Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 Platinum: Windows

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 Platinum: Windows

Model: 27513
SKU: 8137642
UPC: 742725275133
The sun is shining, and you're walking through the well-tended amusement park you've just designed. Happy children boost your net worth by buying sodas, elephants are roaming about, and everyone is excited for the laser light show that's about to start. RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 Platinum combines the original game with two fun expansion packs: Soaked! and Wild! Not only can you make money and experience your own big-air rides, but you can add safari elements to your creations, and let your customers, called "peeps", cool off in your own water park afterward. Not only do you build the rides for your customers, but you get to ride them, too. The park lighting system allows you to stay open at night, and still see what is happening. Your peeps are fully animated and exhibit intelligent behavior, acting individually and as a crowd. They'll love the exotic animals you put into the park; just be sure to keep your tranquilizer gun aim sharp. When it's time for a change, your peeps can check out the killer flume ride you designed, then lounge on the beach afterward.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 9 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
100% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
9 out of 9
)
Customer Reviews for RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 Platinum: Windows
Review 1 for RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 Platinum: Windows

Lots of fun, but hard to figure out initially

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: OldSkyBlues
from Lake Geneva, WI
on 03/13/2009
Challenge
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Storyline
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Graphics
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It will keep you entertained for a very long time!
What's not so great: The graphics aren't that great, but it was made in 2006
This game is a lot of fun so far! It works with Vista, but an important thing to remember is that with Vista you have to run the game as an administrator so it doesn't freeze or close unexpectedly on you! That can take care of a lot of "flaws" the game has. As far as the graphics go, the people don't look realistic at all but everything else is pretty good. There are plenty of things to do so you will stay busy for hours, but I definitely think roller coaster tycoon 1 was the best of the whole set.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 Platinum: Windows

Tons of fun

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Leetha24
from San Francisco, CA
on 01/07/2009
Challenge
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Storyline
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Keeps you interested
What's not so great: Hard to understand initally
This is a great game, Be prepared to play for hours.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 Platinum: Windows

Grreat

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Meaghan214
from PA
on 08/23/2008
What's great about it: Awsome
What's not so great: Laggy and will get boring after a LONG time
I really enjoy this game. i liked Roller Coaster tycoon . and i had saw this online an i thought i have to get it!!! it is a great game it has all the expansion packs which great. Only bad thing i see is If you play it for 34 hours straight you might get bored. and sometimes it lags
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 Platinum: Windows

Super-Cool Game

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: RctInfinity
on 07/16/2008
This is an awesome game especially for die-hard roller coaster fans. It was really cool to see the Coaster Cam in the game and it seemed more "flexible" than the previous Roller Coaster Tycoons.
One of the only downsides are that the graphics aren't the best. The people look a little awkward and some of the roller coasters aren't accurate based on looks (for example: the hyper-coaster's restraints don't look like the ones in real life).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 Platinum: Windows

Fantastic Game

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ApplePieGuy
from Blue Bell, PA
on 06/09/2008
What's not so great: Recording can be very laggy
This game is great espicially if you like rollercoaster tycoon 1 and 2. There is infinate possiblities in creating your themepark. There are tons of things from building your own rollercoaster to deciding wether a specific hamburger stand should have ketchup on their burgers. This a very fun game for all ages and I definately recommend it to people who like being creative and building thier own things. THe only downside is is that if your recording video and can be very slow.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 Platinum: Windows

Hours of Fun

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: chrisot
from ny,ny
on 10/15/2007
What's great about it: roller coaster cam
What's not so great: slows down computer at times
I enjoy the new additions to the game, the roller coaster cam is fun to use, hard to make ramps
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 Platinum: Windows

recomended

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Napman
on 10/13/2007
I recomend this to every roller coaster fan on earth!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 Platinum: Windows

Fun...but could have been much better

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: patches
on 09/18/2007
First of let's be perfectly clear, if you liked roller coaster tycoon you've probably already gotten this game, if not you should because it's definitely better. It's definitely fun to create your own theme park and there's tremendous satisfaction when you create your own ride then entering it in first person view so it's like you're actually riding it. The ride creator is highly customizable with everything you could imagine from scenery, to ride events, and paint schemes.
That being said, the game is very poorly put together. The learning curve to create rides is fairly long because it can be very confusing with all the jumble of icons on the left hand side. Sometimes you'll spend hours on a ride having everything planned out, and then you'll be stuck because the game won't let you change the terrain to accomodate your ride. It also can be a bit slow at times even with the graphics setting turned down especially when you have 6 or more rides going at once in your theme park.
All in all however, if you're a sim fan and have a computer with a graphics card definitely pick up this game. If you're just a casual gamer, you might not be dedicated enough to learn all the ins and outs of the game that will make it truly enjoyable to you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 Platinum: Windows

Best Game Ever

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Watchtower
from Warrenton, Va
on 09/09/2007
PLAY THIS GAME YOU CAN MAKE YOUR VERY OWN THEME PARK
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.