Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Model: SB6141
SKU: 7534146
UPC: 612572196199
This Motorola SURFboard SB6141 DOCSIS 3.0 high-speed cable modem delivers 8-channel downstream data speeds up to 343.1 Mbps for fast Internet connection. The internal filter helps minimize interference for enhanced performance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.695 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(951 Reviews) 951
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 951 reviews
5 stars
738
4 stars
171
3 stars
22
2 stars
5
1 star
15
96% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
913 out of 951
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
Review 1 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

easy install

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: modem
from lower alabama
on 04/21/2014
What's great about it: size
What's not so great: too many LED's
easy set up
no install issues
compact size
should have bought one a year ago
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 1023394541
My Best Buy number: 1023394541
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Excellent product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Asaad83
from Dearborn, mi
on 04/19/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast
What's not so great: Nothing
Super fast and netflix loads much faster & no drops so far
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection, Easily expanded
About me... Computer technology challenged, Heavy media streamer, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2186516696
My Best Buy number: 2186516696
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

good

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: constructojay
from montgomery, pa
on 04/13/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
works well but think its expensive... comcast took like 3 hours to set it up on their side but my install was very easy.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2126764798
My Best Buy number: 2126764798
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works as expected

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: morvin
from Portland, OR
on 03/30/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Simple setup
What's not so great: Doesn't look great, better if it was in black
This is a modem that we use for Comcast. It works, simple as that. The one shortcoming we experienced (and this is no fault of the device) is that Comcast won't allow us to use a static IP with the modem, it has to be a Comcast provided modem, other than that it worked as expected and was easy to setup and install.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large office
My Best Buy number: 5036090789
My Best Buy number: 2807510102
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Easy to set up, lose the monthly modem fee!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Stevo
from Boulder, CO
on 03/28/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I only regret that I didn't buy my own modem and set it up years ago! It was easy to install and set up. The hardest part was returning my Comcast modem to eliminate the $8.00 monthly rental charge. It will pay for itself in about 11 months and then save me $96 a year. It is my second Motorola Surfboard modem and I have never had a problem with them.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small office
My Best Buy number: 2672638345
My Best Buy number: 2672638345
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Good purchase, so far.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Ritch
from Redding, CA
on 03/22/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to install
What's not so great: nothing, so far
Just purchased this modem. Seems faster than my old one. Need more time time to give it 5 stars, but gets a solid 4 at this time.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2125843982
My Best Buy number: 2125843982
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great product fully compatible with Cox service.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GemofNile
from Edmond, OK
on 03/14/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to setup, just plug and play.
What's not so great: Nothing.
Have used it for 1.5 months, delivers what it promises, fast speeds, easy setup, excellent performance.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Heavy media streamer, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0764249233
My Best Buy number: 0764249233
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: AudioTower
from Sacramento, Ca
on 03/07/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast, stable, plug n play
What's not so great: Wish it was black instead if white
Great modem, plug n play and you're good to go! Well worth the price! Just buy this instead of leasing one from your cable company.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection, Easily expanded
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 0566038806
My Best Buy number: 0566038806
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Perfect for our small home office

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Albert49
from West Roxbury
on 03/07/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to setup.
What's not so great: No On/Off switch
The setup was very easy and I had no problem getting it to work with Comcast.
This model does not have the On/Off switch that the other Surfboard modem has. I had that other model and really liked that feature.
Also, I brought in a competitor's ad and they took $20 off the price!
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 2151722886
My Best Buy number: 2151722886
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great modem

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Lovehunting
from Waxhaw, NC
on 03/02/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: speed and dependabliltiy
What's not so great: price
Went to this unit with a separate router after having disconnect issues with the all in one surfboard cable modem/router. Having a lot better luck with this one. However, still have to unplug both to reset once in a while but not sure if it is the equipment or TW Cable??
This product has... Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0049527223
My Best Buy number: 0049527223
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great device

