Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for AK Designs Octane PC Gaming and Office Chair - Black/Blue

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

AK Designs Octane PC Gaming and Office Chair - Black/Blue

Model: OK1
SKU: 7675456
UPC: 897003000171
Designed for ultimate comfort under the most extreme virtual conditions, this PC gaming chair allows you to stay relaxed while conquering distant lands in the virtual realm.
Average Customer Rating:
4.415 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 41 reviews
5 stars
28
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
2
90% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
37 out of 41
)
Customer Reviews for AK Designs Octane PC Gaming and Office Chair - Black/Blue
Review 1 for AK Designs Octane PC Gaming and Office Chair - Black/Blue

Great Chair

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HDDVDer
from Charlotte NC
on 06/16/2008
What's great about it: Keeps cool
What's not so great: Not much really.
This is a really great chair. Unlike most chairs you don't get really hot sitting in this because it breathes. It customised alot as well. I am thinking about buying one for work too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AK Designs Octane PC Gaming and Office Chair - Black/Blue

Awesome

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: heathd
from Florence, Ky
on 05/13/2008
What's great about it: Great mobility, wheals, and confort
What's not so great: Alittle Tall
Just bought it and it is amazing. I absolutley love it. The only thing is that it sits very tall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AK Designs Octane PC Gaming and Office Chair - Black/Blue

Great Chair for all reasons

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Elchinophil
from Chandler, AZ
on 05/07/2008
What's great about it: Very Sturdy, Silent wheels , Very good back support and adjustible arm rest
What's not so great: The reclining part could be a little better
I did some research on bestbuy.com and I had a 12% coupon plus this chair was on sale. Luckily there was still one available near my best buy.
It took me 12 mins to build the entire chair with ease. Very solid pieces. After messing around with the chair it very good for fast adjustments for any type of desk . The gel wheels are amazing as I can't hear anything on my wood floors. The bucket sits make you fit snuggly into gaming position. The recline is very hard .. maybe it'll get softer as I use it more often but overall not bad for 130 bucks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for AK Designs Octane PC Gaming and Office Chair - Black/Blue

Verry nice

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gargorilla
from Mammoth Mountain Ski Area, CA
on 05/01/2008
What's great about it: the chair is nice and comfy and looks cool
What's not so great: non adjustable back seperat from that of the seat
Bare with my spelling pls
I live in pritty mutch the middle of nowere and needed a new chair foir the computer, so when the roommate went in to the nearest bestbuy he selected this chair and called with the name and discription. So i looked it up of this site and desided to try it out.
When it arived, it did not dissapoint me at all! was very easy to assemble and very comfortable. The weels were a gift from heaven for the roommate. it glides silently accross the floor and the adjustable arms are magnifacent. the only thing i would like is the back and seat to adjust indipendly from one another. all in all 6 out of 5!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AK Designs Octane PC Gaming and Office Chair - Black/Blue

great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mgsimon
on 04/30/2008
What's great about it: good price
What's not so great: none
Great chair. Very comfortable, easy to adjust. Great price too,
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AK Designs Octane PC Gaming and Office Chair - Black/Blue

Comfortable & Great Wheels

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lazworks
on 04/30/2008
What's great about it: Comfortable, tilts back, WHEELS
What's not so great: Fabric not removable to wash
This chair is comfortable and as a PC gamer this is important to me. I make no claims to it being the most comfortable chair for everyone, but for me I need something that is comfortable to sit in for hours as I sink hours playing games or working on video/music.
The polyurethane wheels set new standards for me. I simply don't understand why any chair would default to the hard plastic "cheesy" wheels anymore. Granted, the Polyurethane wheels may not work as well on bare carpets, but I've always used chair mats (even on hardwood floors) before. But, with the AK Octane, you certainly don't need one on hard floors. Last thing about the wheels - moving around has never been so smooth and quiet!
I am not certain (as I'm at work right now and not in my AK Octane chair) but I don't believe the fabric is removable to wash. Between spills and a 2-year old son who loves to climb up into my chair to mash keys while I'm away from my desk, I'd like to be able to clean the chair more thoroughly...especially with the fabric being mesh in parts. Not a big thing as I don't consider myself a slob and it's just coffee (me) and juice (son), but may be more important for others who eat, drink, and sleep at their desks.
Best chair I've ever owned and would certainly buy another when/if this one "expires" some day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AK Designs Octane PC Gaming and Office Chair - Black/Blue

