Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Canon - PIXMA MG5420 Wireless All-In-One Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Canon - PIXMA MG5420 Wireless All-In-One Printer

Model: MG5420
SKU: 7088396
UPC: 013803148404
Print photos and documents wirelessly with this Canon PIXMA MG5420 all-in-one printer that features a built-in wireless LAN for simple connection to a wide range of networks and Apple® AirPrint for printing from select mobile devices.
Average Customer Rating:
4.204 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(509 Reviews) 509
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 509 reviews
5 stars
216
4 stars
227
3 stars
39
2 stars
8
1 star
19
89% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
453 out of 509
)
Customer Reviews for Canon - PIXMA MG5420 Wireless All-In-One Printer
Review 1 for Canon - PIXMA MG5420 Wireless All-In-One Printer

Terrible Piece of Equipment

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: LPCHI60614
from Lincoln Park, Chicago
on 06/28/2014
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Speed
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Everything
If you run out of the large black ink cartridge, it is incapable of printing in grey scale even though there is an additional black cartridge. If you use WIFI have fun. It seems to forget the access point every time you turn it off. Also, it is loud as can be and make noise even when its not operating or maybe when you think it is. This is garbage by Canon which is sad since I standby their cameras. They have no clue how create a decently priced printer that functions well. I give 2 thumbs down. I legitimately want to throw this printer off a 15 story building.
About me... Demand high print quality, small business owner, Frequent user, Photo enthusiast
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Photo printing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Canon - PIXMA MG5420 Wireless All-In-One Printer

3 Canon printers, this one is utter junk

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: EarlyAdopter
from Richmond, VA
on 06/24/2014
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's not so great: Incessant paper jams. High ink consumption. Painfully slow.
This is my third Canon multi-purpose inkjet. The first performed flawlessly for years, went to college with my son, is still functional. The second lasted a couple of years then mysteriously just stopped printing (blank pages). This was bought to replace, only one generation removed and it is complete and utter junk. If you've not printed recently (like hours, not weeks), it takes several minutes to initiate printing. Shut down also takes several minutes, as does start up. All of that might be tolerable, but the paper jams are incessant. After many years favoring Canon's, I'll be looking for an HP or Epson at this point.
About me... Demand high print quality, Frequent user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 392857541
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Canon - PIXMA MG5420 Wireless All-In-One Printer

Not a Quality Product

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Tessellater
from Huntington, WV
on 06/09/2014
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Speed
2.0 out of 5
2.0
For several reasons, I was very unsatisfied with this printer. I had it barely over a year, and it stopped working. It remained in my personal home office, used only by me, and the proper care instructions were followed to a tee. It was rarely used even weekly, so it was not overused. On top of that, the ink could last through maybe 20-40 pages of simple black and white printing before running low, which also progressively got worse the longer I had the printer. When I called to find out more about the printer error, the only thing Customer Service could tell me is I had to pay to have it repaired [which would "cost at least $50, probably more"] or by a new one. I'm kicking myself for not getting an extended warranty, but in my opinion if you take perfect care of something, it should not stop working after barely a year. That, to me, shows bad quality. Very, very unsatisfied.
About me... Frequent user
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Canon - PIXMA MG5420 Wireless All-In-One Printer

Excellent printer...........

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Eljibaro
from Waco, Tx.
on 04/13/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to operate.
What's not so great: Nothing.
This printer has good looks. it's easy to connect and operate.
About me... Demand high print quality, Frequent user, Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Photo printing
My Best Buy number: 2790671071
My Best Buy number: 2790671071
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Canon - PIXMA MG5420 Wireless All-In-One Printer

Nice printer, good features.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Lucy
from Orlando, Florida
on 03/30/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Resolution, look and size
What's not so great: Too slow to print anything, installation a little tricky.
I got a very good deal at Best Buy, this printer was on sale for $59.99 and even though I wanted to get a white one, I decided to seize the opportunity and get this one since it was so cheap and had an excellent resolution. The only problem so far is that it takes a long time for the printer to print a document. It shouldn't take so long, as I've seen lower models of HP go way faster. It prints fast, but it takes an awful long time to process the document first.
Installation was a bit complicated and it takes a little while too.
Overall I like the resolution, look and size of this printer, as well as the features I hope to figure out how to install, since somehow my iMac can't read the setup CD... I've tried going on Canon's website to get the driver and got to the right section of downloads, but couldn't figure out which one was the right one, as they have many versions and specifications. Very annoying.
About me... Frequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 0567656702
My Best Buy number: 0567656702
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Canon - PIXMA MG5420 Wireless All-In-One Printer

Great for home use,

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Artgo
from Mexico
on 03/29/2014
What's great about it: Easy to install
What's not so great: Ink is very expensive
I got for 60usd on a weekend special but the ink replacement has the same price,
About me... Budget Conscious, Infrequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2854039076
My Best Buy number: 2854039076
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Canon - PIXMA MG5420 Wireless All-In-One Printer

Good printer for price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: New2013
from Muncie,in
on 03/29/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Great wireless printer
What's not so great: Takes a while to warm up
This printer does a good job printing from my iPhone and iPad
About me... Demand high print quality, Frequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Photo printing
My Best Buy number: 0763064561
My Best Buy number: 0763064561
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Canon - PIXMA MG5420 Wireless All-In-One Printer

