Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Garmin StreetPilot C550 Portable GPS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Garmin StreetPilot C550 Portable GPS

Model: 010-00-005
SKU: 7897779
UPC: 753759054489
Travel from place to place with ease, using this portable GPS navigation system as your guide. The built-in MP3 player lets you listen to your favorite tunes as you navigate. Preprogrammed with City Navigator NT, providing street-level detail and addresses, plus listings of restaurants, hotels, ATMs and more throughout the United States, Canada and Puerto Rico Integrated traffic receiver notifies you of traffic, construction and weather delays and automatically suggests alternative routes (requires a subscription service) Bluetooth compatible with built-in microphone and speakers for convenient, hands-free dialing on compatible Bluetooth mobile phones (not included)299.99
Average Customer Rating:
4.569 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(102 Reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 102 reviews
5 stars
70
4 stars
25
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
96% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
98 out of 102
)
Customer Reviews for Garmin StreetPilot C550 Portable GPS
Review 1 for Garmin StreetPilot C550 Portable GPS

best gps ever

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: debbiew
from kenosha, wi
on 04/03/2009
What's great about it: easy to use, wonderful features like bluetooth, and mp3 player, great price
What's not so great: no bad features
After researching all gps's on the market, this gps offers the most features for the wonderful price, I love the bluetooth feature and the mp3 player feature, since i bought it i can travel with ease and not worry about getting lost. I love this gps so much that i bought another one for my son-in-law and I will be buying another one for my daughter. I have not found one thing that I do not like about it! I t was money well spent!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin StreetPilot C550 Portable GPS

Sah-weet!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lizzieb
from Grand Rapids MI
on 03/17/2009
What's great about it: super easy to use, tons of features
What's not so great: nothing yet....
This is my first gps system, although I have used several via rental cars, and my sister had one for a trip we took in January. It has about everything, and for this price...come on! What else could you ask for??? It was super easy to set up, and after registration at mygarmin website you get the free updated maps download. My download only took a little over an hour on broadband connection. Not bad really. The blue tooth set up with my phone instantly- again supereasy. I doubt I will put any music on it but who knows, its a neat option :). I am a gadget girl and this is just another in my collection of cool stuff. I want the best, and I got it! I bought this for a move from Michigan to Texas so perhaps when thats done in May I will send an update as to how the trip went with Garmin :) PS. I ordered this on Saturday night and recieved it on Tuesday morning! Thanks again Best Buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin StreetPilot C550 Portable GPS

LOVE this GPS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Nancey
from Edgewater, fl
on 12/06/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything!
What's not so great: Nothing!
I have never had a bad experience with this product. It has a ridiculous amount of amazing features for such a low price (best buy had it on sale for $199!). I recommend it to everyone, I use it nearly every day even when I'm just driving back and forth to work because I use it as a bluetooth device. The screen is nice and bright and you don't have to fiddle around for your phone, it's so handy for finding places to eat and for getting around town without worrying about getting lost or relying on mapquest. BUY IT! You'll love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin StreetPilot C550 Portable GPS

best gift I ever got

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: carrie2008
from lousiville,ky
on 11/14/2008
What's great about it: easy to use, this one you can control the volume
I recieved this for x-mas 2007. We went to Dell Hollow in Tenn. Even all those little country roads were on the map. Little hole in the wall grocery stores as well. My daughter liked this so much that I am buying this one for x-mas this year. Be sure to read the features as to i bought the garmin nuvi 360 for my husband and we both like mine better. although still nice. Once you have this you'll wonder how you got along without it. All of these were chosen due to bluetooth. The hands free is a keeper.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin StreetPilot C550 Portable GPS

wouldn't leave home without it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Ohio
on 10/21/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: very easy to use and understand even for a novice. features that I did not even know it had on it until recently.
What's not so great: Have not found any yet.
My husband researched GPS systems for hours before we settled on this model a year ago and then we purchased two of them. He uses his on the road in his semi. I get lost going around the block which is why we decided to make the purchase! We love the fact that this has the security pass code on it and can only be unlocked with the pass code or in the secure location.
The ONLY thing I was disappointed about it to keep the traffic feature you had to subscribe. But I am not even worried about that, I just did not want to keep getting lost any more!
I love this thing!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin StreetPilot C550 Portable GPS

Great Gift Idea

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: VandyBoy95
from Port St Lucie, Fl
on 10/21/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: none
I love this unit. I was able to pull it out of the box and start using it immediately and I don't have to worry about getting lost again!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin StreetPilot C550 Portable GPS

Fantastic GPS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Creginas
from Des Moines, Iowas
on 10/20/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Traffice updates is great.
What's not so great: No Speed Alert
The Garmin StreetPilot C550 is a really fantastic GPS system at an affordable price. It has Bluetooth wireless technology for hands=free calling and the integrated traffice receiver is great for trafffic alerts. Also has an M3 player, which I have not checked out as yet. Easy to use. Only thing I miss from my last GPS is the Speed alert which reminded me when I was going too fast.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin StreetPilot C550 Portable GPS

