Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Klipsch Synergy Series Quintet III 5-Piece Home Theater Speaker System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Klipsch Synergy Series Quintet III 5-Piece Home Theater Speaker System

Model: QUINTET III
SKU: 7372513
UPC: 743878016246
The MicroTractrix horn technology featured on this 5-piece home theater speaker set provides a dynamic, 3D soundstage for a listening experience you won't soon forget. Four 2-way satellite speakers and one 2-way center-channel speaker, all using horn-loaded technology Magnetically shielded for use near TV monitors without picture distortion Designed to cosmetically integrate into any living environment
Average Customer Rating:
4.774 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 84 reviews
5 stars
68
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
98% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
82 out of 84
)
Customer Reviews for Klipsch Synergy Series Quintet III 5-Piece Home Theater Speaker System
Review 1 for Klipsch Synergy Series Quintet III 5-Piece Home Theater Speaker System

Great speakers

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JimmyBoy763
from St Michael,MN
on 06/28/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Nothing
This is a great speaker system ! A great addition to my Yamaha - 525W 5.1-Ch. A/V Home Theater Receiver ,Polk Audio - 10" 100W Powered Subwoofer - Black ,& Sony - BRAVIA 46" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / LCD HDTV .
My home theater is now complete!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Klipsch Synergy Series Quintet III 5-Piece Home Theater Speaker System

You'll Never Need A Hearing Aide!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: IrishlassyColleen
from Rockaway, N.J.
on 06/23/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Can't HEAR the Wife!
What's not so great: She found the remote!
Received the Klipsch speakers, Klipsch sub and Yamaha receiver for Father's Day...we watched Underworld Rise of the Lycans (blu-ray)...the previews for this movie were amazing! There were instances when my floor "actually" shook! Get this bundle - excellent price for the 3 - you won't be disappointed
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Klipsch Synergy Series Quintet III 5-Piece Home Theater Speaker System

Really the Best Speakers for the Money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Cyberbill
from Covington, La
on 06/18/2009
What's great about it: Clarity of Sond is great
What's not so great: Placement on speaker stands can be tricky
Bought these speakers to go with the Klipsch 10" Sub, and man is the sound great. Nice seperation at all channels and no distortion. Nice surrond sound for true Cinema effect. Can't go wrong getting these babies.
Cyberbill, LA.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Klipsch Synergy Series Quintet III 5-Piece Home Theater Speaker System

Great Speakers

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: adidas9
from cincinnati, oh
on 06/09/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy set up, already have wall mount
I have had these speakers for about 4 months and I must say I'm not disappointed. I am so glad that I bought these speakers. The sound quality is awesome and having these paired with the 10" sub and a yamaha receiver. These speakers blow my other surround sound system out of the water. Even just watching sports on my HDTV, you feel like you are there, you hear every background sound from the crowd so clearly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Klipsch Synergy Series Quintet III 5-Piece Home Theater Speaker System

WOW Amazing sound

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Aaron882
from Savannah, Ga
on 06/04/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Sound quality, bang for the buck
What's not so great: nothing
I finally bought a quintet III system. Im using my old Kenwood sub with a VSX-819 pioneer receiver. I dont know how to describe the sound from such a small speaker. Do not under estimate there small size. There is a lot of science behind the placement of surround speakers looking for the "sweetspot" With these guys unless you are setting with your ear right next to them, its all the sweetspot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Klipsch Synergy Series Quintet III 5-Piece Home Theater Speaker System

GREAT SOUND

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JoePublic
from Tyler, TX
on 06/01/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Sound Quality
What's not so great: Wiring Options
I purchased the set for $349 from BB with the 10inch sub(another $299). These sound great with my Denon AVR-689. I have had these installed for about 6 months now.
They are a little bulky as some have mentioned however the mounts are sturdy and hold well. The ball joint can become loose, however my set came with a allen wrench to tighten the joint once positioned and I have nad no issues with the speakers loosing alignment since installation.
I would have liked to have hidden the wiring better through the mount/base but it is manageable. I used Monster XP wire for all but 2 speakers. I could not justify another $129 for 30 ft of cable that was required. I found a heavy guage speaker wire at the hardware store that worked as well it seems.
For the best sound quality, you really need the sub to go with these. The 10 inch will be plenty for most.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Klipsch Synergy Series Quintet III 5-Piece Home Theater Speaker System

