Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder

Model: 230100033
SKU: 7794755
UPC: 613570218395
Archive your old home movies and recordings to DVD for long-lasting professional results you can enjoy again and again. Capture DVD-quality video from a digital camcorder, VCR or DVD player with composite video or S-video output High-speed USB 2.0 interface delivers high-quality video Records video directly to DVD54.99
Average Customer Rating:
3.04 out of 5
3.0
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 25 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
6
56% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
14 out of 25
)
Customer Reviews for Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder
Review 1 for Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder

Just plain Poor

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: MDanihy
from Syracuse
on 05/31/2008
What's great about it: Really can't think of any
What's not so great: Poor software
I bought this even after reading the reviews here. Lets just say it is going back tomorrow. The install of the software took forever, especially if you added in the DVD extras. Then, when you run the program, it wants you to download version 10.7 of the software. So, there is a version 11, but you don't get that, you get the older software. The video capture was a pain, it would work sometimes and other times not. I could always get audio though. Then there were the times where the capture would start, only to have it stop.
I wouldn't bother with this product. Unfortunately, the Best Buy by me doesn't have capture cards, only Pinnacle hardware.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder

good hardware

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from NW Indiana
on 05/31/2008
What's great about it: USB adapter works nicely
I haven't spent much time working with this yet and I haven't touched the software that came with it. Before I started I downloaded the Vista driver from the pinnacle site and used my Magix editing software. I did install the instant copy software to burn right to dvd without capturing to the HD. The test captures I've done so far have looked very good considering the quality of the VHS tapes (some about 10 years old). Like mentioned in another review, the hardware works very well with the drivers but I have not used the packaged software with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder

the dazzle was a great purchase

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: whitedove464
from Rhode Island
on 05/22/2008
the dazzle was easy to setup and use. my son uses this almost every day and he is very happy with it. the dazzle was delivered very quickly ( 2 Days ) the packaging was good .
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder

Good not Great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Brutus023
from Payson, UT
on 05/17/2008
What's great about it: Captures good-quality video/audio.
What's not so great: Studio isn't great, doesn't come with RCA cable.
I purchased the Dazzle DVC 100 to convert my old VHS tapes to DVDs, to save video from my gaming consoles, and to stream games live. The capture card itself is good quality (hence my 4/5 rating), the picture is good, the audio is great, and there's really only one problem I've had with the whole thing: the Studio software that comes with the DVC isn't great, so make sure you can use or download Windows Movie Maker instead. In conclusion, the DVC is good-quality, but the software it comes with isn't ideal, and the package does not include an RCA cable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder

Get an Internal Card

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Dragon29
from Los Angeles, CA
on 04/30/2008
What's great about it: It worked "OK" with my "Intel" PC
What's not so great: The software crashes frequently
This product is not very useful. It worked ok with my Intel PC until it died. I was able to convert some old VHS recordings to DVD with a few crashes here and there. I got a new computer with an AMD board it crashes after about 10 seconds of recording. I tried different software but it still crashes. Just spend a little extra money and get an internal card.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder

cumbersome

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: gofixyaself
from Illinois
on 04/20/2008
What's great about it: capture analog video, slice-n-dice to make movies
What's not so great: install crashed, pinnacle does not support software version in package
The install was painful. The main program froze 2% in. Pinnacle does not support v10 and their only suggestion was to purchase v11. I searched knowledge entries to find a download to fix the problem, but it was not obvious or quick. Once installed, the program worked well to transfer analog video from my old camcorder to my computer. The software is fine but not real user-friendly or powerful. Spend some more money if you really want to get serious about making home movies.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder

Need some patience

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: HomerJ
on 04/15/2008
What's great about it: Great for tranfering over videos to DVD
What's not so great: updating the software
After reading some of the reviews, I was very reluctant to buy this. I wanted to transfer over all my hi-8 tapes though, and could not find a cheaper solution. Loading the software took a long time. I just bought a new laptop, so I know it wasn't the laptop. When installing one of the discs, I kept getting an error when trying to load. I unfortunately have VISTA loaded on my laptop and apparently this software does not like VISTA. After a frustrating couple of wasted hours, I found the update for DAZZLE that worked with VISTA. Once I update the DAZZLE software with v10.8, it worked fine. No more problems or issues as of now. The video quality that I burned to DVD looked great. I also didn't have any lip-sync issues. As far as the video editing, I haven't messed with it that much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder