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: POKERBON21
from MIAMI, FL
on 03/02/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Works fast
What's not so great: scratches easily
Great Product, works fast. easy installation. Durable.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small office
My Best Buy number: 2292623752
My Best Buy number: 2292623752
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great product!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TheBigStick
from Aggie Land
on 02/14/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy setup, high downloading speed
What's not so great: Nothing yet
This product works great, it was a breeze to setup and has very fast download speed (although you need a good router to achieve this) but that's nothing really. Overall I'm very happy with this product!!
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection, Easily expanded
About me... Budget Conscious, Computer technology challenged, Heavy media streamer, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Apartment
My Best Buy number: 2793331378
My Best Buy number: 2793331378
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Excellent Modem for The Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lordmoos3
from Las Vegas
on 02/14/2014
What's great about it: Stable, high speeds, affordable
What's not so great: Nothing yet
Purchased this modem to convert from DSL to CableModem as the DSL in my area was no longer sufficiently stable or fast to work on. So far, I have not had any signal drops, and my bandwidth increased from 3meg to between 40 and 60.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Heavy media streamer, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small office
My Best Buy number: 0533776007
My Best Buy number: 0533776007
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Very good cable modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sunnyreview
from St George, UT
on 02/08/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy installation and functions well
What's not so great: None that I can think of
After my move to a new home I had to sign up for cable internet instead of DSL so I needed a new cable modem. This model was recommended by the salesman at Best Buy. He seemed very knowledgeable so I purchased it. The set up was easy and it functions well.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1031703793
My Best Buy number: 1031703793
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great modem!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: WillyB48
from Bellingham
on 02/07/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Fast and easy!
What's not so great: Tough to get going.
Took a while to recognize and connect to our wifi router. But once it did it has worked flawlessly but more important, it is fast :-)
This product has... Fast connection, Reliable connection
About me... Heavy media streamer, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small office
My Best Buy number: 2501942827
My Best Buy number: 2501942827
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Excellent modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rkb1953
from Austin Texas
on 02/07/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Able to increase my internet speed
I needed to buy a newer version of cable modem in order to increase my speed. This modem was easy to install.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2221170562
My Best Buy number: 2221170562
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

WOW! comes to mind...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lovethis1modem
from Sanford, FL
on 01/17/2014
  • My Best Buy™ Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: performance, ease, reliable speeds, fluctuation at minimal, boosted my router's performance.
What's not so great: little bit on the expensive side but luckily Best Buy price matches Amazon ( less tax)
Wow! Does come to mind when you realize the difference between owning and renting a cable modem. Not just for the obvious reason - STOP paying 3.50 per month for something i can't own; you do the math, but the not so obvious - reliable performance and speed. Makes you realize you were paying out the wazoo for the cheapest form of hardware which actually limits performance.
I am not saying that if you pay for 20 mb your speed will go up drastically. With the provider's (OEM) modem I was getting around 20-'3 mb which is what i am getting with this modem, but it's not about the top speed, it's about how fast you can get there and how long you can maintain it. Speed tests showed the OEM modem takes 2-3 seconds to hit top speed and a lot of fluctuations in between 16-23mb. Think of an unreliable stock that has gone up and down for the past 10 years to give you a visual aid of the inconsistency delivered by the OEM modem. This modem fluctuates between 21-23mb, i am sure during the evening when everyone returns home (I live in an apartment complex) the top speed may drop but the consistency will be there. Only takes a second to reach top speed and stays there.
Web pages open quickly and YouTube has never worked better. I use a DIR-655 router with it and it runs like a champ. Matter a fact my router is running better, getting more range and idle speeds of around 21 mb over wireless.
In conclusion, I am happing with not paying 3.50 plus extra for higher speed - I am running about 12 devices on 20 mb. Yes, 20mb is plenty when it's consistent without interruptions. Your experience may differ but there's only one way to find out. I must say it's on the expensive side but BB price matches Amazon, 81.99 for this modem isn't bad but still had to pay taxes - Amazon didn't.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection, kick-@$$
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Technology guru, Business Professional, nerd
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Apartment
My Best Buy number: 2215274238
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Not for Comcast, Intermittent Problems

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: DaveEG
from Elk Grove, CA
on 01/08/2014
  • My Best Buy™ Member
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Motorola Name
What's not so great: Compatibility, Reliability and Comcast Support Poor
Modem has a good name, Motorola. Comcast shuns the use of this modem.
However, on a 30/5M line (Up/Down) speeds would drop to 0.5/1M. No this is not a typo, 500k/1M respectively. I would frequently get speeds of 7/5M when I noticed the degradation. Reboots of Modem helped on an irregular basis. I tried at least 10 different steps and reboots before each service call to no avail.
On three service calls the answer was "We have had a lot of problems with that Modem, use to be the best, but not anymore."
Comcast swapped with their own (Rental) modem that was a CM1820 and works great.
I am going to try a Zoom 5341 and see how that goes.
This product has... Unreliable connection
About me... Technology guru, Business Professional
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2287584907
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Brilliant!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dhm7
from Katy, tx
on 12/30/2013
What's great about it: Fast! Works with Comcast after you call them to activate!
What's not so great: Nothing !
Modem is fast, works better than the other modem we had rented. Does require some set up but well worth it after you get it activated through Comcast.
This product has... Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2644464040
My Best Buy number: 2644464040
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

connection for home good but not work

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: BarnYarDog
from St Paul, MN
on 12/30/2013
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: connection for home is fast
What's not so great: drops ISP for work firewall
home use is excellent but when I connect my work firewall, the firewall can't keep the ISP address so my work connection fails.
This product has... Unreliable connection, Fast connection
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 0034459713
My Best Buy number: 0034459713
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 48 next>>