Top notch sound from tiny speakers!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: OzarkMark
from Hot Springs Village, AR
on 05/09/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Timbre matched speakers with unmatched clarity and "sweet spot".
What's not so great: Included pedestal bases not great for wall mounting.
The 1 weak spot, as posted by other reviewers is the pedestal base for wall mounting. I consider this a minor flaw in design. These speakers, small as they are, have a hefty mass for their size. The friction ball mount will be inadequate to keep the speakers pointed where you ant over time. I imagine you can go aftermarket and do better. Many satellite systems have no included mounting system at all. For bookshelf mounting, as I have done, they work just fine.
As for sound quality-!WOW!- I'm in a 16x20 room with plush furniture, carpet, drapes. These absorb sound very well, not an acoustically "live room", they are driven by a Yamaha 661 receiver, and have been hooked to a Yamaha 665 receiver. Similar amp sections in both receivers.
The 665 now drives Klipsch SLX quintet speakers. That review coming soon on the SLX.
I've had these speakers over a year with the 661, I travel a lot, have been to a wide variety of audio stores, and Magnolia/Best Buy stores. I've listened to LOTS of setups running into $5k+ just for speakers.
Can you put these speakers in the same ballpark as a $5k setup? Debatable. When listening to what I call, "organic music". Non-electric instruments and vocals those high $ speakers can convince you that you're right there in the recording studio at the live performance. Provided you're sitting in the "sweet spot", which in some cases are surprisingly narrow and require careful planning in speaker placement. Outside that "sweetspot", I'm not that impressed.
And that's where the Klipsch absolutely shine. The way they spread the music through the room is unparalleled, extremely forgiving in speaker placement, you really don't even to be perfectly symmetrical in speaker setup if your room decor won't allow for it. When having run the Yamaha calibration sequence, which (even calculates speaker distances from your primary listening spot- it gave me a warning that my right rear was only 3' from my listening spot!-which I over-rode).
When coupled with a good sub, the Klipsch sound phenomonally good all over the room. May not convince you that you're there in the studio with acoustic instruments, but pretty darn close. The $5k speakers can't do that either, unless you're in that sweet spot. But dang they look good, and very elegant!
So, lets do the math. Up to $1000 for these speakers with a Klipsch Sub, or $5000 for the high end (and absolutely well crafted gorgeous and elegant looking pieces of speaker furniture). If you're going for the best bang for your buck, and don't mind dark gray plastic as opposed to rich cherry wood finishes in gorgeous cabinets, then the Klipsch is fo you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Klipsch Synergy Series Quintet III 5-Piece Home Theater Speaker System

Best bang for the buck.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SkynetG35
from Atlanta, GA
on 04/27/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great sound. Best bang for the buck.
What's not so great: A little on the big side for satellites.
Its overall a great speaker system. Crisp and clear sounds. The speaker housing feels very tough and solid. Weighs a little heavy and a little on the big side for satellite speakers...but the quality is exceptional.
There's only one bad thing about them that I've noticed. The ball joint lock is not tight enough so the speakers tend to slowly drop after mounted. I have to figure out a way to keep them still and I haven't figured that out yet.
My system:
Paired these up with the Klipsch sub-12 and powered by yamaha model 663. I'm loving my HTS right now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Klipsch Synergy Series Quintet III 5-Piece Home Theater Speaker System

Sounds as good as Bose

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: cj111
from michigan
on 04/25/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: sound
What's not so great: wall mounts, price
I have read other reviews and agree on the sound quality. I went in to buy Bose, but the salesman showed me these speakers and they were impressive.  As far as price, from what I have read it looks like I paid about $200 more than most people, but still less expensive then Bose. The wall mount system was good to the wall, but the ball socket setup was faulty, poorly designed and/or a defect in the manufacturing. None of my 4 speakers would stay in place, and the so-called manual was useless.However, this I will deal with because the sound is worth it. They also come with a good warranty.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Klipsch Synergy Series Quintet III 5-Piece Home Theater Speaker System