Research this one first!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PenPen
from New Mexico
on 04/21/2008
What's great about it: Great Design, Comfortable and Well Built
What's not so great: Will not lock in to all postions, tall chair.
I was looking for a new chair that would be comfortable for long gaming sessions, whether console or PC. Found this one on bestbuy.com and was interested right away.
After reading the reviews I decided to wait until I could sit in one before I bought it (some reviews say not a good fit for big guys). After driving 150 miles to my closest best buy store, I was very impressed with the quality of the construction.
I have used it for almost two months now and my only gripe is the arms don't "lock" in. If you twist or pivot, they move. However, this is a minor thing for the sheer range of movement they offer. For example, when I console game, I push them all the way up, all the way forward and angled in to rest my arms on comfortably. On the PC, i adjust everything to be just above the level of my keyboard tray for maximum comfort.
One warning: This chair sits high, take your desk into account when you purchase! The poly wheels are awesome and all terrain. Great product, thanks to Best Buy for carrying it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AK Designs Octane PC Gaming and Office Chair - Black/Blue

very disapointed

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: mikeb27
from Pa
on 04/20/2008
What's not so great: not very comfortable, does not go down far enough, reclining feature is bad
this chair looks nice but thats the only thing ill give it its not very comfortable and if you are short like i am then its a horrible choice cause it doesnt go down far enough and the recling feature is very bad... overall im very dissapointed i only bought this chair cause my old one that i had broke after owning in about 5 years think long and hard before you end up wasting over 180.00 on this chair like i did
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AK Designs Octane PC Gaming and Office Chair - Black/Blue

Excellent chair at a good price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: somethingleet
from Bay Area, CA
on 04/20/2008
What's great about it: Comfortable, high quality construction, adjustable armrests
What's not so great: Back doesn't recline seperately from seat
This is a great chair for the price. After months of searching I picked on of these up for my home office and haven't regretted it once. It remains comfortable sitting in it for hours whether I am working or gaming. The adjustable armrests are great, with so many adjustments that you would have a hard time not finding a comfortable position. Also, the rollerblade style wheels are very sturdy and move easily. I think that you would have to spend over $500 to find a better chair.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AK Designs Octane PC Gaming and Office Chair - Black/Blue

Strongest

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: boh42
on 03/30/2008
What's great about it: This chair has out lasted all we have had!
There should be a lot more made this way, because this chair is the most comfortable one to sit in and do the PC work and I find myself also sitting in this chair to watch television. There is nothing wrong with this chair and I would say buy all the way!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AK Designs Octane PC Gaming and Office Chair - Black/Blue

A Great Chair

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LuNaTiC334
from Washington
on 03/08/2008
This is the best office chair I have ever used. I've always liked the AK products and I wanted a comfy chair for the power gaming I usually do. My former chair was wearing out and had one of the plastic wheels broken off thanks to a buddy of mine. I was pleased to see that this chair has rollerblade type wheels and has stood up very well to the abuse I have put it through. It has also remained very comfortable throughout my time with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AK Designs Octane PC Gaming and Office Chair - Black/Blue

its decent

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Lunareklipse
from IL
on 02/18/2008
What's great about it: adjustable arm rests, breathable material, looks cool :D
What's not so great: to high off the ground
pretty good chair. good back support. im thinking it might need to break in a little bit because after sitting on it for acouple hours its starting to get uncomfortable. my biggest problem is that either im to tall (6'2) or my desk is to low because my legs are barely fitting underneath my pull out tray for the keyboard.
The legs for the chair seem very sturdy, I bought this one because my old chair had plasitc legs and one of the wheels broke off, then one of the legs broke Im a big guy so this chair seems to be sturdy and will last for awhile, only time will tell though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AK Designs Octane PC Gaming and Office Chair - Black/Blue

Sweet Chair

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Horrorman
from Indiana
on 02/16/2008
This chair feels great while sitting in it. I use my computer for gaming and this chair helps out when sitting for long amounts of time. Very nice!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for AK Designs Octane PC Gaming and Office Chair - Black/Blue