Good but not perfect

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DroolinDawg
from Danbury, CT
on 10/20/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great features, easy to use, accurate maps, good support
What's not so great: Slow acquisition while moving, bluetooth a bit flakey, traffic just OK
I bought this GPS and the C580, figuring that I would compare the two traffic services and decide which one worked better in my area. I'll cover the pros and cons of both models.
The main difference between the two GPS units is that the C580 uses MSN Traffic service, as opposed to the C550 which uses the FM Traffic. Aside from that, the two units are essentially identical.
Both units have built-in Bluetooth, turning the GPS into a hands-free speakerphone. The sound quality is pretty good, and the Bluetooth works with both my phone (AT&T Tilt) and my wife's (Sony Z7xx). We have had some weird issues though, with either the phones or the GPS locking up after being connected. A quick restart of the device usually clears the problem, although in one case we had to dis-associate the phone from the GPS and reconnect. Overall though, the feature works pretty well.
I can't speak to the MP3 player feature, as I really haven't used it. The speakers make music sound way to shallow to use seriously, and although there is a Stereo Out jack, I've never connected the GPS to anything to see how good the sound is.
The maps are excellent and accurate, and the routing is pretty darn good. The re-route feature does a good job of choosing a new route when you miss a turn or choose your own course. Sometimes it doesn't take the quickest way, but most times the arrival time is pretty close (I usually get places earlier than expected, due to a little extra emphasis on the accelerator).
The spoken names of streets is a nice feature, and does a pretty good job of pronunciation of strange street names.
My one major gripe with this product applies to BOTH the C550 and C580. The unit takes forever to acquire the satellites when you are moving. First thing in the morning for example, if I sit for an extra 15 sec. or so, the GPS goes ready, but if I turn the car and go it can take up to a few minutes to lock on...or in some cases it doesn't lock on at all. If I stop and wait for 10 sec. then BAM - we're suddenly ready to navigate.
I called Garmin support for the C580 and they were super helpful and ready to exchange the unit--until they found out they had none in stock because it's a discontinued product. So I bought the other unit thinking I would compare the two...as well as exchange it for one that worked better...but I found that the C550 does the exact same thing.
Some people will probably not find this a big deal, since in most cases it only means sitting and waiting for 15-30 sec. I should note that it acquires instantly during the day to day shuffle...it is only periods of several hours that the acquisition times are somewhat slow. Some of the newer models have a QuickStart feature, so if this is a deal breaker, you should look at those. Expect to pay double for a unit with all of the same features though.
In terms of the traffic services, in my area they are both pretty poor. Coverage is OK, but we're not exactly in a metro area so traffic reports are just OK. The FM service seems to do better with traffic, but the MSN service has a lot of cool extras (Gas Prices, Movie times, Weather). I have often found lower priced gas on my way to the service station the GPS selected, as it seems only about 50% of the service stations are listed on the service.
Overall, I opted to keep both units and am pretty happy with their performance. If you are looking for lots of features at the best price, the C550/C580 are for you. Just be prepared to deal with a the little quirks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin StreetPilot C550 Portable GPS

Oustanding - I love it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: havok1359
from Dothan, Al
on 10/11/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easiest way to put it is the true "Ease of use", many features
What's not so great: That my friends won't stop asking to borrow it
I made a mistake by thinking the more $ i spend the better the unit I will get. I did go with one with a bigger screen but it was truly aggrivating to use. Had to go thru 20 steps to find something. Very annoying. The C550 has a few steps and your there. Bluetooth, SD memory card slot, and many features the high dollar ones have. GET THIS UNIT. I have had for 6 months and the only complaint I have is my friends keep asking to borrow it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin StreetPilot C550 Portable GPS

It was worth the money!

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: willow02
on 10/04/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It was extremely durable and got us where we needed to go
What's not so great: It took a long time to fine the location
Overall, it was a very good GPS system. It, however, melted off of the glass when the car was in the sun, so be careful during the summer. The feature that found restaraunts really worked and took us to a great (close by) sushi place.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin StreetPilot C550 Portable GPS

Easy to use! Excellent GPS!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: aryanguenthner
from El Segundo, CA
on 09/19/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use! Excellent GPS! Bought one for my MOM! She loves it!
What's not so great: If I could order a starbucks coffee from it that would be nice. lol
Easy to use! Excellent GPS! Bought one for my MOM! She loves it! Now she can find me anywhere!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin StreetPilot C550 Portable GPS

