Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sanyo 4.9 Cu. Ft. Compact Refrigerator - Black/Platinum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Sanyo 4.9 Cu. Ft. Compact Refrigerator - Black/Platinum

Model: SR-4912M
SKU: 7046118
UPC: 086483056567
Create extra workspace with this counter-high, compact refrigerator that doubles as a countertop. Attractive styling and versatile storage options make this refrigerator an ideal solution for additional refrigeration.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 13 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
92% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
12 out of 13
)
Customer Reviews for Sanyo 4.9 Cu. Ft. Compact Refrigerator - Black/Platinum
Review 1 for Sanyo 4.9 Cu. Ft. Compact Refrigerator - Black/Platinum

Great work fridge

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: OfficeManager
from Washington, DC
on 06/08/2008
What's great about it: No defrost, good size, works well
What's not so great: Temp control goes to freeze
When it was time for a new fridge at work, about 18 months ago, we chose this to end the debate over whose turn it was to defrost. It is great, roomy enough for lunches and cold drinks for a 12-person office, as long as no one gets carried away.
The only disadvantage I have seen is that the temp control will actually go high enough to make things freeze. After we told the prime suspect that this could burn up the motor and he could pay for the replacement by himself, it stopped "mysteriously happening".
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sanyo 4.9 Cu. Ft. Compact Refrigerator - Black/Platinum

Perfect size

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 123HD
from Wheaton, MD
on 04/25/2008
What's great about it: Compact, all refrigerator, color
What's not so great: none
This is one great fridge. Perfect size for mounting under a bar. Holds a lot of bevereges. The styling is cool with the stainless door and the black interior.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sanyo 4.9 Cu. Ft. Compact Refrigerator - Black/Platinum

Love it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: hayley3
on 02/26/2008
What's great about it: Roomy, nice looking, quiet
What's not so great: I wish it had a separate top freezer
I purchased this fridge to replace two Magic Chefs that never worked. This fridge is super quiet and it is very rooomy. The door is made to hold a gallon container, but I can put two half gallons of milk and two quart size containers in the ONE bottom door shelf. So that still leaves the shelves in the fridge and the other two small shelves in the door to put stuff. I looked at many compact refrigerators before I bought this one. The black interior is cool with the white light. It is not super bright like it would be with a white interior, but It's not like I'm going to be reading in the fridge either.
It got cold really fast too.
Love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sanyo 4.9 Cu. Ft. Compact Refrigerator - Black/Platinum

wonderful compact refrigerator

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kat45248
from Cincinnati, OH
on 02/15/2008
What's great about it: I love the fact there is no mini-freezer wasting space and the entire unit is all refrigerator
What's not so great: does not lock with a key
What a great, great little refrigerator for the rec room. We had purchased a different model from another store and returned it because it didn't keep things cold enough. With this refrigerator, we actually have to turn it down, it keeps things so cold. I do wish it had a lock however, to keep small children from opening and shutting it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sanyo 4.9 Cu. Ft. Compact Refrigerator - Black/Platinum

Best Compact

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dmny
on 02/13/2008
What's great about it: All refrigerator
What's not so great: none
We got this as an extra refrigerator for our finished basement. It is working out great, we have drinks available downstairs and the unit is big enough that we keep extra gallons of milk in the refrigerator. We have teens who drink a lot of milk so it is nice not to have to worry about running out. Never had anything freeze. Oh, we got this because we didn't want to have to defrost a tiny freezer. Great refrigerator!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sanyo 4.9 Cu. Ft. Compact Refrigerator - Black/Platinum

Great Fridge for Kegerator!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kegconnection
from San Marcos, TX
on 12/10/2007
What's great about it: Perfect for Kegerator, expecially homebrew kegs
This Fridge will fit two Cornelius style homebrew kegs. You can also convert to single or double tower setup. I have done this myself as have many of my customers on kegconnection.com
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sanyo 4.9 Cu. Ft. Compact Refrigerator - Black/Platinum

Good Value Beverage Fridge

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Rozi
on 10/08/2007
What's great about it: Size, No Freezer
What's not so great: Can't adjust one of the shelves
This nice counter height small refrigerator with a non-marring top has been ideal for chilling beverages.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sanyo 4.9 Cu. Ft. Compact Refrigerator - Black/Platinum

Excellent for Kegerator

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: homebrewer
from Boston
on 10/07/2007
What's great about it: Size. Style.
What's not so great: None.
Purchased this fridge with the intention of converting it to a Kegerator. It's perfect size holds exactly 2 5-gallon corny kegs, and lots of instructions on the internet to show how to attach a draft tower to the top. It's a very attractive fridge, and works great with very little power consumption.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sanyo 4.9 Cu. Ft. Compact Refrigerator - Black/Platinum

