Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dynex™ Docking Station with Remote for Apple® iPod®

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Dynex™ Docking Station with Remote for Apple® iPod®

Model: DX-IPDR2
SKU: 7826748
UPC: 600603106194
Connect your iPod to a TV, home theater or powered speakers and listen to your favorite tunes or watch slideshows with this docking station that comes equipped with a remote.
Average Customer Rating:
3.425 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 40 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
9
72% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
29 out of 40
)
Customer Reviews for Dynex™ Docking Station with Remote for Apple® iPod®
Review 21 for Dynex™ Docking Station with Remote for Apple® iPod®

Works way better than the Apple Docking Station!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: superator
from Rochester, MN
on 10/01/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: All the buttons on the remote do what they say they do.
What's not so great: Wish the menu would display on TV for a perfect five stars.
Compared to the Apple docking station this is great! All the buttons function as it says they do, while with the Apple docking station most buttons have no function. Contrary to what some reviews say, it does work with the iPod Touch, at least with mine which is 2nd Gen., the only downfall is that you need to choose whether you want to watch video or listen to music. Once you choose what way to go on your iPod, you can use the menu button, up and down buttons and it works great. Some people should get familiar with their iPods because all iPods that display video have some settings that affect video output.
So far the sound is not that great but maybe I'm doing something wrong since I haven't read all the instructions. The greatest part of all is that my component cable works with the Dynex docking station, where it does not work with my Apple docking station. With the Dynex docking station there's a switch on the side to either chose composite output or component output. I've owned it for less than a week so I'm not sure about reliability yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Dynex™ Docking Station with Remote for Apple® iPod®

Cheap Junk

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: EMB369
from Alexandria VA
on 08/20/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Design
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Lousy audio; non-functional remote; clueless technical supprt.
I unpacked the device and thought - clean design. For over $50 (including tax) everything had a cheap and cheesy feel to it. But I pressed on. I installed it, attaching it to my A/V receiver and used the iPod adapter required for my model - no sound. I worked through the install process a second time (it's not hard or long) - no sound. I removed the adapter and got sound - but couldn't understand any of the words and the music was badly distorted.
Called technical support. Two words: "Script Kiddie". The support agent didn't know the product, didn't understand the product and kept telling me where to read things in the manual - "Um, find the page where it talks about attaching the cables." Finally, she told me to take it back to Best Buy and have them check the unit out.
I'm going to return this product and find something else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Dynex™ Docking Station with Remote for Apple® iPod®

Easy set-up, works with iPhone.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: AVsnob
from Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
on 05/02/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Works with iPhone.
What's not so great: Picture quality.
I am happy with the sound quality, but even through the S-Video cable the picture isn't that great. There is no on screen menu... the video connection is only for viewing pictures and videos from your iPod/iPhone. When you connect your iPhone it will prompt you to put it in airplane mode, but you can choose not to. Charges battery while playing. Overall satisfied, but wish the picture quality was better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Dynex™ Docking Station with Remote for Apple® iPod®

Sounds great...

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: kneelb4zod
from St. Louis
on 04/25/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Sound, ease of setup, cables included
What's not so great: Remote "sort of" worked
...but the remote stopped working about 5 minutes after I installed it. First, the positives. I installed the unit to work on my home stereo. Sounds great, even in 5.1 surround sound. Took about 5 minutes to hook up. Also, all the cables are included which is a huge plus. OK, now the negative. The remote control worked for about 5 minutes and then the volume stopped working. The menu button worked, but the volume and skip forward/back did not. I was able to get it working again by taking out the remote battery and trying again. The good thing in my case is that I have a Sony universal remote and was able to program all the Dynex commands into the Sony. So problem solved. Bottom line – sounds great, setup is great, control needs to be overhauled.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Dynex™ Docking Station with Remote for Apple® iPod®

Affordable alternative to Apple

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: OneArmedScissor
from Folsom, CA
on 01/26/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Value, Ease of Use, Sound Quality
What's not so great: No video output due to new firmware on Nano
This is a decent alternative to Apple equipment with the exception of video output. I found out the hard way that you cannot view video on your TV from new 4th generation Nano unless you buy Apple equipment. By comparison Apple is a rip off. The cables will cost you $49, then you need to spend $59 on the dock with remote. Do you want to plug it into the wall? The adapter will cost you an extra $29. You get everything in this package for only $49. It would have been nice to view the Ipod on my TV but I can live without it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Dynex™ Docking Station with Remote for Apple® iPod®

Great iPod Dock

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rileysmusik
from Minneapolis, MN
on 01/09/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great Price, Comes with all the cables you need, great sound, etc
What's not so great: Not really anything
This is a much better alternative to the apple ipod universal dock. This one actually comes with all the cables you need and has all more functions. I definitely recommend this to anybody looking for a great way to listen to their music and watch their movies and tv shows.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Dynex™ Docking Station with Remote for Apple® iPod®

Docking Station Needs Work....