Comfortable chair

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Madcow
on 02/12/2008
What's great about it: Easy to adjust
What's not so great: None
This is a good chair, with all the features to be comfortable for extended sitting.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for AK Designs Octane PC Gaming and Office Chair - Black/Blue

easy and comfortable

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mrddp
from boston
on 02/10/2008
What's great about it: easy to assemble and very comfortable
What's not so great: no
this chair is very comfortable and easy to assemble, Great for someone that has back problems
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AK Designs Octane PC Gaming and Office Chair - Black/Blue

Buy this now!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BeeNeeB
from Oklahoma
on 02/03/2008
What's great about it: Sturdy, Fantastic Construction
What's not so great: "New Car Smell"
This thing is built like a tough truck...the materials that AK used to build this thing are incredible. If you're looking for a sturdy and comfortable chair that breathes well and is highly adjustable, this is your chair! Buy it now while it's still on sale!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AK Designs Octane PC Gaming and Office Chair - Black/Blue

Looks are deceiving

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Pestilence
from Chicago
on 01/30/2008
What's great about it: nice wheels
What's not so great: shoddy plastic construction
The chair looks nice and comfortable online so it is easy to fall victim to it's cool looks and buy it. Don't do it.
I bought this chair and 3 weeks later broken. The star looking base of this chair broke and the hydraulic tube that holds the chair up went crashing through the bottom. It was impossible to fix. The good thing about this chair is it's wheels. I scavenged them and put them on my old PC chair. They don't damage tile or wood floors so you don't need a mat for it.
Overall: Physically go to a store and pick out a chair because you never know what you are going to get online.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for AK Designs Octane PC Gaming and Office Chair - Black/Blue

Love this chair

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Bbyfcp8
from Louisiana
on 01/06/2008
What's great about it: Rocks, locks and the armrest's adjust in more ways than one
What's not so great: locks in the up right position way too easy
I bought this chair mainly to sit and play Vanguard. So far this chair is comfortable and cool. I have not had a chance to sit in it for more than a couple of hours. My husband also likes the feel of the chair. The rocking does not go back very much, but the armrest to raise up and lower as well as turn inward and outward to accommodate you. I want to get one for the office that I work at but I think it would stand out, compared to the other office furniture.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for AK Designs Octane PC Gaming and Office Chair - Black/Blue

Not the best purchase

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: man7th
on 01/02/2008
I like this chair somewhat. I've had it for a while now and I can honestly say it really isn't made for us tall guys. The wheel base has broken on me once already. Thankfully the company replaced it no problems. The wheels are different and they are really made for a hard wood floor not carpet. I love the arm rests, but I don't like the seat it needs to be bigger edge of it stops at my thighs and the back is alright. The breathable material is nice specially for this hot summer days and I just don't like the feel of leather.
If your not a big or tall person I would recommend this highly but if you are be careful with your purchase when you sit in it at the store it feels comfy it's just after a while after sitting in it it starts to become not so comfy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for AK Designs Octane PC Gaming and Office Chair - Black/Blue

Lacks comfort and back adjustment

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Ozzmosis
on 12/12/2007
What's great about it: Easy to assemble, lightweight, easy to keep clean
What's not so great: Seat pivots up and down but only locks level to minus level
After reading the reviews I went out and bought this chair. It is cool looking and it does offer everything in the discription. It only took minutes to assemble and that task was easy. It does move smoothly over carpet. What I didn't like about this chair was the fact that there is no way to adjust the degree of the backrest. Yes the chair will move up and down and yes the backrest can act like a rocker but there is no way to 'lock' the degree of tilt. It is either level, which makes you feel like you are slipping off the chair, or it is 'free' to move back and forth like a rocker. If this chair had a way to 'lock' the position of the seat and backrest in a preferred position would make this chair awesome. As it is you must sit in the predetermined degree. For me that degree makes me feel like I am slipping off the chair. If I could adjust the angle of the seat upward so I felt I was being pushed back in the chair and backrest I would have not returned this chair. Don't get me wrong, the chair is pretty nice but for me and this kind of money I would rather be able to control the position of the backrest and seat. When I sit in it only my lower back touches the backrest. If I could tilt the chair back and lock it my entire back and upper legs would be supported and that would have made a world of difference. THIS CHAIR REQUIRES YOU TO FULLY TEST IT OUT BEFORE BUYING. TRUST ME.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>