Garbage

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Apallohadas
from New York, NY
on 04/01/2008
What's great about it: None
What's not so great: Vista incompatible despite claims otherwise, no driver support (drivers don't work), no support from the company.
I'm writing this as I prepare to return this garbage to BB. Despite their website, the Vista drivers do not work, the Software does not work with Vista, and the 'known incompatibility' notice doesn't prepare you for the fact that it uninstalls your optical drivers.
Pretty package, poor support.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder

Good for the price.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Dipfur
from VA
on 03/28/2008
What's great about it: Average quality, long cord.
What's not so great: No A/V cords with it, software is not good.
I bought this product to record my Xbox360 matches. I had heard a lot of good things about it, and had just enough money to buy it. When I got it home I had to install the software first, that was a pain and took way too long to do. After that I tried it out for the first time, you may have to change some settings around for it to work. I recorded a five minute match from Halo 3 of me and my buddies, when it was done rendering I decided to preview it. The quality was not what I expected, it was a little laggy and the sound was off horribly. After some fine tuning in Sony Vegas I got the sound as back on track as possible. I also had some problems with exporting the files from the Pinnacle studio software. I tried out the other software later and wasn't impressed with it, it felt like a semi-beefed-up version of Windows movie maker. If you are going to make things with your own music and not use the sound from this device then get it, if not you probably shouldn't try and use it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder

Does not work with Vista

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: CBS12
from Waltonville, IL
on 03/19/2008
What's great about it: None
What's not so great: odd shape, poor manufacturer technical support, updates and files that don't work or install.
I thought I was getting a good deal on a simple device to copy my videos from the computer to DVD or DVD to Computer but, this device said it worked with Vista yet the software that came with it would never load nor would Vista ever find the driver files even after downloading them from the manufacturer web site and installing them.
Very poor quality device that pretty much did nothing it claims to do. I will be returning this item and I hope that Best Buy can recomend something else that will do what this item was to have done.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Snappledrinker
from Wilkes-Barre, Pa
on 03/12/2008
What's great about it: None.
What's not so great: Product Performance and Customer Support are the Worst I have ever experienced
I loaded this piece of garbage on a brand new laptop with Vista and it hasn't worked properly over the past three days. Customer Support has been no use whatsoever. They give a number of downloads, drivers, etc. to download which don't work. When you try to chat with support again, they tell you to update the previous contact and wait for a response. Unfortunately, that reply will take upwards of 48 hours. I have been waiting over 30 hours for a response. The problems experienced with the program include: system locking up, a variety of error messages and system crashes. This product will be returned tomorrow for a full refund. If you want to save yourself hours and hours of aggravation, while not getting any projects completed, avoid this product at all costs. There has to be something better out there.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder

Good Capture Card for Basics

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: UKfan
from Henderson, KY
on 03/03/2008
What's great about it: Cheap, Good to Average Quality, Easy To Use
What's not so great: Cables not included, quality could be better
Basically if you don't want the best quality available I recommend this capture card, it has very good quality for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder

Not sure yet

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: jglenn
on 02/28/2008
What's great about it: Not Sure Yet
What's not so great: Error Message
I think my computer has the requirements, but I keep getting an error message that says that there is no valid connection and to check the cables. I have checked the cables so many times. I am going to return it for a new one today and see if maybe it was just a bad one (under the direction of the guy at Best Buy). At this point, I'm not liking it, but maybe I will if it works.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder

One of 2 mistakes I won't make again!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Gawa
from Wa. State
on 02/21/2008
What's great about it: Hmmm.....let me think.....NONE!
What's not so great: Hmmm....let me think again....EVERYTHING!
I purchased the Pinnacle "DAZZLE" DVD Recorder in good faith for $54.99 because it stated on the package that it was Vista compatible, "Plug-and-Play", easy to use and simple to install. After of week of trying to get it to work, on my own AND with the "help" of the good folks at Pinnacle, it STILL doesn't work. I can't get it to burn a dvd or even record to the hard drive. NOTHING Pinnacle has told me works and theyjust keep coming up with new and more complicated ways to waste my time. Vista has been nothing but trouble for me, but Pinnacle "Dazzle" has caused no end of problems with it. Now I will need to restore is to it's previous glory and return this garbage Pinnacle calls good product. I will NEVER purchase a Pinnacle product again and would advise anyone who is running Vista to do the same.
This product (Pinnacle "Dazzle" DVD Recorder) doesn't even deserve 1 star. I give it 0 stars for being worthless.
That and buying an HP Photostupid printer. The other mistake I won't make again.
Dazzle was th 2nd most expensive mistake I made.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder

Check Compatibility

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: wwww
on 02/11/2008
What's great about it: easy to hook up
What's not so great: crashes with certain systems
I read a lot of bad reviews for this product, but when I went to Best Buy, I was convinced to give it a try because I could always return it if I didn't like it. Well, that's exactly what I did. My computer kept crashing. I have Windows XP 2002. I don't know what version of Windows it will work with, but it didn't work with mine.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder

audio and video out of snych

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Disappointed1111
from Washington, DC
on 02/04/2008
What's great about it: none
What's not so great: the audio is not in synch with the video
The box says you can use this software with a 1.4 GHz (2.4 GHz recommended) processor and 512 MB of memory. I started out using a 2.8 GHz processor and 512 MB of memory and when I copied VHS tapes directly to my DVD burner, the audio lags behind the video by 20 to 30 seconds - it gets worse the longer you record.
I upgraded my memory to 1.5 GB and the problem persists. The "geek" at the best buy store told me that he uses 4 GB to edit/record video, but I'm betting that you'll need much more processor power than 2.8 GHZ to make this thing work. I feel that the product is useless - if you can't synch up the video and the audio, why use the thing in the first place
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder

BEST Software Purchase Made Recently!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Michigan
on 01/14/2008
What's great about it: Everything! Does everything it says it does!
What's not so great: Problems with the extra software working with Windows Vista properly
I have a Sony camcorder that is only 4 years old and did not want to buy a new one just because I could not use my current camcorder with my new computer that runs Windows Vista. There are not patches for my current camcorder so I have been looking for an easy way to get my home movies burned to dvd. I was finally able to burn my home movies to dvd using this genious software/recorder! I was even able to hook up an old vcr and burned home movies from old vhs tapes to dvd!! Now I can continue to enjoy my camcorder and still have a way to transfer my videos from that to dvd! I would highly recommend this product to anyone!
The only problem I had was with the additional software it came with. I installed the Studio Quick Start and the Studio Bonus software and had to uninstall it because it froze up my whole computer. Once I took that software out my computer ran perfectly and I was still able to burn my dvds with the dazzle instant dvd recorder!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder

Decent product for beginners / leisure time

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Steve6789
from Northwest Houston, TX
on 01/07/2008
What's great about it: Great quality when recording with S-video, easy to install.
What's not so great: Can not use all features unless you pay for some of them, hardware malfunctioning
This is my first ever Dazzle product and when I first bought it, I was very pleased. I started realizing though, that every time I plug in another audio device via USB, it corrupts the driver for this product, and I have to reinstall it to properly record sounds. I am very unhappy that I have to pay an extra $10 for mp4 codecs, which is a big letdown especially since I'm an iPod user.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder

Decent, but could be better

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Ishtumba
from College Station, TX
on 10/11/2007
What's great about it: Easy to install and setup, works "out of the box"
What's not so great: Software is a hog, difficulty using other 3rd party software.
I purchased this Dazzle DVD Recorder in order to start working on transferring old home movies over to DVD. The product works well with the software that comes with it, but I was hoping I could have used Ulead's DVD Studio instead, but the Dazzle just crashes any 3rd party application when trying to record from it.
If you are new to video recording, then this is the product for you. If you're looking for something a little more "open", I'd shell out more money for something more universal.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pinnacle Systems Dazzle DVD Recorder

Amazing product to convert home movies to dvds!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sambo1211
on 10/07/2007
What's great about it: Nothing that I saw of!
What's not so great: Like I said amazingly and easily converts your old vhs to dvds!!!
The product was very easy to install. Navagaiting around was hard at first, but once you knew what was what, you can start recording the movie within 5 mins. It is easier to go to the advance section where you can set it up all at once, rather than the recommend starter section. I have recorded over 50 videos in to dvds and they all work great. The product iteself it still running as well! I love the fact that it allows you to add chapters and music to your moveis. It helps to make them look very professional! I highly recommend this product to keep your memories lasting forever!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>