Good speakers, bad mount design

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: rdawg
from KC
on 04/20/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price and sound
What's not so great: The mount design is flawed and won't hold the weight of the speaker. The manual is worthless.
The speakers sound great, but there's a design flaw from the mount. This occurs if you try to mount the speakers to a wall. The speakers rely on a ball socket friction mount to hold them in place. The problem is, the ball joint won't hold the weight of the speaker. One of my speakers would not hold itself up. You would move it into position, and it would slowly fall until it was facing the floor. I contacted Klipsch customer service and I got this response:
I have heard of this issue a few times. There are a couple of things you can do to alleviate this problem. One option would be to "score" the ball mount using a fine sand paper. That would help to create friction inside the mount for a solid hold. The other option would be to place a small rubber “foot” on the inside of the ball mount. Again that would increase the friction and tension within the mount. If you have any other questions feel free to ask and have a great week!
What has me worried is the fact that they're recommending modifications to a brand new item just to get it to work as designed. Also, this does not address the longevity of the design, as the rubber foot inside the joint will harden over time, which may not hold up.
I'm considering returning the speaker set for something a little higher quality. It's a shame, really. The speakers do sound nice, but my overall experience has been ruined by the poorly designed mount. And before anyone wants to make reference to someone not knowing how to work the mount, I will tell you that I'm a mechanical engineer. I'm more than capable of modifying the speakers to stay in place; it's just the fact that modifications are required on a brand new item in order to get them to work as originally designed is what bothers me.
Also, if you're not going to wall mount the speakers, you'll be just fine with setting them on a shelf. The mount does have a stop pin that the speaker can rest on. The problem only arises when the speaker is wall mounted and not resting on the stop pin relying only on friction between the ball and a rubber pad to keep the speaker from facing the floor.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Klipsch Synergy Series Quintet III 5-Piece Home Theater Speaker System

outstanding product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BULLITT73
from LUBBOCK,TEXAS
on 03/20/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: size,quality,easy install, well everything
What's not so great: can't find anything not great
I bought this product after reading several reviews and researching about the product and talking to people who owned it. I was and still not disapointed. These speakers still blow me away every time i am watching regular tv, movies, dvd's, music dvd's, and sirius sat radio on dish. I can't say enough about the quintet III to do it justice as an outstanding theater system. I have it connected to the yamaha rx-v361 component which is really a beginners component, also a great product. Some of the reviews i read about the quintet III were negative like poor sound product defects on grille covers or speakers falling of wall where mounted. All i can say is these people either did not know what they were doing as far as mounting or just had bad luck. I have all four speakers mounted on my walls in my man cave with the exception of the center speaker. Of course all my wires run through my walls and ceiling you can't see them. Yes i'm using MONSTER CABLE XP. The isntallation was done by myself and i'm no pro. Though the work looks professional. I also have the KLIPSCH SYNERGY 10" SUB it also sounds great.
'
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Klipsch Synergy Series Quintet III 5-Piece Home Theater Speaker System

Excellent speakers

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Monteee
from Minnesota
on 02/14/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Their look, sound, and PRICE
What's not so great: Nothing
Walked in to get Bose, walked out with the Klipsch Quintet III. They were 30 (THIRTY) % OFF!! What a GREAT bargain for such excellent speakers!! I would pay full price for them, as they are THAT good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Klipsch Synergy Series Quintet III 5-Piece Home Theater Speaker System

