Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Verizon Ethernet/Wireless-G Gateway DSL Starter Kit for Verizon

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Verizon Ethernet/Wireless-G Gateway DSL Starter Kit for Verizon

Model: GS583AD3-06
SKU: 7834392
UPC: 789286806284
Upgrade your dial-up modem to high-speed DSL using this starter kit and start surfing the Web with blazing transfer speeds of up to 54 Mbps.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 10 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
90% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
9 out of 10
)
Customer Reviews for Verizon Ethernet/Wireless-G Gateway DSL Starter Kit for Verizon
Review 1 for Verizon Ethernet/Wireless-G Gateway DSL Starter Kit for Verizon

Works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Steve1955
from Rumford,RI
on 07/18/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast and efficient
What's not so great: Only supports WEP
Replaced my Westell Versalink Model 327W which was initially provided by Verizon with this model made by Actiontec. Was a little leary of purchasing because of name brand. Had it up and running in 15-20 minutes. Very surprised. No performance issues as of yet. Only had 1 day, so time will tell. Otherwise very happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Verizon Ethernet/Wireless-G Gateway DSL Starter Kit for Verizon

Great Wireless Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JNB1944
from Philadelphia, PA
on 02/22/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy setup and reasonable price
What's not so great: Couldn't find any so far
This modem has replaced Westell 6100 modem 4 months ago that was provided by Verizon which I wasn't happy with its performance. I should do this change long ago because I got a good product with reasonable price that operates great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Verizon Ethernet/Wireless-G Gateway DSL Starter Kit for Verizon

Weak wireless security

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Abeagler
from Lafayette, IN
on 02/18/2008
What's great about it: Straightforward setup
What's not so great: No WPA, only WEP
I bought this item to replace a Westell modem which got fried by a power surge. Although the box touts several different types of security, the only encryption it offers is WEP security. WEP is a smidgen better than no encryption at all, but not much. It is considered obsolete. WPA has been a stronger standard for some time now, but it not offered with this device. As such, I recommend that if you must get this item, the first thing you do is disable the wireless connectivity and then connect it to a router that is more secure.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Verizon Ethernet/Wireless-G Gateway DSL Starter Kit for Verizon

Great alternative...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ScottieR
from Baltimore, MD
on 01/24/2008
What's great about it: Easy Set-up, Fast, Reliable
What's not so great: directions were somewhat confusing...
Set-up was fairly easy, since we had an idea of what to do. i could see how their directions may be confusing for someone who had to rely strictly on them. the modem so far have been super fast and reliable. we have not had a break in the signal (full strength the entire time). I wold highly recommend this gateway over the verizon modem. only time will tell though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Verizon Ethernet/Wireless-G Gateway DSL Starter Kit for Verizon

best purchaes ever

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: peter18
from fallriver ma
on 01/07/2008
i was having troble all the time with my westall 6100. i got this one and it took about 1/2 hour to set up. it works great i love it. no need of a modem and a rotor. it is all built in it is very nice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Verizon Ethernet/Wireless-G Gateway DSL Starter Kit for Verizon

Great Router/Modem

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Zim365
from Loudoun, Virginia
on 01/01/2008
What's great about it: It's great having one device. It's a fast modem with great connectivity.
What's not so great: Set up was complicated. Took several tries (about 2 hours).
I bought this device to replace Verizon's Westell 6100 DSL modem and a US Robotics router. I was having major connectivity issues, primarily in the evening. I would have to restart my modem and router several times. I saw this unit in the store and after reading prior reviews, I thought I'd give it a try. It has EXCEEDED my expectations and am very happy with everything so far. My only complaint was that set up was not simple. I tried setting it up using my Intel Mac running Leopard. I tried Firefox and Safari, but everytime it would crash prior to finishing. I could not go anywhere online. I went to a PC in the house and tried with Firefox. The same thing happened. It got most of the way through the set up and went nuts. Finally, I tried it with Internet Explorer and it still seemed to crash at the end, but after I was done, it worked. It took more than two hours to get it running. All was forgiven though when I saw how well this unit performed. I would have no hesitation in recommending this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Verizon Ethernet/Wireless-G Gateway DSL Starter Kit for Verizon

Nice but be forewarned

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: ComicOzzie
from NW Indiana
on 12/29/2007
What's great about it: Ease of setup
What's not so great: May not be compatable with current DSL
The Modem/Router itself is a very well built piece of hardware. However, I got it all hooked up and found that it didn't work with my Verizon DSL service. Called the tech support and they said they would need to change my "Frame." Apparently there are different Verizon DSL systems. (My original modem was a Fujitsu.) So if your anxious to get hooked up and running when you get it home know that you may need to wait another 24 hours before you have ANY DSL to use. (You must have your new non-compatible modem hooked up for them to test during the change period.)
But it gets worse. A few days later I receive another modem from Verizon. (Just modem, no router.) Later that day my internet connection slowed way down and has been ever since. I've yet to find out from Verizon just what they did. Plus, I don't know if they have set me up with a more expensive service.
Nothing on the box or in the paperwork that came with the modem mentions any of this. So get all your ducks in a row before pulling the trigger on this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Verizon Ethernet/Wireless-G Gateway DSL Starter Kit for Verizon

Great Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rummie
on 11/13/2007
What's great about it: Fast and easy to install
What's not so great: None yet
We have been having trouble with slow DSL and disconnect problems. We have had these problems for about one year. Verizon was no help! We were using a Westell 6100 and had nothing but problems with this unit.
Bough and installed this Gateway last night. Instillation and getting back on line took about one hour for one wired and and one wireless computer.
Both computers are now much faster and have not experienced any disconnects! Truly is a good product. My last wireless router took nearly a full day to install and was very slow compared to this gateway.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Verizon Ethernet/Wireless-G Gateway DSL Starter Kit for Verizon

Pleasantly satisfied

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: vostro
from Maryland
on 09/18/2007
I bought the gateway through BestBuy online for in-store pickup due to immediate availability instead of ordering from Verizon and having to wait 7 -10 days for delivery. I'm a current Verizon DSL customer and wanted to go wireless in my home. I was anxious at first in anticipating setting up wireless Internet connections at home but was pleasantly surprised. After following the "Alernate Installation" instructions for current Verizon subscribers I was wirelessly connected without a hitch. I now have my laptop and two desktops wirelessly connected through this gateway with WEP security. I don't know why I didn't go wireless sooner!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Verizon Ethernet/Wireless-G Gateway DSL Starter Kit for Verizon

GREAT replacement for the Westell 327W

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CitizenCS
from Carbondale, IL
on 08/22/2007
Called Verizon with moden troubles, not satisfied. Tried to find something compatible on my own and came across this Starter Kit from Best Buy. AWESOME!!!
I was back up and online within 15 minutes. Am very happy it is NOT a Westell! The wireless is definitely stronger than the old Westell, and the connection is at 54, not 36 or 48!
Note: It will have you access your account the first time you access the internet. Be sure to have your Verizon account password! If you are a new user, use the CD they send you in the mail.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.