Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ionAudio Vinyl Recording USB Turntable

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

ionAudio Vinyl Recording USB Turntable

Model: TTUSB
SKU: 7367324
UPC: 855960000535
Ever wish you could listen to those classic albums in your car or on the go? Now you can transfer those beloved records to CD or MP3 right through your computer's USB port with this vinyl recording USB turntable.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 20 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
80% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
16 out of 20
)
Customer Reviews for ionAudio Vinyl Recording USB Turntable
Review 1 for ionAudio Vinyl Recording USB Turntable

Poor quality

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: SnowWizard
from Bend, OR
on 12/03/2008
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Helpful documentation
What's not so great: Lots of noise in the digital output
This thing was very easy to setup, even on a Windows Vista system. I had problems with the Audacity app, as it kept dropping sound after a minute or so. Then I plugged the USB directly into the computer instead of into a USB hub, and the problem went away. My first recordings of loud rock music sounded great. But then when recording soft passages, I noticed a high frequency whine in the background which was very annoying. There was also crackling noise in the Audacity recordings, but switching to a different app got rid of those. Couldn't get rid of the whine though, even when setting it up on a different computer with different cables, and even when recording via the tape input.
I returned the unit and bought a SoundBlaster XFi USB sound card - crystal clear recordings off of my tape deck. Oh and the Audacity app now works fine with no crackles, so it was the poor digital output quality from the Ion that was causing the problem.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ionAudio Vinyl Recording USB Turntable

Handy Conversion Tool

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DJDan
from Yorktown, VA
on 11/12/2008
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Mutipurpose use for playing or converting albums and tapes to MP3
What's not so great: Feels cheap, no dust cover, sorry software package
I like the fact that you can plug in your cassette deck to the turntable however, the turntable does not include the cable or an 1/8" adapter to do so. Also, the signal from the turntable is very high so you must watch your record levels closely. This is one reason I list the con of having to hook up to an amp to monitor the recording. The other is you can't tell the quality of the recording without using an amp and speakers or amp and headphones.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ionAudio Vinyl Recording USB Turntable

To listen to all my old albums

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: RLB1951
from Springfield, MO
on 10/22/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, Easy vinyl converter software is simple to use
What's not so great: No dust cover for turntable.
I have boxes of albums stored away that I'm not listening to anymore. This is a nice way to pull out some of my old favorites and convert to MP3 files.
I've started downloading music this past week and have converted several albums to my laptop. All my music is being stored in ITunes. The vinyl converter software is very easy to use. I have not figured out the Audacity software yet, it's not as easy to use as the other software. It's needed to clean up the pops/ticks from the albums. I need more direction for it's use which does not come in the manual. Hopefully I can download instructions for it. The Gracenote online capability to identify and title your music is a nice addition also
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ionAudio Vinyl Recording USB Turntable

works great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mystahp
from NH
on 04/20/2008
What's great about it: will convert albums to cd through your computer
What's not so great: must stay with turntable to create seperate tracks, otherwise one side will be one track on a cd.
I enjoy the product, it saves buying cd's to replace albums I already have.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ionAudio Vinyl Recording USB Turntable

What I was looking for

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: arebee
from Ridgewood, NJ
on 03/24/2008
What's great about it: Easy to set up and easy to use
What's not so great: As others noted, no dust cover
This is the perfect turntable for converting vinyl to disc. One recommendation is to make sure you use tracks so you can redo recordings that are not correct. The included software works easily, although the audacity software is a complete puzzle and the manual that comes with it is useless, so stay with the EZ Vinyl Converter by MixMeister.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ionAudio Vinyl Recording USB Turntable

Does exactly what you want it to do!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: REDDHEAD
from SOCAL
on 03/01/2008
What's great about it: easy to use software and great quality
What's not so great: feels cheaply made
Very easy to use. Put the biggest smile on my old mans face being able to listen to his old black pizza's again. Software that comes with you have to use but works very nicely both on pc and mac. takes some time but when you clean up the pops and cracks the quailty of the music is just like a brand new cd... Highly recommend!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ionAudio Vinyl Recording USB Turntable

Great tool for archiving vinyl

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: trinu40
from Greenville, SC
on 02/14/2008
What's great about it: Super easy setup. Nice sound quality.
What's not so great: Cheap looking plastic and toy-like design.
Very easy way rip your LP collection. The sound quality is good for a turntable this price point. USB connection takes away hours of configuring your soundcard and traditional turntable + amp which frees up your time to clean up the audio tracks.
This works well with freely available audio encoding software. Spend 5 minutes searching for the software on the web and you can try the program before you buy.
It is unfortunate that this turntable looks so cheap. This one definitely goes back in the box and gets buried in a closet once I've ripped my favorite LPs.
Note: The free software included is easy to use after you've spent a few minutes configuring it (great tutorials on the web). Just be patient. Converting from vinyl is a two step process. Once you have the raw .wav files you'll probably want to convert them to another format for your MP3 player or iPod, which of course takes time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ionAudio Vinyl Recording USB Turntable

