easy to set-up and works well. You do not have to connect battery wires as with some other brands. It performed exactly as it should every time I tested it. Note: although the battery came partially charged, you should charge it up fully per the instructions for maximum performance.
The only negative is that it beeps every 30 seconds when the household power goes out and it is running on battery power. You can disable this using the included Windows software, but it will remain disabled only as long as the USB cable (also included) is connected to a computer. In my case, I don't want the UPS connected to a computer. I temporarily connected it to a computer and used the software to turn off the beeps, but as soon as I disconnected the computer, the annoying beeps were back. Too bad, otherwise rating would be 5 stars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.