Great Speakers

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ohio21
from Dayton,Ohio
on 02/02/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Quality materials ....
What's not so great: Nothing
These little speakers are great. I wanted something different than my 7 year old Sony speakers so I went and bought these. I was looking at Bose but didn't want to pay the price. So after a few reviews I had my eyes on these. The sound is full and I hear things in movies I have never heard before.Anyone wanting a great speaker system buy these they are worth. I have never owned Klipsch speakers before this and now I will never buy anything else.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Klipsch Synergy Series Quintet III 5-Piece Home Theater Speaker System

sweet speakers

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 99CIVIC
from isanti mn
on 01/18/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: every thing
What's not so great: nothing
i got the speakers on clearance on black friday they are the best speaker out their i think, they have wall mount already dont have to buy them like others. but for the movie theater sound the sub is a must i have the 10" 420 watt sub. the sound was so clear i gave my sony speakers away to a friend. and buying another set of these speakers for the up stairs family room.
WAY BETTER SOUND THAN BOSE AND CHEAPER
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Klipsch Synergy Series Quintet III 5-Piece Home Theater Speaker System

over rated

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: hank46
from pa
on 01/07/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: looks
What's not so great: speakers would not stay in place when wall mounted
i bought this based on other reviews. these are way over rated both in sound, and wall mounting, these speakers would not stay in the position i set them to. the manual was 2 pages, and could not help with the wall mounting so the speakers would stay put. i have been playing around with speakers since 1964.......these are not worth $100 dollars apiece. they are going back tomrrow.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Klipsch Synergy Series Quintet III 5-Piece Home Theater Speaker System

Best set of speaker I ever had

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JDM1
from S.C.
on 12/25/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The sound is the best by far
What's not so great: Nothing!!!
These speakers are the best pound for pound if your looking for movie theater sound. You can't go wrong for making a purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Klipsch Synergy Series Quintet III 5-Piece Home Theater Speaker System

Great sound

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lord2be
from Moore, OK
on 12/03/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great Sound, Great Price
What's not so great: Nothing
I got this set of speakers during Black Friday, got it on sale for $299.99. I am completly satisfied with this purchase. Knowing how these speakers sound now, i would definitely pay more for them. I have them paired with the Klipsch Sub-10 subwoofer. Great setup. Awesome Sound.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Klipsch Synergy Series Quintet III 5-Piece Home Theater Speaker System

Quintet III is the best

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: EVO8904
from Gainesville, FL
on 11/26/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: blows BOSE and POLK away
What's not so great: nothing
I bought these for only @299.99 on sale and they are amazing. I also bought a POLK AUDIO 12" 300 watt rms PSW505 sub and my home theater sound amazing. After setting everything up I watched THE MATRIX BLURAY on my 52" Samsung LCD. Half way through the movie the cops were knocking on my door because my neighbors said it was to loud!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Klipsch Synergy Series Quintet III 5-Piece Home Theater Speaker System

Big sound, little speakers!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Volearix
from Zionsville, IN
on 11/26/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Cool design, sturdy support stands, excellent sound quality
What's not so great: A bit pricey for speakers, but they are really worth.
After much deliberation on whether to toss this much money into a set of speakers, I finally broke down and talked myself into going all out on a set. I purchased these speakers along with the Sub-10 woofer and a couple of Icon floor speakers. All I have to say is that I have never heard such crisp sound out of a home theatre system.
+
Not only do these speakers deliver clean, resiliant sound, but they seem to literally improve the quality of highs and lows in the movies I watch and games I play. It's unbelievable the amount of difference that high end sound quality can make.
+
These speakers deliver not only great sound, but the look and design is very pleasing on the eyes. Each of the two front speakers and two rear satellite speakers come equiped with extremely stable stands that are connected on a pivot to allow for simple situation and placement.
+
Overall, I would certainly recommend these little speakers. Best ones I have owned to this day, and from what I have seen so far, the best ones that I will ever need to own!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Klipsch Synergy Series Quintet III 5-Piece Home Theater Speaker System

Great Sound! Easy to set up

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: neocacher
from Rapid City, SD
on 11/20/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Compact size, Looks
What's not so great: None
I wrote an earlier review, but I guess it got lost. I ended up buying these on sale plus getting the $250 bundle discount with Yamaha, for a total savings of $430. I also bought the Sub-10 woofer. I am very happy with the synergy speackers. For the money, I dont think they can be beat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>