Easy to Use

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: padatty
on 02/10/2008
What's great about it: This is an easy way to preserve all of the old vinyl albums
What's not so great: Not for use with stereo systems
The turntable was fairly easy to assemble and is simple to use with the computer. Installation of the software was quick, and it's all user friendly. This is a great way to preserve the old vinyl albums and it's fun to listen to them at home again and in my car on a CD. I would recommend this to anyone who has a lot of albums and doesn't want to invest in buying the CDs or downloading all those old songs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ionAudio Vinyl Recording USB Turntable

Hit and Miss

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: YvonneDawg
from Los Angeles, CA
on 02/03/2008
What's great about it: Easy installation, Simple software
What's not so great: Distortion with no fix
It's telling that the ion user forum has a long thread about the terrible, unpredictable, and apparently unsolvable problems the ion TTUSB turntable has with distortion (sudden white noise/static). http://forums.ion-audio.com/showthread.php?t=46 I have been using the turntable for two days now. Sometimes I can get through several 45's with no static; other times I have to stop and restart several times on a single recording to attempt to digitize the track. Ion has of yet not responded to this thread on their forum (over 67 posts December 2007 - January 2008). I for one am thinking about purchasing a more expensive (and hopefully more dependable) unit from a different manufacturer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ionAudio Vinyl Recording USB Turntable

Great Purchase

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Chipper120
from Nashville, TN
on 01/23/2008
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: setup instructions were poor & no dustcover
I received this as a birthday gift and I love it! I have used other methods to try and change my albums to CD but this method has been great so far. The software is simple and the Audacity software is also great. Once you get the tonearm balanced, it is a breeze. I was recording in about an hour after opening the box.
I have downloaded about 150 albums so far and have had no problems. I would like to have a dust cover for the turntable but other than that, it has been well worth the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ionAudio Vinyl Recording USB Turntable

Not a good buy

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: unhappy10
from Peoria, IL
on 01/15/2008
What's great about it: none
What's not so great: cheap and defective unit
Very disappointed with this product. The turntable is cheaply made from a lightweight plastic. My unit's motor had a horrible vibration which made it virtually unuseable. The instructions were poor. About the only good point was the software included. EZVinyl works pretty well, only because of the motor vibration the recordings were useless when played back because of the noise. DO NOT BUY!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ionAudio Vinyl Recording USB Turntable

Interesting Turyable

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: EPZAN
from Westen Mass
on 12/31/2007
What's great about it: When it works it's great
What's not so great: When it dosn't work it is a pain
My wife paid $139.00 for this turntable on sale. She gave it to me for Christmas, and we started using it a few days later. I have not touched my albums in 20 years and was happy to see they were in great shape. I am not a big computer guy so I needed something simple and this ended up working, but took a while and had to have luck on our side.
I put the turtable together and hooked it up to the computer with no problem. Downloaded the CD and started recording. (I thought) After the first album side you have to put in the text information, then it magicaly puts your songs onto the computer. Things did not go well. I kept getting an error. After 3 hours with tech suport we gave up on the EZ Vinyl and tried Audcity. This worked, but was too techy and time consuming for me.
The next day I was ready to return the unit, but decided to hook it up to the kids computer. Everything worked great the first time. It is simple to use, but you have to stay near by to hit next after each track.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ionAudio Vinyl Recording USB Turntable

Just what I was looking for

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Howellmc
on 12/27/2007
What's great about it: Easy to set up; OK software
What's not so great: None so far
I was looking for a way to convert my Dad's collection of LPs to MP3. We struggled with a number of other methods, so the idea of a USB turntable sounded like what we needed. It was easy to set up the turntable and get the software loaded up. I was recording the first LP within an hour of opening the box. Yes, I would love the software to have a way to set the tracks automatically and do a few other little things, but it is fine for my purposes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ionAudio Vinyl Recording USB Turntable

Poor integration and software

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Customer11
from Vienna, VA
on 12/24/2007
What's great about it: Lots of promise
What's not so great: Poor setup and documentation ... and no support
The software does not easily navigate you through the setup. Warning cards prompt you to modify Windows Vista settings for stereo versus mono recording but do nothing more if you find yourself recording off another USB microphone.
Software support is nil. Nothing on the website. Finally went to the operator listed in North America and her voicemail provided the toll free number to the help line.
WARNING. This will likely be frustrating and not easy to use. Expectations of "plug and play" set by other USB products does not apply here. Purchase at your own risk or the risk of frustrating a loved one who wants to record classics. Extremely dissappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ionAudio Vinyl Recording USB Turntable