So handy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rula10250
from Surprise, Az
on 09/10/2007
Purchased for my father for his bedroom and he loves it. Hold a ton of food and water for a compact!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sanyo 4.9 Cu. Ft. Compact Refrigerator - Black/Platinum

Well Thought Out

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TraderPat
from Dallas, TX
on 09/09/2007
Nicely crafted unit with a stylish black/platinum fingerprint resistant exterior. Great interior layout leaving room for larger containers in the door while also providing a can dispenser for seven 12 oz cans. I like the frost free design and the fact that the thermostat keeps it's space intrusion to a minimum. With its black interior I might like a slightly brighter light but the one provided is sufficient to get the job done. The crisper and lowest shelf are not as deep as the rest but that is a good design tradeoff for the lower door shelf to accomodate all the it does. Great unit for someone that doesn't need a freezer section that is nothing more than an ice cube maker shelf/short term freezer other compact units offer which then adds the defrost burden and takes up valuable cool space.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sanyo 4.9 Cu. Ft. Compact Refrigerator - Black/Platinum

Great choice!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mom1
from Florida
on 09/09/2007
Love the looks and size. Not having a freezer gives you more cool space. We bought this for cold drinks and temporary use in hurricanes with a generator after we lose power! It has great features including can rack.
A couple of things could have been better...The temp control is very sensitive. The difference between very cold and frozen cans is a "nudge" of the control!
The door shelf for the gallon jugs could be stronger, it sags a little with the wieght of a full jug.
Overall we find it works great for us.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sanyo 4.9 Cu. Ft. Compact Refrigerator - Black/Platinum

Perfect!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: EcoRII
from GA
on 09/06/2007
This is a great compact refrigerator and we love it! We bought it to replace our Haier unit that died too soon (in 3months).
.
We decided to go with Sanyo because my friend's laboratory has several incubators from Sanyo that are all made in Japan. Although, this model is not made in Japan (assembled in Mexico), we thought we'd give it a try. We are so pleased with our choice.
.
-It's so roomy inside and you can put a lot of stuff. Remember, this one doesn't have a freezer compartment, but I think it's a right thinking. By eliminating a freezer unit (which is often useless in a fridge this size), this model has the biggest capacity compare to other comparable models. Where do you find a compact fridge which you can store a gallon jag in a door?
.
-The other reviewer noted about adjustable legs incorrectly. Actually, both front legs are adjustable. In our case, the right leg was really tight. You may need a plier to loosen it up.
.
-Very innovative here and there, such as can-holder on door (not cheap wire rack) which has cut-out so it's easy to place cans. Interior layout is well thought (love the gallon compartment on the door!).
.
-Stylish door is not actually stainless, but it's a metallic-paint finish, that won't show fingerprints.
.
-If you are so used to white interior found in the most units, you may not like the black interior, but we love it! Many people complimented it as "fancy". The interior light feels adequate to us. We can see contents even opened in a dark room.
.
-We switched the way the door opens (to open from right) because where we placed the unit. It was easy (instruction describes it well). One of the screw-hole at the bottom of the unit may look like not threaded, but it's just covered with form (urethane?) that was filled in exterior wall of this unit. You don't actually have to do anything. Just thread in using a screw and a screwdriver when you place the bracket.
.
-The compact fridge is often noisy (the Haier unit was so loud and horrible!), but this one is nearly silent even when the compressor kicks in.
.
I would definitely recommend this unit to anyone who's looking for a stylish, well-thought and well-made compact refrigerator. Good job Sanyo!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sanyo 4.9 Cu. Ft. Compact Refrigerator - Black/Platinum

Gets the job done

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: FireFly
from Wichita, KS
on 09/01/2007
Keeps things cool. No freezer to defrost which is why we bought it. Stainless steel doesn't show fingerprints. Overall nice appearance on the outside. Glass shelves and shelves in the door are nice features. Biggest disappointment is that the interior light is nearly worthless. It's little more than a night light bulb and the interior of the refrigerator is black so it's not well illuminated. It's on the top so bottom shelves receive nearly no light. Really hate the black interior but couldn't find it any other way. The second major disappointment is that the interior capacity is less that our old mini-fridge even though the outside dimensions are similar. It 's also supposed to have two leveling feet. If it does, I'm not sure how they are supposed to work as they won't turn and the instructions are worthless.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.