Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Logitech MX 518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Logitech MX 518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse

Model: 931352-0403
SKU: 7105919
UPC: 097855031198
High-level gamers will appreciate the lightning-fast response and mirror-smooth tracking in a mouse that gives you an edge over your competition.
Average Customer Rating:
4.483 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 58 reviews
5 stars
45
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
90% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
52 out of 58
)
Customer Reviews for Logitech MX 518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse
Review 1 for Logitech MX 518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse

great for its price and quality

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Vinny1001
from Arlington Heights, IL
on 02/07/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: set up, design, comfortable, good for gaming
What's not so great: the middle mouse wheel being hard to press (as a button) for a mousewheel
The mouse works and has great response and is good for gaming and simple browsing purposes. It's got a comfortable design, at least for me, and a sleep design too. It's reliable. Only thing is, the scroll wheel is a little hard to press for it being a scroll wheel but you get use to it and it's no problem at all, but some may prefer a scroll wheel to press as a button to be easier to press. Other than that, great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Logitech MX 518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse

Great design.. but..

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Sadpanda2
from Alabama
on 01/02/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Love the design and feel.
What's not so great: Reliabilty.
I have owned 2 of these mice in the past year... they are awesome when they work. I have had both mice buttons die within 3 months of owning them. I am a huge Logitech fan but I am disappointed that both of these mice have died so quickly. Off to the store I go for another mouse purchase :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Logitech MX 518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse

Great mouse and very reliable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Silverfoxx64
from VA
on 11/24/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: long lasting
What's not so great: in 4 years nothing!
I have owned this mouse for 4 years now and it has been through ALOT. At first I used it for my laptop for World of Warcraft and it has been used on some rugged surfaces, hauled around different countries and abused. It took all the abuse and still works! The logitech symbol is not even legible anymore and the right and left clickers are worn very bad, thats how much its been used. If your looking for a great mouse that will last this is it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Logitech MX 518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse

Works well on iMac

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: tmaxxtigger
from Allen, TX
on 09/18/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Plug and play
What's not so great: No Mac drivers included, need SteerMouse to program buttons and other settings.
Was looking for a replacement for the Magic Mouse, since the virtual scroll-wheel was not nearly accurate enough for me. This is a great replacement and works well when combined with SteerMouse since there are no native drivers from Logitech.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Logitech MX 518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse

Stopped working after 7 months

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Bednarz
from Jacksonville, FL
on 07/16/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Design
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Programmable buttons, Good ergonomics.
What's not so great: Won't last long. Bad wiring.
A good gaming mouse when it works.
Mine stopped working after 7 months. A bad wire connection makes the optics go out intermittently making it useless for gaming. Logitech is still giving me the runaround with the warranty.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Logitech MX 518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse

Fast and Precise

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DeweyGear
from Arlington, VA
on 06/29/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast and precise
Just what I was looking for in a mouse…fast and precise. The programmable buttons also add functionality at your fingertips that’s great for gaming, documentation, programming, you name it...a great all around mouse!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Logitech MX 518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse

great gaming mouse

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: goldenmxpx
from wood river, IL
on 06/24/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: just plug and play.
What's not so great: feet wear down quickly.
I have been using this mouse for the last few years and love it just as much now as when I first got it. The only problem I've had lately is it needs new feet. haven't been able to find the right ones anywhere.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Logitech MX 518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse

Yes I recommend this Mouse

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: supercleaner7
from Denver, Colorado
on 06/18/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: ease of use
What's not so great: sensitivity
I love it. The only draw back was the sensitivity of it. That is what you want in a mouse but it was extra sensitive until I realized there is actually a button right on the mouse to adjust it. Now it is just perfect. I am super glad I got this one and not another one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Logitech MX 518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse

Major software problem

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Marty13
on 06/09/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: If the software had worked, it would have nice features
What's not so great: Software error, curser jumped around on screen (moved left instead of right, etc)
I bought this after it was recommended by several others. Installed it per the instructions. Did not have the mouse tab in the software, checked online help, this was a known issue, recommend uninstall and reinstall correct software from website. Did this, had the mouse tab, worked fine. Rebooted my computer later. Mouse buttons had reset, no mouse tab in software to change back. Rinse and repeat. Finally returned to store to get a completely different brand, store employee said "Wow, we had another returned for that reason yesterday".
Curser would also jump back and forth occasionally, no matter what settings I used (I tried several). Tried different mouse pads, same result.
If the curser jumping is related to the software issues, once Logitech fixes that, it might be a wonderful mouse.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Logitech MX 518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse

easy to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bell50
from San Francisco, CA
on 03/20/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: You have all control in one hand.
What's not so great: I have to buy another one after 6 year.
I have a mx510 mouse and is very easy to use. Also you control every move in the computer in one hand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Logitech MX 518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse

nice mouse with a tail

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: me4246
from central cal
on 03/11/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: many functions
What's not so great: learning curve
I wanted a tailed mouse for a desk top. Logitech was and is the leader in mouse progress. I've enjoyed using it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Logitech MX 518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse

WOW Never Had A Better Mouse

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BBarrow79
from Wisconsin
on 02/01/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Precision, style, Comfort, Durability, Performance
What's not so great: No weight adjustment
I will have to say WOW this mouse is fantastic. I bought this mouse when it first came out 4-5 years ago maybe alittle longer This is the only mouse I have ever had that outlasted my computers. I am now building my 4th computer this mouse will be used on. I am a heavy gamer (16-18 hrs a day) and not once has this mouse even started to fail me. It is very precise with on the fly dpi control and programmable buttons. The back and forward button is sooo amazing I mean you never know how valuable a page for. and back is until you use one. I know a lot of people are having issues with fading and peeling of the skin and Logo but I do not have that problem. (i think its bc I don't rest my palm on the mouse my fingers hold my hand off it. The rubber sides do wear down after awhile but i haven't had any problems with grip. The precision is excellent, it tailors to your style of use easily with the push of a button.
Overall I would recommend this mouse to anyone who games or just casually uses their computer it is that good. I never knew a mouse could make me this happy to say I have owned it for this long with no problems
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Logitech MX 518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse

best mouse ever

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mx518
from los angeles
on 01/26/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything
What's not so great: you use it so much it starts fading
I bought this mouse when it first came out for 50 bucks, i cant beleive that it it now more expensive than when i bought it and that they have not made a slight uprgade at all to it (like mx520 or something like that). the fact that they havent made an upgrade to this mouse in 5 years says that it is pretty much perfect and that you should just buy it. I am still using this mouse, used to play fps games like cs and it survived all those clicks, the mouse sensitvity adjustments on the mouse are awsesome and the back and forward buttons on the mouse for the internet made searching the web much easier. you will never buy another mouse again unless it is for a a second computer or whatever. you cant go wrong with this mouse.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Logitech MX 518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse

Best mouse ever

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BlueCharmander
from Chicago, IL
on 01/20/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease of use. Customizable buttons
What's not so great: As a 6 year user, nothing.
Been using this mouse for over 6 years. The MX518 has never failed me from browsing the internet or playing video games like WoW or Call of Duty. The thumb buttons makes using the computer so much easier.
The price on best buy is obviously overpriced. However, besides the pricing on here, this mouse is a solid buy. For 6 years and this mouse still hasn't given up on me, it's insane. When the day this mouse does break, I will purchase another one.
I literally recommended this mouse to everybody I knew and they all loved it. Hope you will too ;)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Logitech MX 518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse

MX518

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NeoN1234
on 01/10/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The feel, sencitivity, buttons
What's not so great: a little slick if you have a sweaty hand
This mouse is the best thing in the world if you can get it on sale. the buttons on the side can be used for going back and forth on the internet, and it never skips a beat in even the longest MW2 sessions.
the only thing that i can complain about is that the super smoothe finish can get slick when playing but its nothing that bothers me. if it broke i might try the G500 but if it wasnt on sale i would buy another one of these.
all in all, another great logitech product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Logitech MX 518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse

typical Logitech

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: madguru
from Los Angeles
on 12/30/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: handles great
What's not so great: glitchy
When Logitech devices work, they are great products. Comfortable, easy to use, slick.
The problem though is when they dont. This may seem obvious but that is also the catch. Their products functions so well when they arent defective, you almost want to roll the dice and buy their products even though you know there is a chance they may break within a couple of months.
I have this mouse, a G15 keyboard, and a usb head set, all logitech. The head set is the only thing that works right now and it took me going through 4 sets of them before I found one that didnt go out on me within a few months.
My G15 keyboard, as nice at it is, the keyboard lighting went out within a month of owning it.
Same experiece with the mouse. Works great when it works. A couple months of use though and now the scroll wheel only works about half the time.
Great design. Nice mouse when it worked. But these products have a pattern of not working after only a few months of use. If you can get passed that time period, you probably have a great product.
Up to you whether or not its worth the $$$$ risk.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Logitech MX 518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse

Awesome Mouse

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Zardiw
from Palm Springs, Ca
on 12/29/2009
What's great about it: Back and forward buttons, On the fly DPI, Awesome Feel
What's not so great: only one color......lol
Been using these for years........Wonderful mouse.......z
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Logitech MX 518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse

Great Mouse

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mitchel
from Dubuque
on 10/15/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Low DPI
I got this mouse about 3-4 years ago when it first came out, and I have never had an issue with it, the only reason I stopped using it was because I bought a Razer Mamba recently, very durable and was a agreat mouse for me, I play a lot of games and put a lot of hours on this mouse and it still works!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Logitech MX 518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse

Worst mouse I have ever owned

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Shintsu
on 09/24/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Design
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Similar to the MX700 which I owned before it
What's not so great: Finish gets grimy due to slick surface (Also hard to hold), sides are slippery, disconnects and reconnects...see below
I bought my MX518 roughly a year ago and I am a gamer. Before that I had an MX700 which had worked okay but it had worn so badly and the battery was shot so I just bought a new one. The G5 and G7 at the time did not have a forward and back button on the side so I chose the MX518 for this very reason alone. The mouse worked fairly fine for the first three months but then I started getting lots of wear and problems. Firstly, the slick surface the mouse is made of becomes grimy if you rest your hand on the mouse and needs to be cleaned constantly. Secondly, the sides of the mouse are grippy when you first start using it, but with age they become slippery and aren't as grippy as they were new. As with every Logitech mouse I've owned, the logo has completely flaked off the back of the mouse so there is now a grey circle where the logo used to be.
The biggest problem with my MX518 is it's extremely unreliable. I can be scrolling across the page or worse - playing a game online or something where stopping is bad and the mouse will just disconnect from the computer. I thought at first it was a bad USB port but I have tried others and on other computers and it has the same problem. The mouse disconnects and then reconnects, then it disconnects, reconnects, and it will do this several times before resuming normal function. Worse still, it resets the mouse resolution to the deafult DPI which is really slow if you've been using it at the full DPI speed. I have never owned a mouse that has been such a pain to use. The only way to make it stop the fits of disconnecting and reconnecting is literally to smack it on my desk. It's very poor build quality to say the least.
I have owned three Logitech mice, this being the final one I will ever own. Logitech has absolutely no interest in making quality products only in making the cheapest lowest cost good they can make. You would be far better advised to buy a Razer mouse as they have superior build quality and concern for their customers. I tried to contact Logitech about my mouse and they never even replied to any of my support emails (Despite claiming I would get a response within 1-2 business days). Logitech used to make great peripherals, but I can't recommend anyone to purchase anything else from them as their quality has significantly declined.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Logitech MX 518 Gaming-Grade Optical Mouse

The best I have had so far!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MovieCollector
from Wise, VA
on 09/19/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Most comfortable mouse I have owned to date. The buttons are in the right spot and the on the fly dpi adjust is great.
What's not so great: I wish it was 5000 dpi, Logitech emblem wears quickly (bad position, shouldn't have placed it in the palm)
This is a great Mouse. I have had and used more mice than I can count and I absolutely love this one. I have had it for many years. I bought it when they were first released. The mouse has held up very well except for the emblem, but what do you expect when its positioned directly in a sweaty palm. Other than that it looks like new. It has never so much as sputtered. It is very reliable and comfortable. You can not go wrong with this mouse. I don't even use the software anymore. The dpi change still works beautifully in all games I play and I have had very few incompatible programs and those would have probably worked with the software but that was a very small issue so few I don't even remember what they were. I dont use a mouse pad and this mouse glides like on air and still accurate as hell. If you have $50 to spend on a mouse you would be a fool to pass it up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>