Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Model: SB6141
SKU: 7534146
UPC: 612572196199
This Motorola SURFboard SB6141 DOCSIS 3.0 high-speed cable modem delivers 8-channel downstream data speeds up to 343.1 Mbps for fast Internet connection. The internal filter helps minimize interference for enhanced performance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(1865 Reviews) 1865
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 1,865 reviews
5 stars
1,420
4 stars
367
3 stars
40
2 stars
10
1 star
28
97% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
1,803 out of 1,865
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 78 Answers
Customer Reviews for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem
Review 1 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

great modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: eurob5
from los angeles
on 09/27/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to use
What's not so great: nothing
this is faster than the modem provided by the cable company
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Technology guru
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0307895606
My Best Buy number: 0307895606
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Have had no problems since I installed.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: tiger
from Columbia
on 09/24/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up
What's not so great: nothing as of now.
This modem was basically a take out of the box and turn on. No problems installng.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small office
My Best Buy number: 0785279172
My Best Buy number: 0785279172
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

REasonable and reliable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tweetybird
from Conway, ar
on 09/19/2014
What's great about it: great price
Very reliable product and reasonably priced. This is the 2nd one we have purchased.
This product has... Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small office
My Best Buy number: 0907043629
My Best Buy number: 0907043629
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Still functional after 2 months! Fingers Crossed!!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: kAxTaRz
from Brooklyn Park, MN
on 09/12/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Still functional after 2 months! Fingers Crossed!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

great modem for current internet providers

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ronitoroni
from virginia
on 08/15/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to set up and good price
What's not so great: nothing
This is the preferred modem by most internet providers and meets the newer technology requirements for high speed internet.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection, Easily expanded
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2088744128
My Best Buy number: 2088744128
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

A good Time Warner modem replacement

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Los Angeles, CA
on 08/15/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast speeds
What's not so great: Get's a bit hot
I hated the fact that I had to rent a modem with Time Warner. The device they offered looked like an outdated xbox. I wanted another option and found this device after reading a few reviews. Best Buy had the cheapest price and I had a gift card so it was a no brainer to purchase from BB. The device itself was easy to set up because, well, the Time Warner rep was the one that installed it. If I did have to install it myself, it would be a matter of plugging in the internet cable and the power cord and done. It's fast and reliable. Works well for me.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 3317953946
My Best Buy number: 3317953946
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

exactly what I was looking for

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dino
from Naperville, IL
on 08/08/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Speed
What's not so great: Status lights are too bright
I was extremely pleased with the sales person that waited on me. He was very knowledgeable and got me the best price in the area for this item.
This product has... Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 2799415591
My Best Buy number: 2799415591
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works Perfectly Fine

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TWP11
from Rochester, NY
on 07/21/2014
Following good advice from the Victor, NY store clerk, I purchased this and have had great success. Not a single drop to date. I wish I could say that for the Netgear CG3000D I purchased on Amazon. Descriptions from sellers their can be very deceiving and they will change from the time you purchase to the time you have a problem. I recommend getting sound advice from the store.
This product has... Fast connection, Reliable connection
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small office
My Best Buy number: 2367642930
My Best Buy number: 2367642930
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great router

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jimbojj
from Utah
on 07/19/2014
What's great about it: fast, reliable
My last two cable modems had to be rebooted every week. This one has been going for more than a month and is working perfectly. The speed is great too, way faster than my last one. I work from home and this is critical. I definitely recommend this product.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2089113091
My Best Buy number: 2089113091
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Better than DSL

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: reviewerOKC
from Oklahoma City
on 07/18/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: speed and reliability
What's not so great: size
It was time to upgrade from DSL. I could have rented a modem from my provider, decided to buy instead. I have used Motorola modems in many applications and have been happy with them. I do not foresee any issue with this one.
This product has... Unreliable connection, Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection, Easily expanded
About me... Budget Conscious, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2821753875
My Best Buy number: 2821753875
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Simple and Fast