Great Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Cricket1211
from Delaware
on 09/18/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: I love the easy to read screen, voice prompts, and the fact that this product links to my cell phone!
My husband and I bought a Garmin when GPS products first hit the shelves. We have since upgraded to this model. The StreetPilot is extremely easy to use and is a good product for anyone. The SteetPilot links to your cell phone through bluetooth technology. The GPS tells you who is calling and you talk using the GPS speakerphone, and you will still see and hear your navigation. Garmin has always been the trusted product we have purchased for our GPS's. We even have a Garmin marine and handheld GPS and I haven't run into any problems with any of them. They all three have been easy to use, reliable, and accurate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin StreetPilot C550 Portable GPS

One of My Favorites

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Wasabi
on 09/17/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
I was able to drive cross country without a map or stopping for directions. I only wish it would allow you to select from 2 or 3 different routes rather than selecting one for you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin StreetPilot C550 Portable GPS

Street Smarts Made Easy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BOX1
from Arkansas
on 09/16/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Real-Time Traffic, Bluetooth, and MP3 playback
What's not so great: Sometimes Slow to Satellite Fix
Lost? Here is your solution. I absolutely love this GPS unit for it's real-time traffic updates which is a must in big cities. Sometimes it is slow for the satellite fixes but nothing you can't overcome. Highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin StreetPilot C550 Portable GPS

A nice GPS to have

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gallelo
on 09/15/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: reliable, hand-free bluetooth
What's not so great: no voice dialing feature
This is a very reliable GPS device. The map are updated and it is convenient to have a nearby business search feature it will show you the distance/direction to a list of your intersted place while driving. Hand-free is very useful and voice quality is good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin StreetPilot C550 Portable GPS

Way better then navigation in my lexus

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: AWhite
from Dallas, TX
on 09/12/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very easy to use and understand
This is the best purchase ever because I could be in the middle of no where and still find a sonic or any department store. It even finds the stores INSIDE the malls so you know that you are REALLY going to THE VERY closest store there is. On my navigation that is built into my car it tells me the closest things are like 50 miles away when I KNOW they are not. And it doesn't have every street the garmin I think is way more up to date. I will never buy a more expensive car just for the navigation again now that I have the garmin.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin StreetPilot C550 Portable GPS

Very Reliable

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: 71Percent
on 09/10/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Size, Reliability, Convenience
What's not so great: Occasionally misdirects
This is a very solid GPS unit, it has provided me with very good directions. On occasion I even learned a few short cuts. Also good for looking up nearby businesses.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin StreetPilot C550 Portable GPS

the best gps ive ever used.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: nove330
from new jersey/ newyork
on 09/09/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: will be in my reveiw
What's not so great: looses satellite in long tunnels
This product is one of the best GPS devices i have ever encountered . The most incredible feature it has, which is a necessity for me is the ability to look up nearest restaurants on those long trips, and you are not in the mood for rest stop food. but you dont want to chance getting off an exit and not knowing where the nearest restaurant is. The Garmin Street pilot 550 will give you a wide selection of types of food . Italian, Mexican, Asian,..... or the all food button then it tells you the restaurant, how far it is, and in which direction. Then once you find the restaurant you like. You pick it and it gives you the Name, Address and Phone number so you can call to see if theres a long wait when you get there or if there even open. Then theres the fun stuff, like downloading music , changing the vehicle on the screen, It automatically goes into daylight and night mode. You can change the voices. It remembers automatically the last addresses you punched in under recent addresses button so its impossible to loose them. I talso features a favorites button. One of the best is traffic updates which you get for three months free then its only like 5-15 dollars a month after. Very handy. I totally recommend this product . Oh yeah and it has a screen that shows the speed you are going, average speed, distance. Time driving, and time stopped. Its a great buy. Also you can choose a trip at your house and scroll through the step by step directions from start to finish with out even moving so you can write a copy of the route for someone else with out the Gps unit. awesome..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garmin StreetPilot C550 Portable GPS

great!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: firebirdds19
from toledo oh
on 09/03/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: small stays on window good with out falling
What's not so great: sometimes when im in a big city it just goes wack
I got this for x mas and I cant complain it was a gift but its great. Good bang for your buck easy to use. This has way more features then you think shows you closest gas stations places to eat movies will take you just about anywhere.....The only cons when i was working up in PA the moutins are so tall sometimes it miss juged how far you had to go say to your hotel because you had to drive around the moutian or over it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garmin StreetPilot C550 Portable GPS

GREAT PRODUCT

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: FGIT
from Houston, Texas
on 08/17/2008
What's great about it: Does everything!
What's not so great: Took long time to download updated maps
I highly recommend this product! You get all the features of much more expensive models for such a reasonable price. We purchased this for our daughter going off to college and have used it all summer long - it has not steered us wrong yet! We plan on purchasing another for ourselves.
We did have to hold for about 20 minutes to get help downloading the updated software and it took a long time to download - we left it overnight! But customer service was very knowledgable and helpful.
OVERALL A GREAT PRODUCT
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>