Great Product - Lousy Software

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: TakeItEasy
from Central Jersey
on 12/23/2007
What's great about it: Easy assembly
What's not so great: Software not in sync with the job it was written for.
A great turntable which can also be used to capture cassettes by hooking up the 1/8" audio wires from the cassette player to the turntable.
FIRST TIME USERS BEWARE!!
The EZ Vinyl Converter software program is not user friendly, especially for the first time user. The program's main screen has three buttons: NEW TRACK, BACK and NEXT. NEW TRACK works like you would expect. BACK starts you over from the beginning. There is no button to pause while you flip the record. You must record each side separately as a separate album(Album Side1, Album Side2). NEXT stops the recording and brings you to the album info screen. This screen does not have a field for Genre or Year. And when you get to iTunes the track number shows 1,2,3 etc. not 1 of 6, 2 of 6, 3 of 6. All of this info has to be added in the iTunes program. When all info is entered and you press the NEXT button, unknown to you, the program starts digitizing the tracks. The program completely leaves the screen for more than two minutes(On my Windows XP laptop which was bought three years ago). After that, the tracks are entered into iTunes.
These defeciencies can be worked around once you are aware of them but it is best to be forewarned.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ionAudio Vinyl Recording USB Turntable

Really, really good Product.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: InMyFifties
from Jacksonville, FL
on 12/17/2007
What's great about it: Works fine with Mac OSX (or PC), easy set up.
What's not so great: Audio Software not very intuitive, player needs a dust cover
This is a product that's time has come!
There are probably plenty of people out there with a box of old vinyl albums that made it through the cassette era and were finally forgotten with the advent of CDs and iTunes. I actually have bought many albums that I already owned, just to get them on iTunes (how painful is that?). Well this helps solve the duplication dilemma - and pays for itself in like 15 albums. Sorry iTunes, but I've already bought these once, so the artist is covered.
I have around a hundred old albums and have had no turntable for over 17 years. Some of these albums are no longer available (and of course you can now look for any kind of vinyl versions knowing it's easy to digitize them).
On a Mac, I found the "EZ Audio Converter" recording software to indeed be very easy, but tinty sounding compared to the more advanced Audacity software- also included. It's harder to learn, but worth it. By harder I mean time consuming.... the tutorial and help pages really do a good job explaining how to use the software. I just know it could be a more intuitive design, and maybe that will come in the future (it's free after all)
I easily start a project (recording track), cue up a freshly cleaned album and hit record and the turntable "on" button. You can listen to the tracks as you are recording, then later remove scratches, do fade in's and fade out's, mix tracks, etc. I just do simple recording and some scratch cleaning. Ideally, it's better to have albums in decent shape, because the needle is sensitive and some clean-up can be tedious.
Set up was very easy and do spend a little time getting the arm weight balanced. It has an anti-skating device, but even so, I put just a tad more weight towards the needle for the older albums. Regardless, you have lot's of control, even though the instructions aren't explicit.
The only slight bummer was that the standard ION USB turntable that I purchased does not have a dustcover. Considering the nature of recording albums, this was an oversight or trade-off that is corrected in the more expensive ION turntable (which I believe retails around $199).
Still, I simply saved my plastic bag from the box and drape it over the turntable. It works fine, just not as snappy looking as the cover would be.
For the money, this unit rocks. It's fully functional, but beyond that it provides a fun hobby. I'm going to have music on my iPod that can't be found anymore, and for $150 bucks, that's priceless.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ionAudio Vinyl Recording USB Turntable

Excellent way to convert vinyl to digital

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PMedic27
from Norman, OK
on 11/28/2007
What's great about it: Works great, Easy to use, Easy to assemble (limited parts)
What's not so great: Audacity software is not super simple but makes good recordings
The assembly was straightforward and simple as well as well documented. The start/stop feature is wonderful. The software comes with two separate programs. Audacity (advanced) and Vinyl Convertor which piggybacks with I-tunes (included). The Vinyl Convertor program is super simple and straightforward and allows for easy recording of LP albums (My wife uses this one). I plan to buy another unit for my brother so he can convert his whole collection.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ionAudio Vinyl Recording USB Turntable

ION USB Turntable. Good Value

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: CamaroZ28
from Jenison, MI
on 11/10/2007
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: Free software, clumsey
The turntable is great, easy to put together and use. I will soon get another software recorder as the free one is not very good. However a great unit, would recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ionAudio Vinyl Recording USB Turntable

The Old and the New

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BeeMan
from Boston, MA
on 09/20/2007
I love my (extensive) record collection (the Old), but they tend to scratch or warp, and they can't be used on the go. My new ionAudio turntable allows me to transfer my beloved lp's into cd's (the New), preserving my collection and making it portable. The turntable is easy to use and the sound quality is great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ionAudio Vinyl Recording USB Turntable

The way to go for vinyl to digital

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Defuz
from LA
on 09/03/2007
I purchased this turntable a few months ago and have loved it! Over the years I've sought easy and effective ways to transfer my old vinyl to digital, with varying levels of success, all quite bad.
The ION USB turntable though, after installing the required software, does the job beautifully, including the creation of MP3 or WAV files. The other avenues I had tried were terrible and overly complicated. There is currently an all-in-one unit that records straight to CD, but the sound quality is worse than abysmal.
For as good as this unit is, there is a little assembly. Be careful installing the belt, and ensure it sits correctly on the drive spindle. The software is good, but the instructions (be sure to follow!) seem to lack a step somewhere. With a little work though, you should be able to get it up and running.
After the minor problems setting it all up, it was well worth it. I've been going through my old vinyl and adding to my MP3 collection while taking great trips down memory lane.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.