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: john
from Augusta GA
on 07/15/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The speed, Bestbuy price matched Newegg
What's not so great: Comcast
This Motorola was extremely simple to set up once i got past the annoying comcast line, but there was no pain in setup on Motorola's side this modem immediately started working after i gave the mac address to Abdula from Comcast but the speed went up 5Mbps immediately and i save 10 dollars a month because of the leasing fee for the sh** modem i replaced, oh and it works amazingly with the linksys ac1900 all i had to do was powercycle once
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection, Easily expanded, bright lights
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Business Professional, just a awesome guy
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
 
I use it in...:Small home
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works great - minimal setup

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Carol
from Denver, CO
on 06/18/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It seems reliable, and was easy to set up.
What's not so great: The LED lights are quite bright
This Cable Modem was very easy to setup. I just hooked it up to Comcast, and in about 5 minutes it was working. It is quite reliable.
I like the connection light that tells you if your home router is 100GB. It turned out that my old and slow, and I had to get a new one.
A few days after installing this cable modem, my connection was getting dropped intermittently. I called Comcast and they insisted it was the cable modem - that their connection was fine. They gave me the phone number for Motorola Tech Support. I didn't have to wait long, and Motorola Tech Support was very quick and professional. They determined it was Comcast's issue - the signal was too weak. So I told Comcast what Motorola had determined, and a Comcast technician came out and fixed my wiring.
Do be aware that the Power and Internet LED's are green, BUT once the blue LED's come on, it is normal for the Power and Internet LEDs to look white not green.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 0106618468
My Best Buy number: 0106618468
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works great.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: colacritic
from Columbia, SC
on 06/18/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Reliable
I set this up the day my Time Warner internet was installed and haven't had to touch it since. Exactly what I was hoping for.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small office
My Best Buy number: 0965798806
My Best Buy number: 0965798806
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

It's great modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Calo818
from Pacoima, CA
on 05/24/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very simple to set up, decent price
What's not so great: There's nothing bad about this modem
Like I said its great modem it does what it suppose to. Ive had no problem with it since I have had. It's running smooth since I installed it and it beats paying your internet provider monthly fees for there old modems that need mad upgrade. On and all it's a great modem.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer, Technology guru, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2723499994
My Best Buy number: 2723499994
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Easy install - excellent speed - reliable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BillOnEnchanted
from Shorewood, Mn
on 05/19/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: As above - install speed and reliable
What's not so great: Have not had any issues - even re-set after power outage
Great value and much faster than prior modem
Works well with cable internet connection
I live on an island and power is out with soime frequency - I appreciate the reliablity
Used for personal and home office (business) use so need reliability
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Computer technology challenged, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2853458199
My Best Buy number: 2853458199
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Works great, improved signals

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: James
from San Jose, Ca
on 05/18/2014
What's great about it: easy to set up
What's not so great: none
Love this product, helped speed things up for us. It was easy to install.
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious, Computer technology challenged, Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small office
My Best Buy number: 0104956395
My Best Buy number: 0104956395
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Great item

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Aztech36
from Baton Rouge
on 05/09/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast modem
What's not so great: Price could be cheaper
I use this modem in many of my jobs, it's better then the one cox gives you
This product has... Reliable connection
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Large home
My Best Buy number: 2205130551
My Best Buy number: 2205130551
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

It does what it's supposed to do.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: AstrosFanNOLA
from Harvey, LA
on 05/09/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Not a combo modem/router
Allows me to separate the cable modem from the router. My previous set up of combined modem/router was wreaking havoc with my VOIP.
This product has... Easy to set up
About me... Budget Conscious, Heavy media streamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small office
My Best Buy number: 2105055619
My Best Buy number: 2105055619
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

Wonderful Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LV1981
from Durham, NC
on 04/25/2014
What's great about it: Easy to setup, works great.
Easy setup, great connection. No problems. Used daily.
This product has... Fast connection, Secure connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Apartment
My Best Buy number: 2193178825
My Best Buy number: 2193178825
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola - SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 High-Speed Cable Modem

easy install

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: modem
from lower alabama
on 04/21/2014
What's great about it: size
What's not so great: too many LED's
easy set up
no install issues
compact size
should have bought one a year ago
This product has... Fast connection, Easy to set up, Reliable connection
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
I use it in...:Small home
My Best Buy number: 1023394541
My Best Buy number: 1023394541
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 94 next>>