Printer is ok...issue turning sometimes.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: MN0812
from Oakdale, MN
on 03/29/2014
What's great about it: Price...got it on sale for $50
What's not so great: Doesn't turn on sometimes
Ok printer but sometimes it doesn't turn on....not sure what the issue is.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2504321971
My Best Buy number: 2504321971
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Canon - PIXMA MG5420 Wireless All-In-One Printer

Great Printer for my Business

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ashley
from Houston, TX
on 03/29/2014
What's great about it: Super easy to set up and comes with ink. I started printing my business cards and postcards the day I got it!
What's not so great: So far I have found nothing to dislike about this printer, it does everything I need in multiple size paper choices!
This printer is one of my favorites now. I purchased it for my business and it has exceeded my expectations. I learn something new that I can do on it everyday! The fact that it supports AirPrint to print from my phone and iPad is a plus!
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Canon - PIXMA MG5420 Wireless All-In-One Printer

Really nice printer for price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Trey
from Appleton, WI
on 03/29/2014
What's great about it: Prints good pics and love the wireless feature
What's not so great: No problems at all so far
Works great and got on sale for less than the cost of replacing ink on
My old printer. The AirPrint works nice. Nice to have an LCD screen too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Photo printing
My Best Buy number: 2039091523
My Best Buy number: 2039091523
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Canon - PIXMA MG5420 Wireless All-In-One Printer

Excellent Printer for the Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jumanji
from Saint Paul, MN
on 03/28/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Works and prints double sided well
What's not so great: Ink Price
Perfect Printer for individual use.
Use good quality paper so it does not crumple.
About me... Frequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 0573046917
My Best Buy number: 0573046917
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Canon - PIXMA MG5420 Wireless All-In-One Printer

Really good printer so far

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Rock6
from Westfield,IN
on 03/28/2014
What's great about it: Easy to use. Wireless printing
I bought this on sale at a really good price. There was a problem with the one that I was shipped and I had to call cannon support. They were great and determined that it was a faulty part. They shipped me a new printer quickly and the process was easy. Once it got here it was simple to hook up and start printing. I have been very happy with it. Prints quickly but I leave it turned on all the time so it doesn't have to warm up. Doesn't seem to be running through ink as quickly as some other printers I have had but still early. I do like that I will only need to replace the color that is out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2583831071
My Best Buy number: 2583831071
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Canon - PIXMA MG5420 Wireless All-In-One Printer

Decent printer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Merryomary
from Ortonville, Mi
on 03/28/2014
What's great about it: Easy set up
What's not so great: Small paper trays
Haven't printed any photos as yet, but doc printing is good. Takes a little longer to print than expected. Replacement ink costs are higher, but I should have checked that out before I purchased the printer.
About me... Infrequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2265868869
My Best Buy number: 2265868869
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Canon - PIXMA MG5420 Wireless All-In-One Printer

Great printer for home use

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Loulou
from Brookfield, WI
on 03/28/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Love the wifi. I can print wireless.
What's not so great: Color ink replacement is expensive
This is a great multifunction printer at a great
price. It has wireless features and is easy to
set up. I can print from my iPhone of which
I find amazing!
About me... Budget Conscious, Infrequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 0952466480
My Best Buy number: 0952466480
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Canon - PIXMA MG5420 Wireless All-In-One Printer

Great wireless use and easy to set up.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Grillmaster
from California
on 03/28/2014
What's great about it: Wireless
I love the fact that I can print from any device I have in the house quickly.
About me... Demand high print quality, Frequent user, Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1014514613
My Best Buy number: 1014514613
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Canon - PIXMA MG5420 Wireless All-In-One Printer

Great wireless printer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Pg15
from Gary, IN
on 03/28/2014
What's great about it: Easy to set up, good for printing from smartphone and ipad
What's not so great: Nothing
The wireless all in one printer is really great when using your I phone 5s or the iPad. You can print from any room in the house and the set up of the printer is extremely easy. The color print of the pages are clear and legible .
About me... Infrequent user
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 2634371792
My Best Buy number: 2634371792
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Canon - PIXMA MG5420 Wireless All-In-One Printer

Exactly as advertised

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Boystown
from Novi, mi
on 03/28/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use
Bought as deal of the day at a great price. Use at home and has worked great so far.
About me... Frequent user, Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 0076702808
My Best Buy number: 0076702808
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Canon - PIXMA MG5420 Wireless All-In-One Printer

Everyone needs a printer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: scharp218
from new york NY
on 03/28/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: It prints stuff
What's not so great: its bigger than I thought
Although bigger than I thought it would be, its a solid printer that will hopefully last long
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2875928281
My Best Buy number: 2875928281
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Canon - PIXMA MG5420 Wireless All-In-One Printer

Not a bad printer for the price.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Dmp610
from Aurora, Il
on 03/28/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Print quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Speed
2.0 out of 5
2.0
It's not a bad printer for the price. It takes a while from the time that you press print on the computer until your document is printed.
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Document printing
My Best Buy number: 1021971102
My Best Buy number: 1021971102
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Canon - PIXMA MG5420 Wireless All-In-One Printer

Great printer . Nice photo printing

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tiagao10
from Salt Lake,UT
on 03/28/2014
What's great about it: Easy to set up
Nice printer. I really like the photo printing quality
About me... Photo enthusiast
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it for:Photo printing
My Best Buy number: 0906918164
My Best Buy number: 0906918164
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 next>>