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Mikes1300
from St. Louis, MO
on 11/26/2008
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Design
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Not Great but it works well on my night stand
What's not so great: Noise when volume is low, Remote is cheap.
Dynex is a best buy house brand. I bought and still have 2 of these products. I found that when I have the volume set very low I hear noise (white noise?). Also my blackberry interferes with it and any AC line noise comes through the headset jack on the docking station. To get around that I just plug my headsets into the ipod directly. This has the effect of loosing the remotes volume control ability. This leads me to my next gripe.
The fast forward button on the one of the remotes stopped working. I've contacted Dynex and BestBuy Parts. BestBuy Parts told me they have nothing to do with BestBuy which is surprising because they share the same name and logo.
I just wanted a new remote. I was certainly willing to buy one however they apparently don't sell the remote. The only way to get one is to purchase the entire package at $50.00 or so. Since I've already bought 2 of these I don't I'll be buying another. Perhaps another retailer has a docking station with remote.... I'll be looking.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Dynex™ Docking Station with Remote for Apple® iPod®

i use it in my car

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: uneekwmn
from madison, wi
on 09/26/2008
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: small
What's not so great: av cables dont work on my older tv
This is a life saver. I use it in the car cuz its hard to reach my ipod on the dash while im driving. So i have it hooked up to my fm transmitter and velcro"ed" to my dash. and it works great. I just hope i can get an extra remote..... if anyone knows how i can get one i would appreciate it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Dynex™ Docking Station with Remote for Apple® iPod®

Excellent Docking Station

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: acurateshot
on 07/20/2008
What's great about it: Everything works perfectly.
What's not so great: Nothing
I'm not sure why some of the other reviews were so low saying it would not work with the newer ipods but I just purchased an 80gb ipod the other day and it works perfectly with this unit.
It automatically connects right when the ipod is placed on the dock and charges the ipod really quick. The added s-video cable and the av cables for stereo connectivity is a really nice addition and really completes the package.
The remote that comes with it is pretty nice and handy also. Works from across the room. Definitely worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Dynex™ Docking Station with Remote for Apple® iPod®

not for new iPods

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: roscoe
from St Louis
on 03/04/2008
What's not so great: not for new iPods
Contrary to the packaging this product is not compatible with the new iPods. Return it and get the Apple combo cable - it has connectors for RCA and a USB power adapter. And it's $5 cheaper.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Dynex™ Docking Station with Remote for Apple® iPod®

so disappointing

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: drakecol
from Colorado
on 03/01/2008
What's great about it: low cost and includes cables
What's not so great: build quality so low
this was perfect for me because I wanted to hook up to an existing stereo system and didn't want to pay for cheap speakers I didn't need. however, all 3 stations I got ended up not working after 3 days (worst one) to 50 days for the best one. luckily, BB took back the one that lasted over 30 days. i think the problem lies in the connection between the Ipod and the base. If you jiggled it a bit, it would usually work but who wants to mess with it every time you put it into the base? Decided to go with the more expensive Apple.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Dynex™ Docking Station with Remote for Apple® iPod®

Ummm..NO!!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Roscoe27104
from Winston Salem, NC
on 02/16/2008
What's great about it: It Works - "Kind Of"....for iTouch
What's not so great: It Doesn't Work - "Kind Of"....for i Touch
If you have an iPod Touch, do NOT purchase this product! WARNING! The docking station is a great idea, but does NOT interface with iPod Touch.
Now...you CAN hook it up directly to your home system and bypass the docking station, and it seems to work fine. Just make sure you turn OFF the sound control on your iPod Touch - this is key.
After two weeks of trying to figure out why this thing wouldn't do what it said, I figured part of it out. I get sound, but FORGET about using it to watch any video you have on the iPod Touch.
I know Dynex is owned by Best Buy, but they really should consider taking this thing off the shelf. I just hope that it works with other iPods, because it's almost worthless to me using the iPod Touch.
Basically, for a product that costs over $50, it should do ALL of the stuff it says, not just some. I simply use the cables ONLY (bypassing the remote controlled docking station) and it works - but that shouldn't cost me more than $50. Plus, this means I can't evn use the remote it comes with.
This thing should be rethought, and then resubmitted to the market.
I'm glad some reviewers have had success with this product - they must be using a different iPod or something (that's all I can figure).
BUYER BEWARE on this one!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Dynex™ Docking Station with Remote for Apple® iPod®

Useless

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: 111111111111111111
on 12/29/2007
This piece of junk says it works with all iPods but didn't work at all with my classic. It's useless and a waste of money if you have a classic and expect it to show video like it says it will.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Dynex™ Docking Station with Remote for Apple® iPod®

Outstanding value

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Bevardimus
from Chicago, IL
on 12/20/2007
What's great about it: Good price, does everything is says and has ALL cables included
What's not so great: Video does not work with my Classic.
To be quick, I will just say that this dock is just as good as Apple's (which I've tried and returned), and definitely a better value because unlike Apple, Dynex gives you the power adapter and a/v cables in the box. Also, the remote works just as well as Apple's (especially considering that the "menu" button on Apple's doesn't do anything for its dock... it is used for "other products" according to the instructions).
The only bad thing, like I stated above, is that this dock doesn't seem to display video on a TV with the iPod Classic model, even though the box states that it "works with any iPod with a dock connector." Honestly, I don't really care too much about that, though. I bought the thing for music and charging, really.
If you're trying to decide between this dock and Apple's universal dock, the choice should be very simple: GET THIS DOCK! They are the same price, but this one comes with the cables.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Dynex™ Docking Station with Remote for Apple® iPod®

Great product, good price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Flyguy1996
from San Antonio, TX
on 12/19/2007
What's great about it: Sounds great, tons of adapters, remote, included cables
What's not so great: Wish it had an on-screen display
I bought this after trying a DLO HomeDock with remote. I had a very bad experience with the DLO where I got buzzing in the speakers when I plugged in the dock's AC power, and poor sound with or without the AC adapter.
With this Dynex I don't get that at all. It sounds great, the remote is simple but works, plus I can control this from my Logitech Harmony Remote (which I love, by the way). And this is quite a bit cheaper than the DLO. Video output is good too with the supplied S-Video cable! I highly recommend this one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Dynex™ Docking Station with Remote for Apple® iPod®

Inexpensive and Very Good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Stanbros
on 10/18/2007
What's great about it: Contains everything you need
What's not so great: I wish it came in black
Really I looked around for a docking station for a month and was skeptical of this one due to the low price. I was wrong, it is terrific. The box contains 9 adaptors to fit most any of the iPods and it contains the cords. Good Value!
I did not try out the video capabilities but the sound is very good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Dynex™ Docking Station with Remote for Apple® iPod®

Works fine!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DonwUnder
from SC
on 09/12/2007
Works great! Simple hookup and good performance. This docking station is half the costs of others and seems to be made just as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Dynex™ Docking Station with Remote for Apple® iPod®

Great little dock

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CalTitan
on 09/09/2007
I was looking for a reasonably priced dock to hook my Nano to my home stereo and found this little gem. It had all the features I was looking for. I'm really satisfied with this purchase. Other docks cost at least 50% more and don't have all the same features.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Dynex™ Docking Station with Remote for Apple® iPod®

It has 1 problem

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Poot0516
on 09/09/2007
It is ok, but after a while, the iPod got reliant on the adapter and doesn't turn off while unattached. But it does turn off while on the adapter. But it does send great sound to my stereo, which it has to be connected to to make it play while attached.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Dynex™ Docking Station with Remote for Apple® iPod®

Excellent quality and easy setup

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GuardianAngel
on 08/15/2007
This docking station is great. You can use it to charge your iPod and sync it. The best part is that you can use the included A/V cable or S-video cable to connect it to your television. The picture and sound quality of my music videos and television shows from my iPod were at least as good as when I am watching cable. I have a widescreen TV and the docking station did a great job of transmitting the widescreen videos to the screen in proper format.
The main thing to be aware of is that when you first use this product, you might only get sound without video, on your TV. If that happens (or before it happens), go on your iPod to the "Videos" menu, then go to "Video Settings" menu (NOT the main "Settings" menu). There is a setting for "TV Out". It is usually default to "Off". Be sure to set it to "On" or "Ask". I prefer "Ask", because I do not have to go into the video settings and change them, whenever I switch between docking station mode and regular iPod use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2